Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Lamb's lettuce seeds comparison 2026

The best lamb's lettuce seeds, compared.

Top pick: MES GRAINES large-seed lamb's lettuce Best value: Kings Seeds corn salad Vit – Lowest shelf price in the set at £1.35 on a corn salad title. No seed count, no sowing window, and no reviews. The award is the price. Updated October 2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

Lamb's lettuce seeds grow locusta, also called corn salad or mâche. In the UK a packet is for winter salads or a pot. The RHS records it as hardy to H7, normally sown in late summer or autumn on well-drained soil in sun or partial shade, with a cloche only in very harsh weather. French reviews on the rows are not a UK sample. It is not sativa, so, and do not belong in this table. Four listings of those lettuces were removed from the raw folder. How to choose is set out in the [lamb's lettuce buying guide](/hub/seeds-and-plants/lamb-s-lettuce-seeds/sub/lamb-s-lettuce-seeds-buying-guide). It makes a low rosette with a nutty leaf.

Lamb's lettuce seeds grow locusta, also called corn salad or mâche. In the UK a packet is for winter salads or a pot.

MES GRAINES large-seed lamb's lettuce

Best overall

MES GRAINES large-seed lamb's lettuce
5.5/10∼ £3

28 products checked · 58 hrs invested · +18,400 readers

8 of 8: Best lamb's lettuce seeds compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 8
Best overall
MES GRAINES large-seed lamb's lettuce
MES GRAINES Cambrai green
MES GRAINES round lamb's lettuce
MES GRAINES full heart 2
Unwins Lambs Trophy
Damavandpro Verte de Cambrai, 1,200 seeds
Damavandpro Verte de Cambrai winter listing
Best value
Kings Seeds corn salad Vit
5.5/10
5.8/10
5.3/10
5.6/10
7.9/10
4.9/10
4.4/10
3.8/10
∼ £3
∼ £3
∼ £3
∼ £3
∼ £2
∼ £3
∼ £3
∼ £1
3.9(70)
3.5(39)
3.4(7)
3.4(2)
–
–
–
–
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best lamb's lettuce seeds in detail

MES GRAINES large-seed lamb's lettuce

Rank 1

MES GRAINES large-seed lamb's lettuce

Our view

MES GRAINES large-seed lamb's lettuce claims 500 pieces at £3.41, with planting in July and August, partial sun, a height of 35 cm, and a bullet that mentions a winter harvest. Soil is given as cool and firm, watering as moderate, and the country of origin as France. amazon.co.uk shows 3.9 out of 5 from 70 ratings. The review texts in the raw file were written in France, with one from Spain, so that average is not a UK sample. Several of those reviews say nothing germinated, and one says the 500 seeds were about 1 g. The listing does not say the seed suits pots. A related germination-guarantee line is not a percentage printed for this result.

Pros

  • States 500 seeds, July to August, and a winter-harvest bullet
  • Largest review count in the set: 3.9 from 70
  • Names partial sun, 35 cm, and cool firm soil

Cons

  • Review texts are from France, not the UK
  • Several reviews say nothing germinated
  • One review says 500 seeds was about 1 g
  • No pot note, and £3.41 matches the other MES packets

Best for: You want the large-seed name and you have already read the French notes about seed that did not come up.

Less suitable: You are treating 3.9 from 70 as a UK germination result.

Specifications

Model
MES GRAINES large-seed lamb's lettuce
Brand
MES GRAINES Potagères
Price
∼£3
Customer rating
3.9/5(70)
Variety
Large seed
Seed count
500
Sowing window
July to August
Light
Partial sun
Winter note
Winter harvest
Review market
France, Spain

Common questions

Does the listing mention a winter harvest?

Yes. A bullet says winter harvest, and the blooming period includes summer and winter. Planting is listed as July to August, in partial sun.

What do the reviews say about the packet?

The listing shows 3.9 out of 5 from 70 ratings. Review texts in the raw file were written in France. Several say nothing germinated, and one says 500 seeds was about 1 g.

Does the listing say how many seeds?

It says 500 pieces at £3.41, packed in food-grade kraft bags. A height of 35 cm is given.

MES GRAINES Cambrai green

Rank 2

MES GRAINES Cambrai green

Our view

MES GRAINES green lamb's lettuce of Cambrai, model Cambrai Green, claims 500 seeds at £3.41. Planting is July to October, in partial sun, on fresh slightly clayey soil, with a stated height of 25 cm. A bullet says the plant is cold resistant and easy for beginners, and the title also says germination guarantee. The listing shows 3.5 out of 5 from 39 ratings. The texts in the raw file are from France, and several say the seed did not come up or that only a few seeds did. A guarantee line without a percentage is not a result you can set beside Unwins, which has no reviews at all. This is the Cambrai name at the top price of the set, not the £2.99 Damavandpro titles that also say Cambrai.

Pros

  • Model is Cambrai Green, with July to October on the listing
  • Cold-resistant bullet and a 25 cm height
  • 3.5 from 39, a larger file than the round and full-heart packets

Cons

  • Several French reviews report no germination or only a few seeds
  • Those reviews are not a UK sample
  • Germination guarantee has no percentage in the file
  • £3.41 for a claimed 500, above the £2.99 Cambrai titles

Best for: You want Cambrai on a MES GRAINES label and you have read the French notes about seed that failed.

Less suitable: You want the lower Cambrai shelf price, or reviews written in the UK.

Specifications

Model
MES GRAINES Cambrai green
Brand
MES GRAINES Potagères
Price
∼£3
Customer rating
3.5/5(39)
Variety
Cambrai green
Seed count
500
Sowing window
July to October
Light
Partial sun
Winter note
Cold resistant
Review market
France

Common questions

Is this labelled as Cambrai?

Yes. The model is Cambrai Green and the title says green lamb's lettuce of Cambrai. It claims 500 seeds at £3.41.

What sowing details are on the listing?

Planting July to October, partial sun, height 25 cm, fresh slightly clayey soil. A bullet says it is cold resistant and easy for beginners.

What do the reviews say about germination?

The listing shows 3.5 out of 5 from 39 ratings. The texts in the raw file are from France. Several say the seed did not come up, or that only a few seeds did. The title also says germination guarantee.

MES GRAINES round lamb's lettuce

Rank 3

MES GRAINES round lamb's lettuce

Our view

MES GRAINES round lamb's lettuce, model Ronde Maraîchère, claims 500 seeds at £3.41. The listing says partial sun, fresh weeded soil with a little clay, a height of 20 cm, and planting from July to September. A bullet calls the plant cold resistant, and the blooming period runs from summer to winter. The star line is 3.4 out of 5 from 7 ratings. The three written reviews are from France: one is only a short praise line, one says the packet held a few tiny seeds, and one says nothing grew. Seven ratings is a thin file even before the language limit. The page does not say the seed is for pots, and the price matches the other MES GRAINES rows rather than marking a better plant.

Pros

  • Names Ronde Maraîchère and a 20 cm height
  • July to September, partial sun, and a cold-resistant bullet
  • Soil is described as fresh, weeded, and a little clay

Cons

  • 3.4 from only 7 ratings, written in France
  • One review says a few tiny seeds, another says nothing grew
  • No pot note
  • Same £3.41 as the other MES packets

Best for: You specifically want the round type named on the model line and you accept a small French review file.

Less suitable: You need a UK review sample, or a larger written file than three notes.

Specifications

Model
MES GRAINES round lamb's lettuce
Brand
MES GRAINES Potagères
Price
∼£3
Customer rating
3.4/5(7)
Variety
Round Maraîchère
Seed count
500
Sowing window
July to September
Light
Partial sun
Winter note
Cold resistant
Review market
France

Common questions

What sun and soil does the listing give?

Partial sun, and fresh weeded soil with a little clay. Height is given as 20 cm. Planting is July to September. The price is £3.41 for a claimed 500 seeds.

Does the listing call it cold resistant?

Yes. A bullet says the plant is cold resistant. The blooming period runs from summer to winter.

What do the reviews say?

The listing shows 3.4 out of 5 from 7 ratings. The three texts are from France. One is only a short praise line. One says the packet held a few tiny seeds. One says nothing grew.

MES GRAINES full heart 2

Rank 4

MES GRAINES full heart 2

Our view

MES GRAINES lamb's lettuce full heart 2, model Verte à Cœur Plein 2, claims 500 seeds at £3.41. The listing says full sun, rich and airy soil, a height of 25 cm, and planting from July to September. A bullet says the plant is cold resistant and slightly late, and the moisture line is moderate watering with extra water in drought. The star line is 3.4 out of 5 from 2 ratings. The only review text, written in France, says the germination rate was very low. Two ratings cannot tell you how this packet behaves in a UK autumn. The variety name is specific, and the evidence under it is a single complaint. The page does not mention pots.

Pros

  • Names Verte à Cœur Plein 2
  • Full sun, rich airy soil, and July to September
  • Bullet says cold resistant and slightly late

Cons

  • 3.4 from 2 ratings only
  • The written review says germination was very low
  • That review is from France
  • No pot note, and the same £3.41 as the other MES rows

Best for: You want full heart 2 by that model name and you treat the two-review line as a warning.

Less suitable: You want a larger review file, or a packet that states pots.

Specifications

Model
MES GRAINES full heart 2
Brand
MES GRAINES Potagères
Price
∼£3
Customer rating
3.4/5(2)
Variety
Full heart 2
Seed count
500
Sowing window
July to September
Light
Full sun
Winter note
Cold resistant
Review market
France

Common questions

Which variety name is on the listing?

The model is Verte à Cœur Plein 2. The title says green lamb's lettuce with full heart 2, 500 seeds, at £3.41.

What sun and soil are listed?

Full sun, rich and airy soil, height 25 cm, planting July to September. A bullet says it is cold resistant and slightly late.

What does the review say?

The listing shows 3.4 out of 5 from 2 ratings. The only review text, written in France, says the germination rate was very low.

Unwins Lambs Trophy

Rank 5

Unwins Lambs Trophy

Our view

Unwins Lambs Trophy is listed at £2.08 for about 300 seeds, with sowing from March to October and a harvest line from January to December. The listing says the plants suit pots and containers, names full sun, and describes small teardrop leaves with a soft velvety texture. The raw file gives no star rating, so a full instruction block is not the same as UK growers reporting that the seed came up. Item weight is 15 g, which is the listing weight rather than a second count to add to the 300. Bloom is given as spring, summer, and winter, which matches a long picking line on the page and does not prove new leaves every week in January. If you will only buy a packet that already has written reviews, this one does not have them in the file.

Pros

  • About 300 seeds stated, at £2.08
  • Sow March to October, harvest January to December
  • Listing says it suits pots and containers
  • Names full sun and teardrop leaves

Cons

  • No star rating or review text in the raw file
  • Harvest line is not a week-by-week winter yield
  • The 15 g item weight is not a seed-count check

Best for: You want a named UK packet that states a count, a sowing window, and pots.

Less suitable: You will only buy a packet that already has UK reviews, or you want Verte de Cambrai by name.

Specifications

Model
Unwins Lambs Trophy
Brand
Unwins
Price
∼£2
Variety
Lambs Trophy
Seed count
300
Sowing window
March to October
Light
Full sun
Where to grow
Pots, containers
Winter note
Jan to Dec harvest
Pots
Yes

Common questions

Can this packet be grown in pots?

The listing says it is perfect for pots and containers. It also describes small teardrop leaves with a soft velvety texture.

When does the listing say to sow and pick?

Sow March to October and harvest January to December. The raw file gives no star rating.

How many seeds are stated?

The listing says approximately 300 seeds. The price in the raw file is £2.08.

Damavandpro Verte de Cambrai, 1,200 seeds

Rank 6

Damavandpro Verte de Cambrai, 1,200 seeds

Our view

Damavandpro lists corn salad Verte de Cambrai as 1,200 seeds at £2.99, with GMO free on the material line and the United Kingdom as country of origin. The care text says sow outdoors or in containers, including windowsills, balconies, patios, or beds, and it mentions winter and summer planting, well-drained fertile soil, and regular watering. Some bullets also describe a diverse variety pack, while the title and style name are a single corn salad. That clash means the 1,200 figure is not a settled count of one variety until you see the packet. The raw file has no reviews and does not say the seed is organic. GMO free is not a certificate number, and the light field is empty.

Pros

  • Title names Verte de Cambrai and 1,200 seeds
  • Care text includes containers and a year-round sowing line
  • £2.99, below the £3.41 packets
  • Says GMO free

Cons

  • Some bullets describe a mixed variety pack
  • Does not say organic
  • No reviews in the raw file
  • Light is not stated

Best for: You want a Cambrai title at £2.99 and you will check the envelope against the mixed-pack bullets.

Less suitable: You need one consistent seed count, or any reviews, before you rely on the page.

Specifications

Model
Damavandpro Verte de Cambrai, 1,200 seeds
Brand
DAMAVAND PRO
Price
∼£3
Variety
Verte de Cambrai
Seed count
1,200
Sowing window
Year-round
Where to grow
Indoor, outdoor
Winter note
Winter and summer
Pots
Yes

Common questions

Is this a mixed vegetable and herb pack?

The title and style name are corn salad Verte de Cambrai, 1,200 seeds, at £2.99. Some bullets also describe a diverse variety pack.

Can it be sown in pots?

The care text says sow outdoors or in containers, including windowsills, balconies, patios or beds.

Does the listing say the seed is organic?

It says GMO free. It does not say organic. No reviews are in the raw file.

Damavandpro Verte de Cambrai winter listing

Rank 7

Damavandpro Verte de Cambrai winter listing

Our view

This second Damavandpro listing is also £2.99, and the title says 1,200 Verte de Cambrai seeds for UK gardens, pots, and allotments, and calls it a classic winter variety. The specification block does not repeat the seed count. The indoor and outdoor line says outdoor, while other bullets also mention indoor sowing. Country of origin is the United Kingdom, and the material line says GMO free, not organic. There is no sowing month, no light, and no review text in the raw file. The winter phrase sits in the title rather than in a calendar you can follow. Treat this as a second Cambrai listing with a thinner spec block than the other Damavandpro row, not as a tested winter strain.

Pros

  • Title says classic winter variety and names pots and allotments
  • Claims 1,200 seeds at £2.99
  • Says GMO free

Cons

  • Seed count is in the title only
  • Outdoor spec line conflicts with indoor bullets
  • No sowing window and no reviews
  • Does not say organic

Best for: You want the winter wording on a Cambrai title and you will wait for the packet to settle the indoor and outdoor clash.

Less suitable: You want one place to grow, stated once, or a month-by-month sow window.

Specifications

Model
Damavandpro Verte de Cambrai winter listing
Brand
DAMAVAND PRO
Price
∼£3
Variety
Verte de Cambrai
Seed count
1,200 title
Where to grow
Outdoor / indoor
Winter note
Classic winter
Pots
Yes

Common questions

Does this listing include pots?

The title says 1,200 seeds for UK gardens, pots and allotments, priced at £2.99. The indoor/outdoor spec line says outdoor, while bullets also mention indoor sowing.

Is the seed count in the specification block?

The count is in the title. The specification block does not repeat number of pieces.

Are the seeds described as organic?

The listing says GMO free. It does not say organic. No reviews are in the raw file.

Kings Seeds corn salad Vit

Rank 8

Kings Seeds corn salad Vit

Our view

The Kings Seeds packet is titled corn salad Vit and the raw amazon.co.uk file prices it at £1.35, the lowest shelf price in this set. That file lists an item weight of 50 g and does not state a seed count, a sowing month, light, soil, or pots. There is no star rating and no review text, so the listing cannot tell you whether Vit came up for anyone. The 50 g line is an item weight, not a weighed seed count, and it should not be read as 50 g of seed. The title does name corn salad Vit, which is the plant this comparison keeps, rather than a winter lettuce. You are paying for the name and the price, and the sowing detail other packets at least attempt is absent here.

Pros

  • Lowest shelf price in the set at £1.35
  • Title names corn salad Vit
  • Item weight is stated as 50 g

Cons

  • No seed count in the raw file
  • No sowing window, light, or pot note
  • No star rating or review text

Best for: You want the lowest shelf price in this set on a title that already says corn salad Vit, and you will take the sowing detail from the packet when it arrives.

Less suitable: You need a stated seed count, a sow-by window, or any reviews before you pay.

Specifications

Model
Kings Seeds corn salad Vit
Brand
Kings Seeds
Price
∼£1
Variety
Corn salad Vit

Common questions

How many seeds does the listing state?

The raw file does not state a seed count. It lists an item weight of 50 g and a price of £1.35.

Does the listing say it can be grown indoors?

The page asks the question. The raw file does not give an answer.

Is a star rating shown?

No star rating or review text is in the raw file.

How we compared

Eight amazon.co.uk listings were scored for this page. The method file splits the score into evidence you can use, listing fit, count clarity and price. Those four shares are scaled here so the weights sum to 100. A star line is not a germination certificate. French review text is not treated as a UK sample. There was no germination trial.

1

Listing fit

44%

Points for a variety name, a sowing window, light, a place to grow, and a winter note, cut when those lines are missing. Unwins Trophy, which states a count, March to October, full sun, pots, and a January to December harvest line, leads this part. A title that only says corn salad Vit scores low.

2

Evidence you can use

28%

A low score when the raw file has no star line. A star line is not a bonus if the written reviews are in French and several say the seed did not come up. 3.9 from 70, 3.5 from 39, 3.4 from 7, and 3.4 from 2 stay in that order of evidence, and none of them is a UK sample.

3

Count clarity

17%

Highest when one count is stated and no review in the file disputes the bag. Lower when the count is missing, sits in the title only, fights a mixed-pack bullet, or a review says the bag held about 1 g or a few tiny seeds.

4

Price against that job

11%

£2.08 for a stated 300 seeds on a complete listing leads this part. £1.35 with no count is a shelf price only, which is why it is the best value and not the top pick. £2.99 and £3.41 for a claimed 500 sit lower.

Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Lamb's lettuce seeds buying guide

The checks run in this order: species, variety name, approximate count, price in GBP, then whose reviews you are reading. The table is the eight listings. None of these packets was germinated for this page. A star average, a germination-guarantee line and a January harvest line stay seller text. French reviews are not a UK sample.

What are lamb's lettuce seeds?

Lamb's lettuce is Valerianella locusta, also sold as corn salad or mâche. It makes a low rosette with a nutty leaf. It is not Lactuca sativa, so Salad Bowl, Winter Density and Arctic King do not belong in this table. Four listings of those lettuces were removed from the raw folder. Winter Density and Arctic King are still the names shoppers mix up with this crop. The RHS records the species as hardy to H7.

Best for

  • Allotment growers sowing in August or September for leaves into spring
  • Patio growers using a trough who want a packet that already says pots

Not ideal for

  • Anyone buying Winter Density or Arctic King and expecting corn salad
  • Anyone treating a French star line as a UK germination result

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Buying a winter lettuce

    Winter Density and Arctic King are Lactuca sativa. Lamb's lettuce is Valerianella locusta. The lettuce packets were removed from this table because they are a different plant.

  2. 2

    Quoting French stars as UK reviews

    MES GRAINES shows 3.4 to 3.9 on amazon.co.uk. The written reviews in the raw files are in French, with one from Spain. Several say nothing germinated.

  3. 3

    Reading GMO free as organic

    GMO free is not a certifier such as Soil Association Certification. None of these files shows a certificate number. Damavandpro says GMO free and does not say organic.

What to weigh up

Species, variety and count

High

The packet should say lamb's lettuce, corn salad, mâche or Valerianella. Reject Salad Bowl, Winter Density and Arctic King for this job. Then match a variety to a season: Verte de Cambrai, Vit, Trophy, or a large-leaved or round type, rather than an unnamed count. Counts in this Amazon set run from about 300, where Unwins states it, to a claimed 1,200 on Damavandpro. Kings states no count. A reviewer of a MES GRAINES 500 packet said the bag was about 1 g. That is a complaint, not a weigh-in.

Whose reviews, and the price

High

Evidence in this set is a UK brand and instructions on Unwins Trophy, with no star line in the raw file, against French-language reviews on MES GRAINES at 3.4 to 3.9, against no reviews at all on Kings Vit and both Damavandpro listings. Do not quote those French stars as UK opinion, and do not state a germination percentage. None is printed for these ASINs. Price sits last. Entry in this scrape is £1.35 to £2.08, mid is £2.99, and £3.41 is the top of this set, not a tested premium.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

A named count and a sow window

You want a UK packet that already states a seed count, months, and pots. Unwins Lambs Trophy is the top pick in this set: about 300 seeds, March to October, full sun, and pots, at £2.08. The raw file has no star line, so this is the most complete listing, not a germination result.

Lowest price on a corn salad title

You want the lowest shelf price in this set on a title that already says corn salad. Kings Seeds corn salad Vit is £1.35. The raw file gives no seed count, no sowing window, and no reviews. The 50 g line is an item weight, not a seed count. The best-value badge is that price.

Verte de Cambrai by name

You want Cambrai on the label and you will read the review language before you trust the stars. MES GRAINES Cambrai Green claims 500 seeds at £3.41, with July to October and a cold-resistant bullet. The 3.5 from 39 is a French file, and several notes say the seed did not come up.

Common questions about lamb's lettuce seeds

Which lamb's lettuce packet is the top pick for 2026?
The top pick in this set is Unwins Lambs Trophy. The listing states about 300 seeds at £2.08, sowing from March to October, full sun, pots and containers, and a harvest line from January to December. The raw amazon.co.uk file has no star rating, so a complete instruction block is not a germination result. It is the most complete named listing here. It is not a UK trial of which packet comes up.
How much do lamb's lettuce seeds cost on amazon.co.uk?
In this scrape Kings Seeds corn salad Vit is £1.35 and Unwins Lambs Trophy is £2.08. Both Damavandpro Verte de Cambrai listings are £2.99. The four MES GRAINES packets are £3.41 each, for a claimed 500 seeds. These are shelf prices for these eight ASINs, not a market average. A rule of thumb from UK seed-merchant pages on 19 October 2026 is about £0.99 to £3.19 for a home packet, often plus postage. Suttons states £2.99 carriage on seed-only orders.
What should I check before I buy lamb's lettuce seeds?
Check the species first. The packet should say lamb's lettuce, corn salad, mâche or Valerianella. Salad Bowl, Winter Density and Arctic King are lettuces and were left out of this table. Then look for a variety name, an approximate seed count, and a price in GBP. Unwins states about 300 seeds. The MES GRAINES rows claim 500. One Damavandpro listing claims 1,200 and also has mixed-pack bullets. Last, ask whose reviews you are reading. A star line written in French is not a UK sample.
Is lamb's lettuce the same as winter lettuce?
No. Lamb's lettuce is Valerianella locusta, a low rosette also called corn salad or mâche. Winter Density and Arctic King are lettuces, Lactuca sativa, and they are the wrong plant for this comparison. The RHS records lamb's lettuce as hardy to H7 and normally sown in late summer or autumn. A cloche is for very harsh weather. Short days from November to February pause growth. That pause is not, by itself, a failed sowing.
Can I treat the MES GRAINES stars as UK reviews?
No. amazon.co.uk shows star lines on the four MES GRAINES packets, from 3.4 out of 5 with 2 ratings up to 3.9 from 70. The written reviews in the raw files are in French, and one large-seed review is from Spain. Several say nothing germinated. One large-seed review says the 500 seeds were about 1 g. That is a complaint, not a weigh-in repeated here. Kings, Unwins and both Damavandpro files have no star line at all.
Does GMO free mean the seed is organic?
No. GMO free is not organic. Organic seed needs a certifier such as Soil Association Certification. None of the kept raw files shows a certificate number. Damavandpro says GMO free and does not say organic. England's Seed Marketing Regulations 2011 include standard vegetable seed, meant for growing vegetables, with varietal identity, without the official crop inspection that certified seed has. Defra says that seed should be traceable to a UK supplier and the label should say GB rules and standards.
When should I sow lamb's lettuce?
The RHS describes late summer or autumn sowing, on well-drained soil in sun or partial shade. Unwins prints March to October. MES GRAINES windows here are July to August, July to September, or July to October. The first Damavandpro listing says year-round in the care text. UK depths in this research span about 5 mm to 15 mm. Keep the surface from drying. Sowing the whole packet in midsummer is a common mistake. The RHS names slugs as the pest. Do not use metaldehyde pellets.
Will a 30 cm pot feed the household through January?
No. Expect a handful of leaves from a 30 cm pot, not a household supply. A trough about 15 to 20 cm deep suits a patio. The Unwins line from January to December is a picking window, not new leaves every week in January. Short days pause growth. UK sowing depths here span about 5 mm to 15 mm. If a whole tray damps off and you cannot tell waterlogging from disease, ask someone who can.

Our verdict

The top pick is Unwins Lambs Trophy, at £2.08, because the listing states about 300 seeds, sowing from March to October, full sun, pots, and a harvest line from January to December. The raw file has no star rating, so that completeness is not a germination certificate. The best value is Kings Seeds corn salad Vit at £1.35, the lowest shelf price on a title that names the plant. It has no seed count and no reviews. MES GRAINES star lines of 3.4 to 3.9 are French review files, and several say the seed did not come up.

Best overall
MES GRAINES large-seed lamb's lettuce

MES GRAINES large-seed lamb's lettuce

View offer
Best value
Kings Seeds corn salad Vit

Kings Seeds corn salad Vit

Lowest shelf price in the set at £1.35 on a corn salad title. No seed count, no sowing window, and no reviews. The award is the price.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - Editor
Editor
DIY & toolsSeeds and plantsamazon.co.uk listings

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Guides to lamb's lettuce seeds

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Sources taken from the research digest. Listings were checked on 19 October 2026.

  1. RHS — Valerianella locusta (retrieved 19.10.2026)
  2. Gardeners' World — how to grow lamb's lettuce (retrieved 19.10.2026)
  3. Gardeners' World — winter salad (retrieved 19.10.2026)
  4. Seed Marketing Regulations 2011 (retrieved 19.10.2026)
  5. Defra — plant varieties and seeds FAQ (retrieved 19.10.2026)
  6. Suttons — corn salad seeds (retrieved 19.10.2026)
  7. The English Garden — indoor salad leaves (retrieved 19.10.2026)
  8. Unwins — lamb's lettuce Trophy (retrieved 19.10.2026)

This article contains affiliate links. If you buy through these links we may earn a small commission, at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts come from stored amazon.co.uk listings. We did not run a germination trial.