Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

How to use a radiant heater

Updated: 21 October 2026

The bar clicks off on the rug, and it is tempting to prop the safety pin with a coaster. That is the wrong fix. How to use a radiant heater starts with the feet on a hard floor, about a metre of clear space, and a wall socket. You switch it off when you leave the room. The models are on the [radiant heater comparison](/hub/portable-heaters/radiant-heater). Peter F. used Electrical Safety First, fire-service notes and the review notes on 21 October 2026. This is not a lab test. A qualifying purchase can earn a commission at no extra cost to you.

The bar clicks off on the rug, and it is tempting to prop the safety pin with a coaster. That is the wrong fix.

Our top picks

On this page

Feet and a hard floor

Fit the base before you switch on. The Warmlite three-bar screws onto an oscillating base. The carbon tower includes a base and screws. The Staywarm and the Status describe a fold-away stand. A heater on a loose foot is already a trip. The click on a rug is the tip-over pin failing to meet the floor. Reviews on the Warmlite halogen, the Geepas, the Staywarm, the Status and the Daewoo say the pin struggles on carpet. Move it to a hard, level floor. Do not tape the pin or wedge it. The carbon tower is different: a tip-over switch is not stated, and reviewers call the base floppy. If it will not stand straight, switch it off. Cheshire Fire and Rescue says not to move a heater while it is on. Checking that line before you pay is the buying guide.

One metre and nothing on the grill

Electrical Safety First, Devon and Somerset, and Norfolk County Council all use about one metre of clearance. Curtains, a sofa arm, a duvet and a drying rack belong outside that metre. Do not dry a towel or washing on the grill. One SONBION review describes a blanket at the grill catching fire. That is a single review, not a test of every bar. An Igenix manual for a different model mentions 50 cm. That is not permission to bring these heaters closer than the fire-service metre. The elements stay hot after you switch off. Wait before you fold a stand or push the heater under a desk.

Plug, lead and timer

Use a BS 1363 wall socket. Electrical Safety First advises against an extension lead for a portable heater. The carbon tower's cable is listed as 2 yards. Cable length is not stated on the Geepas, and reviewers call that lead short. If the plug is not a UK 13 A plug, stop. Norfolk County Council says not to use an external timer or thermostat on a radiant heater. These seven listings do not state a built-in timer. Electrical Safety First says not to leave a portable heater on overnight or when you leave the room. A 400 W bar is still a hot element. The hourly pence are on the running cost page.

When you stop using it

Switch off at the heater, then at the wall, when you leave. Unplug it if the room will be empty. Let the tubes cool before you store a fold-away stand. A spare tube size is not stated, and this page does not give a repair procedure. Do not open the guard to poke a cracked tube. Stop if the plug is hot, the socket is scorched, a circuit keeps tripping, or you smell burning that is not the first minute of a new element. No IP rating is stated, and a Status bathroom bullet is not a zone approval. Overheat protection is not stated on the Daewoo or the Status. A cut-out is a reason to stop, not to bypass the switch.

Common questions

Why does it click off on the rug?
On the bars that state a tip-over switch, reviewers say the pin does not meet carpet, so the heater thinks it has fallen. The Warmlite halogen, Geepas, Staywarm, Status and Daewoo all draw that complaint. Move it to a hard floor. Do not wedge the pin. The carbon tower does not state a tip-over switch, so a wobble there is a base problem, not a carpet pin.
How far from the sofa and the curtains?
Keep about one metre, which is the clearance Electrical Safety First, Devon and Somerset, and Norfolk describe. That includes curtains, throws and chair arms, not only a bare wall. A different brand's 50 cm manual is not the rule for these listings. If the room cannot give you a metre, the heater does not fit that corner.
Can I dry a towel on the guard?
No. The guard is not a rail. Devon and Somerset say not to dry washing on a heater, and a towel on the grill is washing. One SONBION review describes a blanket at the grill catching fire. Switch the heater off and use an airer outside the beam.
Can I leave it on a plug-in timer overnight?
Norfolk County Council says not to use an external timer or thermostat on a radiant heater. Electrical Safety First says not to leave a portable heater on overnight. None of these seven states its own timer. Switch it off when you leave or go to bed.
Do I fit the feet before I switch on?
Yes. Screw the Warmlite bases on, and open the Staywarm or Status stand, before the element is live. A heater on one loose foot can tip while the tubes are already hot. Cheshire Fire and Rescue says not to move a heater while it is switched on, so assemble it cold.
The elements are still hot after I switch off. Is that normal?
Yes. Quartz and halogen tubes hold heat after the switch clicks. Wait before you fold the stand, cover the heater, or push it against a sofa. Unplug it as well if nobody will be in the room. Hot metal with the plug still in is how a later nudge becomes a problem.
When do I stop and call someone?
Stop if the plug is hot, the socket is scorched, the circuit trips, or you see scorching on the lead. Stop if you were about to use it in a bathroom. Those are jobs for a competent electrician, not for tape or a new fuse. A dead tube with no stated spare is a return, not a home repair.

Related pages

Sources

Public UK sources for clearance, the hourly arithmetic, and the room-heater standard. Listing prices, stars, and review counts are from amazon.co.uk.

  1. Electrical Safety First — Portable heaters (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  2. Devon and Somerset Fire and Rescue Service — Heaters (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  3. Norfolk County Council — Portable heaters (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  4. GOV.UK — Fire safety in the winter (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  5. Ofgem — Energy price cap, 1 October to 31 December 2026 (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  6. Centre for Sustainable Energy — Room heaters (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  7. energy.org.uk — Electric heaters compared (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  8. BSI — BS EN 60335-2-30, room heaters (retrieved 21 October 2026)