How to choose safety shoes
You have been told to wear safety shoes, and the amazon.co.uk title only says steel toe. How to choose safety shoes is a class decision before it is a star rating. The Products Compared editorial team, in October 2026, read twelve listings in this comparison and public Health and Safety Executive pages. No laboratory test was run. A qualifying purchase can earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices are the GBP figures in that extract. See the [safety shoes comparison](/hub/protective-clothing/safety-shoes) for the twelve rows. If the sheet already names two codes, use [S1P or S3 safety boots](/hub/protective-clothing/safety-shoes/sub/safety-shoes-s1p-or-s3).
You have been told to wear safety shoes, and the amazon.co.uk title only says steel toe. How to choose safety shoes is a class decision before it is a star rating.
You have been told to wear safety shoes, and the amazon.co.uk title only says steel toe. How to choose safety shoes is a class decision before it is a star rating. The Products Compared editorial team, in October 2026, read twelve listings in this comparison and public Health and Safety Executive pages. No laboratory test was run. A qualifying purchase can earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices are the GBP figures in that extract. See the safety shoes comparison for the twelve rows. If the sheet already names two codes, use S1P or S3 safety boots.
Our top picks
| Badge | Product | Printed class | Midsole | Water | Note | Price | Offer |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Best overall | Unbranded Steel toe trainers £25.49 | No class in details | Not stated | Not stated | 7.8 | about £25.49 | View offer |
Titan Safety Footwear Titan Argon S3 | S3 SR FO, 2022 | Protective | S3 code only | 8.5 | about £10.96 | View offer | |
| Best value | Blackrock Blackrock Chukka | SB-P SRC in a review | Steel, review | Not stated | 9.1 | about £15.95 | View offer |
On this page
Start from the hazard, not the photograph
What SB, S1, S1P, and S3 each add
What this comparison's listings do and do not print
Who must pay, and what to ask for
Common questions
What does EN ISO 20345 require at the toe?
What is the difference between SB, S1, S1P, and S3?
If the title says steel toe but no class, can I wear it on site?
Why do some boots say SRC and newer ones say SR?
When is a mesh trainer the wrong buy?
Related pages
Sources
Public UK sources and the amazon.co.uk listings used for this comparison, last checked on 17 October 2026.
- HSE, PPE overview (retrieved 17 October 2026)
- HSE, PPE FAQ (retrieved 17 October 2026)
- Personal Protective Equipment at Work Regulations 1992 (retrieved 17 October 2026)
- HSE, product safety and supply (retrieved 17 October 2026)
- HSE, slip-resistant footwear (retrieved 17 October 2026)
- HSE, construction PPE FAQ (retrieved 17 October 2026)
- UK Slip Resistance, EN ISO 20345:2022 (retrieved 17 October 2026)
- BSI preview, BS EN ISO 20345:2022+A1:2024 (retrieved 17 October 2026)


