Model making on 230 V
You turn masts, pens and clock parts, and you will not turn furniture. The Proxxon DB 250 states 220–240 V, a 40 mm swing and 250 mm between centres, at about £187.28, with 4.4 from 442 reviews.
The best wood lathes, compared.
Top pick: KATSU 100776 400 W Best value: KATSU 100775 600 W – About £74.99 for a stated 600 mm by 250 mm bench lathe, with the missing reviews kept in the score. Updated October 2026.
A wood lathe spins the wood while you hold a tool on the rest. Micro lathes are about 0.9–2.6 kg and about 100 W. Bench minis claim about 600 mm between centres and about 8–9 kg. Two long beds claim about 1,000 mm and about 22 kg. Judge a wood lathe by swing, distance between centres, whether speed is a dial or a belt, the spindle thread, and a 230 V supply with a BS 1363 plug. A high score on a tiny lathe does not make it a bowl lathe. The [wood lathe buying guide](/hub/workshop/wood-lathe/sub/wood-lathe-buying-guide) puts swing, bed and plug ahead of watts. You are not feeding the wood into a rotating cutter the way a drill does.
A wood lathe spins the wood while you hold a tool on the rest. Micro lathes are about 0.9–2.6 kg and about 100 W. Bench minis claim about 600 mm between centres and about 8–9 kg.
Swipe for more
1-2 of 9Personal buying guide
Question 1 of 2
What will you turn?
The KATSU 100776 is the long-bed listing with a steel-bed claim: 400 W maximum, four speeds at 890, 1,260, 1,760 and 2,600 rpm, 1,000 mm and 350 mm in the bullets, 21.6 kg, at £129.99. The only amazon.co.uk review scores 5.0 and is detailed. That novice moved a belt to change speed, found labelled pulleys, a ¾ inch spindle with a 60-degree cone, and a faceplate in the box. A ¾ inch four-jaw chuck fitted, and it was not included. The lathe screwed to the bench, the spare bed could act as an extension, and top speed was quiet for that owner. The supplier ignored an email, and one review cannot show how the next unit behaves.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A novice who wants spindles up to about a metre and can live with one owner’s report.
Less suitable: Buyers who need electronic speed, a known metric thread, or a deep review history.
Specifications
Common questions
How do you change speed?
The only UK review says you move a belt. There is a release handle and the pulleys are labelled. The bullets list four rpm figures and do not mention the belt.
What thread is the spindle?
That review describes a ¾ inch threaded spindle. A ¾ inch four-jaw chuck fitted. The chuck was not in the box. A faceplate was.
Can the bed be shortened?
The reviewer moved the tailstock into the headstock run and used the rest of the bed as an extension. It also screwed to the bench.
The Bonvoisin LQ-83 is listed at 96 W, seven steps from 4,000 to 9,000 rpm, 2.56 kg and £71.12, with a claimed 0.6–6 mm chuck, HSS tools and a sanding disc. The bullets say 12–24 V, while a United States review says the unit plugs into 110 V AC, and there is no UK review to settle it. The star line is 4.5 from two reviews, and both texts are from the United States. One of those reviews puts capacity at about 2 inches and says the lathe is not for large bowls, although the bullets mention bowls. A wood-only line and a soft-metal line also disagree. Small craft is the only job that fits, and only after you know which voltage this unit actually is.
Pros
Cons
Best for: Small craft only after you know which voltage this unit actually is.
Less suitable: UK mains, bowls, or soft-metal work. The listing disagrees with itself.
Specifications
Common questions
Does it run on 12–24 V or on 110 V?
The bullets say 12–24 V. A United States review says the unit plugs into 110 V AC. There is no UK review to settle it.
Can it turn metal?
One bullet says the lathe is for wood only. Another mentions soft metals. That conflict is not resolved on the listing.
What chuck is included?
The bullets claim a chuck that holds 0.6–6 mm, plus HSS tools, a sanding disc and wrenches.
Across 442 amazon.co.uk reviews at 4.4, the Proxxon DB 250 is the machine owners use for model ship masts, pens and clock parts: 100 W, 220–240 V, electronic speed from about 1,000 to 5,000 rpm, a 40 mm swing and 250 mm between centres, at £187.28. The box lists six collets from 2 mm to 10 mm, a drive centre, a live centre and a faceplate. It weighs 2.62 kg, and one UK review says to screw it to a board. Several owners call it tiny and say they later want a bigger lathe. The tool rest limits some users to about 25 mm, one review says the spindle jumps to about 1,000 rpm with no zero start, and another owner had the speed control fail on two machines. That 40 mm swing is why the top pick in this set is a model lathe, and why it is the wrong buy for a bowl or a chair leg.
Pros
Cons
Best for: Model masts, pens and clock parts on a 230 V supply.
Less suitable: Bowls, chair legs, or anyone who reads 100 W as a workshop lathe.
Specifications
Common questions
Is this a bench wood lathe?
No. The bullets give a 40 mm swing and 250 mm between centres. UK reviewers use it for model ship masts and small parts, and several say it is tiny.
What is included?
The bullets list six collets from 2 mm to 10 mm, a drive centre, a live centre and a faceplate. A three-jaw chuck is a separate Proxxon part in one review.
Does the speed start at zero?
One UK review says there is no zero start and the spindle jumps to about 1,000 rpm. Another owner had the speed control fail on two machines.
Across 626 amazon.co.uk reviews at 4.0, the Einhell TC-WW 1000/1 is the long-bed listing with the largest sample: 400 W, four speeds from 890 to 2,600 rpm, 230 V on the table, 22.9 kg, and 1,000 mm between tips, at £169.95. The box lists a front driver and a faceplate. A UK review says the lathe arrived with a European two-pin plug and that supplying it that way is against UK regulations. In the same sample, owners report a wobbling tool rest, a spindle that does not run true, a machine that would not start, and a faulty bearing, while others report a quiet first week. Spare parts come up as hard to get. The attribute lines that say 1,000 A, a drill press, or material wood are listing errors. A faceplate in the box does not mean the reviews confirm accurate bowls.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A long-bed hobby lathe only if you can fit a proper UK plug and you accept a basic machine.
Less suitable: Precision work, or anyone who will not sort the plug before first use.
Specifications
Common questions
Does it have a UK plug?
The table says 230 V. A UK review says the lathe was fitted with a European two-pin plug and that supplying it that way is against UK regulations.
Is a faceplate included?
The included-components line lists the lathe, a front end driver and a faceplate.
Why do some reviews say it does not run true?
In the UK sample, owners report a wobbling tool rest, a spindle that does not turn perfectly round, a machine that would not start, and a faulty bearing. Other owners report a quiet first week. The average is 4.0 from 626.
Across 240 amazon.co.uk reviews at 4.0, owners use the Winbomgo WINB221 for pens, slimline pens and chess-piece work, and more than one calls it quiet. It is a 100 W mini with seven speeds from 3,500 to 10,000 rpm, about 34.8 × 6.5 × 7.5 cm and 1.9 kg, at £56.05. The technical table says 110 V, and the listing does not describe a 230 V supply or a BS 1363 plug. One UK beginner said it was the wrong first lathe: the tool rest was too small, the machine had to be raised off the bench, and a note limited tools to 2 mm. The supplied chisel would not hold an edge, and the seller did not reply. UK reviews on the listing do not describe bowls.
Pros
Cons
Best for: Pen blanks and chess-piece scale work if you already have a safe 110 V supply.
Less suitable: A first lathe on UK mains, or any bowl.
Specifications
Common questions
Will this run from a UK 230 V socket?
The technical table says 110 V. The listing file does not describe a 230 V supply or a BS 1363 plug.
What do UK owners actually turn?
Reviews mention pens, chess pieces and slimline pens. One owner had to raise the lathe off the bench and remake the tool rest.
Does it include usable chisels?
One UK buyer said the supplied chisel would not hold an edge and that a note limited tools to 2 mm. The seller did not reply.
The Bachin desk lathe is a 100 W, 24 V DC machine with a stated 70 mm turning diameter and 180 mm between the clamps, on seven steps from 5,000 to 8,000 rpm. At £27.99 it is the lowest price in this set, and the bullets claim an aluminium body plus a clear acrylic cover. The amazon.co.uk line is 4.0 from one review, and the listing has no review text, so there is no owner account of what it turns. The attribute table says AC/DC while the bullets specify 24 V DC, and no BS 1363 plug is shown. A 70 mm swing stops at beads and tiny models, and 180 mm is the whole clamp length. Use it only if you already have a 24 V supply.
Pros
Cons
Best for: Beads and tiny models if you already have a 24 V supply.
Less suitable: Anything that must plug into a UK 13 A socket, or any spindle longer than 180 mm.
Specifications
Common questions
Does this plug into a UK wall socket?
The bullets specify 24 V DC and 100 W. The attribute line says AC/DC. The file does not show a BS 1363 plug.
How long a piece can it hold?
The bullets say a maximum clamping length of 180 mm and a maximum turning diameter of 70 mm.
Is there a review to read?
The listing line is 4.0 from 1 review. There is no review text.
The KATSU 100771 claims the same 600 mm by 250 mm class as the 600 W model, at 550 W, stepless 800–3,000 rpm, 9.02 kg and £119.99. The bullets add overload protection and an adjustable tool holder. The technical table says no plug, and voltage is not stated. Across seven amazon.co.uk reviews the average is 3.4. One owner said it ran for five minutes, then stopped, and that the reset did nothing and a fuse change did not help. Another said it could not be used from one side only. Reviews do not describe the speed control, and the 250 mm figure has no bowl review behind it.
Pros
Cons
Best for: Only if you can fit a correct UK plug and you accept a thin, mixed review file.
Less suitable: Anyone who wants a lathe that is ready for a 13 A socket, or a long bed.
Specifications
Common questions
Does it come with a plug?
The technical table says no plug. Voltage is not stated.
What went wrong in UK reviews?
One owner said it ran for five minutes, then stopped. The reset did nothing and a fuse change did not help. Another said it could not be used from one side only.
Is the speed a dial?
The bullets say stepless electronic control from 800 to 3,000 rpm. Reviews do not describe the control.
The FesmTek TOOLS2 is a desktop mini of about 907 g, listed at 39.37 × 7.62 × 7.62 cm and £70.07, with a claimed HSS cutter and a multi-purpose chuck. The bullets say 96 W and AC 100–240 V, while the attribute table says 100 W and 120 V, so the supply is unresolved. Speed is described both as seven steps and as infinite, with no rpm figures, and no swing in millimetres is given. The star line is 3.0 from two reviews. The only review text on the listing is from Canada and describes stripped parts and a support email that went unanswered. There is no UK owner comment, so the wide-voltage bullet is not evidence you can plug this into a 13 A socket.
Pros
Cons
Best for: Only if you confirm the actual voltage before you plug it in, and you want bead-scale work.
Less suitable: A bench lathe, or anyone who needs a spare part. One owner could not get parts.
Specifications
Common questions
Is the supply 100–240 V or 120 V?
The bullets say AC 100–240 V. The attribute table says 120 V. Treat that as unresolved.
Are there UK owner comments?
The star line is 3.0 from 2. The only review text on the listing is from Canada and describes stripped parts and a dead support email.
How big is it?
The table lists 39.37 × 7.62 × 7.62 cm and 907 g. No swing in millimetres is given.
The KATSU 100775 is the stated-capacity bench lathe at the low price in this set: 600 W, stepless speed from about 800 to 3,000 rpm, 600 mm length and 250 mm diameter, 8 kg, at £74.99. The bullets call it corded electric on an aluminium profile bed. The listing has no star line and no review text, so no amazon.co.uk owner has described whether the dial holds speed or whether the bed stays still. Voltage, a BS 1363 plug and the spindle thread are all unstated. Bowl work is a bullet, with no owner report. It is the best value here only if you accept an unreviewed listing for spindles up to 600 mm.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A first bench lathe for spindles up to 600 mm if you accept an unreviewed listing.
Less suitable: Buyers who need review evidence, a known thread, or a stated UK plug.
Specifications
Common questions
How is the speed changed?
The bullets say stepless electronic control from about 800 to 3,000 rpm. There is no review to confirm the dial.
What plug does it have?
The listing says corded electric and does not state voltage or a BS 1363 plug.
Are there UK reviews?
No customer-review line and no review text are in the listing file.
Nine wood lathes on amazon.co.uk were scored on 16 October 2026 from the listings and the UK review text in this set. The score starts from the star line, then loses points for a thin review file, a supply that is not 230 V with a BS 1363 plug, and faults described in the UK sample. Price does not enter the score. It decides only the best-value badge. There was no turning trial.
Stars
40%A higher amazon.co.uk average starts higher. A listing with no star line scores nothing on this part. The editorial score is not the star rating times 20.
UK mains
25%220–240 V stated in the bullets holds points. A 110 V or 120 V table, a 12–24 V bullet, a missing plug, or a reported two-pin lead is a cut.
Review volume
20%One review, or a file with no review text, cannot carry a high score. Hundreds of reviews still keep the complaint themes, not only the average.
Faults in the UK sample
15%A short tool rest, a dead reset, wobble, a machine that will not start, or a failed speed control is a cut. A positive single review is not cut for faults it does not describe.
Separate these nine listings by swing, bed length, speed type and whether the supply is 230 V with a UK plug. Watts and a star average come after that. The notes below follow the digest order for this set.
A wood lathe spins wood against a hand tool on a tool rest. You are not feeding the wood into a rotating cutter the way a drill does. UK buyers in this amazon.co.uk set meet four sizes, and they are not interchangeable. Micro and bead lathes are about 0.9–2.6 kg and about 96–100 W. Bench minis are about 8–9 kg with a stated 600 mm between centres. Long-bed hobby lathes are about 22 kg with a stated 1,000 mm bed. Heavier cast-iron midis are not in this set.

A 600 W bench lathe with a stated 250 mm diameter is still a small-spindle machine. A 100 W model lathe with a 40 mm swing stays a model lathe. The watt figure does not add bowl capacity.
Variable on a listing may mean a belt. The only UK review of the KATSU 100776 says you move a belt between four speeds. The Proxxon is electronic, and one review says it jumps to about 1,000 rpm with no zero start.
A 110 V table, a 24 V bullet, a missing plug, or a European two-pin lead is a UK problem. Electrical Safety First says not to use a travel adaptor. Do not treat those machines as ready for a 13 A socket.
Swing is the largest diameter over the bed. Distance between centres is how long a spindle can be. A 40 mm or 70 mm swing is pens, beads and models. A stated 250 mm diameter and 600 mm length is small spindles. A stated 1,000 mm bed is long spindles, not automatically large bowls. The Proxxon DB 250 is 40 mm by 250 mm. The Bachin states 70 mm by 180 mm. Both KATSU bench models claim 600 mm by 250 mm. The KATSU 100776 and the Einhell claim about 1,000 mm. Mains come next.
Low speed is for a large or unbalanced blank. 4,000–10,000 rpm is only for tiny work. Variable may mean a belt. The Proxxon is electronic, about 1,000–5,000 rpm, and one UK review says it jumps to about 1,000 rpm with no zero start. The two KATSU bench models claim stepless control from about 800 to 3,000 rpm. The KATSU 100776 review says you move a belt. The Einhell lists four speeds from 890 to 2,600 rpm. The micro lathes sit in the thousands of rpm. Do not assume an M33 × 3.5 spindle.
Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.
You turn masts, pens and clock parts, and you will not turn furniture. The Proxxon DB 250 states 220–240 V, a 40 mm swing and 250 mm between centres, at about £187.28, with 4.4 from 442 reviews.
You want spindles towards a metre and you can screw the lathe down. The KATSU 100776 claims 1,000 mm and a steel bed at about £129.99. The only UK review describes a belt change, a ¾ inch spindle and a faceplate. One review is an anecdote.
You want a stated 600 mm by 250 mm bench lathe and you accept an unreviewed listing. The KATSU 100775 is about £74.99. Voltage, plug and spindle thread are unstated, which is why it is best value only with that limit.
In this set the top pick is the Proxxon DB 250. It has the highest score because the bullets state 220–240 V and 442 amazon.co.uk reviews sit behind a 4.4 average. The swing is 40 mm, so it is a model lathe, not a bowl lathe. The best value is the KATSU 100775 at about £74.99, for a stated 600 mm by 250 mm bed. That file has no star line, and voltage and plug are unstated. The dearer 550 W KATSU lists no plug and has a dead-reset review, so it does not take the value badge.

KATSU 100775 600 W
About £74.99 for a stated 600 mm by 250 mm bench lathe, with the missing reviews kept in the score.
Editorial

Products Compared publishes British-English buying guides based on amazon.co.uk listings and public UK sources. We do not run a lab and we do not invent test scores.
Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.
Public UK sources from the research digest, checked against the amazon.co.uk prices and stars dated 16 October 2026. Shelf prices can change.
This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are from the UK listings checked on 16 October 2026. We did not run a turning trial.