Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Chainsaw tachometer buying guide

Updated: October 2026

You want a figure you can set beside the maximum in the saw manual before you touch a mixture screw. This chainsaw tachometer buying guide shows which stated range, refresh, battery, and waterproof claim matter, and which star rating does not. Prices from about £11.99 to about £29.23 are on the [chainsaw tachometer comparison](/hub/saw-accessories/chainsaw-tachometer). A named listing is on the [best chainsaw tachometer](/hub/saw-accessories/chainsaw-tachometer/sub/chainsaw-tachometer-best) page, and fitting is on the [how to use a chainsaw tachometer](/hub/saw-accessories/chainsaw-tachometer/sub/chainsaw-tachometer-how-to-use) page. We compared those UK listings on 16 October 2026 and did not calibrate a meter. A qualifying purchase can earn a commission at no extra cost to you.

You want a figure you can set beside the maximum in the saw manual before you touch a mixture screw.

Our top picks

On this page

What a chainsaw tachometer has to read

An inductive chainsaw tachometer counts spark pulses through the insulated plug lead. You wrap a pickup or clip it on, leave the covers in place, and the display turns pulses into rpm. UK owners on Arbtalk read an assembled saw, with the bar and chain fitted. A laser photo tachometer needs a reflective mark, which a covered coil does not offer. One optical listing was left out because it is the wrong type for a closed-up petrol saw. The number that governs the purchase is the maximum in your manual. Talk of 12,000–15,000 rpm is a forum rule of thumb, not a specification. BS EN ISO 11681-1:2022 is the chainsaw standard, not a standard for these meters, and a CE mark is not a calibration certificate. A TT-20K, an Oppama, or an older Stihl EDT is a scarcer class.

Range and refresh, in that order

A stated ceiling of 20,000 rpm covers the job when the manual’s maximum is lower. Above that, the ceiling is too low however many stars the page shows. The YR-HM011E, YR-HM011F, and YR-HM011G state a 0.5 second refresh. The RL-HM032A states 0.5 or 1 second. The other listings are silent. The YR-HM011F states 0–20,000 rpm, names a chainsaw, and uses a replaceable CR2450, at about £13.99. The YR-HM011E states the same range and refresh at about £11.99, with a sealed cell and no chainsaw in the title. The YR-HM011G states 0–25,000 rpm when the manual needs the extra headroom. The RL-HM012 states 0–30,000 rpm and IP68, with no refresh. Two ASINs are that same model. POFET’s span toward 99,999 rpm is a display limit, and Walfront’s 0.1 mm wording is not an rpm tolerance.

Battery, water, and hours

A sealed cell, as on the YR-HM011E and on the RL-HM012’s CR2032, means a dead cell ends the display. UK reviews on sealed meters mention a cell you cannot swap, a blank screen, and one failure after about two months. A replaceable CR2450, as on the YR-HM011F, lets you fit a new cell. Amazon does not state a proved battery life in years. Only the RL-HM012 states IP68. That claim does not transfer to the other Yooreal models because they look similar. Hours are engine time, not an A(8) vibration assessment. The Health and Safety Executive sets an action value of 2.5 m/s² A(8) and a limit of 5 m/s² A(8).

What this Amazon set can and cannot decide

This set can show which listing states 20,000, 25,000, or 30,000 rpm, which ones state 0.5 second, which cell is replaceable, and which puck states IP68. Walfront at about £29.23 and HTPREC at about £25.90 have no UK review text we can quote. The set cannot supply your saw’s maximum. That stays in the manual. NInE-ROnG’s 4.5 from 13 ratings comes with no stated rpm ceiling, so a short, high star average is a weak reason to buy it for a live rev reading.

Common questions

Do I need a tachometer that reads past 20,000 rpm?
You need a stated ceiling above the maximum in your saw’s manual. Talk of full speed around 12,000–15,000 rpm is a forum rule of thumb, not a specification. When the manual stays under 20,000 rpm, a meter that states that ceiling covers the printed figure. When the manual is higher, choose a listing that states 25,000 or 30,000 rpm. A span toward 99,999 rpm is a display limit, not a verified accuracy claim.
Is 0.5 second refresh worth paying for?
It is worth it when you will watch the digits at full throttle. UK owners ask for about 0.5 second for that reason. In this set, 0.5 second is stated for the YR-HM011E, YR-HM011F, and YR-HM011G, and as a 0.5 or 1 second choice on the RL-HM032A. When the listing is silent, treat the silence as a missing fact. It does not prove the meter is fast enough for the high-speed screw.
Should I buy the best-seller if the battery is sealed?
The YR-HM011E is rank 1, at about £11.99, with 4.3 from 981 ratings, a sealed cell, and a title that does not name a chainsaw. It states 20,000 rpm and 0.5 second, which matches the YR-HM011F on those two points. Choose it when you accept that a dead cell ends the meter. When you want a replaceable CR2450 and chainsaw in the title, the YR-HM011F at about £13.99 is the small step up, with fewer ratings.
Is a lawn-mower hour meter the same tool?
It can be the same inductive class. Several of these listings are sold as small-engine meters. A chainsaw at full speed is often faster than a mower, so a low ceiling is the wrong buy even when the meter behaves on a mower. Check the stated rpm range against your saw manual. A meter that only logs hours, with no live rpm, belongs on the hour-meter page.
What does IP68 mean on the small Yooreal puck?
On the RL-HM012, IP68 is the stated dust and immersion claim. It is not stated for the other Yooreal models here. The code describes a test the maker claims. The same model is sold under two ASINs, so one listing is enough. Refresh time is unstated, which makes this puck a weaker choice when the high-speed screw is the main job.

Related pages

Sources

Sources checked for this comparison; last retrieved on 16 October 2026.

  1. HSE, Chainsaws at work (INDG317) (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  2. HSE, Control of Vibration at Work Regulations 2005 (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  3. HSE, Training and competence (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  4. BSI, BS EN ISO 11681-1:2022 (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  5. Consumer Rights Act 2015, section 22 (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  6. GOV.UK, UKCA and CE marking in Great Britain (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  7. Arbtalk, how to check rpm (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  8. Arbtalk, chainsaw tachometers in 2022 and beyond (retrieved 16 October 2026)