One firewood saw
You have one petrol saw and the maximum in its manual is inside 20,000 rpm. You want the title to name a chainsaw, a 0.5 second refresh, and a cell you can change. The YOOREAL YR-HM011F is the top pick for that job.
The best chainsaw tachometers, compared.
Top pick: HTPREC clip-on chainsaw tachometer Best value: Yooreal YR-HM011E hour tachometer – Highest score per pound among listings with UK review text, at about £11.99. Updated October 2026.
You need a chainsaw tachometer when the saw’s manual gives an idle or full-throttle speed and you want a number on a screen, not a guess from the sound. In this UK comparison the instrument is a small inductive meter. It reads spark pulses from a petrol engine, and on most of these listings it also counts hours. What separates them is a stated rpm ceiling against your manual’s maximum, a refresh around 0.5 second if you will adjust the high-speed screw, a firing pattern for a single-cylinder 2-stroke, and whether the cell can be replaced. Tiny-Tach, and older workshop meters are not in this basket, and neither is a laser photo tachometer. Meters that are not bought for a saw sit in the [tachometer](/hub/saw-accessories/tachometer) comparison. You buy one to compare idle and full-throttle speed with the figure in that saw’s manual, or to remind yourself when a service hour is due. A reflective-tape laser is a different instrument, and it is a poor way to read an assembled saw.
You need a chainsaw tachometer when the saw’s manual gives an idle or full-throttle speed and you want a number on a screen, not a guess from the sound. In this UK comparison the instrument is a small inductive meter.
Swipe for more
1-2 of 11Personal buying guide
Question 1 of 2
Where does your saw’s manual maximum sit?
The HTPREC meter at £25.90 clips onto the spark-plug wire, and the bullets state 0–18,000 rpm in mode 02 and up to 36,000 rpm in mode 03. It is 4.5 from 46 amazon.co.uk reviews, and the title names a chainsaw. The 12 review texts on the listing are from the United States, not the UK. Those buyers mention a wood splitter, an ATV, a chipper, and a chainsaw tune, and they call the clip easy once the setup is understood. Refresh time is not stated, and the cell chemistry is not named, though the battery is described as replaceable. A red backlight is claimed when rpm or temperature exceeds a set point, but no temperature range is given, and one buyer’s limiter at 7,500 rpm did not turn the backlight red. One earlier meter on a motorcycle had under-read, and this unit was bought as the replacement, which is that buyer’s history rather than a test of this sample. The highlight says waterproof and gives no IP code.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A buyer who wants a clip and a mode that states up to 36,000 rpm, and who will accept US reviews on an amazon.co.uk listing.
Less suitable: Anyone who wants a UK chainsaw review and a stated refresh before paying £25.90.
Specifications
Common questions
Which mode is 36,000 rpm?
The bullets say 0–18,000 rpm in mode 02, and up to 36,000 rpm in mode 03. Refresh is not stated.
Are there UK reviews on the listing?
No. The 4.5 from 46 reviews is the listing line. The review texts saved with the listing are from the United States.
Does it claim a temperature warning?
Yes. A red backlight is described when rpm or temperature exceeds the set point. No temperature range is given.
The NInE-ROnG RL-HM032B at £21.99 is an inductive hour meter whose title names chainsaws and whose bullets add a clock, two maintenance timers, and a replaceable CR2032. It is 4.5 from 13 amazon.co.uk reviews, with three UK texts. Those reviews describe a scooter rev counter that was easy enough to set from the manual, a readable backlight, and a display of time, maximum rpm, an rpm warning, and start count. No rpm ceiling and no refresh time are stated, so the listing alone does not show whether a saw manual’s maximum sits inside the meter. One UK review says the signal cable was too short for a scooter larger than a Zip 50. The two instruction slips are described as too small for the amount of information. A 4.5 from 13 ratings is a thin sample, and the three UK texts do not report water or a dead cell. Use it if you mainly want hours, a clock, and two service timers on a small petrol engine.
Pros
Cons
Best for: Hours, a clock, and two service reminders on a small petrol engine, when rpm range is not the reason you are buying.
Less suitable: A chainsaw high-speed check that needs a stated rpm ceiling and a 0.5 second refresh.
Specifications
Common questions
Does it state an rpm range?
No. The bullets say it records engine rpm. They do not give a maximum or a refresh time.
What did a UK scooter review say about the cable?
It was easy to set up on a scooter, and the signal cable was too short for a machine much bigger than a Zip 50.
Is the battery replaceable?
Yes. Internal CR2032, and the listing says data is kept after a battery change.
The YOOREAL YR-HM011F reads spark pulses on a petrol engine through one inductive wire and refreshes the rpm figure every 0.5 second, across a stated 0–20,000 rpm in 10 rpm steps. At £13.99 it is 4.4 from 259 amazon.co.uk reviews, and the title names a chainsaw as well as a mower, generator, and outboard. Eight UK reviews describe an easy fit, including an extended wire, and reviewers who used it as a rev check. The cell is a replaceable CR2450, with an insulation sheet for transit, and total hours can be reset up to 99,999 while a service timer runs to 9,999.9 hours. The housing claim is a rear O-ring and no IP code. One UK buyer found only a thin white gasket and said a product video of an epoxy dunk did not match the cover they saw. Another review says one battery lasted two weeks, and the wrap instructions do not give a true rpm starting point. It is the top pick here when you want a chainsaw-named meter with a stated 0.5 second refresh and a cell you can change.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A petrol chainsaw or mower whose manual maximum is inside 20,000 rpm, when you want a 0.5 second refresh and a cell you can replace.
Less suitable: A saw whose maximum sits above 20,000 rpm, or a meter left outdoors that you need a stated IP rating for.
Specifications
Common questions
Is the battery replaceable?
Yes. The listing says a replaceable CR2450, with an insulation sheet fitted for transit, and that data is kept after a battery change.
Does it name a chainsaw?
Yes. The title includes chainsaw, lawn mower, generator, outboard, snowblower, jet ski, and dirt bike.
What waterproof rating is stated?
No IP code. The bullets say a whole housing and a rear O-ring. One UK review disputes how well the battery bay is sealed.
The Yooreal YR-HM011E is a £11.99 inductive hour tachometer that states 0–20,000 rpm, three firing patterns, and a 0.5 second refresh. It is 4.3 from 981 amazon.co.uk reviews and ranks 1 in Lawn Mower Hour Tachometers. The title names mowers, generators, motorcycles, and marine engines, and it does not name a chainsaw. Twelve UK reviews on the listing call it easy to fit, and buyers used it for idle, pilot screws, a jet ski, and a wood chipper once the pattern was found. The CR2450 is sealed, and the listing says it cannot be replaced, which those reviews treat as the limit of the bargain. Sticky pads failed on a mower until one owner used the screw holes. Accuracy in the reviews is taken on trust rather than checked against a second instrument. It is the best value in this comparison when your saw’s maximum sits inside 20,000 rpm and you can accept a cell you cannot change.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A petrol saw or mower whose manual maximum is inside 20,000 rpm, when you want the lowest price here and a large UK review sample.
Less suitable: Anyone who wants a chainsaw named on the listing, or a meter they can keep after the cell dies.
Specifications
Common questions
Can you replace the battery?
No. The listing says the built-in CR2450 cannot be replaced. Data is kept when the LCD is shut down.
Does the title name a chainsaw?
No. It names lawn mowers, generators, motorcycles, marine engines, and other petrol machines.
What speed range and refresh does it state?
0–20,000 rpm, three firing patterns, and a 0.5 second refresh. It does not state an rpm accuracy step.
The YOOREAL YR-HM011J at £17.89 uses an alligator clip on the spark-plug lead instead of a wire wrap, and it states 0–25,000 rpm in 10 rpm steps with nine firing patterns. It is 4.1 from 171 amazon.co.uk reviews. The title does not name a chainsaw; it lists a lawn mower, motorcycle, outboard, generator, and snow blower. Nine UK reviews call it useful for checking and setting revs once the menus are understood, and one praised a recall of maximum rpm. Total hours cannot be reset except a starting value if the engine has run for no more than one hour, while job hours are separate, across a stated 0–999,999 hours. Refresh time is not stated, and the cell is replaceable without a named chemistry. Instructions are the repeated complaint, and one UK unit would not power up on a new battery and was returned. Use the clip when you do not want to wrap a lead and the saw’s maximum is inside 25,000 rpm.
Pros
Cons
Best for: Checking revs on a small petrol engine with a clip, when a wrap-around wire is the thing you want to avoid.
Less suitable: A high-speed screw where you need a stated 0.5 second refresh, or a listing that names a chainsaw.
Specifications
Common questions
Do you have to wrap the wire?
The bullet says an alligator clip on the spark-plug lead, so you do not wrap the wire. Lead length is 1.75 m.
Can total hours be reset?
No, except an initial value if the engine has run for no more than one hour. Job hours are separate. The stated range is 0–999,999 h.
Is a chainsaw named?
Not in the title. The highlight lists lawn mower, motorcycle, outboard, generator, and snow blower.
The Yooreal YR-HM011G at £14.99 is a backlight hour tachometer with a stated 0–25,000 rpm range, a 10 rpm step, and a 0.5 second refresh. It is 4.1 from 53 amazon.co.uk reviews, and the title names a chainsaw. The box list includes a CR2450, 3M adhesive velcro, a cut-out sticker, two cable ties, and a manual. The only UK review text says it works on a Tohatsu 20 hp 4-stroke outboard. A US review on the same listing checked chainsaw idle by laying the pickup wire on the saw. One reviewer said the backlight would not stay on, and another saw about half the rpm until the firing setting was found. The case claim is a rear O-ring and no IP code. Choose it when you want 25,000 rpm, a replaceable cell, and a light, and you can live with one UK review.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A petrol saw whose manual maximum is inside 25,000 rpm, when you want a backlight, a cell in the box, and a stated 0.5 second refresh.
Less suitable: A buyer who wants several UK chainsaw reviews before trusting the reading.
Specifications
Common questions
What is in the box?
The listing includes 3M adhesive velcro, a cut-out sticker, two cable ties, a user manual, and a CR2450.
Does it have a backlight?
Yes. Backlight is in the title. One review says the light would not stay on.
What engines does one UK review name?
The only UK review text says it works on a Tohatsu 20 hp 4-stroke outboard. The title also names a chainsaw.
The Yooreal RL-HM012 at £13.99 is a 28 g inductive meter with a stated 0–30,000 rpm range in 10 rpm steps, an IP68 epoxy-seal claim, and a built-in CR2032. It is 4.0 from 160 amazon.co.uk reviews, and B097BHMTK7 is the same model at the same price with the same review texts. Ten UK reviews include a chainsaw carburettor job that worked first time and a mower check of idle and full throttle. The bullets specify a petrol 2-stroke single or a 4-stroke twin, factory-set for 2-stroke, so a diesel question on the page is not a fit. Refresh time is not stated, and there is no service-countdown line, only total hours to 99,999 in 0.1 hour steps. One buyer returned a unit because the cell cannot be changed, one report says it failed after two months, and a single-cylinder 4-stroke motorcycle read the wrong rpm when wired as instructed. Take either this ASIN or the twin when you want the higher stated ceiling and the IP68 claim for a single check. Skip both if you need a stated 0.5 second refresh or a cell you can replace.
Pros
Cons
Best for: One chainsaw or mower check where you want the 30,000 rpm ceiling and the IP68 claim, bought as either this listing or the twin, not both.
Less suitable: A meter you will keep for years, a stated 0.5 second refresh, or a diesel engine.
Specifications
Common questions
Is this a different meter from B097BHMTK7?
The listings share model RL-HM012, £13.99, 4.0 from 160 reviews, the same size, and the same review texts. The UPCs differ. Buy one, not both.
Will it read a diesel engine?
The page asks. The bullets say a petrol 2-stroke single or a 4-stroke twin, factory-set for 2-stroke.
Can you change the battery?
The listing says a built-in CR2032. It does not describe a replaceable compartment.
This Yooreal RL-HM012 listing leads with chainsaw in the title, costs £13.99, and states the same 0–30,000 rpm, 10 rpm step, IP68 bullet, and built-in CR2032 as B0977VYK4B. The star line is the same 4.0 from 160 reviews, and the UK review texts are the same ten. Those reviews include a chainsaw carburettor tune that worked first time and a mower idle and full-throttle check. Fit is a petrol 2-stroke single or a 4-stroke twin, factory-set for 2-stroke. No refresh time and no service timer are stated; hours are total only, to 99,999 in 0.1 hour steps. The sealed cell drew a return, one unit failed after two months, and a motorcycle wired as instructed showed the wrong rpm. This listing does not state CE, while the twin listing does, which does not make it a different meter. The verdict matches the twin: either listing, not a second purchase.
Pros
Cons
Best for: The same buyer as B0977VYK4B: one petrol chainsaw check at the 30,000 rpm claim, on this listing or the twin.
Less suitable: A second meter beside B0977VYK4B, a replaceable cell, or a stated 0.5 second refresh.
Specifications
Common questions
How does this differ from B0977VYK4B?
The title leads with chainsaw and says waterproof design. The bullets still state IP68, 0–30,000 rpm, and a built-in CR2032. It is the same model.
Does the bullet list say CE?
This listing does not. The twin listing B0977VYK4B does state CE. That mark belongs on the twin only.
Is there a service countdown?
No SVC range is stated. The hours line is total hours to 99,999, with 0.1 hour accuracy.
The Yooreal RL-HM032A at £19.94 is an inductive hour tachometer that names a chainsaw and lets you pick a 0.5 second or 1 second refresh, with an rpm alert from 1,000 to 20,000 rpm and a red backlight. It is 4.0 from 155 amazon.co.uk reviews, and the stated range stops at 20,000 rpm across eight firing patterns. Reviews on that amazon.co.uk listing say it works after the firing pattern is set, including a 125 cc bike once the buyer accepted a reading close enough for a learner, and a chainsaw idle in one German review on the same listing. The service timer is 0–200 hours or off, and job hours can be reset. More than one reviewer says the waterproof claim fails in rain: water in the screen, condensation, and a cell drained after the display was left on. Others report a unit that will not power up, including with a new cell, and a reading that was slow to follow rpm. The cell is replaceable, but the bullets do not name the chemistry. Keep it only if you want that alert and you can keep the housing dry.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A dry workshop check on a petrol saw inside 20,000 rpm, when you want an rpm alert and a refresh you can set to 0.5 second.
Less suitable: A saw stored outdoors, or a manual maximum above 20,000 rpm.
Specifications
Common questions
Can you set an rpm warning?
Yes. Alert range is 1,000–20,000 rpm, with a red backlight. One UK review says that red alert did not work on a bike.
How long is the service timer?
SVC is 0–200 hours, or off. Total and job timers go to 99,999 hours. Job hours can be reset.
What waterproof code is stated?
None. The bullets say a whole housing and a rear O-ring. Reviews include water inside the screen.
The POFET meter at £13.99 is an inductive hour tachometer whose title names chainsaws, and whose listing says the display can show up to 99,999 rpm. It is 3.8 from 14 amazon.co.uk reviews, with two UK review texts, and it ranks 11 in Lawn Mower Hour Tachometers. One of those buyers used it to check and adjust a chainsaw and said the saw then ran at what they called peak performance. The other, on a lawnmower they believed should be 2,900 rpm, saw 1,400 and wrote that the device cannot tell you rpm unless you already know it. No refresh time and no firing-pattern count are stated, and the hour meter is said to reach 10,000 hours and then return to zero. The battery is called interchangeable, without a chemistry, and the pack line does not name a cell. Treat the 99,999 rpm line as a display claim, not a checked accuracy.
Pros
Cons
Best for: Only a buyer who already has a known speed to compare, and who accepts a sample of two UK reviews.
Less suitable: Carburettor work where you need a stated 0.5 second refresh and a UK sample that agrees on a known speed.
Specifications
Common questions
Does the pack list a battery?
The bullets say the battery is interchangeable. The pack line is one digital tachometer and does not name a cell type.
What happens at 10,000 hours?
The listing says the hour meter reaches 10,000 hours and then returns to zero. It also says the system data can be reset.
Is a refresh rate stated?
No. Rpm is stated as a display up to 99,999, with no refresh time and no accuracy step.
The Walfront ZSB-268 at £29.23 is the highest price in this comparison, and the title puts chainsaw first, with handheld sensing at 30–50 mm or a clip, plus an IP65 claim. The amazon.co.uk line is 3.0 from 1 review, and the listing has no review text. No rpm range and no refresh time are stated. The specification cell says 0.1 mm, which is a length, not an rpm tolerance. The bullets say a battery is fitted; the technical table says batteries are not required, and included components says No. Cables are stated as resistant to 200°C, which this comparison did not test. Rank 56 in Lawn Mower Hour Tachometers and a single star do not make it a workshop meter. Skip it until the rpm range is a number and a UK buyer has described a reading.
Pros
Cons
Best for: No clear buyer until the listing states an rpm range and a UK buyer describes a reading.
Less suitable: Any chainsaw speed check, because the range, the refresh, and the battery story are unset.
Specifications
Common questions
What accuracy does the table state?
The cell says 0.1 mm. That is a length, not an rpm tolerance. No rpm range is stated.
Does it include a battery?
The bullets say the ZSB-268 is equipped with a battery. The technical table says batteries are not required, and included components says No.
Is there a review text?
No. The listing line is 3.0 from 1 review. There is no review body.
Scores use the eleven amazon.co.uk listings dated 16 October 2026. The sheet caps are Amazon stars 30, review volume 15, stated chainsaw-tachometer spec 35, and UK review text 8. The weights below scale those caps so they sum to 100. Deductions come off afterwards, and the floor is 0. Price is not in the score. It decides the best-value pick only: the highest score per GBP among listings with UK review text. This is not a laboratory calibration.
Stated spec
40%Inductive petrol pickup, a chainsaw in the title, a stated rpm ceiling, a stated refresh, a cell story that matches the listing, and a firing-pattern count.
Amazon stars
34%The amazon.co.uk star line on that ASIN, scaled from a 30-point cap. Stars are not a calibration certificate.
Review volume
17%How many amazon.co.uk reviews sit behind the star line, from a 15-point cap. A large count is not a second instrument.
UK review text
9%Whether UK review texts describe a job. Texts that are only from the United States score lower. No review text scores nothing here.
Match the stated rpm ceiling to the maximum in your saw’s manual, then a refresh near 0.5 second if you will adjust the high-speed screw, then a cell you can replace if the meter stays fitted. Waterproof wording is a claim until an IP code and the reviews agree. This page is not about circular saw blades. If you are fitting a blade, [how to match saw blade bore and diameter](/hub/saw-accessories/blog/how-to-match-saw-blade-bore-and-diameter) is the separate check for bore and diameter.
A chainsaw tachometer in this comparison is a small inductive meter. It reads spark pulses from a petrol engine, usually by a wire wrapped on the plug lead or a clip on that lead. Most of these amazon.co.uk listings also count hours. You buy one to compare idle and full-throttle speed with the figure in that saw’s manual, or to remind yourself when a service hour is due. A reflective-tape laser is a different instrument, and it is a poor way to read an assembled saw.

A 4.4 from 259 reviews is an amazon.co.uk star line. It is not a check against a second instrument. Reviewers on the cheapest meter take the rpm figure on trust.
YR-HM011E, YR-HM011F and RL-HM032A stop at 20,000 rpm. If the manual’s maximum is higher, that ceiling is the wrong meter. There is no universal chainsaw maximum on this page.
Engine hours are not the Control of Vibration at Work Regulations measurement. The action value is 2.5 m/s² A(8) and the limit is 5 m/s² A(8). An hour meter does not calculate either figure.
Set the stated ceiling against the maximum printed in your saw’s manual before you look at the star line. This comparison does not give a universal chainsaw maximum. YR-HM011E, YR-HM011F and RL-HM032A state a stop at 20,000 rpm. YR-HM011G and YR-HM011J state 0–25,000 rpm in 10 rpm steps. Both RL-HM012 listings state 0–30,000 rpm in 10 rpm steps. HTPREC states 0–18,000 rpm in one mode and up to 36,000 rpm in another, with no refresh time.
A sealed cell ends the meter when it dies. YR-HM011E uses a sealed CR2450, and both RL-HM012 listings use a built-in CR2032. One buyer returned an RL-HM012 because the cell cannot be changed, and one report says a unit failed after two months. YR-HM011F and YR-HM011G use a replaceable CR2450. YR-HM011J, RL-HM032A and HTPREC say the cell is replaceable and do not name the chemistry. Walfront’s bullets say a battery is fitted, and its table says batteries are not required.
Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.
You have one petrol saw and the maximum in its manual is inside 20,000 rpm. You want the title to name a chainsaw, a 0.5 second refresh, and a cell you can change. The YOOREAL YR-HM011F is the top pick for that job.
You may share one meter with a mower, and both manuals sit inside 20,000 rpm. The Yooreal YR-HM011E is the best value at about £11.99, with 4.3 from 981 reviews. The cell is sealed, and the title does not name a chainsaw.
You want the 0–30,000 rpm claim and an IP68 line for a single petrol check. Either RL-HM012 listing does that job, not both. The CR2032 is built in, and the refresh time is not stated.
The top pick is the YOOREAL YR-HM011F. It has the highest editorial score here: a chainsaw in the title, 0–20,000 rpm in 10 rpm steps, a 0.5 second refresh, a replaceable CR2450, and UK reviews that describe a fit. The best value is the Yooreal YR-HM011E at about £11.99, the highest score per pound among listings with UK review text. Its sealed cell, and the missing chainsaw in the title, keep it off the top pick. The two RL-HM012 listings are the same meter, so buy one. Nothing on this page was calibrated in a lab.

Yooreal YR-HM011E hour tachometer
Highest score per pound among listings with UK review text, at about £11.99.
Editorial

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.
Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.
Sources checked for this comparison; last retrieved on 16 October 2026.
This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk with the tag pcuk26-21. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts come from the amazon.co.uk listings. We did not run a laboratory test, and we do not promise the cheapest price.