Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. Our editors compare products independently. Some links go to shops, and we may earn a commission. More info
Top pick: Steel toe trainers £25.49 Best value: Blackrock Chukka – About £15.95 with 4.3 from 19,347 reviews. SB-P SRC is in a review, not the product-details table. Updated 17 October 2026.
Safety shoes are work footwear with a protective toecap. You match the BS EN ISO 20345 class to the risk, then the UK size and a sole that still grips after months of wear. S3 adds a water-resistant upper, a cleated sole and penetration resistance. A title that only says steel toe has not printed a class. Most other pairs are steel-toe trainers with no class in the details. How to match a hazard to SB, S1, S1P or S3 is in the [safety shoes buying guide](/hub/protective-clothing/safety-shoes/sub/safety-shoes-buying-guide).
BS EN ISO 20345 is the standard: toecaps are tested to at least 200 joules of impact and 15 kilonewtons of compression. The class on the label, or printed in the listing, is what you match to the site rule. S1 adds a closed seat, antistatic properties and heel energy absorption. S1P adds penetration resistance and is the usual dry indoor pattern.
Safety shoes are work footwear with a protective toecap. You match the BS EN ISO 20345 class to the risk, then the UK size and a sole that still grips after months of wear.
Safety shoes are work footwear with a protective toecap. You match the BS EN ISO 20345 class to the risk, then the UK size and a sole that still grips after months of wear. S3 adds a water-resistant upper, a cleated sole and penetration resistance. A title that only says steel toe has not printed a class. Most other pairs are steel-toe trainers with no class in the details. How to match a hazard to SB, S1, S1P or S3 is in the [safety shoes buying guide](/hub/protective-clothing/safety-shoes/sub/safety-shoes-buying-guide).
BS EN ISO 20345 is the standard: toecaps are tested to at least 200 joules of impact and 15 kilonewtons of compression. The class on the label, or printed in the listing, is what you match to the site rule. S1 adds a closed seat, antistatic properties and heel energy absorption. S1P adds penetration resistance and is the usual dry indoor pattern.
Safety shoes are work footwear with a protective toecap. You match the BS EN ISO 20345 class to the risk, then the UK size and a sole that still grips after months of wear. S3 adds a water-resistant upper, a cleated sole and penetration resistance. A title that only says steel toe has not printed a class. Most other pairs are steel-toe trainers with no class in the details. How to match a hazard to SB, S1, S1P or S3 is in the safety shoes buying guide.
These unbranded steel-toe trainers cost £25.49 and carry the highest star rating in the set, 4.5 from 1,051 reviews. Reviewers praise the cushioning and the low weight, and some sizes are described as true to size. The title says steel toe and non-slip, while the product details print no EN ISO 20345 class. A delivery driver says the sole wore down in about six months and then felt slippery in the wet. One reviewer had soaked feet on grass by early September after buying the pair in July. Static shocks with pallet wrap also appear in reviews, and waterproof is not a product-details claim.
Pros
Highest star rating in the set, 4.5
Reviewers praise cushioning and low weight
Some sizes described as true to size
Cons
No class in the details
Sole wear then slip in a six-month review
Static shocks reported with pallet wrap
Best for: Light factory walking where a trainer shape matters and the site has not specified a class.
Less suitable: Wet grass, and any induction that requires a printed S1P or S3 code.
Annvia steel-toe trainers cost £38.99 and rate 4.4 from 1,979 reviews. The manufacturer field says Annvia, though the title itself does not start with the brand. The title says non-slip and puncture proof, and one review uses the pair for driving and pallet-truck work. The details do not print P, PL, PS, or an S class, so the puncture line is not a code you can show at induction. A heavy-use review says they fell apart after about seven months, and another says the sole was wearing down at three months. That is a high price in this extract for a listing with no printed class.
Pros
4.4 from 1,979 reviews
Comfort and a trainer look
Used for driving and pallet work in one review
Cons
No printed class
Higher price in this extract
Durability complaints at three to seven months
Best for: A named trainer with a high rating when the workplace does not require a printed class.
Less suitable: Nail-risk sites that need a P or S code on the label, and buyers expecting more than a few months of heavy wear.
The manufacturer field says Annvia. The title itself does not start with the brand.
Is puncture resistance a printed code?
The title says puncture proof and anti-smashing. The details do not print P, PL, PS, or an S class. Do not read S3 into this listing.
What do heavy-use reviews say?
One HGV and pallet-truck review is positive. Another says about seven months of heavy use and then they fell apart. A third says the sole was wearing down at three months.
The Titan Argon TS23 is a lace-up ankle boot whose amazon.co.uk title prints S3 SR FO and EN ISO 20345:2022, and names a steel toe and a protective midsole. In this extract it is the only listing that prints that standard, at a shelf price of £10.96. The rating is 4.4 from 89 reviews. Several UK reviewers say the boots come up large: a size 11 needed extra insoles, and a size 9 buyer who had been told to order a 10 found the usual size 9 would have fitted better with thick socks if you size up. Metal eyelets can press on the foot unless you cover them. The product details do not spell out waterproof, so any water resistance is only the S3 code in the title. The extract includes no declaration of conformity, and 89 reviews is a thin file beside the chukka in this set.
Pros
Title prints S3, SR, FO and EN ISO 20345:2022
Steel toe and protective midsole are in the title
Lowest shelf price in the extract, £10.96
Cons
Only 89 reviews
Several UK reviews say the size is too big
Metal eyelets can press on the foot unless covered
Best for: Someone whose site asks for an S3 boot and who can try the UK size, because this is the only title in the set that prints EN ISO 20345:2022.
Less suitable: A long walking shift if you need a narrow or true-to-size trainer. Reviewers report a generous fit, high ankle sides, and eyelet pressure.
Does the Titan Argon listing state a safety class?
Yes. The title prints S3 SR FO and EN ISO 20345:2022, plus a steel toe, a protective midsole, anti-slip, anti-static, and fuel and oil resistance. The extract does not include a declaration of conformity.
Do UK reviewers say the Titan Argon runs true to size?
Several say it comes up large. A size 11 needed extra insoles. One size 9 reviewer was advised to order a 10 and says the usual size 9 would have been better, with thick socks if you size up.
Are the Titan Argon boots described as waterproof?
The product details do not say waterproof. Water resistance is only implied by the S3 code in the title. Reviewers talk about fit and eyelet pressure more than about rain.
The Blackrock chukka is a lace-up work boot at £15.95 in this extract, rated 4.3 from 19,347 amazon.co.uk reviews. Reviewers describe kitchens, factories, and sites, and they often mention a wide fit and usable grip. A UK review of the SF02 states EN 20345 SB-P SRC, a steel toe, and a steel midsole, but that line is not in the product-details table, so the tongue label still has to be checked. Laces are criticised as short, and one review reports one boot larger than the other. Leather is described in reviews, and one reviewer says it needs dressing. Waterproof is not stated in the details, and the forestry bestseller line is Amazon's category rank, not a chainsaw standard.
Pros
£15.95 with 19,347 reviews in the extract
Reviews describe a wide fit and usable grip
Lighter than some branded boots, according to reviewers
Cons
SB-P SRC is review text, not the details table
Laces criticised as short
One review reports one boot larger than the other
Best for: A budget chukka for general work when you want ankle height and a very large UK review count, and you can check the tongue label yourself.
Less suitable: A buyer who will only trust a class printed in the product details, or anyone who needs chainsaw protection.
The title says chukka work and safety boots. Reviews describe kitchens, factories, and sites. Chainsaw protection is not in the title. The forestry bestseller line is Amazon's category rank, not a chainsaw standard.
What safety class does the listing itself print?
The product-details block does not print a class. A UK review of the SF02 states EN 20345 SB-P SRC, a steel toe, and a midsole. That is a review, not a declaration in the details table.
How do UK reviewers describe the fit?
Often wide. Some say size up for thick socks, some say they come up big, and one says the two boots were not the same size. An extra insole is a repeated suggestion for all-day wear.
These unisex steel-toe trainers use swivel buckle laces and cost £29.99, with 4.3 from 1,330 reviews. Reviewers often mention comfort and low weight, and a review says ordinary laces can be fitted if the dial system breaks. Steel toe and non-slip are title claims only, and no class is printed in the details. One warehouse review says the lace dial became troublesome and the shoes were not the greatest in that environment. Glue gaps appear in one review, and another calls them slippery. One reviewer was replacing the pair every few months.
Pros
Comfort and low weight in many reviews
Dial is quick, with laces as a fallback
4.3 from 1,330 reviews
Cons
No printed class
Replacement every few months in one review
Glue gaps and a slippery review
Best for: Someone who wants a dial instead of tied laces for dry walking.
Less suitable: A warehouse where the dial is likely to be knocked, and any site that requires a printed class.
The VAVOBIS trainers are a named pair at £21.99, rated 4.3 from 901 reviews, and the title says puncture proof and non-slip. Many reviews call them light and comfortable, and a heel cushion is mentioned for long shifts. The product details do not print P, PL, or PS. A UK review says the sole punctured through to the filling, which sits against the title line. Another review reports a sole crack at about two months, and feet got wet in light drizzle. Sizing is mixed: one buyer says true to size, a labelled size 5 was much too big, and a size 10 felt large enough to try a size 9.
Pros
Named brand on the title
Light and comfortable in many reviews
Heel cushion mentioned for long shifts
Cons
Puncture claim contradicted by a review
Wet in drizzle
Sole crack reported at about two months
Best for: A named trainer at the low end of this extract when the site does not require a printed midsole code.
Less suitable: Nail risks, drizzle, or anyone who will treat the words puncture proof as a test result.
The Baofular K8 is a named steel-toe trainer at £39.95, the highest price in this extract, rated 4.2 from 7,732 reviews. Many warehouse users call them light, and reviews mention a cushioned sole for standing. The item model number is K8 and the manufacturer field is Baofular. The department field says women's, while the title says men and women. The title says steel toe cap, and the product details do not print an EN ISO class. One UK review says the soles split after eight weeks of ordinary work, with chafing on the top of the foot. Other reviews say they lasted longer than previous work shoes, so an early return matters if a pair fails.
Pros
7,732 reviews
Many warehouse users call them light
Cushioned sole for standing, in reviews
Cons
No printed class
£39.95 is the top price here
Sole split and chafing in a detailed review
Best for: A well-reviewed trainer shape for warehouse walking when you can return a bad pair quickly.
Less suitable: The highest price in this extract if you need a printed class, or if an eight-week sole split is unacceptable.
The item model number is K8. The manufacturer field is Baofular. The department field says women's, and the title says men and women.
Is a safety class printed?
No. The title says steel toe cap. The product details do not print an EN ISO class.
What is the sharpest durability complaint?
One UK review says the soles split after eight weeks of ordinary work, with chafing on the top of the foot. Other reviews say they lasted longer than previous work shoes.
These black steel-toe trainers are £21.99, with 4.2 from 2,236 reviews. Many reviewers say they feel light on the first day, and black is the colour in the title. The product details do not print EN ISO 20345 or an S code. A size 8 was described as closer to a size 9, while another review says true to size, so you need to check the pair before a long shift. At least one report describes failure after eight days. One review says they will not protect you from electric static shock and calls the material cheap, and antistatic is not in the product details.
Pros
Large review count at a low price
Many reviews praise how light they feel
Black colour is in the title
Cons
No printed class
At least one report of failure after eight days
Come up large for some buyers
Best for: A low-price black trainer when comfort on day one is the priority and no class is required.
Less suitable: Metal-detector sites, wet work, or any job that needs an antistatic mark.
These cushioned steel-toe trainers are £24.99 and rate 4.2 from 933 reviews. A reviewer with metatarsalgia notes the comfort, which is the practical point of the cushioning on dry floors. Reviews describe a twist-lock lace, and one buyer had to look up how it works because the parcel had no instructions and, according to a review, no shoe box. The title says steel toe, cushioning, and non-slip, and the details block has no EN ISO class. One reviewer says the sole wore straight through in a short time and calls that unacceptable for workwear. A repeat order felt narrower in the toe, and a review mentions limited ventilation.
Pros
Comfort noted by a reviewer with metatarsalgia
Low price
Twist-lock lace is quick once understood
Cons
No printed class
Sole worn through in one review
Repeat order described as a narrower toe cap
Best for: A cushioned trainer for sore feet on dry floors, if a printed class is not required.
Less suitable: Hot workplaces that need mesh ventilation, and jobs where a worn sole is a safety problem.
No. The title says steel toe, cushioning, and non-slip. The details block has no EN ISO class.
What fastening do reviews mention?
A twist-lock lace. One reviewer had to look up how it works because the parcel had no instructions.
How long does the sole last in reviews?
One reviewer says the sole wore straight through in a short time and calls that unacceptable for workwear. Another repeat pair felt narrower in the toe.
These unisex steel-toe trainers cost £24.99 and rate 4.2 from 462 reviews. Some reviews describe comfort over longer wear, and one review mentions a certification label without naming the class. The product details do not name a class either. One reviewer ordered a size 6 expecting a women's fit and says a men's size 6 arrived, while other reviews disagree on whether to size up or down. A mechanic reports static shocks getting out of the car, and antistatic is not in the details. Another review says both soles wore down within two months. The shoes are described as warm, and waterproof is not stated.
Pros
Some long-wear comfort reviews
Unisex department
A certification label is mentioned, even though the class is not
Cons
Only 462 reviews
Sole wear within two months
Static shocks in a mechanic review
Best for: A trainer-shaped steel toe for dry work if you can return the wrong size.
Less suitable: A women's size order you cannot try on, and mechanic work where static shocks matter.
Not in the product details. One review says there is a certification label and does not name the class.
Are women's sizes straightforward?
One reviewer ordered a size 6 expecting a women's fit and says they received a men's size 6. Other reviews disagree on whether to size up or down.
What workplace problem shows up in reviews?
A mechanic reports static shocks getting out of the car. Antistatic is not in the product details. Another review says both soles wore down within two months.
These steel-toe trainers combine an air cushion in the title with swivel buckle laces, and they cost £36.99, with 4.1 from 1,591 reviews. Reviewers describe them as light, and the buckle is quick when the clip holds. The title says non-slip. A UK review says they would not be allowed on a managed site because no certificate is claimed, and the details do not claim EN ISO 20345. One review title says the clip does not work properly. Reviews say they are not waterproof, or water reflective rather than waterproof, and insole and sole wear come up. Wide feet and wet work are a poor match.
Pros
Light, with a fast buckle
Air cushion is in the title
1,591 reviews
Cons
4.1 stars
A review says they are not certified
Insole and sole wear, and not waterproof
Best for: Comfort-first trainer use where nobody will ask for a certificate.
Less suitable: Managed sites, wide feet, and wet work.
No. A UK review says the shoes would not be allowed on a managed site because no certificate is claimed.
What is the fastening?
The title says upgraded swivel buckle shoelaces. Reviews also call it a ratchet or twist lock. One review title says the clip does not work properly.
Are they waterproof?
A review says they are not waterproof. Another says water reflective rather than waterproof. The air cushion is a title claim, not a waterproof membrane.
These lightweight steel-toe trainers are £22.99 and rate 4.1 from 501 reviews, the joint-lowest star rating in the set. Reviewers often find them comfortable at first, and one person who bought a second pair still called them fair value. Reviews say they are not fully slip resistant, and one calls them more non-grip than non-slip. Soles holed at about six months in more than one review. A mechanic review says the mesh ripped and the sole started to separate after about two months, and a review title calls the eyelets weak. No EN ISO class is in the product details.
Pros
Low price
Comfortable at first
A second purchase was still considered fair value by one reviewer
Cons
4.1 is the joint-lowest star rating here
Slip and sole-life complaints repeat
Mesh and eyelet failures in reviews
Best for: Occasional light work where a six-month sole life is an accepted cost.
Less suitable: Daily mechanic or construction use, and anywhere slip resistance has to be a tested code.
The title does not even say non-slip as a specification line beyond being safety trainers. Reviews say they are not fully slip resistant, and one calls them more non-grip than non-slip.
What failed in daily use?
Soles holed at about six months in more than one review. A mechanic review says the mesh ripped and the sole started to separate after about two months.
Is a class printed?
No EN ISO class is in the product details.
How we compared
Twelve amazon.co.uk listings were scored from the shelf price, the star line, the printed class and the review text. Each score note adds four parts that total the figure out of 100: review evidence, listing completeness, price and sentiment. Those parts are weighted 25, 25, 25 and 25. The highest marks awarded in this set are 25, 25, 24 and 20, and they add to the published score. The score is not the star rating times 20. The top pick is the only title that prints EN ISO 20345:2022, not the highest score. The best value is the low-price chukka with the largest review file. There was no laboratory toecap, slip or puncture test. No methodology note was filed beside the display, so the awards follow the display badges.
1
Review evidence
25%
Points follow the size of the amazon.co.uk review file in the score note, up to 25. A 4.4 from 89 reviews does not outrank a 4.3 from 19,347 on this part alone.
2
Listing completeness
25%
Points, up to 25, for a class, a standard, a toe and a midsole printed on the listing. A steel-toe title with no S code scores low. A class that appears only in a review is not the details table.
3
Price
25%
Shelf price in GBP against a printed class and the review file, up to 25. In this set the highest price mark awarded is 24. The lowest price is not an award by itself.
4
Sentiment
25%
Repeated UK review themes, up to 25: fit, grip after wear, sole life, eyelets and static. In this set the highest sentiment mark awarded is 20. Stars are not this part.
Independent review
Last updated: 17 October 2026
8 sources checked
Safety shoes buying guide
Most of this set is a lightweight steel-toe trainer. The decision is the class printed on the listing, the UK size with the socks you wear, and whether reviews describe a sole that still grips after months. A star rating is not a toecap test. Prices below are shelf prices from the amazon.co.uk listings, not a live re-check on 17 October 2026.
What are safety shoes?
Safety shoes are work footwear with a protective toecap. BS EN ISO 20345 is the standard: toecaps are tested to at least 200 joules of impact and 15 kilonewtons of compression. The class on the label, or printed in the listing, is what you match to the site rule. SB is the toe. S1 adds a closed seat, antistatic properties and heel energy absorption. S1P adds penetration resistance and is the usual dry indoor pattern. S3 adds a water-resistant upper and a cleated outsole.
Best for
A site that asks for a printed S3 code, if you can try the UK size
Dry warehouse walking where no class is required and a trainer shape matters
Not ideal for
Chainsaw work, live electricity, molten metal or chemicals
Induction that requires S1P or S3 when the listing prints no class
Mistakes to avoid
1
Buying on stars alone
The highest star rating here is 4.5 from 1,051 reviews on trainers that print no class. The top pick has 4.4 from 89 reviews and is the only title that prints EN ISO 20345:2022. Stars do not measure the toecap.
2
Reading puncture proof as a test
VAVOBIS and Annvia say puncture proof in the title. Neither details block prints P, PL or PS. A UK review of the VAVOBIS sole says it punctured through to the filling.
3
Sizing up out of habit
Reviews disagree. The Titan Argon is often large. A size 9 buyer who ordered a 10 found the usual size 9 would have fitted better. Try the pair with the socks you wear at work.
What to weigh up
Class on the label
High
The class on the label or the listing is the first check, matched to the site rule. SB is the toe. S1 adds a closed seat, antistatic properties and heel energy absorption. S1P adds penetration resistance and is the usual dry indoor pattern. S3 adds a water-resistant upper and a cleated outsole. In this set only the Titan Argon TS23 title prints S3 SR FO and EN ISO 20345:2022.
UK size and sole life
High
UK size is the size with the socks you wear at work. Reviews here disagree. The Titan Argon is described as large: a size 11 needed extra insoles, and a size 9 buyer who ordered a 10 found the usual size 9 would have fitted better. The Blackrock is often wide, and one review says the two boots were not the same size. VAVOBIS reports are mixed, including a labelled size 5 that was much too big. The black trainers at about £21.99 include a size 8 described as closer to a size 9.
Which option suits you?
Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.
🏗️
A site that asks for S3
You need a water-resistant upper, a cleated sole and nail protection, and you can try the UK size. The Titan Argon TS23 is the only title here that prints S3 SR FO and EN ISO 20345:2022, at about £10.96. Reviewers say it comes up large, and the details do not spell out waterproof beyond that code.
You want ankle height and a large UK review count, and you will check the tongue label yourself. The Blackrock chukka is about £15.95 with 4.3 from 19,347 reviews. SB-P SRC is in a review, not the product-details table. It is not chainsaw footwear.
The site has not specified S1P or S3, and you want a trainer shape. The unbranded steel-toe trainers at about £25.49 have the highest star rating here, 4.5 from 1,051 reviews, with cushioning praised in reviews. The details print no class, and one review describes sole wear then slip at about six months.
The Titan Argon TS23 is the top pick. It is a lace-up ankle boot at about £10.96 whose amazon.co.uk title prints S3 SR FO and EN ISO 20345:2022, plus a steel toe and a protective midsole. The rating is 4.4 from 89 reviews, and the score is 75. Several UK reviewers say the boots come up large. It is the only title in this set that prints that standard. This is not a laboratory result, and 89 reviews is a thin file beside the chukka.
How much do safety shoes cost?
Shelf prices in this amazon.co.uk set run from about £10.96 for the Titan Argon TS23 to about £39.95 for the Baofular K8. The Blackrock chukka is about £15.95. Trainers then sit at about £21.99 to £25.49, with dial-lace pairs at about £29.99 and £36.99. Annvia is about £38.99. These are the shelf figures in the listings, not a live re-check on 17 October 2026. A printed class matters more than the lowest price.
What safety class should you look for?
Match the class to the site. SB is the toe. S1 adds a closed seat, antistatic properties and heel energy absorption. S1P adds penetration resistance and is the usual dry indoor pattern. S3 adds a water-resistant upper and a cleated sole. Only the Titan Argon title prints S3 SR FO and EN ISO 20345:2022. If a listing states no class, do not invent one. A steel-toe title is not a certificate.
Are these steel-toe trainers waterproof?
Most trainers in this set are not described as waterproof. Mesh wets through. A water-resistant upper is an S2 or S3 feature. The Titan Argon details do not spell out waterproof, so water resistance is only the S3 code in the title. One review of the trainers at about £25.49 reports soaked feet on grass. A review of the VAVOBIS pair says feet get wet in light drizzle. The swivel-buckle trainers are described as not waterproof.
Does puncture proof mean a tested midsole?
No. Puncture proof in a title is not a P, PL or PS mark. VAVOBIS and Annvia use that line, and neither product-details block prints a penetration code. A UK review of the VAVOBIS trainers says the sole punctured through to the filling. Treat the words as a title claim. Nail risk needs a midsole code you can show, or a competent person if the site assessment requires one.
How do you choose a UK size?
Use the UK size you wear with your work socks, and try the pair before a long shift. Reviews in this set disagree. The Titan Argon is often described as large. The Blackrock chukka is often wide, and one review says the two boots were not the same size. A size 8 in the black trainers was described as closer to a size 9. A unisex pair ordered as a women's size 6 was reported as a men's size 6. Do not size up out of habit.
When should you call a competent person?
Call a competent person when you are specifying PPE for staff, after a foot injury or repeated slips, or for live electricity, molten metal, chemicals or chainsaws. Also call one when work footwear has no mark and no English instructions. Antistatic shoes are not insulation. Chainsaw boots are a different category. For the rest of a site kit, work trousers are a separate comparison and do not replace a toecap.
Our verdict
The top pick is Blackrock Chukka, with the highest score in this comparison (9.1 out of 10, from 19,347 amazon.co.uk reviews). The Blackrock chukka is the best value at about £15.95 with 19,347 reviews. SB-P SRC is review text, not the details table. The other ten have no award. None of these scores is a laboratory test of the toecap.
Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.
Updated: 17 October 2026
8 sources checked
Guides to safety shoes
Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.
This article contains affiliate links. If you buy through these links we earn a small commission, at no extra cost to you. The scores are unaffected. They use amazon.co.uk listings and public UK sources, not a laboratory test.