Fence run, named bits
You want a kit that names 150 mm-class bits, a stated depth, and a manufacturer page for the mix. Have a second person if the soil is awkward.
The best petrol earth augers, compared.
Top pick: Donened 52 cc petrol earth auger Best value: Donened 52 cc powerhead – Best value at about £60.50: score 40 gives the most score per pound among the other five. The listing is a powerhead and does not name bit diameters. Updated October 2026.
A petrol earth auger is a handheld two-stroke post-hole machine: an engine, a gearbox, and a spiral bit. It is sold for fence posts, gate posts, and some planting. You are usually a householder setting a run of posts, or you would otherwise hire a one-man borer for a weekend. Quality is a kit whose bit diameters are listed, a single engine description, a fuel note you can trace to a manual, and a weight that belongs to that machine. Only the 30278 has a matching manufacturer page. Two files contradict themselves, so a low price is not a complete tool. Scores describe a clearer file, not a drilled hole, and this set supports no winner or value badge. The checks, in order, are in the [petrol earth auger buying guide](/hub/garden-tools/petrol-earth-auger/sub/petrol-earth-auger-buying-guide). Cordless, manual, and drill-bit augers are not this category. A powerhead names a maximum diameter and does not list bits.
A petrol earth auger is a handheld two-stroke post-hole machine: an engine, a gearbox, and a spiral bit. It is sold for fence posts, gate posts, and some planting.
Swipe for more
1-2 of 6Personal buying guide
Question 1 of 2
What do you need in the box?
The Donened 52 cc kit is listed at £109.99 with a claimed 1.98 hp (1.46 kW), and the title names 100 mm, 150 mm and 200 mm bits. The included-components line is the fullest in this set: the auger, three bits, an English manual, a tool kit, an extension bar, a mixing bottle, a funnel, a spare starter and goggles. Amazon shows 4.0 from 3 reviews, and the saved listing has no review text, so there is nothing to quote about faults or praise. Depth is not stated. A maximum chuck size of 30.31 inches is listed separately and is not described as depth. The mix ratio is not in the file, and a listed maximum of 7500 rpm is an engine-speed claim rather than a drilling rate. At 16.2 kg it is the only kept listing with a star line, and three reviews without text are too thin to treat as a tested result.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You want a three-bit kit under £110 with goggles and an extension named in the box list.
Less suitable: You want written reviews, a stated depth, or a manufacturer fuel ratio.
Specifications
Common questions
Are goggles in the box list?
Yes. The included-components line names one pair of goggles, plus an English manual, a tool kit, an extension bar, a mixing bottle, a funnel and a spare starter.
What bit sizes are named?
The title names 100 mm, 150 mm and 200 mm bits. The listing does not state a drilling depth. A maximum chuck size of 30.31 inches is listed separately and is not described as depth.
What is the amazon.co.uk star line?
4.0 out of 5 from 3 reviews. The saved listing has that line and no review texts, so there is nothing to quote about faults or praise.
The Draper 30278 is listed on amazon.co.uk at £214.79 as a 51.7 cc two-stroke with twin handles. The bullets name 100 mm, 150 mm and 200 mm bits and a drilling depth of up to 800 mm, and the title says the engine is E10 compatible. Draper Tools lists the same model at a 40:1 mix and 12.5 kg with a bit, so the Amazon weight of 20.3 kg is a different figure for that model number. The included-components line lists only the auger, while the bullets name three bits, so the box is not settled from the Amazon file alone. There is no star line and no review text in the saved listing. The bullets say one person can use it, which does not remove the chance of the handles spinning if the bit stops in a root. It is the only kept listing with a matching manufacturer page, and a poor match if you need a 300 mm bit or any written UK reviews.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You want a named 51.7 cc listing with 100–200 mm bits and a manufacturer page you can check for the mix.
Less suitable: You need a 300 mm bit, or a listing with written UK reviews.
Specifications
Common questions
Which bit sizes does the Draper listing name?
The bullets name 100 mm, 150 mm and 200 mm bits. The included-components line lists only the 51.7 cc auger, so the box list and the bullets do not match.
How deep does the listing say it drills?
The title and bullets say up to 800 mm. That figure is the listing claim. There is no UK review text in the saved listing.
Does the listing say it runs on E10?
Yes. The title and a bullet say it is E10 compatible. The mix ratio is not in the amazon.co.uk saved listing. Draper Tools lists 40:1 for the 30278.
The kyco listing at £360 is an 82 cc two-stroke whose title names 100 mm, 200 mm and 300 mm bits, a post level and an extension. A bullet claims 2450 W and a drilling speed of 0 to 300 rpm, and the weight line is 18.1 kg. Depth is not stated, and the saved listing has no fuel ratio. The included-components line says engine drill and does not repeat the bits, the level or the extension, so the title and the box line disagree. There is no star line and no UK review text. A question on the listing asks about a carry case, and the bullets do not answer it. On paper it is the widest diameter in this set, and a weak buy if you need the box confirmed before you pay £360.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You need a listing that names a 300 mm bit, and you can confirm the box before you rely on it.
Less suitable: You want a manufacturer page, a stated depth, or any written UK reviews.
Specifications
Common questions
What is the largest bit on this listing?
The title names 100 mm, 200 mm and 300 mm bits. Depth is not stated. The included-components line says engine drill and does not repeat those bits.
What power does the listing claim?
A bullet says 2450 W and a drilling speed of 0 to 300 rpm. There is no star line and no UK review text in the saved listing.
Does the listing include a carry case?
A question line asks about a carry case. The bullets do not answer it. They name a funnel, an oil bottle and installation accessories.
The Donened 44F-A is listed at £60.50 as a 52 cc powerhead with a claimed 1.8 kW. The included list names the post hole digger, a fuel mixing bottle, English instructions and assembly accessories. It does not name bit diameters. The bullets say you can fit augers up to 20 cm, and that one or two people can complete tasks, without saying the machine has four handles. There is no weight and no star line in the saved listing. The title also says 2 hp beside the 1.8 kW bullet, so the page prints two power figures for one engine. The mix ratio is not stated. At this price you are buying an engine and a coupling, and you still need bits that match.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You already own bits and only need a 52 cc powerhead with a mixing bottle listed.
Less suitable: You expect three bits in the box, or a confirmed weight.
Specifications
Common questions
Does this price include drill bits?
The included list names the post hole digger, a fuel mixing bottle, English instructions and assembly accessories. It does not name bit diameters. The bullets say you can fit augers up to 20 cm.
Can two people use it?
A bullet says one or two people can complete tasks. It does not say the machine has four handles.
What engine figures are in the bullets?
52 cc, 1.8 kW and 6500 rpm. The title also says 2 hp. There is no weight and no star line in the saved listing.
The Generic listing at £145.99 prints two engines. The title and bullets say 63 cc, up to 2.2 kW or 3 hp, and up to 7,500 rpm. The colour line and the model number say 52 cc and 1.98 hp. The title says 80 cm auger drill bits, while the colour line names 4 inch, 6 inch and 8 inch bits. A bullet claims four handles for one or two users. Weight is not listed, there is no parts list, and there is no star line. Materials are given as aluminium alloy, a PP framework and a steel bit. You cannot pick a displacement from this file, so the four-handle claim sits on an engine description that contradicts itself.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You would only consider it after the seller confirms one engine and which bits are in the box.
Less suitable: You need a single displacement, a weight, or a box list you can quote.
Specifications
Common questions
Is it 63 cc or 52 cc?
The title and bullets say 63 cc, up to 2.2 kW / 3 hp and up to 7,500 rpm. The colour line and the model number say 52 cc and 1.98 hp. The saved listing does not resolve that.
How many handles does the listing claim?
The title and a bullet say a four-handle design for one or two users. Weight is not listed.
What bit sizes are named?
The title says 80 cm auger drill bits. The colour line names 4 inch, 6 inch and 8 inch bits. There is no separate millimetre list and no star line.
This Generic listing at £75.83 cannot be read as one machine. The title and bullets describe a 52 cc two-stroke petrol engine at 1.8 kW and 6500 rpm, with earth augers up to 20 cm and a straight-through gearbox. The attribute block on the same amazon.co.uk file says Corded Electric, colour Red 1 Battery, weight 1 kg, dimensions 10 x 10 x 10 mm, and plastic. No included-components list names bits. There is no star line. A 1 kg weight and a 10 mm cube cannot describe a 52 cc engine, so one half of the page is wrong. Until the seller resolves the petrol bullets and the corded-electric attributes, the £75.83 price is not a petrol kit you can specify.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You should leave this ASIN until the attributes match the bullets.
Less suitable: You need a petrol auger you can specify from a single page.
Specifications
Common questions
Is this listing definitely petrol?
The title and bullets describe a 52 cc 2-stroke petrol engine at 1.8 kW and 6500 rpm. The attribute block says Corded Electric, colour Red 1 Battery, weight 1 kg and dimensions 10 x 10 x 10 mm. Both are on the same amazon.co.uk file.
Are bits included?
No included-components list is in the saved listing. The bullets say it accepts earth augers up to 20 cm. That is a capacity claim, not a box list.
What gearbox does the listing claim?
The bullets say a straight-through gearbox and contrast it with side-mounted motors. There is no star line.
Scores are editorial judgements of the six amazon.co.uk files, from 0 to 100, updated on 20 October 2026. They are not a lab test and not a measured drilling time. A higher score means a clearer file. This set does not support a winner or a value badge. The weights below sum to 100. A page that prints two incompatible descriptions is marked down inside the engine block, not as a separate weight.
Named bit diameters
28%Bit diameters named in the title or bullets, and not contradicted on the same page.
One engine description
22%One displacement and power story. Two incompatible descriptions on the same page are marked down.
Stated depth
11%A stated depth or bit length that is not a chuck size in disguise.
Fuel note
11%A fuel note you can trace: E10 on the listing, or 40:1 on the Draper Tools page for the 30278 only.
Weight
9%A weight that belongs to a petrol machine, not a 1 kg attribute block. Amazon and manufacturer weights that do not match are marked down.
Box list
9%A box list that names bits, or that honestly describes a powerhead. An included line that omits bits the bullets name is marked down.
Star line
10%An amazon.co.uk star line. Three reviews with no review text in the saved listing are marked down. No star line is marked down.
Start with the box, then one engine description, then whether a second person is realistic. Prices below are the six amazon.co.uk shelf prices in the kept files. A higher score means a clearer listing, not a drilled test.
A petrol earth auger is a handheld two-stroke post-hole machine: an engine, a gearbox, and a spiral bit. Buyers are householders setting a run of posts, and people who would otherwise hire a one-man borer for a weekend. Cordless, manual, and drill-bit augers are not this category. Read the box first. A kit names bit diameters. A powerhead names a maximum diameter and does not list bits.

Five of the six listings have no star line. The only line is 4.0 from 3, with no review text in the file. That is too thin to treat as a tested result.
One Generic page says 63 cc in the title and 52 cc on the colour line. Another says 52 cc petrol in the bullets and corded electric in the attribute block. Do not average those pairs.
About £60.50 and about £75.83 do not list bit diameters. You still need bits that match the coupling. A low price is not a complete tool.
A kit names bit diameters. A powerhead names a maximum and does not list bits. The Donened kit at about £109.99 lists 100, 150 and 200 mm, an extension, and goggles. The Draper bullets name the same three diameters and 800 mm, while the included line lists only the auger. The kyco title names 100, 200 and 300 mm, and the included line says engine drill. One engine description is the next check.
Fuel has to be a note you can trace. Draper Tools lists the 30278 at 40:1 with E10 and oil to JASO FC minimum. GOV.UK says garden machinery may not accept E10 until the manual says so. No other kept listing prints a ratio. A 50:1 figure from another brand does not belong on these six. Twin handles plus a one-person claim is a different layout from four handles and a 1–2 user line. Kickback is normal when the bit hits a root or a stone. A one-man title does not mean the job is safe alone.
Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.
You want a kit that names 150 mm-class bits, a stated depth, and a manufacturer page for the mix. Have a second person if the soil is awkward.
You want 100, 150 and 200 mm bits, goggles, and an extension named in the included line, at about £109.99. Depth and the mix ratio are not stated.
You might accept a 52 cc powerhead after you check the coupling. About £60.50 does not include named bit diameters.
In this set the top pick is the Draper 30278, score 74 out of 100, at about £214.79. The bullets name 100, 150 and 200 mm bits and 800 mm, the listing says E10, and Draper Tools lists 40:1. It has no star line. The Amazon weight is 20.3 kg against 12.5 kg with a bit on the manufacturer page, and the included line omits the bits. Best value among the other five is the Donened 44F-A powerhead at about £60.50, score 40: the most score per pound, and the lowest price. It is a powerhead, not a kit. No bit diameters are listed, there is no weight, and there is no star line. The Donened 52 cc kit scores 68 at about £109.99, with the fullest included line and the only star line, 4.0 from 3, and no review text. The kyco listing scores 54 and names a 300 mm bit at about £360. Two Generic files contradict themselves on the same page.

Donened 52 cc powerhead
Best value at about £60.50: score 40 gives the most score per pound among the other five. The listing is a powerhead and does not name bit diameters.
Editorial

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.
Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.
Public UK sources used for this comparison. Listing prices, stars, and review counts are the six kept amazon.co.uk files. Scores were updated on 20 October 2026.
This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars, and review counts are the UK listing lines. We did not run a lab test.