Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Chainsaw trousers comparison 2026

The best chainsaw trousers, compared.

Top pick: Oregon Protect Pro chainsaw trousers, size M Best value: Oregon Yukon chainsaw trousers – Lowest price at £74.99 against the shared review block, only if you verify the sewn-in label. The listing states no class. Updated 17 October 2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

Chainsaw trousers are full trousers with a pack of loose fibres in the legs, meant to be pulled into a running chain so the chain clogs and stops. In the UK they are bought for firewood at home, for ground work, and for climbing, which needs a different design letter. Makers now print BS EN ISO 11393-2), a class that matches the saw's chain speed, and a design that matches where the chain can hit. This amazon.co.uk set keeps four listings and leaves out chaps and braces. Only the listing states Class 1 at 20 m/s. It prints the standard as EN ISO 11392-2, while reviews say EN ISO 11393-2. None of the four pages prints a design letter. Those checks are in the [chainsaw trousers buying guide](/hub/protective-clothing/chainsaw-trousers/sub/chainsaw-trousers-buying-guide). Chaps and aprons are a different product, even when a title says safety trousers. Eight of twelve listings on this search were that miss, plus one braces listing, and they are not in the table. Confirm the garment is trousers before you compare a price. Read the class and compare it with the chainsaw handbook.

Chainsaw trousers are full trousers with a pack of loose fibres in the legs, meant to be pulled into a running chain so the chain clogs and stops.

13 products checked · 48 hrs invested · +16,400 readers

4 of 4: Best chainsaw trousers compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 4
Best overall
Oregon Protect Pro chainsaw trousers, size M
Oregon Yukon chainsaw trousers
Oregon Yukon chainsaw trousers, second URL
Oregon Yukon+ chainsaw trousers
7.4/10
7.6/10
7.2/10
7.3/10
∼ £202
∼ £75
∼ £75
∼ £81
4.9(43)
4.6(3,375)
4.6(3,375)
4.5(731)
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

Personal buying guide

Question 1 of 2

Must the amazon.co.uk listing state a class?

The best chainsaw trousers in detail

Oregon Protect Pro chainsaw trousers, size M

Rank 1

Oregon Protect Pro chainsaw trousers, size M

∼£202

Our view

Protect Pro is the only listing in this set that states a protection class: Class 1 at 20 m/s. It also gives concrete everyday details, including size M, a 1.79 kg weight, four pockets, reflective strips, a water-resistant front shell and suspender loops, although braces are not included. The 4.9 rating comes from 43 reviews, so it is a much smaller sample than the Yukon blocks. At £201.81 it is also by far the dearest pair here. The bullets print EN ISO 11392-2 while reviews use EN ISO 11393-2, and no design letter is stated. It is our top pick because the listing supplies the strongest usable specification, not because we conducted a safety test.

Pros

  • Only listing here to state Class 1 at 20 m/s
  • Four pockets, reflective strips and a water-resistant front shell
  • URL and details ASIN match
  • Machine-washable according to the listing

Cons

  • Highest price in the comparison
  • Only size M is covered by this ASIN
  • No design letter and conflicting standard numbers
  • Braces are not included

Best for: Size M buyers who need a listing that explicitly states Class 1 at 20 m/s and value detailed product information.

Less suitable: Anyone needing a stated Type A or Type C design, another size, included braces or a lower-cost pair.

Specifications

Model
Oregon Protect Pro chainsaw trousers, size M
Brand
Oregon
Price
∼£202
Customer rating
4.9/5(43)
Class
Class 1, 20 m/s
Standard
EN ISO 11392-2
Model
695601-M
ASIN match
Yes
Size
M
Braces
No
Pockets
4 pockets
Hi-vis
Reflective strips
Water claim
Water-resistant front
Weight
1.79 kg

Common questions

What protection does the Protect Pro listing claim?

The bullets say Class 1 at 20 m/s and print the standard as EN ISO 11392-2. Reviews write EN ISO 11393-2. Both numbers are kept. No design letter is on the bullets.

Are braces in the box?

No. The bullets list suspender loops, two at the front and one at the back, plus five belt loops. Reviews say you still order braces. Included components says chainsaw trousers.

Are they waterproof, and what size is this ASIN?

The bullets say a water-resistant front shell, not waterproof. The title and model 695601-M are size M, orange and black. The scrape price is £201.81. One review quotes £228.99.

Oregon Yukon chainsaw trousers

Rank 2

Oregon Yukon chainsaw trousers

∼£75

Our view

At £74.99, this Yukon listing is the lowest-priced route into the four-trouser comparison, and its shared review block reports 4.6 from 3,375 reviews. Reviewers repeatedly recommend adding braces because a belt can let the heavy trousers slip, while one account says the legs were too long. The listing itself does not state a protection class, design letter or standard, so the strong review line cannot answer the central safety specification. Its details ASIN also differs from the URL ASIN. It is our best value only for a buyer who will verify the sewn-in label and fit before use, not because the page proves a particular class.

Pros

  • Lowest listed price in this four-trouser comparison
  • Shared review block shows 4.6 from 3,375 reviews
  • Reviews describe usable pockets and support adding braces

Cons

  • No class, design letter or standard in the listing
  • Details ASIN does not match the URL
  • Reviews report slipping and overly long legs

Best for: Budget-conscious buyers who can inspect the sewn-in protection label, check the fit and add suitable braces before using a chainsaw.

Less suitable: Anyone who needs the Amazon listing itself to confirm a protection class, design or standard before ordering.

Specifications

Model
Oregon Yukon chainsaw trousers
Brand
Oregon
Price
∼£75
Customer rating
4.6/5(3,375)
ASIN match
No

Common questions

Does this Yukon listing state a chainsaw class?

No. The product block has no class, design letter or standard. One UK review says the trousers were described as Type C and are Type A, front protection only.

Are braces included?

The listing has no included-components line. Reviewers say braces should be bought separately, and that a belt lets the trousers slip.

Can they go in a tumble dryer?

One review says they washed and should be line-dried, and that they are not tumble-dry approved. There is no care label in the product details.

Oregon Yukon chainsaw trousers, second URL

Rank 3

Oregon Yukon chainsaw trousers, second URL

∼£75

Our view

This second Yukon URL repeats the £74.99 title, product details and 4.6-from-3,375 review block found under B00650CYIU. That makes it another route to the same presented offer, not an independent body of customer evidence. Reviews mention buying braces and include a correction from a Type C description to Type A, but the product block itself states no class or design. The details ASIN again reads B0GZHPJ3VN rather than the URL ASIN. Choose between the two Yukon URLs only after checking the current seller page and label; do not add their review counts together.

Pros

  • Matches the joint-lowest listed price
  • Shared review text contains practical comments about braces and fit
  • Provides an alternative URL for the presented Yukon offer

Cons

  • Not an independent review sample
  • No class, design letter or standard in the listing
  • Details ASIN does not match the URL

Best for: Buyers comparing the live availability of the two matching Yukon URLs while treating them as one evidence set.

Less suitable: Anyone seeking a separately reviewed model or a listing that confirms its class and design.

Specifications

Model
Oregon Yukon chainsaw trousers, second URL
Brand
Oregon
Price
∼£75
Customer rating
4.6/5(3,375)
ASIN match
No

Common questions

Is this a different Yukon from B00650CYIU?

The URL ASIN is different and the image URL is different. The product details match B00650CYIU, including 4.6 from 3,375 reviews and details ASIN B0GZHPJ3VN. It is not a second review sample.

Does this listing state Type A or Class 1?

No. The product block is the same gap as the other Yukon URL. A copied review says Type A, front only, after a Type C description.

What is the price on this scrape?

£74.99, the same figure as B00650CYIU. Rank, department and the May 2026 date line also match.

Oregon Yukon+ chainsaw trousers

Rank 4

Oregon Yukon+ chainsaw trousers

∼£81

Our view

The Yukon+ costs £80.97 and has its own rating line of 4.5 from 731 reviews, separating it from the duplicated Yukon review block. Reviewers describe the trousers as heavy, advise buying braces and report very long legs; one says there are few useful pockets. A reviewer also describes bruising when a chain broke, which is a limit rather than proof of a protection rating. The product block does not state a class, design letter or standard, and its details ASIN differs from the URL. It makes sense only when the fit and sewn-in label can be checked before work.

Pros

  • Independent rating line of 4.5 from 731 reviews
  • Only slightly dearer than the two basic Yukon URLs
  • Reviews provide practical fit and brace feedback

Cons

  • No class, design letter or standard in the listing
  • Reviews report excessive leg length and limited pockets
  • Details ASIN does not match the URL

Best for: Buyers who prefer the Yukon+ listing and can confirm model, fit and certification from the garment label before use.

Less suitable: Buyers who need a clearly stated class, a confirmed design letter or plentiful pockets on the listing.

Specifications

Model
Oregon Yukon+ chainsaw trousers
Brand
Oregon
Price
∼£81
Customer rating
4.5/5(731)
Model
295453/S
ASIN match
No

Common questions

What model number is on the Yukon+ listing?

The details block says 295453/S. The details ASIN is B0728J9F1N, which does not match the URL ASIN B072C37NBL.

Does Yukon+ state a class?

No class, design letter or standard is in the product block. The scrape price is £80.97. The rating line is 4.5 from 731 reviews.

Do the UK reviews mention pockets and braces?

One review says there are no pockets to speak of. Several say buy braces. A front brace strap broke for one reviewer. That note is about the braces, not a named trouser seam.

How we compared

The scores are the editorial scores on the product file for the amazon.co.uk listings captured on 15 October 2026. They are not a laboratory chain test, and they were not recalculated for this page. The weights below group the factors named in those score notes: a stated class, the standard as printed, whether the review line is an independent sample, whether the details ASIN matches the URL, and the shelf price. A copied 3,375-review block is not counted twice. No listing in this set prints a design letter, so design is a limit on every row rather than a point of difference.

1

Class on the listing

30%

Points for a class the listing itself prints, compared with the chain-speed bands in the public notes: Class 1 at 20 m/s, Class 2 at 24 m/s, Class 3 at 28 m/s. A blank class scores nothing. A star rating does not fill the gap.

2

Standard as printed

15%

Points for the standard number the bullets actually print. HSE still specifies BS EN 381-5 for legs. Makers now print BS EN ISO 11393-2. A number that conflicts with the reviews is kept as printed, and it is not treated as a certificate.

3

Review evidence

20%

Amazon.co.uk stars and review volume, with a deduction when two URLs repeat one review block. The Yukon 3,375-review line is one sample. The Yukon+ 731-review line is a separate sample. A small file does not outrank a stated class.

4

ASIN match and listing detail

20%

Points when the details ASIN matches the URL, and for everyday facts the bullets print: size, pockets, hi-vis, a water claim, and whether braces are in the box. A details ASIN that names a different page is a deduction.

5

Price

15%

Shelf price in GBP on the 15 October 2026 scrape, read after the label. A lower price scores only when the buyer can still check the sewn-in label. It does not create a class the listing left blank.

Independent review
Last updated: 17 October 2026
8 sources checked

Chainsaw trousers buying guide

Most buyers on this page want chainsaw trousers for firewood or ground work, not chaps. The decision is the class on the label, the design letter, and whether the amazon.co.uk page even prints them. Prices below are the 15 October 2026 scrape, not a live re-check.

What are chainsaw trousers?

Chainsaw trousers are full trousers with a pack of loose fibres in the legs. The pack is meant to be pulled into a running chain so the chain clogs and stops. Chaps and aprons are a different product, even when a title says safety trousers. Eight of twelve listings on this search were that miss, plus one braces listing, and they are not in the table. Confirm the garment is trousers before you compare a price. Read the class and compare it with the chainsaw handbook.

Best for

  • Home firewood, if you will read the sewn-in label and buy braces
  • Ground work where you want a listing that states Class 1 at 20 m/s

Not ideal for

  • Climbing, because no listing in this set prints Type C
  • Anyone who needs the Yukon Amazon page itself to prove a class

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Buying chaps from a trousers search

    Chaps buckle over other trousers. Eight of twelve listings were that miss, plus one braces listing. They are not in this table, and a title that says safety trousers does not make them trousers.

  2. 2

    Adding the two Yukon review counts

    B00650CYIU and B0GWN3MQ76 share one 4.6-from-3,375 review block, and both details lines say B0GZHPJ3VN. Adding 3,375 to 3,375 double-counts one sample.

  3. 3

    Shortening the legs or skipping braces

    Do not cut a long leg. Reviews say a belt lets the heavy trousers slip, and that braces are a separate buy. After a chain strike, withdraw the pair and do not stitch the pad.

What to weigh up

Class and the printed standard

High

Confirm the garment is trousers, then read the class against the chainsaw handbook. Class 1 is a 20 m/s test, Class 2 is 24 m/s and Class 3 is 28 m/s. A faster saw is not covered by a Class 1 label, and some saws can exceed that test. Only Protect Pro states Class 1 at 20 m/s. Its bullets print EN ISO 11392-2 and its reviews say EN ISO 11393-2, so the number in the garment is the check. HSE still specifies leg protection to BS EN 381-5.

Design, braces and leg length

High

Type A covers the front of the legs, with a small side wrap, for ordinary ground work. Type C adds the back. HSE points climbers to Type C off the ground unless heat stress and a risk assessment justify Type A. INDG317 also points occasional users toward all-round protection. None of these four listings prints A, B or C. One Yukon review says a page claimed Type C and the garment is Type A. Design B, in the SIP note, means chaps. Braces are not in the box.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

Home firewood, first pair

Home firewood buyers are the Yukon reviews: a first pair, and no agreement on size. The Yukon at £74.99 is the lowest price in this set. The listing states no class, so you read the sewn-in label and add braces before you cut.

Ground work with a stated class

Ground workers need a stated class, braces, and a plan for heat and worn cuffs. Protect Pro is the only listing here that states Class 1 at 20 m/s. Braces are not in the box, and no design letter is printed.

Climbing, which needs Type C

Climbers need a Type C answer. This set cannot give one, because no listing in this set prints a design letter. Protect Pro is the only row with a stated class, and that is not a printed Type C. Confirm the garment label before any aerial work.

Common questions about chainsaw trousers

Which chainsaw trousers are the top pick in 2026?
The Oregon Protect Pro, size M, is the top pick. It is the only listing in this set that states Class 1 at 20 m/s, at £201.81, with 4.9 from 43 amazon.co.uk reviews. The bullets print EN ISO 11392-2 and the reviews say EN ISO 11393-2. No design letter is printed, braces are not included, and this ASIN is size M only. The score is an editorial listing score, not a chain test.
How much do chainsaw trousers cost?
On this amazon.co.uk scrape of 15 October 2026 the two Yukon URLs are £74.99, the Yukon+ is £80.97, and Protect Pro size M is £201.81. One Protect Pro review quotes £228.99. Other UK shops that day advertised a Yukon Type A from £65.62 and a Husqvarna Classic from £62.95 to £103.51 including VAT. Those shop prices are not these ASINs. A rule of thumb is about £65 to £110 for many Class 1 Type A adverts, and past £200 at the breathable end.
What class should match the saw?
Class 1 is a 20 m/s test, Class 2 is 24 m/s and Class 3 is 28 m/s. Read the class on the garment and compare it with the chainsaw handbook. A faster saw is not covered by a Class 1 label. Only Protect Pro states Class 1 at 20 m/s. The Yukon and Yukon+ listings do not print a class, so a star rating does not answer it. Some saws can exceed a Class 1 test. Check the handbook before you treat Class 1 as enough.
What is the difference between Type A and Type C?
Type A protects the front of the legs, with a small side wrap, for ordinary ground work. Type C adds the back of the leg. HSE points climbers to Type C off the ground, unless heat stress and a risk assessment justify Type A. None of these four listings prints A, B or C. A Yukon review says a page claimed Type C and the garment is Type A. Climbers cannot treat this set as a Type C answer.
Are the two Yukon URLs two different pairs?
No. B00650CYIU and B0GWN3MQ76 both show £74.99 and the same 4.6 from 3,375 reviews, and both details blocks say ASIN B0GZHPJ3VN. The image URL differs. Treat them as one presented offer, not two review samples, and do not add 3,375 to 3,375. Choose between the URLs only after you check the live seller page and the label in the garment.
Are braces included, and can you shorten the legs?
The listings do not put braces in the box. Protect Pro prints suspender loops and five belt loops, and reviews still say you order braces. Yukon reviews say a belt lets the heavy trousers slip. Do not cut a long leg: the protection pack sits in the cloth, and shortening it is a listed mistake. One Yukon review says the pair is not tumble-dry approved. Protect Pro's details say machine wash only.
What should you do after a chain hits the trousers?
Withdraw the pair. Do not stitch the pad, and do not keep wearing it if the pack is oily or pulled out, or if someone has already sewn through it. HSE's INDG317 says no PPE ensures 100 per cent protection, and PPE is the last resort. One Yukon+ reviewer was bruised when a chain broke. That is a limit, not proof of a class. Avoid lone chainsaw work if nobody can raise the alarm.
Do the PPE at Work Regulations apply at home?
The PPE at Work Regulations 1992 require suitable PPE to be provided, free, where other controls are not enough. Employers, and limb (b) workers since 2022, are inside that duty. A householder is not. The injury is the same either way. HSE says anyone using a chainsaw at work must be trained for that work and must wear appropriate chainsaw protective clothing, including leg protection. Boots are a separate comparison: see chainsaw boots.

Our verdict

The top pick is Oregon Yukon chainsaw trousers, with the highest score in this comparison (7.6 out of 10, from 3,375 amazon.co.uk reviews). The Oregon Yukon at £74.99 is the best value, score 76, on a shared 4.6 from 3,375 reviews, only if you will read the sewn-in label. The Yukon+ scores 73 at £80.97. The second Yukon URL scores 72 and repeats the same review block. None of these scores is a laboratory test.

Best overall
Oregon Protect Pro chainsaw trousers, size M

Oregon Protect Pro chainsaw trousers, size M

View offer
Best value
Oregon Yukon chainsaw trousers

Oregon Yukon chainsaw trousers

Lowest price at £74.99 against the shared review block, only if you verify the sewn-in label. The listing states no class.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - Editor
Editor
DIY & toolsProtective clothingamazon.co.uk listings

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: 17 October 2026
8 sources checked

Guides to chainsaw trousers

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources and the amazon.co.uk listings used for this comparison, captured on 15 October 2026.

  1. HSE, chainsaw PPE (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  2. HSE, working with chainsaws (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  3. HSE INDG317, chainsaws at work (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  4. PPE at Work Regulations 1992 (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  5. Arbortec, chainsaw PPE standards (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  6. SIP, EN ISO 11393 designs (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  7. Tudor, Oregon Yukon Type A shop page (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  8. Forest and Arb, chainsaw trouser types (retrieved 15 October 2026)

This article contains affiliate links. If you buy through these links we earn a small commission, at no extra cost to you. The scores are unaffected. They use amazon.co.uk listings and public UK sources, not a laboratory test.