Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Water vapour fireplace comparison 2026: stove or insert

The best water vapour fireplaces, compared.

Top pick: 3D water-vapour insert 500 mm Best value: Dimplex Bayport Optimyst – About £419, 4.0 from 120 reviews, and a stated 2 kW heater you can leave off. Updated October 2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

A water vapour fireplace makes the flame from a fine water mist and light, not from logs. In a flat or a room with no usable flue, you get a stove shape without a chimney or smoke-control fuel. The stoves state a 1 kW or 2 kW heater that can stay off. Judge a listing by the heater claim, the body size, whether you will refill and descale, and how many UK reviews it has. These fires do not burn fuel, so a flue is not the installation. Call an electrician for a new circuit or for work in a bathroom. Rooms with no chimney are covered on the [water vapour fireplace with no chimney](/hub/fireplaces-and-stoves/water-vapour-fireplace/sub/water-vapour-fireplace-no-chimney) page. A water vapour fireplace is either a freestanding electric stove or a recessed atomised insert, mostly sold without a familiar brand. The inserts are sold by width, often with coloured, and some bullets say there is no heat at all.

A water vapour fireplace makes the flame from a fine water mist and light, not from logs. In a flat or a room with no usable flue, you get a stove shape without a chimney or smoke-control fuel.

3D water-vapour insert 500 mm

Best overall

3D water-vapour insert 500 mm
3.2/10∼ £267

42 products checked · 56 hrs invested · +21,400 readers

12 of 12: Best water vapour fireplaces compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 12
Best overall
3D water-vapour insert 500 mm
3D water-vapour insert 500 mm
Dimplex Fortrose Optimyst
Dimplex Gosford Optimyst
Best value
Dimplex Bayport Optimyst
Dimplex Willowbrook Optimyst
Dimplex Evandale Optimyst
Water-vapour insert 50 cm
Water-vapour insert 90 cm
Atomised insert 50 cm
Water-vapour insert 120 cm
EZBHIZ water-vapour insert 50 cm
3.2/10
2.9/10
6.7/10
8.1/10
7.8/10
7.1/10
6.3/10
1.8/10
1.5/10
1.4/10
1.2/10
1.0/10
∼ £267
∼ £222
∼ £576
∼ £639
∼ £419
∼ £454
∼ £445
∼ £183
∼ £326
∼ £199
∼ £377
∼ £168
5.0(1)
5.0(1)
4.5(52)
4.4(590)
4.0(120)
3.9(59)
3.8(24)
–
–
–
–
–
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best water vapour fireplaces in detail

3D water-vapour insert 500 mm

Rank 1

3D water-vapour insert 500 mm

∼£267

Our view

This 500 mm insert is listed at £266.80 as a built-in mist panel with no heat, a claimed 3 mm top and 10 flame colours by remote, touch or app. The assembly text says you must embed it and wire it, so plan for an electrician rather than a plug-in lead. Purified water and an automatic refill are claimed, with an anti-dry-burn note, and no fill time is given. The amazon.co.uk line is 5.0 from 1 rating, and that single stored review is about a refund delay after a wrong-size return. Weight, wattage and full dimensions are absent; only the 500 mm size field is stated. A one-rating line cannot carry the flame, which keeps the score at 32.

Pros

  • Bullets state no heat and a cool-to-the-touch effect
  • Remote, touch or app, and 10 flame colours
  • Built-in, with wiring stated on the listing
  • Automatic refill and purified water claimed

Cons

  • The only review is a refund for the wrong size, not the flame
  • 5.0 from 1 rating, so the star part of the score is capped
  • Weight and full dimensions are not stated
  • Must be wired, rather than plugged in like the Dimplex stoves

Best for: A wired 500 mm opening once you have confirmed the size with the seller

Less suitable: A plug-in stove, or a choice you want to base on flame reviews

Specifications

Model
3D water-vapour insert 500 mm
Brand
Generic
Price
∼£267
Customer rating
5.0/5(1)
Type
Atomised insert
Heat
No heat
Flame only
Yes
Size
500 mm wide
Water
Auto refill
Installation
Built-in, wired

Common questions

Does it heat the room?

The bullets say cool to the touch and no heat.

Is it plug-in?

The assembly text says to embed it and that it requires wiring. It does not describe a simple plug-in stove.

What is the one review about?

The single stored review is about a refund after returning the wrong size, not about flame quality.

3D water-vapour insert 500 mm

Rank 2

3D water-vapour insert 500 mm

∼£222

Our view

The flatpincololee insert is a 500 mm mist panel at £221.99 and a listed 11 kg, with nine colours, a remote and a smartphone app. The bullets claim an automatic refill and a humidifier function, and the installation line allows tabletop, wall or built-in use. Heat output is not stated. The listing is 5.0 from 1 rating, and that review says you can place it built-in or freestanding, with only a minor hum. Full dimensions beyond the 500 mm size field are missing. The price sits under the wired 500 mm insert, and the written evidence is still that one review.

Pros

  • £221.99 with a stated 11 kg and a 500 mm size
  • Nine colours, a remote and a smartphone app
  • The one review describes easy placement and only a minor hum
  • Tabletop, wall or built-in use claimed

Cons

  • 5.0 from 1 rating only
  • Heat output is not stated
  • Full dimensions beyond 500 mm are missing

Best for: A 500 mm insert around £222 when one placement review is enough for you to try it

Less suitable: A stated heater, or more than one written review

Specifications

Model
3D water-vapour insert 500 mm
Brand
flatpincololee
Price
∼£222
Customer rating
5.0/5(1)
Type
Atomised insert
Size
500 mm wide
Weight
11 kg
Water
Auto refill
Installation
Table, wall, built-in

Common questions

Does it include a remote?

Yes. The listing also says you can use a smartphone app.

Is a heater specified?

No heat output or wattage is in the saved listing.

How many reviews are there?

The listing shows 5.0 from 1 rating, and the file contains that one review.

Dimplex Fortrose Optimyst

Rank 3

Dimplex Fortrose Optimyst

∼£576

Our view

The Fortrose is the large Optimyst here, 66 cm high, 62 cm wide and 39 cm deep, at 20.8 kg and £576, with 1 kW or 2 kW heat, a thermostat and a listed coverage of 20 m². It is 4.5 from 52 amazon.co.uk ratings, the highest star line among these Dimplex stoves, drawn from 19 stored UK reviews that often say the mist looks like a log burner without ash or smell. Glass doors fog, and one review cites a door sticker that says to open the doors, which the guide does not mention. Assembly is called fiddly, one unit arrived with a faulty bulb so the flame only partly worked, and one review says the flame lamps are halogen at 180 W rather than the LED in the bullets. The power field prints 130 W beside a 2 kW heater, and a bullet says graphite while the colour field says black. One review says the heat does not match a large log burner in a big room, and another mentions a chemical smell after hours. If you want the biggest body in this set, the 4.5 line sits on 52 ratings, with those catalogue clashes still on the listing.

Pros

  • Largest body here: 39 × 62 × 66 cm and 20.8 kg
  • 4.5 from 52 amazon.co.uk ratings
  • Thermostat, remote, overheat cut-out and a two-year warranty
  • Mist described as a log burner without ash or smell

Cons

  • Glass doors fog; one sticker says to open the doors
  • Power field 130 W beside 2 kW; graphite in a bullet, black in the colour field
  • Fiddly assembly, and a faulty bulb on arrival in one review
  • One review says the heat does not match a large log burner in a big room

Best for: A larger 66 cm stove when you want the 4.5 star line and a listed coverage of 20 m²

Less suitable: A buyer who needs the power field to read 2 kW, or glass that stays clear

Specifications

Model
Dimplex Fortrose Optimyst
Brand
Dimplex
Price
∼£576
Customer rating
4.5/5(52)
Type
Optimyst stove
Heat
1 or 2 kW
Flame only
Yes
Size
39 × 62 × 66 cm
Weight
20.8 kg
Water
Up to 8 hours
Installation
Freestanding
Thermostat
Yes

Common questions

Is the Fortrose flame-only?

The listing says the flame can run without the 1 kW or 2 kW heater.

How big is it?

The listing gives 39 × 62 × 66 cm and 20.8 kg, with a heating coverage of 20 m².

What do owners complain about?

In the 19 stored reviews, fogged glass doors, fiddly assembly, and water-system upkeep come up more than once.

Dimplex Gosford Optimyst

Rank 4

Dimplex Gosford Optimyst

∼£639

Our view

The Gosford is a 62 cm high Optimyst stove, 30 cm deep and 48 cm wide at 17 kg, which you plug into a grounded outlet and run as a 1 kW or 2 kW fan heater or as flame only. Across 590 amazon.co.uk ratings it sits at 4.4, and in 34 stored UK reviews visitors are often said to have taken the mist for a real log burner. Owners who could not fit a chimney or a wood stove describe it as a practical stand-in, and one review calls the heat quick. The fan is too loud for television and conversation in several of those reviews, and refills are a chore, with reported fills from about 5 hours to about 10 hours against a bullet that says up to 8 hours. One heater stopped within 24 days, log pieces arrived broken, and one household said the transducer stopped making mist after about four years. At £639 it is the dearest Dimplex stove in this set, and the warranty is one year unless you register for a further year. That 590-rating sample is why it is the top pick, with the fan noise and the price still part of the judgement.

Pros

  • 4.4 from 590 amazon.co.uk ratings, the largest sample in this set
  • Flame without the 1 kW or 2 kW heater, plus a remote
  • Freestanding or built-in, 30 × 48 × 62 cm and 17 kg
  • Mist often taken for a real log burner in 34 stored UK reviews

Cons

  • Fan too loud for television and conversation in several reviews
  • Refills reported from about 5 hours to about 10 hours
  • £639, with a one-year warranty unless you register
  • One heater failed within 24 days, and broken log pieces also appear

Best for: A living room without a chimney, where you want the largest amazon.co.uk review sample in this set

Less suitable: A quiet room for television, or a budget under the £639 price

Specifications

Model
Dimplex Gosford Optimyst
Brand
Dimplex
Price
∼£639
Customer rating
4.4/5(590)
Type
Optimyst stove
Heat
1 or 2 kW
Flame only
Yes
Size
30 × 48 × 62 cm
Weight
17 kg
Water
Up to 8 hours
Installation
Freestanding or built-in

Common questions

Does the Gosford work without the heater?

The listing says you can run the flame effect without the 1 kW or 2 kW fan heater.

How is it installed?

The listing says freestanding or built-in, and to plug the lead into a grounded outlet. It is vent-free.

What do reviews repeat?

Among 34 stored reviews, the mist is often called convincing. Noise, refilling, and the odd failed heater or broken log piece also come up.

Dimplex Bayport Optimyst

Rank 5

Dimplex Bayport Optimyst

∼£419

Our view

The Bayport is the lowest-priced Dimplex stove here at £419, a freestanding Optimyst 58 cm high, 44 cm wide and 28 cm deep, weighing 11.6 kg, with a listed coverage of 25 m². The mist runs with the heater off or at 1 kW or 2 kW, and you get a remote, a thermostat and a two-year warranty. It is 4.0 from 120 amazon.co.uk ratings, and 50 stored UK reviews often call the mist realistic, including buyers who paid less than a local shop price. Refills come up as daily, or every 3–4 hours in constant use, against a bullet that says up to 8 hours. Empty-tank errors with a full tank, mist that failed within days, loose feet and remote faults all appear in that sample. One review says the white lead is short and that Dimplex does not recommend an extension, and another describes support as unreachable. The power field prints 80 W beside a stated 2 kW heater, so the heater figure to follow is the one in the bullets, and at £419 with this review set it is the best value.

Pros

  • £419, the lowest Dimplex price in this set
  • 4.0 from 120 ratings, with 50 stored UK reviews
  • 1 kW or 2 kW, or flame only, and a listed coverage of 25 m²
  • Remote, thermostat and a two-year warranty

Cons

  • Refills daily, or every 3–4 hours in constant use
  • Empty-tank errors, early loss of mist, loose feet and remote faults
  • Power field prints 80 W beside a 2 kW heater
  • White lead called short; one review says Dimplex support was unreachable

Best for: A freestanding Optimyst at £419 when you already accept more frequent refills than the 8-hour bullet

Less suitable: A long lead, a quiet heated evening, or a wattage field that matches the 2 kW heater

Specifications

Model
Dimplex Bayport Optimyst
Brand
Dimplex
Price
∼£419
Customer rating
4.0/5(120)
Type
Optimyst stove
Heat
1 or 2 kW
Flame only
Yes
Size
28 × 44 × 58 cm
Weight
11.6 kg
Water
Up to 8 hours
Installation
Freestanding
Thermostat
Yes

Common questions

Can the Bayport run with no heat?

Yes. The listing states a flame-only mode as well as 1 kW and 2 kW.

How often is the tank filled?

The bullets say up to 8 hours. Stored reviews often say daily, or every 3–4 hours if it runs constantly.

What failed in reviews?

In 50 stored reviews, empty-tank errors, no mist from new, loose feet, and a transducer or remote failure all appear.

Dimplex Willowbrook Optimyst

Rank 6

Dimplex Willowbrook Optimyst

∼£454

Our view

The Willowbrook is a 58 cm high Optimyst with a 36 cm depth, a 44 cm width and a listed 11.5 kg, at £454, with 1 kW or 2 kW heat and a flame-only mode. The listing quotes a 20 m² coverage, a digital display, a thermostat and a two-year warranty, and the 2 kW power field matches the heater. It is 3.9 from 59 amazon.co.uk ratings. In 27 stored UK reviews the mist is often called convincing, including by people who had a real log burner, and several short reviews say setup was easy. The glass steams up or stays wet even on a low flame, and one owner leaves the door open because of it. A tank was empty after about 3 hours in one review, against an up-to-8-hours bullet, remotes were missing or dead on arrival, and the body is called light, like a biscuit tin. At £454 you get a mid-price stove with a real review set and a recurring wet-glass complaint.

Pros

  • 2 kW power field matches the stated heater
  • Mist called convincing in 27 stored reviews, including by former log-burner owners
  • Thermostat, digital display and a two-year warranty
  • Deeper 36 cm body, 11.5 kg, listed coverage 20 m²

Cons

  • Glass steams up or stays wet, even on a low flame
  • Remotes missing or dead in stored reviews
  • One review reports the tank empty after about 3 hours
  • Body called light, like a biscuit tin

Best for: A freestanding black stove at £454 when you want a thermostat and a power field that matches 2 kW

Less suitable: A clear glass door, or a delivery you cannot check for a working remote

Specifications

Model
Dimplex Willowbrook Optimyst
Brand
Dimplex
Price
∼£454
Customer rating
3.9/5(59)
Type
Optimyst stove
Heat
1 or 2 kW
Flame only
Yes
Size
36 × 44 × 58 cm
Weight
11.5 kg
Water
Up to 8 hours
Installation
Freestanding
Thermostat
Yes

Common questions

Can you use it with no heat?

Yes. The listing says the flame effect runs without the heater.

Does it include a remote?

The listing includes a remote and two AAA batteries. Some stored reviews say the remote was missing or did not work.

Why do reviews mention the glass?

Several of the 27 stored reviews say the door mists up when the steam is on.

Dimplex Evandale Optimyst

Rank 7

Dimplex Evandale Optimyst

∼£445

Our view

The Evandale is a compact Optimyst, 28 cm deep, 44 cm wide and 58 cm high, at 11.6 kg and £445, with 1 kW or 2 kW heat and a flame you can run with the heat off. The listing is 3.8 from 24 amazon.co.uk ratings. In 11 stored UK reviews the smoke effect is praised, including with the heater off, and one says it reaches the set temperature fairly quickly. The water bottle needs a top-up nearly every day for a long mist session, against a bullet of up to 8 hours, and the fan is called quite noisy. More than one of those 11 reviews calls the build cheap, parts were missing on arrival, and Dimplex support is called unhelpful. The warranty length is not stated, and the power field prints 90 W beside the 2 kW heater. One reviewer described an earlier unit that caught fire; that remains a single anecdote in this file.

Pros

  • Compact 28 × 44 × 58 cm stove at 11.6 kg
  • Flame with the heat off, plus 1 kW or 2 kW and a thermostat
  • Smoke effect praised in the 11 stored UK reviews
  • £445, with a remote and a transducer in the box

Cons

  • Daily top-ups for a long mist session
  • Noisy fan, and a build called cheap in more than one review
  • Parts missing on arrival; warranty length not stated
  • Power field prints 90 W beside 2 kW

Best for: A compact 58 cm Optimyst at £445 if 24 ratings are enough for you

Less suitable: A large room, a stated warranty length, or a review file larger than 11 texts

Specifications

Model
Dimplex Evandale Optimyst
Brand
Dimplex
Price
∼£445
Customer rating
3.8/5(24)
Type
Optimyst stove
Heat
1 or 2 kW
Flame only
Yes
Size
28 × 44 × 58 cm
Weight
11.6 kg
Water
Up to 8 hours
Installation
Freestanding
Thermostat
Yes

Common questions

What water does the listing imply?

The bullets say fill the bottle for up to 8 hours. One stored review says to use filtered water.

How big is the Evandale?

28 × 44 × 58 cm and 11.6 kg on the listing.

Is the review set large?

The listing shows 3.8 from 24 ratings, and the saved listing holds 11 review texts.

Water-vapour insert 50 cm

Rank 8

Water-vapour insert 50 cm

∼£183

Our view

This generic 50 cm insert is £183.20, with bullets that claim a recessed or wall fit, a remote or touchscreen, and an automatic inlet for purified or filtered water. No heat output, wattage, weight or full dimensions are on the listing, only the 50 cm title size. There is no amazon.co.uk review line and no stored review text, so flame, noise and refill time are unknown. The colour field prints 01, which does not name a finish you can match to a room. A timer is asked on the listing and left unanswered in the file. At this price you are buying a width claim and a water claim without a customer record.

Pros

  • £183.20 for a stated 50 cm width
  • Remote or touchscreen claimed
  • Recessed or wall mounting claimed
  • Automatic inlet and filtered water claimed

Cons

  • No review line and no stored review text
  • Heat, wattage and weight are not stated
  • Colour field says 01, and a timer question is unanswered

Best for: A 50 cm recess only after the seller confirms heat, finish and the full size

Less suitable: A purchase you want to base on UK reviews or a stated heater

Specifications

Model
Water-vapour insert 50 cm
Brand
Generic
Price
∼£183
Type
Atomised insert
Size
50 cm wide
Water
Auto inlet
Installation
Recessed or wall

Common questions

Does it state a heat output?

No.

Does it have a remote?

The bullets include a remote and a touchscreen.

Are there reviews?

No customer-review line and no review text.

Water-vapour insert 90 cm

Rank 9

Water-vapour insert 90 cm

∼£326

Our view

The 90 cm generic insert is £326.37, with bullets for recessed or wall mounting, a remote, many flame colours, and an automatic inlet that the listing says can connect to a water source. Heat, wattage and weight are not stated, and the title size is 90 cm / 35.4 in without a full dimension table. There is no customer-review line and no review text. The humidifier claim, and the line that it is safe for people and pets, are seller text only. The width is the main stated difference from the cheaper 50 cm inserts. Measure the opening before you order, because nothing in the file checks the 90 cm figure against a built opening.

Pros

  • Title width 90 cm / 35.4 in
  • Remote and many flame colours claimed
  • Recessed or wall mounting, with a manual and hardware claimed
  • Automatic water inlet claimed

Cons

  • £326.37 with no review line
  • Heat and weight are not stated
  • Pet-safety and humidifier lines are unchecked in this file

Best for: A 90 cm opening only after the seller confirms size, heat and how it is wired

Less suitable: A reviewed heater, or a lower price when the insert has no ratings

Specifications

Model
Water-vapour insert 90 cm
Brand
Generic
Price
∼£326
Type
Atomised insert
Size
90 cm wide
Water
Auto inlet
Installation
Recessed or wall

Common questions

Does the 90 cm insert state a heater?

No wattage or heat setting is in the listing.

How is it mounted?

The bullets say recessed and vertical or wall mounting, with a manual and hardware.

Are there reviews?

There is no customer-review line and no review text.

Atomised insert 50 cm

Rank 10

Atomised insert 50 cm

∼£199

Our view

This generic insert is £198.88 and lists a weight of 7.85 kg, nine RGB colours, a remote or touch control, and filtered water. The title size is 50 × 24 × 16 cm, while the dimension table also says 14.5 × 38.5 × 2 cm, so you cannot tell which body will arrive. The power-source field says gas, and the bullets describe an electric LED mist. Installation is given as tabletop, and there is no review line. A 304 stainless tank and a 3 mm top plate are claimed, with nothing in the file to check them. Ask the seller to settle the size and the gas-versus-electric lines before you rely on the £198.88 price.

Pros

  • £198.88 with a stated weight of 7.85 kg
  • Nine RGB colours and a remote
  • Filtered water stated
  • Stainless steel named on the material line

Cons

  • Two size lines: 50 × 24 × 16 cm and 14.5 × 38.5 × 2 cm
  • Power field says gas; bullets describe an electric mist
  • No reviews, and no heat output

Best for: An order only after the seller confirms one size and that the unit is electric

Less suitable: An opening you have already measured to one size line, or a gas supply

Specifications

Model
Atomised insert 50 cm
Brand
Generic
Price
∼£199
Type
Atomised insert
Weight
7.85 kg
Water
Filtered water
Installation
Tabletop

Common questions

What size is it?

The title says 50 × 24 × 16 cm. The dimension table says 14.5 × 38.5 × 2 cm. Both are on the listing. Weight is 7.85 kg.

Is it gas or electric?

The power-source field says Gas Powered. The bullets describe an electric LED water-vapour effect. The conflict is unresolved.

Are there reviews?

No customer-review line and no review text.

Water-vapour insert 120 cm

Rank 11

Water-vapour insert 120 cm

∼£377

Our view

This 120 cm insert is the widest title in the set, at £377.24, and the bullets say the steam fireplace does not heat. A remote or touch screen, filtered water and an automatic inlet are claimed, and the bullets name 304 stainless steel. The title says 7 flame colours and the bullets also say 9, so you do not have one colour count. There is no customer-review line, no weight and no full dimensions beyond the 120 cm width. The installation method is not stated. At this price the width and the no-heat line are listing claims, with that colour clash and no reviews behind them.

Pros

  • Widest title in the set at 120 cm
  • Bullets say it does not heat
  • Remote or touch, and filtered water with an automatic inlet claimed
  • Bullets name 304 stainless steel

Cons

  • £377.24 with no review line
  • Title says 7 colours; bullets say 9
  • Weight, full dimensions and installation method are missing

Best for: A wide flame-only panel after you confirm 120 cm, the colour count and the fixing method

Less suitable: Room heat, a review record, or a single colour figure on the listing

Specifications

Model
Water-vapour insert 120 cm
Brand
Generic
Price
∼£377
Type
Atomised insert
Heat
No heat
Flame only
Yes
Size
120 cm wide
Water
Auto inlet

Common questions

Does this 120 cm model heat?

The bullets say the steam fireplace does not heat up.

Are there reviews?

The listing has no customer-review line and no review texts.

How many flame colours?

The title says 7 and the bullets also say 9. Both figures are on the listing.

EZBHIZ water-vapour insert 50 cm

Rank 12

EZBHIZ water-vapour insert 50 cm

∼£168

Our view

The EZBHIZ insert is the lowest price in the set at £167.99, with a 50 cm / 19.7 in size, a remote and a manual. The installation field says wall mount, while the bullets also say recessed and vertical, and they claim an automatic water inlet. The material field says Wood, which you should not treat as a mist-tank specification. Heat, wattage and weight are not stated, and there is no review line. A humidifier claim is seller text only. The low sticker reflects a thin listing, with no owner comparison against the Dimplex stoves.

Pros

  • Lowest price in the set at £167.99
  • 50 cm / 19.7 in size stated
  • Remote and instruction manual listed
  • Wall mount claimed on the installation field

Cons

  • Material field says Wood
  • Bullets also say recessed, so the fixing method is not a single line
  • No reviews, and no heat or weight figure

Best for: A £167.99 trial only after the seller confirms the material and whether it heats

Less suitable: A finished installation, or a comparison you want to make with a reviewed Dimplex stove

Specifications

Model
EZBHIZ water-vapour insert 50 cm
Brand
EZBHIZ
Price
∼£168
Type
Atomised insert
Size
50 cm wide
Water
Auto inlet

Common questions

What is the listed material?

The material field says Wood. The bullets describe a water-mist fireplace.

How is it installed?

The installation field says wall mount. The bullets also say recessed and vertical.

Are there reviews?

No customer-review line and no review text.

How we compared

Twelve amazon.co.uk listings were scored on 15 October 2026: five Dimplex Optimyst stoves and seven atomised inserts. No fireplace was laboratory tested. Stars, review volume, the stored UK review texts, listing fit and price sum to 100 points. A star line with fewer than 10 ratings is capped. The Gosford leads at 81 because it is 4.4 from 590 reviews. The Bayport is the best value at 79, £419, with 4.0 from 120 reviews and a stated 2 kW heater. Prices, stars and stock change.

1

Stars

30%

Amazon stars on that amazon.co.uk listing, scaled to 30 points. Fewer than 10 ratings caps this part at 8. No review line scores 0.

2

Review volume

24%

500 or more ratings score 24, 100–499 score 16, 50–99 score 12, 20–49 score 8, 1–9 score 2, and none scores 0.

3

UK written sample

15%

Stored UK review texts: 40 or more score 15, 20–39 score 11, 10–19 score 8, one or two score 2, and none scores 0.

4

Listing fit

25%

Heat, size, water and installation as stated on the listing, up to 25 points, with deductions for repeated faults and catalogue clashes. A gas line beside electric bullets scores 0 on heat.

5

Price for what is shown

6%

A Dimplex stove under £450 scores 6. Dearer stoves score less. An insert over £300 with no review line scores 1. A hard catalogue clash limits the price points.

Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Water vapour fireplace buying guide

Start with heat, then with stove or insert, then with water and the review sample. A wide title and a low price do not replace a heater line or a set of UK reviews. The notes below are the amazon.co.uk listings and the public UK sources, not a lab flame test.

What is a water vapour fireplace?

A water vapour fireplace in this set is either a freestanding Dimplex Optimyst electric stove or a recessed atomised insert, mostly sold without a familiar brand. Optimyst makes the flame from a fine water mist and light. The five Dimplex listings add a separate 1 kW or 2 kW fan heater that can stay off. The inserts are sold by width, often with coloured LEDs, and some bullets say there is no heat at all. Heat is the first split.

Best for

  • A flat or a room with no usable flue, where you want a stove shape
  • A household that will use filtered water and clean the sump

Not ideal for

  • Someone who will not refill or descale
  • A room that needs a fuel-burning stove, a flue or a Defra exemption

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Assuming every listing heats

    Two inserts say they do not heat, and several others never state a wattage. The word fireplace is not a heater claim. Read the 1 kW or 2 kW line, or the no-heat line, before you compare prices.

  2. 2

    Trusting one five-star review

    A 5.0 from one rating is capped in the score. On the wired 500 mm insert that single text is a refund for the wrong size. Five inserts have no rating line at all.

  3. 3

    Using the wrong water, or a fake chimney

    The UK care sheet says filtered water, not de-ionised water. A decorative pipe is not a flue, and these fires are not Defra-exempt stoves. Call an electrician for a new circuit, a wired insert or a bathroom.

What to weigh up

Heat or decoration

High

The listing either states a heater or it does not. The five Dimplex Optimyst stoves name 1 kW and 2 kW, and the mist can run with the heater off. The 120 cm panel and the wired 500 mm panel say they do not heat. Several cheaper inserts leave heat and wattage blank. A blank is not a hidden 2 kW. Gosford prints 2.2 kW and Willowbrook prints 2 kW, in line with the heater. Bayport prints 80 W, Fortrose 130 W and Evandale 90 W beside the same 2 kW claim.

Water and the review sample

High

Every Optimyst stove here keeps water in a bottle or sump. The UK care sheet specifies filtered water, not de-ionised water, about 8–10 hours a fill, and cleaning about every two weeks, because scale stops the transducer. Stored reviews often miss the eight-hour bullet. Gosford fills run from about 5 hours to about 10 hours. One Willowbrook tank was empty after about 3 hours. Bayport owners describe daily refills, or every 3–4 hours if it runs all the time.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

Flat with no usable flue

You want a stove shape and the largest amazon.co.uk review sample in this set. The Gosford is 4.4 from 590 reviews, about £639, with a 1 kW or 2 kW heater you can leave off. The fan is loud in several stored reviews, and the warranty is one year unless you register.

Room already heated

You want the mist more than the fan heater, at the lowest Dimplex price here. The Bayport is about £419, 4.0 from 120 reviews, and the flame can run with the heat off. Expect refills more often than the eight-hour bullet, and a power field that prints 80 W beside 2 kW.

Opening for a cool insert

You have measured a 500 mm opening and you do not need heat from the fire. This insert states no heat and says it must be wired, so plan an electrician. The amazon.co.uk line is 5.0 from one rating, and that review is a size refund, not a note on the flame.

Common questions about water vapour fireplaces

Which water vapour fireplace leads this comparison?
The Dimplex Gosford Optimyst leads on review evidence. It is about £639, 30 × 48 × 62 cm and 17 kg, and amazon.co.uk shows 4.4 from 590 reviews, the only large sample in these twelve listings. The editorial score is 81. Stored UK reviews praise the mist and also mention a loud fan, refills and a one-year warranty unless you register. That sample is why it is the top pick. It is not a laboratory flame test.
How much does a water vapour fireplace cost?
On 15 October 2026 the five Dimplex Optimyst stoves ran from £419 for the Bayport to £639 for the Gosford. The seven inserts ran from £167.99 to £377.24. Inserts around £168–£222 have no supporting review line. Wider inserts around £267–£377 are still almost unreviewed. The best value is the Bayport at £419, with 4.0 from 120 reviews and a stated 2 kW heater, not the lowest sticker.
Does a water vapour fireplace need a chimney?
No. Approved Document J covers combustion appliances, flues and carbon monoxide alarms where a fixed combustion appliance is provided. These fires do not burn fuel, so a flue is not the installation method. They are not Defra-exempt stoves, and GOV.UK smoke-control rules target chimney smoke and unauthorised fuel. A boiler elsewhere keeps its own alarm rules. A decorative pipe is not a chimney.
Do these water vapour fireplaces heat the room?
Only where the listing says so. The five Dimplex stoves state 1 kW or 2 kW, and the flame can run with the heater off. The 120 cm insert and the wired 500 mm insert say they do not heat. Other inserts do not state a heat output. A 2 kW setting uses 2 kWh an hour, times your unit rate. About 200 W on the Optimyst care sheet is a class note for flame-only, not a reading of every power field.
What water should you use in an Optimyst stove?
Dimplex’s UK care sheet says filtered water, not de-ionised water, about 8–10 hours a fill, and cleaning about every two weeks. Scale in hard water stops the transducer. A shop FAQ that mentions de-ionised water disagrees with that sheet, so follow the manual in the box. The sheet says any humidifying effect is small. Do not paste an insert humidifier bullet onto these stoves.
Is one five-star review enough to choose an insert?
No. Two inserts show 5.0 from one rating. On the wired 500 mm insert that review is a refund for the wrong size, not a comment on the flame. One review is not a quality score, and fewer than 10 ratings caps the star part of the score. Five inserts have no rating line. Gosford’s 590 ratings and the Bayport’s 120 ratings are the samples you can actually weigh.
When do you need an electrician?
A plug-in stove on an existing socket is a different job from a new circuit, a new consumer unit, or work in a bathroom. Those need a qualified electrician. The 500 mm insert that states no heat also says it must be wired. Unplug and get help for a damaged plug, a burning smell or a tripping breaker, and do not open the heater. A portable heater should have a UK 3-pin plug, and it is a poor overnight habit. Keep it clear of curtains.
What if you want burning wood instead of mist?
These listings do not burn wood, so they are not a flue or a log burner. Smoke-control rules and a Defra exemption apply to fuel-burning stoves, not to this electric mist. A wood stove is a different comparison in this hub. Those listings are on the wood stove page.

Our verdict

Twelve amazon.co.uk listings, checked on 15 October 2026, split into five Dimplex Optimyst stoves and seven inserts. The Gosford is the top pick at about £639 because it is 4.4 from 590 reviews, with fan noise and a one-year warranty unless you register still part of the judgement. The Bayport is the best value at about £419, 4.0 from 120 reviews, with a stated 2 kW heater. Inserts under £230 have no review line, or a single review, so the lower sticker does not take that place. Measure the hearth or the opening before you order. Nothing here was laboratory tested.

Best overall
3D water-vapour insert 500 mm

3D water-vapour insert 500 mm

View offer
Best value
Dimplex Bayport Optimyst

Dimplex Bayport Optimyst

About £419, 4.0 from 120 reviews, and a stated 2 kW heater you can leave off.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - DIY & tools editor
DIY & tools editor
Fireplaces and stovesElectric stovesUK product listings

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Guides to water vapour fireplaces

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources and the Dimplex care sheet, read with the amazon.co.uk listings on 15 October 2026.

  1. Dimplex Optimyst collection (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  2. Dimplex Fortrose Optimyst electric stove (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  3. Dimplex Optimyst maintenance guide (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  4. Approved Document J: combustion appliances and fuel storage (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  5. Smoke control area rules (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  6. Electrical Equipment (Safety) Regulations 2016, regulation 35 (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  7. Approved Document P: electrical safety in dwellings (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  8. Electrical Safety First: portable heaters (retrieved 15 October 2026)

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are from the UK listings checked on 15 October 2026. We did not laboratory-test a fireplace.