Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Countertop oil comparison 2026

The best Countertop oils, compared.

Top pick: Caplin double boiled linseed oil 250 ml Best value: Materialix food-grade mineral oil 250 ml – Lowest shelf price among oils at 4.5 or above with at least 1,000 reviews. It does not cure. Updated October 2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

A countertop oil, for a UK shopper, is the treatment that keeps a wooden kitchen worktop, butcher block or chopping board from drying out and staining. A hardwax or a named worktop oil is meant to leave a water-repellent film. A food-grade mineral oil only conditions and never hardens. A linseed oil dries by oxidation. You tell a worktop finish from a board conditioner by whether the maker rates it for kitchen worktops, whether it cures, and whether a food-contact basis is named. Marble, quartz, laminate and acrylic are the wrong substrate. Look for a printed dry time or coverage, and a limit such as a cloth warning or a stated shade. Food safe on a title is a claim, not a certificate. England enforces food-contact materials under SI 2012/2619. Those checks are in the [countertop oil buying guide](/hub/paints-and-varnishes/countertop-oil/sub/countertop-oil-buying-guide). On fitted oak, use thin coats, wipe the surplus, and test that water beads by the sink. Re-oil when water stops beading. Drying-oil rags can self-heat if piled. No oil makes timber waterproof. This category was not lab-tested.

A countertop oil, for a UK shopper, is the treatment that keeps a wooden kitchen worktop, butcher block or chopping board from drying out and staining.

Caplin double boiled linseed oil 250 ml

Best overall

Caplin double boiled linseed oil 250 ml
4.4/10∼ £12

38 products checked · 64 hrs invested · +22,800 readers

11 of 11: Best Countertop oils compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 11
Best overall
Caplin double boiled linseed oil 250 ml
Boos Block oil and wax set
Grain Guard raw linseed oil 1 litre
Materialix food-grade mineral oil 1 litre
Best value
Materialix food-grade mineral oil 250 ml
Osmo TopOil 3058 Clear Matt 500 ml
CLARK'S chopping board oil and wax set
Materialix boiled linseed oil 1 litre
Grain Guard chopping board oil 500 ml
KEL chopping board oil 250 ml
Furniture Clinic Worktop Oil 250 ml
4.4/10
7.0/10
5.8/10
7.5/10
7.8/10
8.2/10
6.3/10
7.6/10
5.9/10
5.4/10
6.9/10
∼ £12
∼ £38
∼ £20
∼ £17
∼ £9
∼ £24
∼ £23
∼ £14
∼ £14
∼ £7
∼ £10
4.9(24)
4.8(9,795)
4.8(34)
4.7(6,084)
4.7(6,083)
4.7(3,755)
4.7(3,638)
4.7(433)
4.7(80)
4.6(33)
4.3(255)
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best Countertop oils in detail

Caplin double boiled linseed oil 250 ml

Rank 1

Caplin double boiled linseed oil 250 ml

∼£12

Our view

Caplin Tec’s 250 ml double-boiled linseed oil is £11.99, 4.9 from 24 reviews, and the title is a furniture finish. One bullet says it can be used similarly to chopping-board oil. Worktops are not named. The listing and one review on a light oak table both put a coat at about 3 hours, with a mild linseed smell. A bullet says it is safe for children, pets and wildlife, and no standard is named. The part number reads CT-LO-500 on a 250 ml listing. A 4.9 from 24 reviews does not outrank a worktop oil with thousands of reviews once the thin file and the missing worktop line are weighed. Leave it for furniture.

Pros

  • £11.99 for 250 ml
  • About 3 hours a coat on the listing and in one oak-table review
  • Mild linseed smell in reviews
  • Furniture, oak tables and outdoor benches are named

Cons

  • Only 24 reviews
  • Worktops are not named; board use is an analogy in one bullet
  • No food-contact standard is named
  • Part number CT-LO-500 on a 250 ml bottle

Best for: A small furniture piece when you want this listing’s 3-hour claim.

Less suitable: A wooden kitchen worktop, or a food-contact board that needs a named regulation.

Specifications

Model
Caplin double boiled linseed oil 250 ml
Brand
CAPLIN TEC LIMITED
Price
∼£12
Customer rating
4.9/5(24)
Oil type
Double-boiled linseed
Volume
250 ml
Cures
Yes
Dry time
About 3 hours
Scent
Mild linseed

Common questions

Is this a countertop oil?

The title is a wood finishing oil for furniture. One bullet says it can be used similarly to chopping-board oil. Worktops are not named.

How fast does it dry?

The listing says about 3 hours a coat. One review on a light oak table reported the same.

Is it non-toxic?

The listing asks that. A bullet says it is safe for children, pets and wildlife. No standard is named.

Boos Block oil and wax set

Rank 2

Boos Block oil and wax set

∼£38

Our view

The John Boos Mystery Oil and board cream set is £37.90 on amazon.co.uk, with 4.8 from 9,795 reviews, and the listing is model MYSCRM made in the USA. You get about 473 ml of oil and 150 ml of cream for boards, butcher blocks, kitchen countertops and utensils, with an NSF food-safety claim and a tasteless, odourless description. The printed routine is oil at least monthly, an overnight soak, then the cream. A UK review said the wax is very viscous and needs warming before it works in, and more than one review is titled “No applicator”. That monthly soak is a board conditioner, so a fitted sink top still wants a curing worktop oil. At the top of this price band it is a poor match if a 250 ml mineral oil would do the boards you actually own.

Pros

  • £37.90, 4.8 from 9,795 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • NSF food-safety claim, tasteless and odourless on the listing
  • About 473 ml of oil and 150 ml of cream
  • Named for boards, blocks, countertops and utensils
  • Monthly soak-then-cream routine is printed

Cons

  • Wax is very viscous and needs warming in a UK review
  • No applicator, in more than one review title
  • Does not cure into a worktop film
  • Highest shelf price in this set

Best for: Boards and butcher blocks when you want oil and a cream together in one US-made set.

Less suitable: A fitted oak worktop by a sink, or a buyer who only needs a small bottle of mineral oil.

Specifications

Model
Boos Block oil and wax set
Brand
John Boos
Price
∼£38
Customer rating
4.8/5(9,795)
Oil type
Oil and wax set
Volume
473 ml + 150 ml
Cures
No
Food contact
NSF claim
Dry time
Monthly soak
Scent
Odourless
Origin
USA

Common questions

Does the set include an applicator?

Included components are oil and wax. More than one review is titled “No applicator”.

Can it be used on wooden utensils?

The typical-use bullet names chopping boards, butcher blocks, kitchen countertops and kitchen utensils.

Is the wax ready to spread in a cool kitchen?

A UK review said the wax is very viscous and needs warming before it works in.

Grain Guard raw linseed oil 1 litre

Rank 3

Grain Guard raw linseed oil 1 litre

∼£20

Our view

Grain Guard raw linseed oil, 1 litre, is £19.99, 4.8 from 34 reviews, model 20084. The listing says no solvents or additives, a food-safe claim, and DIN EN 71-3 for children’s wooden toys. The certificate is not in the file. It is described as leaving no thick film and a warm colour on boards, worktops, furniture and interior wood. Reviews say it is slow to dry, slower than boiled linseed, and that the smell is not strong. A review quotes a warning that cloths may spontaneously combust and should be soaked and bagged. Thirty-four reviews cannot carry a 4.8 as a durability result. Use it when you specifically want raw linseed and you will treat the cloths as a fire risk.

Pros

  • £19.99 for 1 litre of clear raw linseed
  • Food-safe claim and a DIN EN 71-3 line for wooden toys
  • No solvents or additives on the listing
  • Reviews describe a smell that is not strong

Cons

  • Only 34 reviews
  • Slow to dry compared with boiled linseed in reviews
  • A review quotes a spontaneous-combustion warning for cloths
  • The EN 71-3 certificate is not in the file

Best for: Interior boards or wooden toys when you want raw linseed and will dry the cloths safely.

Less suitable: A fitted worktop you need back in use within a weekend.

Specifications

Model
Grain Guard raw linseed oil 1 litre
Brand
GRAIN GUARD
Price
∼£20
Customer rating
4.8/5(34)
Oil type
Raw linseed oil
Volume
1 litre
Cures
Yes
Food contact
EN 71-3 claim
Dry time
Slow dry
Scent
Not strong

Common questions

Does it have a strong smell?

Reviews describe a smell that is not strong. The listing does not give a scent field.

Is it safe for children's toys?

The listing claims DIN EN 71-3 for children's wooden toys. The certificate is not in the saved listing.

How should oily cloths be thrown away?

A review quotes a warning that cloths may spontaneously combust in air, and says to soak them in water and seal them in a bag.

Materialix food-grade mineral oil 1 litre

Rank 4

Materialix food-grade mineral oil 1 litre

∼£17

Our view

Materialix food-grade mineral oil in the 1 litre bottle is £16.95, 4.7 from 6,084 reviews, model 20001-3. The listing repeats the food-grade, odourless, no-additives claims of the 250 ml bottle, and the saved review text matches that file, so these are not two separate populations. It is sold for wood, bamboo, worktops, stone, slate and stainless, and the page describes a low-viscosity oil that soaks in and does not evaporate. It does not describe a hardening film. The warning says never to overheat it, because the vapours are highly flammable. Shared reviews note a slight residue until about 24 hours. Buy the litre when several boards will use it; a sink-side oak top still needs an oil that cures.

Pros

  • £16.95 for 1 litre, 4.7 from 6,084 reviews
  • Food-grade, no-additives claim, odourless on the listing
  • Best Sellers Rank 3 in Oils on the saved page
  • Overheat warning is printed: vapours are highly flammable
  • Same review file as the 250 ml bottle

Cons

  • Does not harden, so sink splashes can still soak a fitted top
  • Slight residue until about 24 hours in the shared reviews
  • No food-contact certificate in the saved listing
  • Country of origin is not stated

Best for: Several chopping boards or a butcher block when 250 ml would run out.

Less suitable: A fitted kitchen worktop that has to shed water by the sink.

Specifications

Model
Materialix food-grade mineral oil 1 litre
Brand
Materialix
Price
∼£17
Customer rating
4.7/5(6,084)
Oil type
Mineral oil
Volume
1 litre
Cures
No
Food contact
Food grade claim
Dry time
Soaks in
Scent
Odourless

Common questions

How is this different from the 250 ml Materialix bottle?

This listing is model 20001-3, 1 litre, at £16.95. The claims match the 250 ml listing, and the saved review text matches that file.

Is it safe for food preparation?

The listing calls it food-grade mineral oil with no additives. No certificate is in the saved listing.

Does it cure on a worktop?

The listing describes a low-viscosity mineral oil that soaks in and does not evaporate. It does not describe a hardening film.

Materialix food-grade mineral oil 250 ml

Rank 5

Materialix food-grade mineral oil 250 ml

Our view

The 250 ml Materialix bottle is £8.95, model 20001-1, with 4.7 from 6,083 reviews that match the 1 litre listing. It is the lowest shelf price in this set among oils at 4.5 or above with at least 1,000 reviews, which is why it is the best value for a board. The listing calls it food-grade mineral oil with no additives, tasteless and odourless, for wood, bamboo, worktops, stone, slate and stainless. Reviews describe no smell after a cloth wipe, with a little residue until about 24 hours. The page also says never to overheat it, because the vapours are highly flammable. Use it to refresh a dry board. The worktop line on the listing does not turn it into a spill-shedding film.

Pros

  • £8.95 for 250 ml, 4.7 from 6,083 reviews
  • Lowest shelf price among 4.5-star oils with at least 1,000 reviews here
  • Food-grade, odourless claim and a printed overheat warning
  • Named for boards, blocks, bamboo and worktops
  • Reviews report little smell after a wipe

Cons

  • Does not cure or leave a water-shedding film
  • Residue until about 24 hours
  • No food-contact certificate in the file
  • The 1 litre bottle costs less per litre if you need the volume

Best for: A first bottle for chopping boards and butcher blocks.

Less suitable: Sink-side oak that needs a curing worktop oil.

Specifications

Model
Materialix food-grade mineral oil 250 ml
Brand
Materialix
Price
∼£9
Customer rating
4.7/5(6,083)
Oil type
Mineral oil
Volume
250 ml
Cures
No
Food contact
Food grade claim
Dry time
Soaks in
Scent
Odourless

Common questions

Is it safe for food preparation?

The listing calls it food-grade mineral oil with no additives, tasteless and odourless. No certificate is in the saved listing.

Can it be used on bamboo?

The listing names bamboo, wood, worktops, butcher's blocks, stone, slate and stainless steel.

Does it have a scent?

The listing says it is tasteless and odourless. Reviews describe no smell after a cloth wipe, with a little residue until about 24 hours.

Osmo TopOil 3058 Clear Matt 500 ml

Rank 6

Osmo TopOil 3058 Clear Matt 500 ml

∼£24

Our view

Osmo TopOil 3058 Clear Matt, 500 ml, is £23.82 on amazon.co.uk, 4.7 from 3,755 reviews, and it is the high-solid oil in this set titled for wooden kitchen worktops. The title says food safe and water resistant. Osmo UK cites EN 1186 and EN 71.3 for the dry film, which is the maker’s reference, not a certificate we inspected. Reviews describe a thin coat left overnight and a dry feel after about 8 hours in warm weather, with a paint-like smell while it cures. More than one UK review said this clear oil left oak yellow, and thick wipes stayed sticky. One bullet also says 3028 clear satin, so check the tin is 3058 before you coat a whole run. It is the top pick here for a fitted wooden worktop, with that colour change and the thin-coat limit.

Pros

  • £23.82 for 500 ml, 4.7 from 3,755 reviews
  • Titled as a food-safe, water-resistant kitchen worktop oil
  • Clear matt 3058 named in the title and the included line
  • Thin-coat reviews, with a dry feel after about 8 hours in warm weather
  • Osmo UK cites EN 1186 and EN 71.3 for the dry film

Cons

  • Clear oil left oak yellow in more than one UK review
  • Thick coats stay sticky, and the smell is paint-like while it cures
  • One bullet also says 3028 clear satin
  • Listing coverage is about 2 m², while Osmo’s datasheet says 24 m² per litre for one coat

Best for: A solid wooden kitchen worktop when you accept a warmer oak tone from clear 3058.

Less suitable: A buyer who wants pale, untreated-looking oak, or a chopping board that only needs mineral oil.

Specifications

Model
Osmo TopOil 3058 Clear Matt 500 ml
Brand
Osmo
Price
∼£24
Customer rating
4.7/5(3,755)
Oil type
High-solid worktop oil
Volume
500 ml
Cures
Yes
Food contact
Food safe claim
Dry time
About 8 hours
Scent
Paint-like
Origin
Germany

Common questions

Is this the clear matt 3058 tin?

The title, model number and included-components line are TopOil 3058 Clear Matt, 500 ml. One bullet also says 3028 clear satin, so the shade on the tin is worth checking before a whole kitchen.

Does the clear oil stay clear on oak?

More than one UK review said this clear oil left oak yellow. Reviewers who kept the coat thin reported less stickiness than with a thick wipe.

Is it listed as food safe?

The title says food safe and water resistant for wooden kitchen surfaces. The saved listing does not include a certificate.

CLARK'S chopping board oil and wax set

Rank 7

CLARK'S chopping board oil and wax set

∼£23

Our view

CLARK’S oil and beeswax set is £22.95, 4.7 from 3,638 reviews, with 355 ml of orange-lemon oil and 177 ml of wax, and the country of origin is United Kingdom. The oil bullet names wood countertops as well as boards, bamboo, bowls and utensils, and the method is oil first, then wax as a liquid barrier. The food-safe question sits on the listing and is not answered in the spec table. Reviews say they noticed no taste after buffing, which is not a certificate. The included-components field says Knife, which does not match a two-bottle title, and the applicator question is unanswered. It is a scented board set. A sink run still wants a curing worktop oil.

Pros

  • £22.95, 4.7 from 3,638 reviews
  • 355 ml oil and 177 ml wax, origin United Kingdom
  • Orange-lemon scent stated on the listing
  • Named for boards, bamboo and wood countertops
  • Reviews report no taste after buffing

Cons

  • Food-contact question is unanswered in the spec table
  • Included-components field says Knife
  • Applicator question is unanswered
  • A wax barrier is not a curing worktop film

Best for: Scented oil-and-wax care for boards, bowls and utensils.

Less suitable: A fitted worktop, or anyone who wants an unscented mineral oil.

Specifications

Model
CLARK'S chopping board oil and wax set
Brand
CLARK'S
Price
∼£23
Customer rating
4.7/5(3,638)
Oil type
Oil and wax set
Volume
355 ml + 177 ml
Cures
No
Food contact
Not answered
Dry time
Oil, then wax
Scent
Orange-lemon
Origin
United Kingdom

Common questions

Does it come with an applicator?

That question is on the listing and is not answered. The included-components field says Knife, which does not match the two-bottle title.

Is this oil food safe?

The question is on the listing with no spec-table answer. Reviews say they noticed no taste after buffing. That is not a certificate.

Can it be used on bamboo boards?

The oil bullet names bamboo chopping boards and wood countertops.

Materialix boiled linseed oil 1 litre

Rank 8

Materialix boiled linseed oil 1 litre

∼£14

Our view

Materialix boiled linseed oil, 1 litre, is £13.95, 4.7 from 433 reviews, model 20301-3. The listing claims a DAkkS-accredited test to Regulation (EC) No 1935/2004 for boards, blocks, worktops and dining tables. The certificate is not in the saved listing, so that line stays a claim. The bullets give about 12–15 m² per litre, about 18 hours to dry and 5–10 days to harden, with a warm golden glow, and they also name garden furniture and decking. Reviews describe a strong smell. UV protection is asked and not answered, and the bullets do not include a cloth-fire line, even though drying oils can self-heat if the rags are piled. Open it when you want a litre of linseed with that food-contact sentence and you will wait for the harden time.

Pros

  • £13.95 a litre, 4.7 from 433 reviews
  • Listing claims a DAkkS test to Regulation (EC) No 1935/2004
  • About 12–15 m² per litre, 18 hours to dry, 5–10 days to harden
  • Named for worktops, blocks and outdoor wood
  • Pale yellow, with a warm glow described on the listing

Cons

  • The DAkkS certificate is not in the file
  • Strong smell in reviews, and the UV question is unanswered
  • No cloth-fire warning in the bullets
  • Outdoor timber is named beside worktops, so it is not a kitchen-only tin

Best for: A board or worktop when you want the Regulation (EC) No 1935/2004 claim in this set and can wait 5–10 days.

Less suitable: A same-weekend kitchen, or a food business that needs the certificate in hand.

Specifications

Model
Materialix boiled linseed oil 1 litre
Brand
Materialix
Price
∼£14
Customer rating
4.7/5(433)
Oil type
Boiled linseed oil
Volume
1 litre
Cures
Yes
Food contact
1935/2004 claim
Dry time
18 h, 5–10 days
Scent
Strong smell

Common questions

Is it food safe for a chopping board?

The listing says a DAkkS-accredited laboratory tested it to Regulation (EC) No 1935/2004. The certificate is not in the saved listing.

Can it be used on outdoor furniture?

The bullets name garden furniture, fences, sheds and decking as well as kitchen worktops. UV protection is asked and not answered.

How long does a coat take?

The listing says about 18 hours to dry and 5–10 days to harden fully, and about 12–15 m² per litre.

Grain Guard chopping board oil 500 ml

Rank 9

Grain Guard chopping board oil 500 ml

∼£14

Our view

Grain Guard’s 500 ml mineral oil is £13.99, 4.7 from 80 reviews, model 20085, with United Kingdom as the country of origin. The specific-use field says Countertop, and the bullets also name chopping boards, butcher blocks, utensils, slate and stainless steel. It is colourless, odourless and tasteless on the listing, wipe-on, with no sanding and no curing time. One UK review said pine tops of the same type ended up different colours. Eighty reviews is a small sample beside Materialix, and a mineral oil still does not harden. It suits a UK-branded conditioner bottle. It does not give a sink edge a cured film.

Pros

  • £13.99 for 500 ml, origin United Kingdom
  • 4.7 from 80 reviews
  • Specific use listed as Countertop
  • Unscented and colourless, with no curing time stated
  • Wipe-on, and the listing says no sanding

Cons

  • Only 80 reviews
  • Does not cure
  • One UK review found uneven colour on matching pine
  • No food-contact regulation is named

Best for: A 500 ml unscented mineral oil from a UK brand for boards and the other surfaces the listing names.

Less suitable: Fitted oak by a sink, or anyone who wants a review file in the thousands.

Specifications

Model
Grain Guard chopping board oil 500 ml
Brand
GRAIN GUARD
Price
∼£14
Customer rating
4.7/5(80)
Oil type
Mineral oil
Volume
500 ml
Cures
No
Food contact
Food grade claim
Dry time
Soaks in
Scent
Unscented
Origin
United Kingdom

Common questions

Is it for worktops or only chopping boards?

The specific-use field says Countertop. The bullets also name chopping boards, butcher blocks, utensils, slate and stainless steel.

Does it have a scent?

The listing says unscented, colourless and tasteless. Reviews agree it is odourless.

Will pine stay one colour?

One UK review said pine tops of the same type ended up different colours. The listing does not promise a uniform tint.

KEL chopping board oil 250 ml

Rank 10

KEL chopping board oil 250 ml

Our view

KEL’s 250 ml mineral oil is £6.68, 4.6 from 33 reviews, model FAM1324, made in the United Kingdom by McKLords. The title includes countertops as well as boards, butcher blocks and bamboo, and reviews describe a neutral scent. One review put on six coats and staining still continued, which fits a conditioner that never hardens. Another said the screw top had no seal and the bottle leaked in transit. The listing asks how often to apply and does not answer. It is the cheapest bottle in the table, and 33 reviews are too few to treat 4.6 as a settled result.

Pros

  • £6.68 for 250 ml, the lowest shelf price in the set
  • Made in the United Kingdom
  • Title names boards, blocks, countertops and bamboo
  • Neutral scent in reviews

Cons

  • Only 33 reviews
  • Six coats, and staining still continued in one review
  • One leak report: a screw top with no seal
  • No re-oil interval on the listing, and the oil does not cure

Best for: A low-cost trial on a bamboo or hardwood board you already oil often.

Less suitable: A fitted worktop, or a buyer who needs a large review sample and a sealed cap.

Specifications

Model
KEL chopping board oil 250 ml
Brand
KEL
Price
∼£7
Customer rating
4.6/5(33)
Oil type
Mineral oil
Volume
250 ml
Cures
No
Food contact
Food prep claim
Dry time
Soaks in
Scent
Neutral
Origin
United Kingdom

Common questions

Can it be used on bamboo?

The bullets name bamboo, hardwood and softwood. One review used it on a large bamboo chopping board.

How often should it be applied?

The listing asks that and does not answer it. One review put on six coats and staining still continued.

Does the bottle stay sealed in the post?

One review said the screw top had no seal and the bottle leaked in transit. Other reviews do not mention a leak.

Furniture Clinic Worktop Oil 250 ml

Rank 11

Furniture Clinic Worktop Oil 250 ml

∼£10

Our view

Furniture Clinic Worktop Oil, 250 ml, is £9.99, 4.3 from 255 reviews, model worktop-oil-250. The listing calls it food safe for wooden worktops and utensils, with a clear satin finish that is water- and stain-resistant, and it is sold as quick drying and wipe-on. The maker’s note used in this comparison is 4–6 hours between coats and up to 20 m² per litre, with three coats on bare wood. Reviews include water marks five days after the last coat, oak that still marked after four coats, and a strong smell at first. Country of origin is not in the saved listing. It is the cheaper named worktop oil here, and 4.3 from 255 reviews is a thinner, more mixed file than the Osmo tin.

Pros

  • £9.99 for 250 ml of a named worktop oil
  • Food-safe claim for worktops and utensils
  • Clear satin, wipe-on, described as quick drying
  • Maker note of 4–6 hours and up to 20 m² per litre

Cons

  • 4.3 from 255 reviews, below the other worktop tin
  • Water marks after several days, and oak still marked after four coats
  • Strong smell at first in reviews
  • Origin is not stated, and coverage is missing from the amazon.co.uk bullets

Best for: A small bare wooden top when £9.99 matters more than a large review file.

Less suitable: Oak that already shows the water-mark pattern in these reviews, or a buyer who wants several thousand reviews.

Specifications

Model
Furniture Clinic Worktop Oil 250 ml
Brand
Furniture Clinic
Price
∼£10
Customer rating
4.3/5(255)
Oil type
Worktop oil
Volume
250 ml
Cures
Yes
Food contact
Food safe claim
Dry time
Quick drying
Scent
Strong at first

Common questions

Is it made in the UK?

That question is on the listing. The saved listing does not give a country of origin. The manufacturer field says Furniture Clinic.

Does it protect against stains and water?

The listing claims a water- and stain-resistant finish. Reviews include water marks five days after the last coat, and oak that still marked after four coats.

Can it be used on chopping boards?

That question is on the listing. The bullets name kitchen worktops and kitchen utensils. Reviews also mention boards and shelves.

How we compared

Eleven amazon.co.uk listings were scored from the stored files, the UK review notes on those listings, and the public maker pages named in the sources. This was not a spill test, a migration test or a fire test. Amazon evidence is 40, worktop fit is 35, review outcome is 15 and value is 10. Stars are (rating divided by 5) times 30, rounded to the nearest whole number, plus a review-count band. Among oils at 4.5 or above with at least 1,000 reviews, the lowest shelf price scores the value block. Worked scores are 82, 78, 76, 75, 70, 69, 63, 59, 58, 54 and 44. The top pick is the highest score. The best value is the lowest shelf price in that band. A maker coverage figure is not treated as if it were printed the same way on every tin. The Materialix 250 ml and 1 litre files share the same saved review text.

1

Amazon evidence

40%

Stars on amazon.co.uk are scaled as (stars divided by 5) times 30, rounded to the nearest whole number, plus a review-count band: 10 points at 1,000 or more, 8 from 400 to 999, 6 from 200 to 399, 4 from 50 to 199, and 2 under 50. A 4.9 from 24 reviews cannot fill the count band. The two Materialix mineral-oil files share saved review text, so neither is treated as a second independent population.

2

Worktop fit

35%

Points for a tin that is a curing oil for a wooden kitchen worktop, a named food-contact basis, a printed dry time or coverage figure, and an honest limit such as a cloth warning or a shade code. Mineral oil that never hardens scores lower on this block even when the listing also says worktop. Contradictions cost points, including a 3028 satin bullet on a 3058 matt tin, a food question left blank, part number CT-LO-500 on a 250 ml bottle, and a furniture oil that only mentions boards by analogy.

3

Review outcome

15%

A large file that describes the job scores higher than a thin file or a file that is mostly water marks, leaks or one-line praise. Yellowing, sticky thick coats, residue and a strong smell are deductions, not reasons to ignore the tin.

4

Value

10%

Among oils at 4.5 or above with at least 1,000 reviews, the lowest shelf price in GBP scores the block. Price per litre still matters for the other bottles. A 4.9 from 24 reviews does not win value, and a £6.68 bottle with 33 reviews does not either.

Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Countertop oil buying guide

Start with the surface, then whether the oil cures, then the food-contact basis, then dry time, coverage and smell, then the cloth rule. The notes below follow that order. None of these listings was lab-tested.

What to check before you buy countertop oil

A countertop oil, for a UK shopper, is the treatment that keeps a wooden kitchen worktop, butcher block, or chopping board from drying out, staining, and letting water soak in. The cans that share this search are not one product: a hardwax oil for worktops, a quicker-drying worktop oil, food-grade mineral oils that only condition, and linseed oils that dry by oxidation.

Best for

  • Oak or beech worktop owners who will use a curing oil and a bead test by the sink
  • Board and bamboo-block owners buying mineral oil or an oil-and-wax set
  • Furniture and garden-timber jobs where linseed is the intent, with the rag-fire rule

Not ideal for

  • Marble, quartz, laminate or acrylic
  • A sink zone that is already soft or black, or a top that is still lacquered
  • Treating a food-safe title as an EN 1186 certificate, or mineral-oil stars as a spill test

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Leaving a thick coat unwiped

    Quality on a fitted oak top is thin coats and wiped surplus. UK reviews of the hardwax tin say thick wipes stayed sticky. Use the same product next time rather than swapping chemistry later.

  2. 2

    Reading mineral-oil stars as a spill test

    Food-grade mineral oil never hardens, so it washes out and is reapplied. A large star line, including where a bullet says worktop, does not turn it into a water-shedding film by the sink.

  3. 3

    Piling drying-oil rags

    East Sussex Fire & Rescue Service says linseed rags ignite from oxidation when piled. Hang them flat outside, soak and bag them, or use a lidded metal tin with water. Mineral-oil rags do not oxidise in that way.

What to weigh up

Surface and cure

High

A solid wooden worktop, especially around a sink, wants a worktop oil or hardwax. A chopping board wants food-grade mineral oil or an oil-and-wax set. Marble, quartz, laminate and acrylic are the wrong substrate. Mineral oil never hardens, so it washes out and is reapplied. Osmo TopOil and Furniture Clinic Worktop Oil are meant to leave a water-repellent film. The Boos and CLARK'S sets are oil plus wax for boards, blocks and, on those listings, wooden countertops.

Food contact, dry time and cloths

High

Article 3 of assimilated Regulation (EC) No 1935/2004 is the duty: no harmful transfer and no spoiled taste or smell. England enforces contact materials under SI 2012/2619. Food safe on a title is a claim. Osmo cites EN 1186 and EN 71.3 for the dry film. The Materialix boiled linseed listing claims a DAkkS test to the same regulation. The certificate is not in the file. Grain Guard raw linseed claims DIN EN 71-3. That certificate is not in the file either. EN 1186 is a migration method.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

Oak or beech worktop

You have a solid wooden kitchen worktop and you will wipe thin coats, then check that water beads by the sink. Osmo TopOil 3058 Clear Matt, 500 ml, is the top pick at about £23.82, with 4.7 from 3,755 reviews. UK reviews mention a warmer oak colour, sticky thick coats and a paint-like smell while it cures. One bullet also says 3028 clear satin, so check the tin is 3058.

Boards and blocks

You oil chopping boards, a butcher block or bamboo, and you will reapply. The Materialix 250 ml mineral oil is the best value at about £8.95, 4.7 from 6,083, the lowest shelf price among oils at 4.5 or above with at least 1,000 reviews. It does not cure. The saved review text matches the 1 litre listing.

Furniture and linseed

You are finishing furniture or garden timber, or you want a linseed listing that names a food-contact test. Materialix boiled linseed oil, 1 litre, is about £13.95, 4.7 from 433. The listing claims a DAkkS test to Regulation (EC) No 1935/2004. The certificate is not in the file. Reviews describe a strong smell, and drying-oil cloths can self-heat.

Common questions about Countertop oils

Which countertop oil is the top pick in this comparison?
The top pick is Osmo TopOil 3058 Clear Matt, 500 ml, at about £23.82. It has the highest score as a dedicated high-solid oil for wooden kitchen worktops, with 4.7 from 3,755 amazon.co.uk reviews. UK reviews mention yellow oak, sticky thick coats and a paint-like smell while it cures. One bullet also says 3028 clear satin. Food safe on the title is a claim. The saved listing does not include a certificate.
Which countertop oil is the best value?
The best value is the Materialix food-grade mineral oil, 250 ml, at about £8.95. It is the lowest shelf price among oils in this set at 4.5 or above with at least 1,000 reviews, and the line is 4.7 from 6,083. The saved review text matches the 1 litre listing, so those two counts are not separate populations. It does not cure or leave a water-shedding film. It is the best value for a board. It is not a sink-side finish.
How much does countertop oil cost on amazon.co.uk?
In this amazon.co.uk set the shelf prices run from about £6.68 to £37.90. The entry band is about £6.70 to £10, covering KEL 250 ml, Materialix mineral oil 250 ml and Furniture Clinic 250 ml, which is a worktop oil rather than a mineral oil. The mid band is about £12 to £20. The upper end of this set is about £23 to £38, covering CLARK'S, Osmo 500 ml and the Boos set. These are the saved listing figures, not a live re-check and not a market average.
What should you check before you buy countertop oil?
Check the surface first. A solid wooden worktop, especially around a sink, wants a worktop oil or hardwax. A chopping board wants food-grade mineral oil or an oil-and-wax set. Marble, quartz, laminate and acrylic are the wrong substrate. Then check whether the oil cures, whether a food-contact basis is named, and whether a dry time or coverage figure is printed. Food safe on a title is a claim. No listing here was lab-tested, and no oil makes timber waterproof.
Is mineral oil the same as a worktop oil?
No. Mineral oil never hardens, so it washes out and is reapplied. A hardwax or a named worktop oil is meant to leave a water-repellent film. Osmo TopOil and Furniture Clinic Worktop Oil are the curing worktop finishes in this set. Materialix, Grain Guard and KEL mineral oils are conditioners, including where a bullet says worktop or countertop. A large mineral-oil star line is not a spill test on fitted oak. On a worktop, re-oil when water stops beading.
What food-contact rules apply to wood oil in the UK?
Article 3 of assimilated Regulation (EC) No 1935/2004 says food-contact materials must not transfer anything in a quantity that could harm health or spoil taste or smell. England enforces contact materials under SI 2012/2619. The FSA authorisation list covers plastics, active and intelligent materials, recycled plastic and regenerated cellulose, not every wood oil. EN 1186 is a migration method. EN 71-3 is a toy-element migration test. A certificate that is not in the saved listing is not scored as if it had been read. This is not legal advice.
Do oily cloths need a fire warning?
East Sussex Fire & Rescue Service says linseed rags ignite from oxidation when they are piled. Hang them flat outside, soak and bag them, or put them in a lidded metal tin with water. Mineral-oil rags do not oxidise in that way. Do not heat these oils. A review on the Grain Guard raw linseed listing quotes the same cloth warning. Boiled and raw linseed as their own comparison are in the boiled linseed oil comparison.
When should you call a joiner instead of buying oil?
Call a joiner when the sink zone is soft or black, when a long top is still lacquered, or when a food business needs a compliance declaration. On a sound top, usual mistakes are a thick coat left unwiped, olive oil, a bare sink cut-out, and reading mineral-oil stars as a spill test. Hot pans still need a trivet. Solvent-borne woodstains are capped at 400 g/l ready for use under SI 2012/1715. A neat mineral oil may sit outside that definition.

Our verdict

The top pick is Osmo TopOil 3058 Clear Matt, 500 ml, at about £23.82. It has the highest score, as a dedicated high-solid worktop oil with 4.7 from 3,755 amazon.co.uk reviews. UK reviews mention yellow oak, sticky thick coats and a paint-like smell while curing. The listing coverage is about 2 m², while the Osmo datasheet says 24 m² per litre for one coat. One bullet also says 3028 clear satin. The best value is the Materialix mineral oil, 250 ml, at about £8.95, the lowest shelf price among oils at 4.5 or above with at least 1,000 reviews, at 4.7 from 6,083. It does not cure. It is the best value for a board. It is not a sink-side finish.

Best overall
Caplin double boiled linseed oil 250 ml

Caplin double boiled linseed oil 250 ml

View offer
Best value
Materialix food-grade mineral oil 250 ml

Materialix food-grade mineral oil 250 ml

Lowest shelf price among oils at 4.5 or above with at least 1,000 reviews. It does not cure.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - Editor
Editor
Paints and varnishesCountertop oilamazon.co.uk listings

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Guides to Countertop oils

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public sources from the research digest, last checked on 21 October 2026. Shelf prices and star lines are the amazon.co.uk figures in the display file. The price band is this set, not a market average. No listing was lab-tested.

  1. Osmo UK TopOil (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  2. Osmo UK TopOil product information PDF (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  3. Regulation (EC) No 1935/2004 (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  4. SI 2012/2619, Materials and Articles in Contact with Food (England) (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  5. FSA food-contact materials authorisation guidance (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  6. SI 2012/1715 Schedule 2, VOC limits (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  7. East Sussex Fire & Rescue Service: fire hazards of linseed oil (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  8. Furniture Clinic Worktop Oil (retrieved 21 October 2026)

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are the stored amazon.co.uk figures, not a live crawl. We did not lab-test these oils.