Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Pick-up crane comparison 2026

The best pick-up cranes, compared.

Top pick: Pismire 1,100 lb crane and 3,500 lb winch – Highest score at 88: the title splits a 1,100 lb crane from a 3,500 lb 12 V winch, at 57 kg, with 4.4 from 141. Not a load test, and not a UK review sample. Best value: Generic 12 V pick-up crane RSWTC87 – Lowest shelf price at about £328.61, score 56, with wired and wireless control claimed and no safe working load on the page. Updated October 2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

A pick-up crane is a jib in the load bed. It lifts a load to bed height and slews it aboard. Buyers are mobile mechanics, farms, yards and private owners moving generators, engines, logs or machinery. The figure that matters is a safe working load for each boom position, not the largest number in the title. Those review texts are labelled United States or, so the stars are not a UK sample and not a weld inspection. Prints 7,000 lb and 5,000 lb with no chart. States hook height and rope length and does not state voltage. Three of the four have no star line. At work, expects a configuration-specific safe working load and a thorough examination. Private use is a different duty, and the vehicle plate still applies on the road. Checks before you pay are in the [pick-up crane buying guide](/hub/lifting-equipment/pick-up-crane/sub/pick-up-crane-buying-guide). Pulling an engine in a garage is a wheeled engine hoist. A 230 V hoist on a beam was removed from this set. Hitch-mounted hydraulic cranes, manual-winch bed jibs, lorry-loaders and toys are not these four rows.

A pick-up crane is a jib in the load bed. It lifts a load to bed height and slews it aboard. Buyers are mobile mechanics, farms, yards and private owners moving generators, engines, logs or machinery.

Pismire 1,100 lb crane and 3,500 lb winch

Best overall

Pismire 1,100 lb crane and 3,500 lb winch
8.8/10∼ £1,013

16 products checked · 52 hrs invested · +18,600 readers

4 of 4: Best pick-up cranes compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 4
Best overall
Pismire 1,100 lb crane and 3,500 lb winch
Best value
Generic 12 V pick-up crane RSWTC87
VACARX truck pick-up crane
DEFNES truck bed crane
8.8/10
5.6/10
4.4/10
4.1/10
∼ £1,013
∼ £329
∼ £842
∼ £969
4.4(141)
–
–
–
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

Personal buying guide

Question 1 of 2

Do you need a printed crane figure before you pay?

The best pick-up cranes in detail

Pismire 1,100 lb crane and 3,500 lb winch

Rank 1

Pismire 1,100 lb crane and 3,500 lb winch

∼£1,013

Our view

The Pismire folding bed jib is listed at £1,013.25 with a separated 1,100 lb crane line and a 3,500 lb 12 V winch in the title, a 57 kg item weight, and 4.4 out of 5 from 141 on the amazon.co.uk capture. That star line is the only review sample in this four-row set, but the written texts in the file are labelled United States or Canada, so they are not a British buyer consensus and they are not a weld inspection. Themes in those texts include short winch leads, clips too small for a vehicle battery, a locking handle that arrived as a bolt, cable leaving the drum groove, and at least one report of an unfused boom-pivot weld and another of failure near 250 lb. The title says orange while a bullet says yellow paint, and a wireless remote is not in the bullets though a review describes a wired controller. In this capture it is the listing that most clearly splits jib capacity from winch pull, which is why it leads the comparison score, not because 1,100 lb has been proved at your boom angle.

Pros

  • Title separates 1,100 lb crane from 3,500 lb 12 V winch
  • 4.4 from 141 on the amazon.co.uk star line
  • Winch kit included; item weight 57 kg is printed
  • Folding jib with three hook height settings between about 1.15 and 2.20 m

Cons

  • Review texts are not labelled United Kingdom
  • No capacity chart by boom position; 3,500 lb is not a jib plan
  • Orange versus yellow finish is unresolved on the page
  • Weld, cable, lock and missing-parts themes appear in the review file

Best for: You will plan lifts around the printed 1,100 lb crane figure, accept non-UK review labels, and mount the base into the chassis rather than the bed skin alone.

Less suitable: You need a chart for each boom hole, a confirmed wireless remote in the box, or proof the winch will hold well above 1,100 lb.

Specifications

Model
Pismire 1,100 lb crane and 3,500 lb winch
Brand
Pismire
Price
∼£1,013
Customer rating
4.4/5(141)
Crane figure
1,100 lb
Winch figure
3,500 lb
Power
12 V
Boom
1,170–1,450 mm
Lift height
1,150–2,200 mm
Folds
Yes
Rotation
360° lock
Item weight
57 kg

Common questions

Is the 3,500 lb figure the crane capacity?

The title prints 1,100 lb as the crane and 3,500 lb as the 12 V winch. The bullet says a 3,500 lb winch kit is included. There is no chart for each boom position.

What colour is printed?

The title says orange. A bullet says a yellow paint finish. Both lines are in the same saved listing.

Does the listing include a battery?

No. The bullet includes the winch kit. Reviews describe a 12 V supply with a short lead, and they do not describe a battery in the box.

Generic 12 V pick-up crane RSWTC87

Rank 2

Generic 12 V pick-up crane RSWTC87

∼£329

Our view

The Generic RSWTC87 is the cheapest kept listing at £328.61, described as a 12 V electric pick-up truck crane with a telescopic jib between 110 and 150 cm and bracket heights between 105 and 210 cm. A bullet claims both a wired hand controller and a wireless remote, and another mentions a thickened steel base plate without giving its dimensions. The capture prints no safe working load, no winch pull figure, and no amazon.co.uk star line, so you are buying on geometry and control claims alone. The specification table lists the item weight as 1 g, which is clearly a placeholder rather than the mass of a bed jib. Folding is not stated. At this price the listing can look like best value until you notice there is no pound or kilogram limit you can plan a generator or engine lift against, which is why the comparison score stays well below the reviewed Pismire row despite the lower shelf price.

Pros

  • Lowest shelf price in this four-row capture at £328.61
  • Wired hand controller and wireless remote both named in a bullet
  • 12 V power and 360° rotation with a locking handle are stated
  • Telescopic jib and bracket height ranges are printed in metric

Cons

  • No safe working load or winch pull on the page
  • No star line and no fold claim in the bullets
  • Base plate size is not stated beyond a generic thickening note
  • Item weight field prints 1 g, which is not usable

Best for: You want the lowest-priced 12 V bed jib in this set and you will treat every load limit as unknown until the seller confirms it in writing.

Less suitable: You need a printed crane figure, buyer reviews, or a fold-down boom for everyday driving.

Specifications

Model
Generic 12 V pick-up crane RSWTC87
Brand
Generic
Price
∼£329
Power
12 V
Boom
1,100–1,500 mm
Lift height
1,050–2,100 mm
Remote
Wired and wireless
Rotation
360° lock
Item weight
1 g

Common questions

What load does the listing state?

None. The bullets describe a 12 V winch, a 110–150 cm jib and a 105–210 cm height, and they do not print a safe working load or a winch pull.

Is a wireless remote stated?

Yes. A bullet says the crane supports a wired hand controller and a wireless remote.

Can you use the printed item weight?

The specification prints 1 g. That is the figure in the file, and it is not a usable mass for this crane.

VACARX truck pick-up crane

Rank 3

VACARX truck pick-up crane

∼£842

Our view

The VACARX truck pick-up crane sits at £841.59 between the budget Generic row and the upper DEFNES and Pismire prices, and it describes a cable-and-winch outfit rather than a fully specified 12 V electric package. The bullets give a hook height of 160 cm, a total height of 215 cm, 9.5 m of 5 mm rope, and a 27 x 27 cm base with eight mounting holes, but they do not print voltage, rotation, a remote, or any safe working load. Assembly is required according to the capture, and there is no amazon.co.uk star line. That leaves you with rope geometry and a base footprint to compare against your bed, not a lift you can sign off from the listing alone. None of the four kept pages prints outriggers, so side slewing still depends on how you mount the plate and how you keep the pick-up level. For mid-price money you get more dimensional detail than the Generic page on rope and hook height, yet less electrical clarity than the 12 V titles, which makes this row awkward unless you already know the winch type you are pairing with the jib.

Pros

  • Hook height 160 cm and total height 215 cm are stated
  • 9.5 m of 5 mm rope is named in the bullets
  • 27 x 27 cm base with eight mounting holes is printed
  • Mid-tier price below the two upper 12 V folding jibs

Cons

  • No safe working load, winch rating or voltage on the page
  • Rotation, remote and fold are all unstated
  • Assembly required with no star line for buyer feedback
  • You must supply or assume the power and control package

Best for: You want stated hook height and rope length for a bed mount and you will confirm capacity and voltage with the seller before lifting.

Less suitable: You need a marked 12 V winch in the box, a fold-down boom, or reviews to judge reliability.

Specifications

Model
VACARX truck pick-up crane
Brand
VACARX
Price
∼£842
Lift height
1,600 mm hook
Base
270 × 270 mm

Common questions

What capacity does VACARX print?

None. The bullets give hook height, total height, cable length, rope size, base size and hook opening, and they do not give a safe working load.

Is it 12 V?

The saved listing does not say. Voltage, a remote and rotation are all unstated.

Do you have to assemble it?

Yes. The saved listing says assembly is required.

DEFNES truck bed crane

Rank 4

DEFNES truck bed crane

∼£969

Our view

The DEFNES truck bed crane is listed at £968.99 with a 13 in square base, a three-position boom between about 1,200 and 1,700 mm, and hook heights between about 1,500 and 2,200 mm. The title prints both 7,000 lb and 5,000 lb for a 12 V winch, and a bullet repeats 7,000 lb at maximum height, which is the opposite of how a proper jib chart usually reads. There is no capacity chart by boom hole and no amazon.co.uk star line in the capture, so you cannot lean on buyer feedback either. The page does state 360° rotation with a locking handle, folding for storage, and a one-year warranty sentence aimed at winch failure or boom deformation. Until the seller resolves which pound figure is the crane and publishes a configuration table, treat both headline numbers as unverified title lines, not as a safe working load you can plan a lift around.

Pros

  • Folding boom stated for storage in the bed or a yard
  • 360° rotation with a locking handle in the bullets
  • Base size 13 in x 13 in and three boom positions are printed
  • One-year warranty sentence names winch failure and boom deformation

Cons

  • Title prints 7,000 lb and 5,000 lb without a chart to reconcile them
  • A bullet claims 7,000 lb at maximum height, which fights the usual reach rule
  • No star line and no remote answer in the bullets
  • Remote control is asked on the page but not confirmed in the specification

Best for: You want a folding 12 V bed jib with stated dimensions and you will treat capacity as unknown until the seller sends a chart.

Less suitable: You need a marked safe working load before you pay, or you want buyer reviews on the amazon.co.uk line.

Specifications

Model
DEFNES truck bed crane
Brand
DEFNES
Price
∼£969
Crane figure
7,000 / 5,000 lb
Winch figure
5,000 lb
Power
12 V
Boom
1,200–1,700 mm
Lift height
1,500–2,200 mm
Folds
Yes
Rotation
360° lock
Base
330 × 330 mm

Common questions

Does this listing state one lifting capacity?

No. The title prints 7,000 lb and 5,000 lb, and a bullet talks about lifting 7,000 lb to maximum height. There is no capacity chart.

Is a remote control included?

The saved listing asks the question and does not answer it in the bullets, so the listing does not state a remote.

Does it fold?

Yes. A bullet says the jib folds for storage in the truck or a warehouse.

How we compared

Scores use the four amazon.co.uk listings kept here. Shelf prices, star lines and review counts were scored on 20 October 2026. There was no load test and no thorough examination. A high score means the listing states one crane figure separate from the winch, plus evidence you can check on the page. It is not a safe working load certificate. The highest score is the top pick. Best value is the lowest shelf price in this set with wired and wireless control claimed, and with no safe working load on the page.

1

Crane figure clarity

30%

One crane line separate from the winch scores highest. Two conflicting crane or winch lines in the title score low. No safe working load on the page scores 0 on this part.

2

Mount and boom facts

15%

Base size, boom range, a fold claim and a rotation lock score here when the listing states them. A missing field stays missing.

3

Power and control

10%

12 V scores when it is stated. A remote counts only if a bullet says so. An unanswered question on the page is not a specification.

4

amazon.co.uk stars and sample

25%

The star line is scaled, then the review count is added. No star line scores 0 on this part. Pismire is 4.4 from 141. Those review texts are not labelled United Kingdom.

5

Price against the evidence

20%

Shelf price in GBP is judged against what the page actually prints, not against the largest pound figure in the title.

Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Pick-up crane buying guide

Choose the job first, then the safe working load at the reach you will use. A winch pound figure is not the jib, and a title that prints two capacities without a chart has not given you a lift you can plan.

What to check before you buy a pick-up crane

A pick-up crane here is a jib in the load bed that lifts a load to bed height and slews it aboard. Loading the bed is this category. Pulling an engine in a garage is a wheeled engine hoist. A 230 V hoist on a beam was removed from this set. Hitch-mounted hydraulic cranes, manual-winch bed jibs, lorry-loaders and toys are not these four rows. The winch figure is not the jib, which is the point of [pick-up crane capacity](/hub/lifting-equipment/pick-up-crane/sub/pick-up-crane-capacity).

Best for

  • A mobile mechanic who can fabricate a mount and will plan from a crane figure that is separate from the winch
  • A private owner comparing about £329 with about £1,013 who will still ask for a safe working load in writing

Not ideal for

  • Anyone who needs a marked safe working load for each boom position before paying
  • A workshop job that is an engine on a stand, or a 230 V hoist on a beam

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Reading only the winch pounds

    Pismire's 3,500 lb line is the winch, and the crane line is 1,100 lb. DEFNES prints 7,000 lb and 5,000 lb with no chart. A higher claim at full height is unsupported.

  2. 2

    Bolting the crane to the bed skin

    Base size and the hole pattern are not a chassis design. Ribbed beds need spacers. The load path has to reach the frame or a hitch the manufacturer rates. Call a fabricator before you drill or weld a spreader.

  3. 3

    Treating a question heading as a remote

    A wireless remote is included only when a bullet says so. DEFNES asks and does not answer. Pismire's bullets do not state a remote. Review texts labelled United States or Canada are not a British weld inspection.

What to weigh up

Safe working load at your reach

High

The limit has to match the boom position you will use. One number for a telescopic boom does not meet the marking idea in LOLER regulation 7. Prefer the crane figure over the winch figure. Pismire is the only title that splits them, at 1,100 lb and 3,500 lb, and it still has no chart. DEFNES prints 7,000 lb and 5,000 lb, including 7,000 lb at maximum height. Generic and VACARX print no safe working load. None of those pounds is a proved lift.

Mount, power and a page that agrees

High

None of the four prints outriggers. 12 V is stated for Pismire, DEFNES and the Generic row, and VACARX does not state voltage. A remote counts only from a bullet, which only the Generic page gives. Only Pismire has a star line, 4.4 from 141, and those texts are not labelled United Kingdom. The Generic weight field prints 1 g. Missing fields stay missing, including duty cycle, fold on two rows, and a configuration chart on all four.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

Mobile mechanic

You want one person to load an engine, generator or tool into the bed, and you can have the mount fabricated. Pismire is the only row that splits a 1,100 lb crane from a 3,500 lb winch. There is still no chart by boom hole, and the review texts are not a UK sample.

Farm or yard

You lift logs, fence posts or machinery outdoors, where paint, a wet remote and a missing capacity chart matter. Pismire is still the only separated crane figure. None of the four prints outriggers, and a yellow-paint bullet conflicts with the orange title.

Private owner

You are comparing a listing near £300 with one near £1,000. The Generic RSWTC87 is the lowest price and states wired and wireless control. You still need a safe working load, even where LOLER may not bind a private user. That page does not print one.

Common questions about pick-up cranes

Which pick-up crane is the top pick?
The top pick is the Pismire 1,100 lb crane and 3,500 lb winch (B0899QCBP7) at about £1,013.25. It scores 88, the highest of these four, because the title separates a 1,100 lb crane from a 3,500 lb 12 V winch, the weight is 57 kg, and amazon.co.uk shows 4.4 from 141. Those review texts are labelled United States or Canada, so they are not a UK sample and not a weld inspection. There is no chart for each boom position.
Which pick-up crane is best value?
Best value is the Generic 12 V pick-up crane RSWTC87 (B0HJK8VZ9W) at about £328.61, score 56. It is the lowest shelf price in this set, and a bullet states a wired hand controller and a wireless remote. The page prints no safe working load, no winch pull and no star line. Item weight is printed as 1 g, which is not usable, and folding is not stated. Treat every load limit as unknown until the seller confirms it in writing.
Is the winch figure the crane safe working load?
No. Winch pull and jib capacity are different. Pismire prints 1,100 lb as the crane and 3,500 lb as the 12 V winch, and the bullet says a 3,500 lb winch kit is included. There is still no chart for each boom position. DEFNES prints 7,000 lb and 5,000 lb, and a bullet talks about 7,000 lb at maximum height, which fights the usual fall in rating as reach increases. Those pounds are title lines, not a proved safe working load.
Does LOLER apply to a pick-up crane?
LOLER 1998 applies to lifting equipment used at work. Regulation 7 requires the safe working load to be marked, and if the limit depends on boom position, mark every configuration or keep that information with the machine. Unless a written scheme says otherwise, HSE cites 12 months for a vehicle-mounted crane lifting goods and 6 months for lifting accessories. Bolting the crane to a truck is assembly on site, so examination after installation matters. Private use is a different duty. Do not lift people or stand under the load.
How much do these pick-up cranes cost?
On these amazon.co.uk listings the Generic RSWTC87 is about £328.61, VACARX is about £841.59, DEFNES is about £968.99 and Pismire is about £1,013.25. Those are the shelf prices in this capture, not a live re-check and not an average of other UK shops. Cheaper adverts elsewhere are not part of this band. The lowest price is the Generic row, and that page prints no safe working load. A higher price here does not add a configuration chart.
Do these listings include outriggers?
No. None of the four pages prints outriggers. Side slewing without them can roll a pick-up, so the load path has to reach the frame or a hitch the manufacturer rates. A ribbed bed needs spacers. Base size is not a chassis design. DEFNES prints a 13 × 13 in base. VACARX prints a 27 × 27 cm base with eight holes. Pismire does not print the plate size, and the Generic page does not give plate dimensions. Call a fabricator before you drill the chassis.
Is a pick-up crane the same as an engine stand?
No. A pick-up crane on this page is a jib in the load bed. An engine stand holds an engine for work off the vehicle, which is the engine stand comparison. Pulling an engine in a garage is a wheeled engine hoist, and a 230 V hoist on a beam was removed from this set. Hitch-mounted hydraulic cranes and lorry-loaders are not these four rows. If the job is an engine on a stand in the workshop, a bed jib is the wrong category.
Can you drive with the boom raised?
Do not drive with the boom up. Folding is stated for Pismire and DEFNES, and it is a storage claim, not permission to travel at the vehicle plate. Crane mass plus the load still counts toward that plate. Weigh the truck if you are near it. A 360° lock does not change the plate. These listings do not describe an STGO mobile crane or a lorry-loader, and they do not say they are LOLER certified, UKCA marked or compliant with BS EN 12999.

Our verdict

The top pick is the Pismire 1,100 lb crane and 3,500 lb winch at about £1,013.25. It scores 88, the highest here, because the title separates a 1,100 lb crane from a 3,500 lb 12 V winch, the item weight is 57 kg, and amazon.co.uk shows 4.4 from 141. That star line is not a UK sample. The review texts are labelled United States or Canada, and they are not a weld inspection. There is no chart by boom position. Best value is the Generic RSWTC87 at about £328.61, a different ASIN, score 56, the lowest shelf price, with wired and wireless control claimed and no safe working load on the page. Skip Pismire if you need a capacity chart or a wireless remote in the bullets. Skip the Generic row if you need a printed crane figure.

Best overall
Pismire 1,100 lb crane and 3,500 lb winch

Pismire 1,100 lb crane and 3,500 lb winch

Highest score at 88: the title splits a 1,100 lb crane from a 3,500 lb 12 V winch, at 57 kg, with 4.4 from 141. Not a load test, and not a UK review sample.

View offer
Best value
Generic 12 V pick-up crane RSWTC87

Generic 12 V pick-up crane RSWTC87

Lowest shelf price at about £328.61, score 56, with wired and wireless control claimed and no safe working load on the page.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - Editor
Editor
Pick-up cranesamazon.co.uk listingsLOLER and work equipment

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Guides to pick-up cranes

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources named below. amazon.co.uk prices, stars and review counts on these four listings were scored on 20 October 2026. Page updated October 2026.

  1. HSE: LOLER overview (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  2. legislation.gov.uk: LOLER regulation 7 (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  3. HSE: thorough examinations of lifting equipment (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  4. HSE: working under vehicles (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  5. HSE: safe lifting by machine (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  6. HSE: PUWER overview (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  7. Vestil: truck jib cranes (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  8. amazon.co.uk listings B0899QCBP7, B0HJK8VZ9W, B0C58W2GK8 and B0GL25GG29 (retrieved 20 October 2026)

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk (tag pcuk26-21). If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are taken from those listings. We did not run a lab test.