Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Panel lifter comparison 2026

The best panel lifters, compared.

Top pick: BILITOOLS nylon panel carrier – Highest score at 98, with the only top-pick award: about £22.99, 4.9 from 18 ratings, stated 80 kg, and one detailed UK plywood review that still used a second person. Best value: Roughneck ROU32025 plasterboard carrier – Best value at about £9.68, score 92, with 4.6 from 818 ratings, for a trough carry when you accept that the Amazon page states no load. Updated October 2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

A panel lifter search on amazon.co.uk is several tools, not one. You will see a hook or trough carrier, a cam gripper, a foot jack for a door or the bottom of a board, a wheeled drywall hoist, and sometimes a paving-slab clamp. Match the type to the job before you compare brands. A standard British, 2400 mm by 1200 mm by 12.5 mm, is listed by a UK merchant at 24.24 kg. A carrier does not hold that sheet on the ceiling, and a foot lifter that raises about 50 mm is not a hoist. Scores use stars, review volume, listing fit, UK notes, and price. The order of those checks is in the [panel lifter buying guide](/hub/lifting-equipment/panel-lifter/sub/panel-lifter-buying-guide). The checks, in order, are the job, the sheet, how the tool holds it, the stated load against a marked safe working load, your body and the room, and conflicts on the listing.

A panel lifter search on amazon.co.uk is several tools, not one.

BILITOOLS nylon panel carrier

Best overall

BILITOOLS nylon panel carrier
9.8/10∼ £23

38 products checked · 62 hrs invested · +24,100 readers

11 of 11: Best panel lifters compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 11
Best overall
BILITOOLS nylon panel carrier
Aramox alloy foot lifter
Best value
Roughneck ROU32025 plasterboard carrier
DAKCOS FH02 slab lifter
Draper 85631 door and panel lifter
Y-Nut MBJ-01 panel gripper
Anano AH008 panel gripper
Flearitzo arm jack, pair
Y-Nut MBJ-04 gripper, pair
WUDLEP 10.4 ft drywall hoist
Brillirare DL01 foot lifter
9.8/10
9.8/10
9.2/10
9.2/10
9.0/10
8.8/10
8.6/10
8.4/10
8.0/10
7.8/10
6.6/10
∼ £23
∼ £19
∼ £10
∼ £24
∼ £11
∼ £13
∼ £14
∼ £23
∼ £23
∼ £145
∼ £11
4.9(18)
4.9(11)
4.6(818)
4.6(6)
4.5(185)
4.4(111)
4.3(262)
4.2(111)
4.0(18)
3.9(3)
3.3(5)
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best panel lifters in detail

BILITOOLS nylon panel carrier

Rank 1

BILITOOLS nylon panel carrier

∼£23

Our view

The BILITOOLS nylon cam carrier lists 80 kg for £22.99 and shows 4.9 from 18 reviews, which is a strong star line on a small sample. The one detailed UK review uses it on plywood, not plasterboard, and still describes one hand on the carrier with help at the far end of a large sheet. Non-slip inner pads and reinforced nylon are the selling points; logs and thick sleepers are explicitly ruled out in that review. Eighteen ratings is thin next to the 818 on the hook carrier, so the score treats the star line cautiously. It does not lift a board to the ceiling and it is not a substitute for a drywall hoist when you need both hands free overhead.

Pros

  • Stated 80 kg (176 lb) on the listing
  • 4.9 from 18 reviews at £22.99
  • Reinforced nylon body in the technical details
  • UK review praises grip on flat sheet goods

Cons

  • Only 18 reviews on amazon.co.uk
  • Detailed UK use is plywood, not plasterboard
  • Still needs a second person on large sheets in the review
  • Not a ceiling or door-jack tool

Best for: You want a cam carrier with a high stated capacity and flat panels where pad grip is acceptable.

Less suitable: A ceiling fix, solo carries you cannot control, or round timber and thick sleepers the review excludes.

Specifications

Model
BILITOOLS nylon panel carrier
Brand
BILITOOLS
Price
∼£23
Customer rating
4.9/5(18)
Type
Cam gripper
Job
Carry flat sheet
Stated load
80 kg
Lift
None
Hands free
No
Sheet fit
Flat panels
Pack
1 carrier
Tool weight
1.16 kg
Material
Reinforced nylon

Common questions

What load does the listing state?

80 kg, also written as 176 lb. The saved UK review uses it on plywood and does not report a failure at that figure.

Is it for logs or thick sleepers?

The UK review says no. It describes the clamp as a tool for flat sheet, not bulky round timber.

Does one person carry the whole sheet?

The review describes one hand on this carrier and help at the other end of a large sheet.

Aramox alloy foot lifter

Rank 2

Aramox alloy foot lifter

∼£19

Our view

The Aramox alloy foot lifter costs £18.71 and shows 4.9 from 11 reviews, which is a high star line on a very thin file. The saved notes have almost no UK review body, so the score treats the stars cautiously despite matching the top numeric score in the table. Bullets describe a ribbed pedal and an anti-drop buckle for boards and doors, but neither load nor lift height is stated. At 630 g it is heavier and dearer than the Draper without clearer specification. It is the same job type as other foot lifters: a short raise at the floor, not a mast that holds plasterboard overhead while you screw.

Pros

  • 4.9 from 11 reviews on amazon.co.uk
  • Alloy construction on the listing
  • Ribbed non-slip pedal described
  • Anti-drop buckle in the bullets

Cons

  • Only 11 reviews and almost no UK detail in the file
  • No stated load or lift height
  • £18.71 without specification depth
  • Star line may not reflect plasterboard use

Best for: You already trust foot lifters for doors and want a ribbed pedal, and you will read fresh reviews on the live listing.

Less suitable: Ceiling boarding, specification-driven buyers, or anyone who needs a large UK review sample before spending.

Specifications

Model
Aramox alloy foot lifter
Brand
Aramox
Price
∼£19
Customer rating
4.9/5(11)
Type
Foot lifter
Job
Jack a door
Hands free
Yes
Pack
1 lifter
Tool weight
0.63 kg
Material
Alloy

Common questions

How high does it lift?

The listing does not say. It describes a foot pedal and an anti-drop buckle, not a mast.

What load is stated?

None. The bullets say alloy and a labour-saving design without a kilogram figure.

Is it for plywood?

The listing says yes, among drywall, gypsum board, and wood boards. The saved review does not add a test.

Roughneck ROU32025 plasterboard carrier

Rank 3

Roughneck ROU32025 plasterboard carrier

∼£10

Our view

Across 818 amazon.co.uk reviews at 4.6, the Roughneck ROU32025 is a 181 g hook carrier for £9.68 that lets the bottom edge of a sheet sit in a trough while you walk with it. A UK reviewer measured that trough at about 35 mm, which matters if your board is thicker than the notch expects. The amazon.co.uk technical details do not state a kilogram capacity, even though trade pages for the same family often quote up to 80 kg. You still carry the full weight; the tool only changes your grip and knuckle clearance. The material field on the listing says Wood, which does not match how reviewers describe a plastic trough. For room-to-room moves on ordinary wallboard, it is the default carry aid in this set, not anything that holds a board on the ceiling.

Pros

  • 4.6 from 818 reviews on amazon.co.uk
  • 181 g hook carrier at £9.68
  • UK review measured the trough at about 35 mm
  • Bottom edge sits in the notch so one hand stays free to steady the top

Cons

  • No load figure on the amazon.co.uk page
  • Material field says Wood while reviews describe a trough
  • Does not raise the sheet or support a ceiling fix
  • Thick boards may not sit cleanly in a shallow trough

Best for: You need to walk a standard plasterboard or panel from the stack to the wall, with a clear route and a second person if the sheet gets awkward.

Less suitable: Ceiling boarding, a sheet you must hold overhead alone, or a board thicker than the trough you measured on arrival.

Specifications

Model
Roughneck ROU32025 plasterboard carrier
Brand
Roughneck
Price
∼£10
Customer rating
4.6/5(818)
Type
Hook carrier
Job
Carry at your side
Lift
None
Hands free
No
Sheet fit
Trough 35 mm
Pack
1 carrier
Tool weight
0.18 kg
Material
Unverified

Common questions

Does this listing state a load?

No. The amazon.co.uk technical details do not give a kilogram capacity. A UK review measured the trough at about 35 mm.

Will it hold plasterboard on the ceiling?

No. It is a carrier. The sheet sits in the trough while you walk with it.

Why does the material say wood?

That is the technical-details field. The reviews describe a trough and do not confirm timber. Treat the field as unverified.

DAKCOS FH02 slab lifter

Rank 4

DAKCOS FH02 slab lifter

∼£24

Our view

The DAKCOS FH02 is a galvanised slab clamp for 400–600 mm widths with a 30 kg claim at £23.99, showing 4.6 from six reviews. Six lock steps between 40 and 60 cm suit patio slabs and tile, not an 8 ft plasterboard sheet. The listing says the grip works only when you lift by the handle, which is a different motion from a trough carrier on the bottom edge. It appears in panel-lifter searches but solves a paving job. The score reflects honest slab reviews and a clear size limit, with a deduction because the title invites the wrong aisle for drywall.

Pros

  • Stated 30 kg and six width steps
  • 4.6 from 6 reviews
  • 2.0 mm galvanised steel on the listing
  • Viewing window for the lock step

Cons

  • 400–600 mm range excludes standard 1200 mm boards
  • Grip only when lifting by the handle
  • Sold beside sheet carriers though it is a slab tool
  • Only six reviews on amazon.co.uk

Best for: Lifting patio slabs or tile within the stated width range.

Less suitable: 2400 mm plasterboard, ceiling fixes, or anyone shopping only for a drywall carrier.

Specifications

Model
DAKCOS FH02 slab lifter
Brand
DAKCOS
Price
∼£24
Customer rating
4.6/5(6)
Type
Slab clamp
Job
Lift paving slabs
Stated load
30 kg
Lift
None
Hands free
No
Sheet fit
400–600 mm
Pack
1 clamp
Tool weight
1.27 kg
Material
Galvanised steel

Common questions

Will it carry an 8 ft plasterboard?

No. It adjusts from 40 cm to 60 cm for tile, patio slabs, and paving, with a stated load of 30 kg.

When does the grip work?

The listing says the slab grip only works when you lift by the handle.

What are the lock sizes?

Six steps: 40, 45, 50, 55, 58, and 60 cm, with a viewing window.

Draper 85631 door and panel lifter

Rank 5

Draper 85631 door and panel lifter

∼£11

Our view

The Draper 85631 is a die-cast aluminium foot lifter at £10.55 with 4.5 from 185 reviews. It slides under a door or the bottom edge of a board so your foot raises it a short distance while your hands stay free to fix hinges or screws. The listing does not state lift height or load, and the dimensions line prints 120 x 120 x 300 cm beside a 556 g weight, which is not a credible size for the tool. A UK reviewer with size 11 work boots could not pass the boot through the hoop and used narrow trainers instead. That is the recurring theme: floor-gap work, not ceiling reach. Once your foot leaves the pedal, the board drops unless something else holds it.

Pros

  • 4.5 from 185 reviews at £10.55
  • Die-cast aluminium on the listing
  • Hands free while your foot stays on the tool
  • Anti-slip area and a stop at one end in the description

Cons

  • No stated lift height or load on the page
  • Impossible 300 cm dimension on the same listing as 556 g
  • Size 11 work boots did not fit the hoop in a UK review
  • A few centimetres of lift, not a ceiling hoist

Best for: Hanging a door or raising the bottom of a wall board at the floor while you fix it.

Less suitable: Ceiling boarding, heavy fire doors without a plan, or site boots that will not fit the foot loop.

Specifications

Model
Draper 85631 door and panel lifter
Brand
Draper
Price
∼£11
Customer rating
4.5/5(185)
Type
Foot lifter
Job
Jack door or board
Hands free
Yes
Sheet fit
Boot hoop
Pack
1 lifter
Tool weight
0.56 kg
Material
Die-cast aluminium

Common questions

How high does it lift?

The listing does not say. It is a foot jack with a stop, not a ceiling hoist.

Will work boots fit?

A UK reviewer with size 11 boots could not get a work boot through the hoop and used narrow trainers.

What are the listed dimensions?

The page says 120 x 120 x 300 cm. The same page says the tool weighs 556 g, so do not use that dimension as the size.

Y-Nut MBJ-01 panel gripper

Rank 6

Y-Nut MBJ-01 panel gripper

∼£13

Our view

The Y-Nut MBJ-01 is a single iron cam gripper at £13.33, with 4.4 from 111 reviews and no stated load on the saved amazon.co.uk details. UK reviewers describe carrying plasterboard with the pads pinching the face, but the same file reports pads glued to the plates that came off after four uses and a grip that broke plasterboard while plywood survived. At 900 g it is heavier than the hook carrier and puts more load on one arm. The listing does not give a thickness range, so you find out at the clamp. It is a carry aid only; it does not jack a door or wind a sheet toward the ceiling.

Pros

  • Single gripper for one-handed carry attempts
  • 111 reviews at 4.4 on amazon.co.uk
  • Iron construction on the listing
  • Cheaper than the nylon carrier with an 80 kg claim

Cons

  • Pads unglued in UK reviews
  • One review says the pinch broke plasterboard
  • No kilogram figure in the saved technical details
  • You still carry most of the sheet weight on one side

Best for: You want a cam gripper for flat sheet goods and you will check the pads before each job.

Less suitable: Fragile plasterboard faces, acoustic board you cannot mark, or any job that needs height rather than a walk.

Specifications

Model
Y-Nut MBJ-01 panel gripper
Brand
Y-Nut
Price
∼£13
Customer rating
4.4/5(111)
Type
Cam gripper
Job
Pinch and carry
Lift
None
Hands free
No
Pack
1 gripper
Tool weight
0.90 kg
Material
Iron

Common questions

What load does the listing state?

It does not state a kilogram figure in the saved technical details. The material line says iron.

Do the pads stay on?

Not always. A UK review says the pads are glued to the plates and came off after four uses.

Can it mark plasterboard?

One UK review says the grip broke plasterboard and was fine on plywood. Other reviews report carrying plasterboard.

Anano AH008 panel gripper

Rank 7

Anano AH008 panel gripper

∼£14

Our view

The Anano AH008 lists 45 kg (100 lb) for £13.99 and shows 4.3 from 262 reviews. Bullets say iron while the technical details say wood, and a UK review says the main body is plastic with pads that slide off the adhesive. Reviewers also note that a top grip loads one arm and your back even when the cam holds. The clamp adjusts to thickness but the listing gives no range, so tight or tapered boards are guesswork. Treat the 45 kg line as a seller claim, not a marked safe working load. It remains a walk-and-carry tool, not a foot jack or a ceiling hoist.

Pros

  • Stated 45 kg on the listing bullets
  • 262 reviews at 4.3 on amazon.co.uk
  • Cam adjusts to sheet thickness in reviews
  • Mid-price single gripper

Cons

  • Material field conflicts with bullets and a UK plastic-body review
  • Pad adhesive failures in UK reviews
  • Top grip concentrates weight on one arm
  • Wood versus iron versus plastic is unresolved on the page

Best for: You accept pad maintenance and want a stated capacity figure to compare with your sheet weight on paper.

Less suitable: Boards you cannot afford to crush at the grip, or buyers who need a credible material specification from the listing.

Specifications

Model
Anano AH008 panel gripper
Brand
Anano
Price
∼£14
Customer rating
4.3/5(262)
Type
Cam gripper
Job
Pinch and carry
Stated load
45 kg
Lift
None
Hands free
No
Sheet fit
Adjustable
Pack
1 gripper
Tool weight
0.91 kg
Material
Unverified

Common questions

What load is stated?

The bullets say 100 pounds, which is 45 kg. That is a listing claim, not a marked safe working load in the file.

Is the body iron?

The bullets say iron. The technical details say wood. A UK review says the main body is plastic and the iron line is misleading.

Do you still carry the weight?

Yes. A UK review says a top grip puts most of the weight on one arm and your back.

Flearitzo arm jack, pair

Rank 8

Flearitzo arm jack, pair

∼£23

Our view

Flearitzo’s pair of lever arm jacks list about 100 kg per arm for £22.99, with 4.2 from 111 reviews. Saved UK use is on washing machines, cabinets, and a door near 40 kg, not on carrying an 8 ft sheet. Bullets say two jacks while the included-components line says one, so you should check the parcel against the bullets. One reviewer warns the jack can snap when you release the weight. The tools raise an appliance or door a short way; they do not replace a hook carrier for a walk through a doorway or a hoist for overhead boarding.

Pros

  • About 100 kg per arm stated
  • 111 reviews at 4.2
  • Stainless steel and aluminium in the listing
  • Useful for appliances and doors in reviews

Cons

  • Not reviewed for plasterboard carries
  • Pack count conflict between bullets and included line
  • Snap-on-release mentioned in a review
  • No lift height stated; one review says shorter than expected

Best for: Jacking a door, cabinet, or appliance a short distance with two lever arms.

Less suitable: Walking a full plasterboard sheet, ceiling work, or buyers who need a confirmed two-jack pack from the listing alone.

Specifications

Model
Flearitzo arm jack, pair
Brand
Flearitzo
Price
∼£23
Customer rating
4.2/5(111)
Type
Lever arm jack
Job
Jack a short way
Stated load
100 kg each
Hands free
No
Pack
1 or 2
Tool weight
1.32 kg
Material
Steel, aluminium

Common questions

Is this a plasterboard carrier?

No. It is a pair of arm jacks. Saved reviews use them on washing machines, cabinets, and a door of about 40 kg.

What load is stated?

About 100 kg per arm, and up to 200 kg for the pair. One reviewer doubts the full claim.

How many are in the box?

The bullets say two. The included-components line says one. Check the parcel against the bullets.

Y-Nut MBJ-04 gripper, pair

Rank 9

Y-Nut MBJ-04 gripper, pair

∼£23

Our view

The Y-Nut MBJ-04 pair lists 115 kg for £23.33 but sits at 4.0 from 18 reviews, the weakest star line among the cam grippers here. UK feedback is split: one buyer liked the grip on full acoustic sheets without damage, while another said 19 mm coated chipboard slipped. The listing also markets stone and furniture, which is not the plasterboard job this comparison tracks. Two grippers help two people share the pinch, but reviews still say the second person is not optional on a full 2400 mm sheet. Pad quality and listing breadth are the reasons the score sits below the single grippers with larger review files.

Pros

  • Two grippers in the pack for shared carries
  • Stated 115 kg maximum on the listing
  • One UK review reports acoustic board without damage
  • Knuckle clearance mentioned in a review

Cons

  • 4.0 from only 18 reviews
  • Coated chipboard slipped for one buyer
  • Bullets also target stone and furniture
  • Does not remove the need for a second person on large sheets

Best for: Two people carrying a sheet and wanting a gripper at each pinch point.

Less suitable: Slippery coated boards, solo ceiling work, or a buyer who wants a large, consistent UK review sample.

Specifications

Model
Y-Nut MBJ-04 gripper, pair
Brand
Y-Nut
Price
∼£23
Customer rating
4.0/5(18)
Type
Cam gripper
Job
Shared sheet carry
Stated load
115 kg
Lift
None
Hands free
No
Pack
2 grippers
Tool weight
1.12 kg
Material
Metal

Common questions

Is this a one-person tool?

Not for every reviewer. One UK review says it helps two people carry a sheet and does not replace the second person.

Did it damage acoustic plasterboard?

One UK reviewer said the pads gripped full acoustic sheets without damage. A German review said 19 mm coated chipboard slipped.

What load is stated?

The listing says a maximum of 115 kg. That is a bullet, not a marked safe working load in the file.

WUDLEP 10.4 ft drywall hoist

Rank 10

WUDLEP 10.4 ft drywall hoist

∼£145

Our view

The WUDLEP rolling drywall hoist lists 10.4 ft reach and 150 lb capacity for £144.99, with 3.9 from only three reviews. It is the only wheeled ceiling-style tool in this amazon.co.uk batch, at 14.3 kg in a long carton. The detailed UK review says the board bowed in the cradle, props were still needed, a bag zip failed, and the machine stopped working after two weeks. That is far from the flat hold and marked safe working load you see on hire desks that quote about 3.5 m and 75 kg. Treat 10.4 ft as a listing claim, not a site measurement. Employers using lifting equipment at work face LOLER and PUWER duties that a household hook carrier does not.

Pros

  • Only rolling hoist in this comparison set
  • Manual crank and wheeled base described
  • 10.4 ft and 150 lb claims give a paper spec to read
  • 14.3 kg item weight on the listing

Cons

  • 3.9 from 3 reviews on amazon.co.uk
  • UK review reports bowing and still needing props
  • Reliability and zip failures in the same review
  • Not equivalent to a hire hoist with a marked SWL

Best for: You understand the thin review file and may still hire a trade hoist for a critical ceiling.

Less suitable: Employers who need examined lifting equipment, flat 2400 mm sheets that must stay true, or buyers expecting hire-desk specification.

Specifications

Model
WUDLEP 10.4 ft drywall hoist
Brand
WUDLEP
Price
∼£145
Customer rating
3.9/5(3)
Type
Rolling hoist
Job
Raise toward ceiling
Stated load
68 kg
Lift
3.2 m
Hands free
No
Sheet fit
Cradle
Pack
1 hoist
Tool weight
14.3 kg

Common questions

How high does the listing say it lifts?

10.4 ft, with a manual crank and a four-leg wheeled base. The item weighs 14.3 kg.

Does it hold the board flat?

Not in the detailed UK review. The board bowed and the reviewer still used props.

What load is stated?

150 lb. There are three reviews at 3.9. That figure is a bullet, not an examination record.

Brillirare DL01 foot lifter

Rank 11

Brillirare DL01 foot lifter

∼£11

Our view

Brillirare’s DL01 foot lifter claims about 50 mm of lift and 300+ lb for £10.97, but the amazon.co.uk file is only 3.3 from 5 reviews. Bullets disagree on aluminium alloy versus steel, and one of five UK reviews says a part was missing while another calls the quality poor without detail. Where the listing is consistent, 50 mm is the scale of a floor jack for a door or the foot of a board, which is useful and far short of holding a sheet on a ceiling. The small review set and pack complaints are why the score sits well below the Draper foot lifter with a larger UK sample.

Pros

  • About 50 mm lift stated on the listing
  • 300+ lb claim in the bullets
  • Checkered non-slip surface described
  • Listing says the foot buckle suits work boots

Cons

  • 3.3 from 5 reviews on amazon.co.uk
  • Missing-part complaint in the UK sample
  • Alloy and steel both claimed
  • Too few reviews to trust against the Draper file

Best for: A low door or board gap where you want a stated lift height near 50 mm and you can inspect the parcel on arrival.

Less suitable: Ceiling work, buyers who want hundreds of UK reviews, or jobs that need a marked safe working load.

Specifications

Model
Brillirare DL01 foot lifter
Brand
Brillirare
Price
∼£11
Customer rating
3.3/5(5)
Type
Foot lifter
Job
Jack a few centimetres
Stated load
136 kg+
Lift
50 mm
Hands free
Yes
Sheet fit
Boot buckle
Pack
1 lifter
Tool weight
0.59 kg
Material
Unverified

Common questions

How high does it lift?

The listing says about 50 mm, which is about 2 inches. That is a floor jack, not a ceiling lift.

What is it made of?

One bullet says high-strength aluminium alloy. Another says rigid steel. The file does not resolve that.

Did buyers receive a complete tool?

One of five UK reviews says a part was missing. Another says poor quality with no detail. Others say it does the job.

How we compared

Scores use the eleven amazon.co.uk listings kept here, with shelf prices, stars, and review notes from the 20 October 2026 score method. There was no lift test and no laboratory score. A 4.9 from 18 ratings is not a proved 80 kg carry. Five parts sum to 100, then named deductions. The top pick is the BILITOOLS nylon carrier. Best value is the Roughneck hook carrier, a different listing.

1

Amazon stars

30%

Stars are (Amazon rating divided by 5) times 30, rounded half up. The same split is not the star rating times 20. A high star line on a very small file does not outrank a large sample on its own.

2

Review volume

15%

200 or more reviews with on-topic UK notes score 12 to 14. Bands then step down through 100, 50, and 10. Under 10 is 0 to 3. A high star line with very few reviews is capped.

3

Listing fit

25%

Full marks when type, job, load, and pack agree. The score drops when material fields conflict, dimensions are impossible, or load is missing while trade pages show a figure elsewhere.

4

UK review fit

20%

Higher when UK reviews on this ASIN name plasterboard, doors, boot fit, bowing, or pad failure. Lower when the sample is thin or off-topic.

5

Price for the job

10%

A hook carrier or foot jack at about £10 scores well for a carry or a door. A hoist price scores on this part only when reviews support the cradle job.

Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Panel lifter buying guide

Buy the type that matches the job, then read the sheet weight and the way the tool holds it. A stated kilogram on an Amazon bullet is a seller claim, and a carrier is not a ceiling hoist.

What to check before you buy a panel lifter

Choose the job before the brand. A panel lifter on amazon.co.uk may be a hook or trough carrier, a cam gripper, a foot-operated door and board jack, a wheeled drywall hoist, or a paving-slab clamp. A carrier does not hold a board on the ceiling, and a foot lifter that raises about 50 mm is not a ceiling hoist. The checks, in order, are the job, the sheet, how the tool holds it, the stated load against a marked safe working load, your body and the room, and conflicts on the listing.

Best for

  • A householder walking ordinary wallboard on a clear route, with a second person if the sheet gets awkward
  • A carpenter raising a door or the foot of a wall board a few centimetres while fixing it

Not ideal for

  • A ceiling you cannot hold safely, a stairwell, a fire door, or special board toward 50 kg
  • Anyone treating a foot lifter’s few centimetres, or a bullet-point capacity, as a proved solo ceiling lift

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Buying a foot lifter for a ceiling

    The Brillirare listing states about 50 mm of lift. The Draper and Aramox pages do not state a height. That scale is a floor jack for a door or the foot of a board, not a mast.

  2. 2

    Trusting pads and a pinch on plasterboard

    UK reviews report pads that unglue and a grip that broke plasterboard while plywood survived. Check the pads before the job, and do not treat a cam as safe up to the bullet-point capacity.

  3. 3

    Using a slab clamp as a sheet carrier

    The DAKCOS clamp adjusts from 400 mm to 600 mm with a stated 30 kg. That is patio slab and tile, not a 2400 mm by 1200 mm plasterboard.

What to weigh up

Job, then sheet

High

Carry a sheet, jack it a few centimetres at the floor, or hold it at ceiling height. Ordinary Gyproc WallBoard at 2400 mm by 1200 mm by 12.5 mm is listed at 24.24 kg, with a manufacturer minimum of 7.7 kg/m². HSE says acoustic or thermal special boards may reach about 50 kg. A hook carrier is the householder default for a walk. A foot lifter is the door tool. A gripper does not discharge an employer’s assessment under the Manual Handling Operations Regulations 1992.

How it holds, and what the reviews break

High

A trough sits under the edge. A cam depends on pads. A foot lifter slides under the bottom edge and leaves your hands free only while your foot stays on it. A hoist needs a cradle that keeps the sheet flat. In this set, pads unglue, a pinch breaks plasterboard, a size 11 work boot misses the Draper hoop, and the WUDLEP review says the board bowed and still needed props. Stated loads are seller claims. Do not call a listing HSE approved or LOLER certified.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

Householder moving wallboard

You are walking ordinary wallboard along a clear route, and you want a trough rather than a hoist. The Roughneck ROU32025 is best value at about £9.68, with 4.6 from 818 ratings. The listing states no load, and you still carry the sheet.

Carpenter hanging doors

You need a foot lifter that raises a door or the bottom of a wall board a short way while your hands stay free. The Draper 85631 is about £10.55, with 4.5 from 185 ratings. A UK review says size 11 work boots did not fit the hoop.

Flat-sheet carry with a stated load

You want a cam carrier whose listing states 80 kg, and you accept a thin review file. The BILITOOLS nylon panel carrier is the top pick at about £22.99, with 4.9 from 18 ratings. The detailed UK review is plywood, with help at the far end.

Common questions about panel lifters

Which panel lifter is the top pick?
The top pick is the BILITOOLS nylon panel carrier (B0GZW4PQJG) at about £22.99. It scores 98 and is the only listing with that award. The page states 80 kg, and amazon.co.uk shows 4.9 from 18 ratings. The detailed UK review is about plywood, with help at the far end of a large sheet. Eighteen reviews is a thin file beside the hook carrier. It does not hold a board on the ceiling. Best value is a different product, the Roughneck hook carrier at about £9.68.
Which panel lifter is best value?
Best value is the Roughneck ROU32025 plasterboard carrier (B003CT4DAE) at about £9.68. Amazon.co.uk shows 4.6 from 818 ratings, the largest sample here. The bottom edge of the sheet sits in a trough while you walk, and a UK review measured that trough at about 35 mm. The listing states no kilogram capacity, although trade pages for the same family often quote up to 80 kg. You still carry the sheet. The score is 92 because the Amazon file omits that load line.
Will a panel carrier hold plasterboard on the ceiling?
No. A hook carrier and a cam gripper walk a sheet. They do not raise it. A foot lifter slides under the bottom edge and, where a height is stated, raises it about 50 mm. That is not ceiling reach. Overhead work needs a cradle that supports the sheet flat. The only rolling hoist here is the WUDLEP, and one UK review says the board bowed and still needed props. Height, bow, and workplace limits are in the panel lifter ceiling hoist guide.
How heavy is a standard UK plasterboard sheet?
British Gypsum’s data sheet for Gyproc WallBoard 12.5 mm gives a minimum of 7.7 kg/m². A UK merchant lists the 2400 mm by 1200 mm by 12.5 mm board at 24.24 kg. HSE says acoustic or thermal special boards may reach about 50 kg. There is no universal 25 kg legal limit. An Amazon capacity line is a seller claim, not a marked safe working load, and a solo carry to that figure is not treated as safe here.
Does a household panel carrier need a LOLER inspection?
A household hook carrier is a handling aid, not a LOLER inspection item. LOLER 1998 and PUWER apply when lifting equipment is used at work: plan the lift, mark the load, maintain the machine, and thoroughly examine it when the rules require. None of these amazon.co.uk listings is described here as LOLER certified or HSE approved. Employers still have duties under the Manual Handling Operations Regulations 1992 to avoid hazardous handling where reasonably practicable, then assess and reduce it. A gripper does not discharge that assessment.
What fails in the panel lifter reviews?
The repeated failures are practical. Pads unglue from cam plates. A pinch breaks plasterboard while plywood survives. A foot hoop rejects size 11 work boots. A hoist cradle lets the sheet bow, so props are still needed. A slab clamp sold beside sheet tools only spans 400–600 mm. Listing conflicts also matter: one page says wood, iron, and a review says plastic, and another prints 120 by 120 by 300 cm beside a tool of about half a kilogram. Do not turn those fields into a specification.
When should you call a professional?
Call a professional for ceilings and stairwells if you cannot hold the sheet safely, for fire doors, for special boards toward 50 kg, and where an employer still owes the manual-handling assessment. HSE’s plasterboard guidance points to mechanical load-out, trolleys, two people with a carrying handle if a sheet must be carried, a foot lifter for low wall panels, and ceiling lifts or props overhead. Hiring a trade hoist for one ceiling is an alternative this comparison does not price. A foot lifter’s few centimetres are not ceiling reach.
What do these panel lifters cost on amazon.co.uk?
In this amazon.co.uk batch, entry tools sit at about £10 to £15. The Roughneck hook carrier is £9.68, the Draper foot lifter is £10.55, the Brillirare foot lifter is £10.97, and the single grippers are £13.33 and £13.99. Mid-price rows are about £19 to £24, including the BILITOOLS carrier at £22.99, the Y-Nut pair at £23.33, the DAKCOS slab clamp at £23.99, and the Flearitzo arm jacks at £22.99. The only rolling hoist is £144.99, with three reviews. These are shelf prices from the listings, not a surveyed trade-hoist index.

Our verdict

The top pick is the BILITOOLS nylon panel carrier at about £22.99. It scores 98, with 4.9 from 18 ratings and a stated 80 kg. The detailed UK review is plywood, with a second person at the far end of a large sheet, and 18 ratings is a thin file next to the hook carrier. Best value is the Roughneck ROU32025 at about £9.68, score 92, with 4.6 from 818 ratings. The Amazon page states no load, though trade pages for that family often quote up to 80 kg. It is the sensible spend for walking a sheet if the trough fits. Skip both if you need a board held on the ceiling.

Best overall
BILITOOLS nylon panel carrier

BILITOOLS nylon panel carrier

Highest score at 98, with the only top-pick award: about £22.99, 4.9 from 18 ratings, stated 80 kg, and one detailed UK plywood review that still used a second person.

View offer
Best value
Roughneck ROU32025 plasterboard carrier

Roughneck ROU32025 plasterboard carrier

Best value at about £9.68, score 92, with 4.6 from 818 ratings, for a trough carry when you accept that the Amazon page states no load.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - Editor
Editor
Panel liftersamazon.co.uk listingsUK manual handling

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Guides to panel lifters

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources named below. amazon.co.uk prices, stars and review counts on these eleven listings were read for the 20 October 2026 score method. Page updated October 2026.

  1. HSE: plasterboard manual handling (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  2. HSE CIS76 (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  3. Manual Handling Operations Regulations 1992, regulation 4 (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  4. HSE: LOLER overview (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  5. HSE L23 (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  6. British Gypsum WallBoard 12.5 mm data sheet (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  7. Travis Perkins Gyproc WallBoard 2400 × 1200 × 12.5 mm (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  8. FTH Hire Group plasterboard lifter safety guidance (retrieved 20 October 2026)

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk (tag pcuk26-21). If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are taken from those listings. We did not run a lab test.