Short drive or path
You want a long plastic scoop for a path or a small drive, and you can return it if the shaft does not fit. The table lists a plastic blade and 140 cm. Many UK reviews say the pole will not seat in the head.
The best plastic snow shovels, compared.
Top pick: KetoBarrow one-piece plastic shovel Best value: EarlyGrow 1.25 m plastic shovel – Best value at about £14.95: the lowest price here, a stated plastic blade, and a listed length of 125 cm. Updated October 2026.
A plastic snow shovel is a wide scoop with a plastic blade. You use it to push or lift fresh snow off a path, a drive, or around a car, and often to shift leaves. Seven listings remain after aluminium, steel, and head-only products were removed. Full scoops here are about 125 cm and 140 cm. Sectional car shovels state about 80 cm to 112 cm. If the table and a bullet disagree, both lines stay visible. Many of those reviews say the shaft will not fit. What to check first is in the [plastic snow shovel buying guide](/hub/garden-tools/plastic-snow-shovel/sub/plastic-snow-shovel-buying-guide).
A plastic snow shovel is a wide scoop with a plastic blade. You use it to push or lift fresh snow off a path, a drive, or around a car, and often to shift leaves.
Swipe for more
1-2 of 7Personal buying guide
Question 1 of 2
What are you clearing?
The KetoBarrow is the only one-piece moulding in the set, so there is no shaft joint to fit. The bullet says 990 mm from the blade to the top of the handle, a blade about 380 by 285 mm, a D-grip, and that it is made in the UK, at about £16.99. The table calls the blade polyurethane and the handle polypropylene. The title leads with horse muck, and the bullet also names a builders yard and a stable, with snow as one stated use among those jobs. Five amazon.co.uk reviews sit at 5.0 stars, which is too thin a file to treat as a settled rating. The printed weight is not a plausible shovel weight, and the dimension line is not the length to use. Use the 990 mm bullet. There is no wear strip stated on the listing.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You want a one-piece plastic shovel and snow is only one of the jobs.
Less suitable: You need a boot-sized shovel, a wear strip on the listing, or a rating based on more than five reviews.
Specifications
Common questions
Does it need assembling?
No. The bullet says a one-piece design from blade to handle.
How long is it?
The bullet says 990 mm from blade to handle top, and a blade about 380 by 285 mm. The printed dimension line is not that length.
Is snow the only stated use?
No. The bullet names a builders yard, shovelling snow, a stable, and the garden. The title leads with horse muck.
The LESOLEIL kit is listed at about £18.04, 1.1 kg, and 27 by 112 cm. It folds, with a padded D-handle, and the box is a shovel, a brush, and an ice scraper. The specification table says a polypropylene blade and a rubber handle. The bullet on the same page says stainless steel handles and shovel heads with aluminium blades, so the plastic line is not settled. Across 89 amazon.co.uk reviews it averages 4.5 stars. Reviewers say it was easy to assemble and useful on a drive and a car, and one says the spade wobbles once it is fixed together. The listing gives China as the place of origin. If you buy it as a plastic snow shovel, you are buying a kit whose own page disagrees about the blade.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You want a folding car kit with a brush and a scraper, and you have read that the blade lines conflict.
Less suitable: You need one unambiguous plastic blade, with no metal-blade sentence on the same page.
Specifications
Common questions
Is the blade polypropylene?
The table says polypropylene. The bullet says stainless steel handles and shovel heads with aluminium blades. Both lines are on the listing.
What is in the box?
The bullet says a snow shovel, a snow brush, and an ice scraper. Number of items is 3.
Do the UK reviews mention the joint?
One UK review says the spade wobbles when it is fixed together. Others say it was easy to assemble and useful on a drive and a car.
The Kenmohuo kit is listed at about £21.99 and 1.23 kg. The bullet names high-strength PP plastic, an aluminium alloy extension pole, and five functions: a shovel, a brush, an ice scraper, a sweeper, and a squeezer. It is described as foldable, with an ergonomic grip, for car glass, tyres, paths, and a patio. The star line is 4.5 from two ratings, with no written review text, and the saved listing gives 15 September 2025 as the first available date. There is no separate blade-material line in a specification table. The pole is alloy, so this is a plastic-faced kit on a metal shaft rather than a one-material scoop. The only size in the table is a package of 40 x 20 x 4 cm, not a working length you can stand up with.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You want a car kit that names PP plastic, and you can set aside a two-rating star line.
Less suitable: You want written reviews, or a full-length scoop for a drive.
Specifications
Common questions
Does the listing name the plastic?
The bullet says high-strength PP plastic and an aluminium alloy extension pole. There is no blade-material table line.
What else is in the kit?
The bullet names a snow shovel, a snow brush, an ice scraper, a snow sweeper, and a squeezer.
Are there written UK reviews?
No. The saved listing has 4.5 from 2 ratings and no review text. First available is given as 15 September 2025.
Across 390 amazon.co.uk reviews at 4.4 stars, this EarlyGrow is the long scoop in the set: the table lists a plastic blade, 140 cm, and 1.06 kg, at about £16.95. The title calls it a 3-piece tool, and UK reviewers describe a handle, a pole, and a head that need screws and a screwdriver. Many of those reviews say the pole is a different size at each end, too wide for the hole, or warped, while others say it went together easily. The table lists a plastic handle, but reviewers describe a wooden stave, so the specification and the parcel do not match. One reviewer said the plastic blade did not scratch monoblock, which is a single report rather than a surface test. Reviews also include a bent blade edge and a missing screw. If the shaft will not seat, the short-term right to reject faulty goods is generally 30 days under the Consumer Rights Act 2015.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You want a long plastic scoop for a path or a small drive, and you can return it if the shaft does not fit.
Less suitable: You need a shovel that goes together without a dispute about the shaft diameter.
Specifications
Common questions
Does the listing say the blade is plastic?
Yes. Material type, handle material, and blade material are all plastic in the table.
Does it arrive in one piece?
The title says 3 piece. UK reviews say a handle, a pole, and a head, and that a screwdriver is needed for the screws.
Do the UK reviews say the shaft fits?
Many of the first 50 UK reviews say the pole is a different size at each end, too wide for the hole, or warped. Others say it went together easily.
The UMUACCAN is the sectional shovel with a large review file: 4.2 from 337 amazon.co.uk reviews, at about £25.99, the highest price in this set. The bullets say it collapses into four sections, with working lengths of 80 cm and 108 cm, and a head of 13 inches by 11 inches. The listing does not name a blade material. UK reviews mention a metal edge or a reinforced edge, and several say it suits digging a car out and is too short for a large path. One review limits it to fresh snow rather than compacted snow. Reviewers also call the rod flimsy and the handle short, including people at 171 cm and at 5 ft 5 in who had to bend. The printed weight is not a plausible shovel weight, so that figure should be ignored.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You want a short sectional shovel for a car, and you have read that the blade material is not stated.
Less suitable: You need a stated plastic blade, or a full-length scoop for a drive.
Specifications
Common questions
Does the listing name the blade material?
No. There is no blade-material line. UK reviews mention a metal edge and a reinforced edge.
How long is it?
The bullets say 80 cm and 108 cm, and that it collapses into four sections. The head is stated as 13 inches by 11 inches.
What do UK reviews say about size?
Several say it suits digging a car out and is too short for a large path. One review says fresh snow only, not compacted snow.
At about £14.95 this is the lowest price in the set, with a plastic blade, a wooden handle, a 42.5 cm head, a listed length of 125 cm, and a table weight of 920 g. The bullet says the head is injection-moulded, that it friction-fits a 28 mm shaft, that metal screws are supplied, and that it is made in the UK. Across 69 amazon.co.uk reviews it sits at 4.2 stars. Some of those reviews say the shaft would not fit or that parts were missing, and one calls the shovel flimsy. One reviewer needed a pilot hole and a small drill bit even though the screws are supplied. It is not described as folding, so it stays at shed length rather than in the boot. The stated uses cover snow, leaves, debris, and mucking out.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You want a stated plastic scoop with a wooden shaft for snow and leaves, at the lowest price in this set.
Less suitable: You need a shovel that comes apart for a car boot.
Specifications
Common questions
Is the blade plastic?
Yes. Blade material is plastic. The head is described as injection-moulded plastic, 42.5 cm wide.
Does it need tools?
The bullet says a friction fit on a 28 mm shaft and that metal screws are provided. One UK review says a pilot hole and a small drill bit were needed.
Where does the listing say it was made?
The bullet says made in the UK. The manufacturer line is MPL Gardening.
The BUERPINKING bullet describes a thickened polymer blade on an aluminium alloy head, three detachable sections, working lengths of 80 cm and 112 cm, a foam grip, a D-handle, and a listed weight of 720 g, at about £18.99. There is no material table. The saved listing has no customer-review line and no UK review text, so the joints are unchecked in this file. The head is alloy as well as a polymer face, so this is not an all-plastic shovel. Stated uses cover a car, a drive, a garden, and mud. The dimensions line of 30 x 20 x 5 cm is a packed size, not the working length. You are trusting the bullet on its own, including the claim that the sections lock at both lengths.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You want a light sectional shovel and you can buy from the bullet alone.
Less suitable: You want a star count, or an all-plastic shovel with no alloy head.
Specifications
Common questions
Is the blade plastic?
The bullet says a thickened polymer shovel blade on a high-strength aluminium alloy shovel head. There is no material table.
How long does it go?
The bullet says 80 cm and 112 cm, with three detachable sections.
Is there a star rating in the saved listing?
No. There is no customer-review line and no UK review text.
Scores compare the seven amazon.co.uk listings kept in this category. Prices, stars, and review counts are the figures printed in the saved listings. There is no laboratory test, and the scores do not name the best plastic snow shovel in Britain. The published blocks are review evidence 40, a stated plastic blade 20, usable length 15, and price 15. A further 10 is the deduction block in that 100-point scale. Deductions are taken off the score. They are not a bonus.
Review evidence
40%The amazon.co.uk star rating divided by 5, multiplied by 40, then by a confidence factor from the review count. 300 or more reviews scores 1.0, 50–299 scores 0.75, 10–49 scores 0.45, 1–9 scores 0.20, and no review line scores 0.
Stated plastic blade
20%A table line that says plastic, polypropylene, polyethylene, polyurethane, or polymer, with no conflicting metal-blade sentence, scores 20. A bullet only scores 12. A table and bullet in conflict scores 6. No blade line scores 4.
Usable length
15%A stated working length of about 1.25 m or 1.40 m scores 15. A stated car length of 80–112 cm scores 10. No working length scores 4.
Price in this set
15%Inside these seven shelf prices, about £14.95 scores 15, £16.95 scores 13, £16.99 scores 12, £18.04 scores 10, £18.99 scores 9, £21.99 scores 7, and £25.99 scores 6.
Deductions
10%Repeated shaft-fit complaints deduct 8, and some fit complaints deduct 4. An implausible printed weight deducts 6. An alloy head or pole beside a plastic-blade claim deducts 4. No review text deducts 4. The score does not go below 0.
Start with the blade line, then the length, then whether the parts lock. A title that says plastic can still hide an aluminium bullet, or no blade line at all. Prices below are the figures printed in the amazon.co.uk saved listings, from about £14.95 to about £25.99. When a metal blade is the better fit is set out in [plastic or a metal blade](/hub/garden-tools/plastic-snow-shovel/sub/plastic-snow-shovel-vs-metal).
A plastic snow shovel is a wide scoop with a plastic blade. In the UK you use it to push or lift fresh snow off a path, a drive, or the ground around a car, and often to move leaves when it does not snow. Gloucestershire County Council and Essex Highways both name a lightweight plastic shovel ahead of an ordinary shovel, because snow tends to stick to a regular blade.

Plastic in the title can still sit beside an aluminium bullet, or beside no blade line at all. If the bullet and the table disagree, record both. Do not decide the blade until you see which one arrived.
A printed weight that is not a plausible shovel weight should be ignored. The same applies to a package size of a few tens of centimetres. That figure is the parcel, not the working length.
An 11-inch head can free a car. It does not clear a long drive of wet snow. A metal edge can mark block paving and paint. Do not use water, and do not force a shaft that does not fit.
The first check is the blade line in the table or the bullet, not the title. Keep the listing when that line says plastic, polypropylene, polyethylene, polyurethane, or a polymer face. If the bullet says aluminium blades and the table says polypropylene, as on the LESOLEIL kit, show both lines. A bullet-only polymer line, as on the BUERPINKING, is weaker than a table line. No blade line, as on the UMUACCAN, is weaker still. UK reviews of that listing mention a metal edge.
Full scoops in this set are about 1.25 m and 1.40 m. Sectional car shovels state 80 cm and about 108 to 112 cm. UK reviews of the UMUACCAN say the short handle forces a bend, including at 171 cm and at 5 ft 5 in. The KetoBarrow bullet says 990 mm. Use that bullet, not a dimension line that repeats 99 cm in two places. A package of 40 x 20 x 4 cm is not a working length. One-piece KetoBarrow has no shaft to fit.
Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.
You want a long plastic scoop for a path or a small drive, and you can return it if the shaft does not fit. The table lists a plastic blade and 140 cm. Many UK reviews say the pole will not seat in the head.
You want a stated plastic scoop with a wooden shaft for snow and leaves, at the lowest price here. The bullet says made in the UK. It is not described as folding, so it stays at shed length.
You want a short sectional shovel for snow around a car, and you have read that the blade material is not stated. Reviews mention a metal edge. Several say it is too short for a large path.
In this set the top pick is the EarlyGrow 3-piece plastic shovel. It scores 75: a plastic blade in the table, a listed length of 140 cm, and 4.4 from 390 reviews, at about £16.95. Many UK reviews say the shaft will not fit, and reviewers describe wood where the table says a plastic handle. Best value is the EarlyGrow 1.25 m plastic shovel at about £14.95, with a plastic blade, a wooden handle, 125 cm listed, and 4.2 from 69 reviews. It is not described as folding. The KetoBarrow scores 44 and takes no badge: five reviews, and a printed weight that is not a plausible shovel weight.

EarlyGrow 1.25 m plastic shovel
Best value at about £14.95: the lowest price here, a stated plastic blade, and a listed length of 125 cm.
Editorial

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.
Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.
Public UK sources used for this comparison. Listing prices, stars, and review counts are the figures printed in the amazon.co.uk saved listings.
This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars, and review counts are the UK listing lines. We did not run a lab test.