Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Daisy seeds comparison 2026

The best daisy seeds, compared.

Top pick: Damavand oxeye daisy, 2 g Best value: No best-value row – The £2.95 packets are cheaper, and their counts do not agree with themselves. £5.88 with no count is not treated as a better packet. Updated October 2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

You are choosing a tall native oxeye for a meadow, a low English daisy, a frost-tender summer annual, or fleabane for walls. Quality is a Latin name, a seed count the listing does not contradict, and a life cycle that matches the garden. The two gerbera packets name neither a species nor a series. The word daisy does not decide the job. Oxeye is vulgare, a native perennial the RHS lists at up to 90 cm. How to choose is set out in the [daisy seeds buying guide](/hub/seeds-and-plants/daisy-seeds/sub/daisy-seeds-buying-guide).

You are choosing a tall native oxeye for a meadow, a low English daisy, a frost-tender summer annual, or fleabane for walls.

Damavand oxeye daisy, 2 g

Best overall

Damavand oxeye daisy, 2 g
4.6/10∼ £3

32 products checked · 71 hrs invested · +16,300 readers

9 of 9: Best daisy seeds compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 9
Best overall
Damavand oxeye daisy, 2 g
JustSeed oxeye daisy, 3 g
Best value
Mr Fothergill's oxeye daisy
Nika English daisy Pomponette
Damavand Livingstone daisy
JustSeed erigeron Profusion
Nika Swan River daisy
UIOYEWRG gerbera daisy seed
UIOYEWRG gerbera daisy seed, G
4.6/10
7.4/10
6.4/10
3.6/10
3.4/10
2.8/10
2.2/10
1.2/10
1.1/10
∼ £3
∼ £4
∼ £4
∼ £3
∼ £4
∼ £4
∼ £3
∼ £6
∼ £6
4.4(40)
4.2(606)
4.2(198)
4.1(12)
3.9(15)
3.2(64)
–
–
–
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best daisy seeds in detail

Damavand oxeye daisy, 2 g

Rank 1

Damavand oxeye daisy, 2 g

Our view

Damavand oxeye names Leucanthemum vulgare, with 2 g stated as 6,000 seeds, full sun, outdoor use, and a stated height of 40 cm, at £3.19. That height sits below the 60 cm and 65 cm on the other oxeye listings and below the RHS figure of up to 90 cm, so the page is not describing the same tall meadow plant in the same words. The amazon.co.uk line is 4.4 from 40 reviews, and only three short UK texts are in the file. One ticks quality, size, and value, and another says there were so many seeds that one packet would have done. The review that describes a result says not all of them bloomed, and that the sowing was later than the early-spring note the buyer mentions. A German review in the same file is not a UK opinion. Life cycle is not stated, and the care line says Dry Clean, which is not a sowing method. A specialist rate of about 3,000 seeds per gram makes 6,000 in 2 g plausible, and it does not prove the bag you receive.

Pros

  • Latin name and 2 g / 6,000 seeds agree
  • £3.19, the lowest named oxeye price in this set
  • One UK review notes a large number of seeds
  • Full sun and outdoor use are stated

Cons

  • Only three short UK reviews, and not all plants bloomed in the one that describes a result
  • Stated height is 40 cm
  • Care line says Dry Clean
  • Life cycle is not stated

Best for: You want a cheap named oxeye and can accept a 40 cm height line and a thin UK review file.

Less suitable: You want the 198- or 606-review oxeye files, or a care line that says how to sow.

Specifications

Model
Damavand oxeye daisy, 2 g
Brand
DAMAVAND PRO
Price
∼£3
Customer rating
4.4/5(40)
Species
Leucanthemum vulgare
Seed count
6,000 (2 g)
Stated height
40 cm
Sun
Full sun
Site
Outdoor
Count agrees
Yes
Latin name
Yes

Common questions

Will this oxeye grow in shade?

The page asks that. The sunlight field says full sun. There is no shade figure.

What soil does the listing specify?

The page asks. No soil type is printed. Water is moderate watering, and the care line says Dry Clean.

How many UK reviews describe a result?

The line is 4.4 from 40. Three UK reviews are in the file: a short quality note, a note that not all bloomed, and a buyer who sowed a lot of seed. One German review is not a UK opinion.

JustSeed oxeye daisy, 3 g

Rank 2

JustSeed oxeye daisy, 3 g

Our view

JustSeed oxeye, part QW-ITIU-6HHF, is the named Leucanthemum vulgare packet in this set: 3 g stated as 9,000 seeds, full sun, and a listed height of 65 cm, at £4.25. Across 606 amazon.co.uk reviews the line is 4.2, the largest UK file here, which is why it is the top pick for a meadow oxeye. In the first 50 UK reviews, buyers report about 100 plants from part of a tray, flowers the following year, and in some cases flowers in the same year, with seed left over and plants that return and spread. The same sample includes blank sowings from people who say they are experienced, very few seedlings, growth of about two inches with no flowers, and one buyer who says the plants were not daisies. A lawn sowing in that file produced nothing. The packet is described as a very small zip-lock, the item weight is 30 g against 3 g of seed in the title, and the growing-label text is not in the file, so the 4.2 is a review split rather than a germination certificate.

Pros

  • Latin name and 3 g / 9,000 seeds agree
  • 4.2 from 606 UK reviews, the largest file in this set
  • UK reviews include about 100 plants from a tray and flowers the next year
  • Full sun, outdoor, stated height 65 cm

Cons

  • Blank sowings and very few seedlings sit in the same 4.2
  • One lawn sowing produced nothing, and one buyer says the plants were not daisies
  • Item weight is 30 g while the title says 3 g of seed
  • Growing-label text is not in the file

Best for: You want a named meadow oxeye, can sow on bare soil, and can wait until the year after sowing for flowers.

Less suitable: You need flowers this summer, a result from scattering seed on an existing lawn, or a review file with no blank pots.

Specifications

Model
JustSeed oxeye daisy, 3 g
Brand
JustSeed
Price
∼£4
Customer rating
4.2/5(606)
Species
Leucanthemum vulgare
Seed count
9,000 (3 g)
Stated height
65 cm
Sun
Full sun
Site
Outdoor
Count agrees
Yes
Latin name
Yes

Common questions

Which plant is in the JustSeed packet?

The title says oxeye daisy, Leucanthemum vulgare, 3 g and 9,000 seeds. The listing does not state a life cycle.

Does the listing say it can be grown in pots?

A question on the page asks that. The spec line says outdoor and does not say pots. UK reviews mention trays, cells, and garden pots.

What do the UK reviews say about germination?

The line is 4.2 from 606. In the first 50 UK reviews, some report many seedlings and later flowers, and others report nothing.

Mr Fothergill's oxeye daisy

Rank 3

Mr Fothergill's oxeye daisy

Our view

Mr Fothergill's white ox eye daisy is a 750-seed packet at £3.79, listed at 60 cm for sunny borders and wild areas in full sun. The bullets call it a hardy perennial that flowers the year after sowing, and the bloom field says spring. The raw file does not print Leucanthemum vulgare, so you are matching a common name rather than a Latin line. The amazon.co.uk line is 4.2 from 198 reviews, with one French review left out of the UK reading. Written UK reviews include a gift that grew well, seed that all took and was waiting to be planted out, leaves about a week after sowing, and quick germination in a container. The same file includes no seedlings after the instructions were followed, despite rain, and a fertile garden that produced weeds rather than daisies. Some reviews are written before any growth, and the instructions themselves are not quoted. It is a smaller count than JustSeed's 9,000 seeds, and the missing Latin name plus the weed reports are why it is not the top pick.

Pros

  • 750 seeds at £3.79, stated height 60 cm
  • Bullet says a hardy perennial that flowers the year after sowing
  • 4.2 from 198 reviews
  • UK reviews include leaves in about a week and quick germination in a container

Cons

  • Latin name is not in the file
  • UK reviews include no seedlings and weeds rather than daisies
  • Some reviews are written before any growth
  • Instructions are not quoted in the file

Best for: You want a smaller oxeye packet for a sunny border or a wild patch and can wait until the year after sowing.

Less suitable: You need Leucanthemum vulgare printed on the listing, or a file without weed and blank-sowing reports.

Specifications

Model
Mr Fothergill's oxeye daisy
Brand
Mr Fothergill's
Price
∼£4
Customer rating
4.2/5(198)
Species
Oxeye daisy
Life cycle
Hardy perennial
Seed count
750
Stated height
60 cm
Sun
Full sun
Site
Borders, wild areas
Count agrees
Yes
Latin name
No

Common questions

When does this oxeye listing say it flowers?

The bullets say a hardy perennial that flowers the year after sowing. The bloom field says spring. Stated height is 60 cm.

Does the listing name the Latin species?

No. The title says wildflower ox eye daisy, white. Leucanthemum vulgare is not printed in this raw file.

What do UK reviews report?

The line is 4.2 from 198. Written UK reviews include leaves within a week and quick germination in a container, and also no seedlings and weeds rather than daisies.

Nika English daisy Pomponette

Rank 4

Nika English daisy Pomponette

Our view

Nika English daisy Pomponette is Bellis perennis at £2.95, sold as a 15 cm biennial with double button flowers for outdoor beds and borders, and sun is not stated. The seed count does not agree with itself: the title says 450, the unit count says 3,000, and the number of items says 300, while the bullet says instructions are not attached and the seed arrives in a labelled ziplock bag. The amazon.co.uk line is 4.1 from 12 reviews, with five written UK texts in the file. Those include tiny seeds that germinated quickly into many healthy seedlings, prompt delivery, and a short note that the flowers were beautiful. They also include a sowing where nothing grew, flowers that looked like ordinary straggly daisies rather than the double form, a buyer who counted about 220 seeds rather than the 450 in the title, and a report to the seller that had no reply in that review. At £2.95 it is joint cheapest here, and the clashing count is why there is no best-value badge. The RHS species page is a wild perennial to about 10 cm; this listing is a bedding strain, not that single lawn daisy.

Pros

  • Named Bellis perennis Pomponette at £2.95
  • Stated height 15 cm for beds and borders
  • Some UK reviews report quick germination and vigorous seedlings
  • Outdoor use is stated

Cons

  • Seed count is 450, 3,000, and 300 in different fields
  • One buyer counted about 220 seeds, not the 450 in the title
  • One review got ordinary straggly daisies, not double buttons
  • Instructions are not attached, and only 12 reviews sit on the line

Best for: You want a low bedding English daisy and will check the seed in the bag rather than trust one printed count.

Less suitable: You want a guaranteed double, the wild lawn daisy, or a listing whose seed count is stated once.

Specifications

Model
Nika English daisy Pomponette
Brand
Generic
Price
∼£3
Customer rating
4.1/5(12)
Species
Bellis Pomponette
Life cycle
Biennial
Seed count
450, 3000 or 300
Stated height
15 cm
Site
Beds and borders
Count agrees
No
Latin name
Yes

Common questions

How many seeds does the listing claim?

The title says 450. The unit count says 3,000. Number of items says 300. One UK review counted about 220 seeds in the bag.

Are sowing instructions in the packet?

The bullet says instructions are not attached and that seed is sent in a labelled ziplock bag.

Did reviews get double flowers?

One UK review says the plants looked like ordinary straggly daisies. Another says the tiny seeds germinated quickly. Another says nothing grew. The line is 4.1 from 12.

Damavand Livingstone daisy

Rank 5

Damavand Livingstone daisy

Our view

Damavand Livingstone daisy names Dorotheanthus bellidiformis at £3.99, with a stated height of 10–15 cm and bullets listing pink, red, orange, yellow, and white for borders, rockeries, and containers in full sun. The bullets say 2,000 seeds and the pieces field says 1, so the count is not one claim, and the care line says sow 1 inch deep and 6 inches apart in spring, then water, fertilise, and stake if the plants grow taller. The file also prints USDA zone 3, which is not a UK hardiness rating: the RHS lists this plant as Cleretum bellidiforme, H3, and a frost ends it. The amazon.co.uk line is 3.9 from 15 reviews. The only written UK review says the buyer was pleased with the quality, that it was well worth the money, and that they were happy with the seeds, and it does not describe germination or flowers. Soil is given as loam, water as regular watering, and the seed as untreated, at a stated weight of 2 g. Treat the inch-deep line as a clash with half-hardy practice, not as a method to follow.

Pros

  • Species is named, with mixed colours and a stated height of 10–15 cm
  • Full sun, for borders, rockeries, and containers
  • £3.99, untreated seed, stated weight 2 g
  • The one written UK review is pleased with the quality

Cons

  • Bullets say 2,000 seeds and the pieces field says 1
  • Care line says 1 inch deep and stakes
  • USDA zone 3 is printed and is not a UK rating
  • 3.9 from 15, with no germination or flower detail in the written review

Best for: You want a named Livingstone daisy for a sunny summer carpet and will ignore the inch-deep line and the zone-3 claim.

Less suitable: You need a plant that stays through a British winter, a single seed count, or a review that describes flowers.

Specifications

Model
Damavand Livingstone daisy
Brand
DAMAVAND PRO
Price
∼£4
Customer rating
3.9/5(15)
Species
Livingstone daisy
Life cycle
USDA zone 3
Seed count
2,000 or 1
Stated height
10–15 cm
Sun
Full sun
Site
Borders, containers
Count agrees
No
Latin name
Yes

Common questions

What colours does the listing name?

The bullets say pink, red, orange, yellow, and white. The colour field says Multi and the style name is Mixed colours.

How deep does this listing say to sow?

The care line says 1 inch deep and 6 inches apart in spring, then water, fertilise, and stake if the plants grow taller. Stated height is 10–15 cm.

What do the reviews say?

The line is 3.9 from 15. One written UK review says the buyer was pleased with the quality. It does not describe germination or flowers.

JustSeed erigeron Profusion

Rank 6

JustSeed erigeron Profusion

Our view

JustSeed Erigeron karvinskianus Profusion, part FL2024ER001, is about 100 seeds at £4.15 for walls, rockeries, gravel, and containers in a sunny, well-drained spot, and the spec line says outdoor. The care line says sow in spring or autumn, the planting-period field says autumn, the bloom field says spring, and the bullets say late spring through autumn, so the calendar on the page is not one date, and height is not stated. The amazon.co.uk line is 3.2 from 64 reviews, and twelve written UK texts are in the file. Failure is the repeated theme: no germination across several packets, four seeds or three seeds from the stated 100, a month to germinate and then only a few seedlings, and an amount that looked closer to 20 seeds or too small to see, with buyers calling the money wasted. One review reports a single seedling that was not an erigeron. One review describes an easy border plant with pretty flowers and low maintenance. Once this fleabane is established it can self-seed in paving, which is a different claim from this packet's germination record.

Pros

  • Species and the cultivar Profusion are named
  • About 100 seeds, part FL2024ER001
  • Aimed at walls, rockeries, gravel, and containers
  • One UK review describes an easy border plant with pretty flowers

Cons

  • 3.2 from 64, and blank pots are the repeated UK review
  • Buyers report three or four seeds, or a count closer to 20, from a stated 100
  • One seedling was reported as not an erigeron
  • Sow dates disagree across the care line and the date fields

Best for: You already grow Mexican fleabane and will try a small count where a plant that self-seeds in gravel is welcome if anything comes up.

Less suitable: You need a reliable first sowing, a count you can see in the packet, or a large meadow sowing.

Specifications

Model
JustSeed erigeron Profusion
Brand
JustSeed
Price
∼£4
Customer rating
3.2/5(64)
Species
Erigeron Profusion
Life cycle
Perennial
Seed count
About 100
Sun
Sunny
Site
Walls and gravel
Count agrees
Yes
Latin name
Yes

Common questions

Can this erigeron be grown indoors?

The page asks. The spec line says outdoor. The care line says a sunny, well-drained spot, including containers.

When does the listing say to sow?

The care line says spring or autumn. The planting-period field says autumn. The bloom field says spring, and the bullets say late spring through autumn.

What do the UK reviews say about the 100 seeds?

The line is 3.2 from 64. Written reviews include no germination, three or four seedlings, a count that looked closer to 20, one seedling that was not an erigeron, and one easy border plant.

Nika Swan River daisy

Rank 7

Nika Swan River daisy

Our view

Nika Swan River daisy names Brachycome iberidifolia as an annual at 25 cm for outdoor bedding and borders, at £2.95, and sun is not stated. The seed count is three figures: the title says 1,500, the unit count says 120, and the number of items says 300. The bullet says there are no sowing instructions and that the seed is sent in a labelled ziplock bag, while the colour bullet says shades of blue, pink, and white and the colour field says White. There is no customer-review line and no review text in the raw file, so a star average cannot be quoted. The RHS lists Brachyscome iberidifolia as a half-hardy annual, which means a frost ends it, and this listing does not print a temperature. The £2.95 price matches the Pomponette packet, and the missing reviews plus the clashing count are why it is not a best-value pick. Rank on the file is 166,987 in Garden, so you would be sowing a named annual with no UK opinion attached.

Pros

  • Species is named as an annual at 25 cm
  • £2.95 for bedding and borders
  • The bullet names blue, pink, and white
  • Outdoor use is stated

Cons

  • Seed count is 1,500, 120, and 300 in different fields
  • No sowing instructions on the listing
  • No review line and no review text
  • Colour field says White against a mixed-colour bullet

Best for: You want a named Swan River daisy for a summer pot and will not rely on a printed count or a review.

Less suitable: You need instructions on the packet, a UK review file, or a plant that stays out over a British winter.

Specifications

Model
Nika Swan River daisy
Brand
Generic
Price
∼£3
Species
Swan River daisy
Life cycle
Annual
Seed count
1500, 120 or 300
Stated height
25 cm
Site
Bedding and border
Count agrees
No
Latin name
Yes

Common questions

What colours does the Swan River listing state?

The bullet says shades of blue, pink, and white. The colour field says White.

Does the packet include sowing instructions?

The bullet says no sowing instructions, and that seed is sent in a labelled ziplock bag.

How many seeds are listed?

The title says 1,500. The unit count says 120. Number of items says 300. There is no review line.

UIOYEWRG gerbera daisy seed

Rank 8

UIOYEWRG gerbera daisy seed

Our view

UIOYEWRG gerbera daisy seed is £5.88 with no species, no series, and no seed count in the raw file. The unit count is 1.0 count, and the colour field says I. The bullets say a perennial that is cold-hardy and suitable for all regions, for gardens, balcony pots, and the ground. The RHS says most gerberas will not survive below 5°C, and the hardy series named on that guide are Everlast and Garvinea, neither of which appears here. There is no customer-review line and no review text, so nothing in the file describes germination or a flower. The care line says loose, well-draining soil and to avoid waterlogging, and it does not give germination time, planting time, or how often to water. At the top of this file's prices, the packet is the least described. The cold-hardy line is a claim on an unnamed listing, not a UK hardiness rating you can check.

Pros

  • The title says gerbera daisy seed for gardens and balcony pots
  • The care line says loose, well-draining soil
  • The price is stated at £5.88

Cons

  • No species, series, seed count, or reviews
  • The colour field says I
  • Cold-hardy and all-regions claims are not tied to a named hardy series
  • Unit count is 1.0 count

Best for: You can keep an unnamed gerbera above 5°C and are treating the packet as an experiment rather than a named variety.

Less suitable: You want Everlast or Garvinea, a seed count, any UK reviews, or a native daisy for a meadow.

Specifications

Model
UIOYEWRG gerbera daisy seed
Brand
UIOYEWRG
Price
∼£6
Species
Gerbera, unnamed
Life cycle
Cold-hardy claim
Site
Gardens and pots
Latin name
No

Common questions

Which gerbera variety is this?

The title says gerbera daisy seed. No species, series, or cultivar is named. The colour field says I.

How many seeds are in the packet?

The raw file does not state a seed count. Unit count is 1.0 count.

What sowing detail is printed?

The care line says loose, well-draining soil and to avoid waterlogging. Questions about germination time, planting time, and watering are not answered. There is no review line.

UIOYEWRG gerbera daisy seed, G

Rank 9

UIOYEWRG gerbera daisy seed, G

Our view

This second UIOYEWRG gerbera file is £5.99, with the colour field set to G and a unit count of 1.0 count, and it carries the same unnamed perennial claims as B0H7BLLN28. There is still no species, no seed count, and no review line. The care line again says loose, well-draining soil and to avoid waterlogging, without a germination time or a watering frequency. The bullets repeat that the plant is cold-hardy and suitable for all regions. The RHS line, that most gerberas will not survive below 5°C, still applies, because Everlast and Garvinea are not named. The Garden rank line matches the other UIOYEWRG file, and paying 11p more does not add a description, a count, or a UK review. If you wanted oxeye or the lawn daisy, this packet is a different plant.

Pros

  • The title says gerbera daisy seed
  • The care line mentions well-draining soil
  • The price is stated at £5.99

Cons

  • No species, seed count, or reviews
  • The colour field says G
  • The same cold-hardy claim as the £5.88 file, without a named series
  • 11p more than B0H7BLLN28 without extra description in the file

Best for: You have already decided to try an unnamed gerbera and can keep it frost-free indoors or under cover.

Less suitable: You want a difference from the £5.88 file, a printed seed count, or a hardy named series.

Specifications

Model
UIOYEWRG gerbera daisy seed, G
Brand
UIOYEWRG
Price
∼£6
Species
Gerbera, unnamed
Life cycle
Cold-hardy claim
Site
Gardens and pots
Latin name
No

Common questions

How is this packet different from B0H7BLLN28?

Both are UIOYEWRG gerbera daisy seed with the same rank line. This file is £5.99 and the colour field says G. The other is £5.88 and the colour field says I.

Is a species or seed count printed?

No. The title says gerbera daisy seed. Unit count is 1.0 count. No piece count is printed.

What does the care line say?

Loose, well-draining soil, and avoid waterlogging. There is no review line and no answer on germination time or watering frequency.

How we compared

Nine amazon.co.uk listings were scored for this page. Weights sum to 100. No germination test was run. Figures are the amazon.co.uk price, star rating, and review count, plus what the listing and UK review text actually say. A 4.4 from 40 short reviews cannot outrank a 4.2 from 606. A file with no review line scores at the floor of the star band.

1

Stars and sample

40%

Star rating scaled against five, then cut hard when fewer than 20 people have reviewed, and cut to the floor when the raw file has no review line.

2

Name and life cycle

30%

A Latin name that matches a daisy job scores higher than a common name alone. An unnamed gerbera, a USDA zone that fights the plant, or a care line that says Dry Clean, scores low.

3

One seed count

20%

Title, piece field, and unit count should be the same claim. Three different numbers score low. That clash is already inside this band.

4

Price against that job

10%

£3 to £4 for a named oxeye is the middle of this file. £5.88 with no count is not treated as a better packet.

Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
11 sources checked

Daisy seeds buying guide

The checks run in this order: species and job, frost, one seed count, sowing method, then the review sample, then price inside that type. The table is the nine packets. A star average is not a germination percentage.

What are daisy seeds?

Daisy seeds on amazon.co.uk, in the nine listings kept here, are small ornamental packets of several plants, not one flower. Shoppers are choosing a tall native oxeye for a meadow, a low English daisy, a frost-tender summer annual, or Mexican fleabane for walls. The word daisy does not decide the job. Oxeye is Leucanthemum vulgare, a native perennial the RHS lists at up to 90 cm.

Best for

  • Meadow gardeners who can wait a year for oxeye on bare soil
  • Edging gardeners who need a 10–15 cm daisy and will not buy oxeye by mistake

Not ideal for

  • Anyone sowing into an existing lawn and expecting a result
  • Anyone treating a gerbera title as a hardy named series

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Buying on the word daisy

    Oxeye, Bellis, Livingstone daisy, Swan River daisy, fleabane, and gerbera are different plants. Height, frost, and the Latin name decide the packet.

  2. 2

    Burying light-sensitive seed

    Oxeye and Bellis stay on the surface. The Livingstone care line says 1 inch deep. That line fights the specialist advice for this plant. Do not follow it.

  3. 3

    Sowing into a lawn

    The RHS says sowing into existing turf usually fails. One UK review of the JustSeed oxeye reports a lawn sowing that produced nothing. Use bare soil.

What to weigh up

Species, frost and one count

High

Meadow oxeye, lawn or bedding Bellis, a half-hardy annual, wall fleabane, and tender gerbera are separate jobs. Oxeye and Bellis are hardy natives. Livingstone daisy is RHS H3. Swan River daisy is a half-hardy annual. Most gerberas will not survive below 5°C unless a hardy series is named, and these two packets name neither a species nor a series. USDA zone 3 on the Livingstone file is not a UK rating. Title, piece field, and unit count should be the same claim.

Sowing, reviews and price

High

Oxeye and Bellis are surface sown. Do not bury them, and do not expect oxeye flowers in month two. The Livingstone listing says 1 inch deep, 6 inches apart, and stakes. Specialists say surface sow. A care line that says Dry Clean, on the £3.19 oxeye, is not a sowing method. The RHS says sowing into existing turf usually fails. Review sample comes after the name.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

A meadow, next year

You can sow oxeye on bare soil and wait until the year after sowing for flowers. The JustSeed packet names Leucanthemum vulgare, 3 g and 9,000 seeds, at £4.25, with 4.2 from 606 reviews. The same file includes blank pots and one lawn sowing that produced nothing.

A low edging daisy

You need about 10 to 15 cm, not a meadow oxeye. The Nika Pomponette is Bellis perennis at £2.95, listed as a 15 cm biennial. The count is 450, 3,000, and 300 in different fields, and one review got ordinary singles. Check the seed in the bag.

A summer pot, with frost in mind

You can start a tender annual and you will not follow an inch-deep line. The Damavand Livingstone daisy names the species at £3.99 and 10 to 15 cm. The RHS rates it H3. The listing prints USDA zone 3 and 1 inch deep. The pieces field says 1 against a bullet of 2,000.

Common questions about daisy seeds

Which daisy seeds are the top pick for 2026?
The top pick is the JustSeed oxeye, Leucanthemum vulgare, at £4.25. The title states 3 g and 9,000 seeds, full sun, and a height of 65 cm. amazon.co.uk shows 4.2 from 606 reviews, the largest file in this set. UK reviews include seedlings and flowers the next year, and also blank pots. There is no best-value badge. The cheaper £2.95 packets do not state one seed count. No germination test was run.
How much do daisy seeds cost on amazon.co.uk?
In this set the shelf prices run from £2.95 to £5.99. Pomponette and Swan River daisy are £2.95. Damavand oxeye is £3.19, Mr Fothergill's oxeye is £3.79, Livingstone daisy is £3.99, JustSeed erigeron is £4.15, and JustSeed oxeye is £4.25. The two unnamed gerbera packets are £5.88 and £5.99. That is the range of these nine listings, not a market average.
What should I check before I buy daisy seeds?
Check the species and the job first. Meadow oxeye, lawn or bedding Bellis, a half-hardy annual, wall fleabane, and tender gerbera are different plants. Then check frost, then whether the listing states one seed count. Oxeye and Bellis are surface sown. A 1 inch line on the Livingstone listing fights that. Reviews come last. 606 and 198 ratings outweigh 40 thin reviews and three packets with no review line.
Is an oxeye daisy the same as an English daisy?
No. Oxeye is Leucanthemum vulgare, a native perennial the RHS lists at up to 90 cm. English daisy is Bellis perennis, a native the RHS lists at about 10 cm. The Pomponette listing is a 15 cm bedding strain, not the wild lawn daisy. Buying on the word daisy mixes those jobs. Oxeye often flowers the year after sowing. Sowing either into existing turf usually fails, according to the RHS.
How do I sow oxeye and Bellis?
The RHS says oxeye and Bellis need light, so the seed stays on the surface. Do not bury it. Oxeye often flowers the year after sowing, so do not expect a meadow in month two. A pure wildflower mix is often about 2 g per square metre. That rate is guidance, not a figure printed on these packets. The Livingstone listing says 1 inch deep. Do not follow that line.
Will a gerbera packet survive a British winter?
The RHS says most gerberas will not survive below 5°C unless a hardy series is named. These two packets name neither a species nor a series. Both say cold-hardy and suitable for all regions, and neither has a review line or a seed count. Everlast and Garvinea are not on these titles. Keep an unnamed gerbera above 5°C if you sow it.
Do flower packets have to meet farm-seed rules?
The Seed Marketing Regulations 2011 do not apply to seed intended for ornamental plants. A flower packet is not certified farm seed. The 1999 ornamental propagating-material regulations require satisfactory germination and identity. That is not a percentage, and none of these listings prints one. A supplier who sells only to non-professionals is exempt from one registration rule. JustSeed's Defra Registered 7291 line was not checked on a public register for this page.
Can I sow oxeye into a lawn or on land I do not own?
The RHS says sowing into existing turf usually fails, and one UK review of the JustSeed oxeye reports a lawn sowing that produced nothing. Do not sow on land you do not own, and do not dig wild plants. Oxeye and Bellis are native, and the Schedule 9 plant tables checked do not name them. An empty packet or an obviously different species is a complaint to the seller. One blank pot is not automatically a legal fault.

Our verdict

The top pick is the JustSeed oxeye at £4.25, Leucanthemum vulgare, 3 g stated as 9,000 seeds, with 4.2 from 606 reviews. Blank sowings sit in that same file, so the score is not a germination certificate. There is no best-value badge. The £2.95 Pomponette and Swan River packets are cheaper, and their counts do not agree with themselves. Mr Fothergill's oxeye is £3.79 with 4.2 from 198 reviews and no Latin name in the file. The two gerbera packets, at £5.88 and £5.99, name neither a species nor a series and have no review line.

Best overall
Damavand oxeye daisy, 2 g

Damavand oxeye daisy, 2 g

View offer
Best value
No best-value row

No best-value row

The £2.95 packets are cheaper, and their counts do not agree with themselves. £5.88 with no count is not treated as a better packet.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - Editor
Editor
DIY & toolsSeeds and plantsamazon.co.uk listings

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: October 2026
11 sources checked

Guides to daisy seeds

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Sources taken from the research digest. Listings were checked in October 2026.

  1. RHS — Leucanthemum vulgare (retrieved 21.10.2026)
  2. RHS — How to sow a wildflower patch (retrieved 21.10.2026)
  3. RHS — Bellis perennis (retrieved 21.10.2026)
  4. RHS — Cleretum bellidiforme (retrieved 21.10.2026)
  5. RHS — Gerberas growing guide (retrieved 21.10.2026)
  6. RHS — How to grow erigeron (retrieved 21.10.2026)
  7. Seed Marketing Regulations 2011, regulation 4 (retrieved 21.10.2026)
  8. The Marketing of Ornamental Plant Propagating Material Regulations 1999 (retrieved 21.10.2026)
  9. Woodland Trust — Oxeye daisy (retrieved 21.10.2026)
  10. Wildlife and Countryside Act 1981, Schedule 9 (retrieved 21.10.2026)
  11. RHS — Brachyscome iberidifolia (retrieved 21.10.2026)

This article contains affiliate links. If you buy through these links we may earn a small commission, at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts come from stored amazon.co.uk listings. We did not run a germination test.