Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. Our editors compare products independently. Some links go to shops, and we may earn a commission. More info
Top pick: GY8PKVWKWQ floating deck Best value: VOUNOT WPC tiles, 16 brown – Sixteen tiles at about £42.99, about £2.69 a tile, if you count pieces and not the 1.0 square metre line. Updated October 2026.
WPC decking is a wood-plastic composite walking surface. In the UK it is sold as composite deck boards, as interlocking tiles, and as small modular platforms. People buy it for a patio, a ground-floor balcony slab or a low garden deck when they want a timber look without annual staining. A 30 cm click tile is not a joist-framed board, and a seller's anti-slip or load sentence is not a test.
A merchant's board still needs joists and clips, so a board price is not a tile-pack price.
Edge strips and pedestal feet alone are accessories. Plastic-only tiles and engineered wood are not this category.
WPC decking is a wood-plastic composite walking surface. In the UK it is sold as composite deck boards, as interlocking tiles, and as small modular platforms.
WPC decking is a wood-plastic composite walking surface. In the UK it is sold as composite deck boards, as interlocking tiles, and as small modular platforms. People buy it for a patio, a ground-floor balcony slab or a low garden deck when they want a timber look without annual staining. A 30 cm click tile is not a joist-framed board, and a seller's anti-slip or load sentence is not a test.
A merchant's board still needs joists and clips, so a board price is not a tile-pack price.
Edge strips and pedestal feet alone are accessories. Plastic-only tiles and engineered wood are not this category.
WPC decking is a wood-plastic composite walking surface. In the UK it is sold as composite deck boards, as interlocking tiles, and as small modular platforms. People buy it for a patio, a ground-floor balcony slab or a low garden deck when they want a timber look without annual staining. A 30 cm click tile is not a joist-framed board, and a seller's anti-slip or load sentence is not a test. A merchant's board still needs joists and clips, so a board price is not a tile-pack price. Edge strips and pedestal feet alone are accessories. Plastic-only tiles and engineered wood are not this category.
The GY8PKVWKWQ listing is one floating deck at 80 x 80 x 25 cm and 20 kg, priced at £361.01. The material line says Acacia, while the bullets describe a metal frame and an imitation-wood panel, so the page names both a timber species and a composite. amazon.co.uk shows 5.0 from 1 review, and that review says the pictures looked like four decks and the box contained one. Adjustable metal feet are claimed, with no range given, and the grass question on the listing is unanswered. One five-star review is not a sample, and a timber name in the material field takes it out of a clean WPC buy. At the highest price in this set, the contradiction is the reason to leave it.
Pros
One stated size, 80 x 80 x 25 cm, at 20 kg
Adjustable metal feet are claimed for uneven ground
The single review states what arrived: one deck
The title includes weather-resistant wording
Cons
The material line says Acacia and the bullets say a metal frame and an imitation-wood panel
5.0 from 1 review, and that review expected four decks
The foot range is not stated
£361.01 for one module, with no load figure
Best for: You already want one 80 cm module and you can check the material before you pay.
Less suitable: You are treating 5.0 from one review as a reason to buy, or you need the material line to say WPC.
The VOUNOT wood set is eleven click-together WPC tiles, each 30 x 30 x 2.2 cm, at £32.99. The listing says they join without glue, screws or tools, and that you can cut them for a corner. amazon.co.uk shows 3.9 from 17 reviews, and the same review text sits on the grey and brown VOUNOT pages, so that figure is one parent rating rather than three separate samples. A review says the tiles come undone unless the surface is properly flat, and the page does not answer whether a base layer is required. The attribute line says waterproof while the bullets say water-resistant, and the unit-count line says 1.0 square metre against about 0.99 square metres from eleven tiles at 0.09 square metres each. There is no stated load, no wet slip figure and no joist chart, so this is a loose cover for a small flat slab, not a framed deck. It is the top pick in this set because it is the only tile pack that states both WPC and a thickness, at the lowest shelf price, with the shared review file and the flatness complaint left in view.
Pros
Eleven 30 x 30 x 2.2 cm WPC tiles at £32.99
Click-fit with no glue, screws or tools, and the listing says they can be cut
Thickness is stated, unlike the grey pack at the same price
Raised grid base and a textured surface are claimed on the bullets
Cons
3.9 from 17 reviews is shared with the grey and brown VOUNOT pages
A review says the tiles undo unless the surface is properly flat
The attribute line says waterproof and the bullets say water-resistant
No stated load and no wet slip figure
Best for: You want a wood-colour click cover for about one square metre of flat balcony, patio or poolside slab, and you can lift the tiles again.
Less suitable: You need a framed deck, a joist chart, a known load, or a base that is not properly flat.
The VOUNOT grey set is eleven interlocking WPC tiles at 30 x 30 cm, weighing 11 kg, for £32.99. The bullets say they click together without glue, screws or tools, and that they can be cut for edges. amazon.co.uk shows 3.9 from 17 reviews, the same parent rating and the same review text as the wood and brown packs. A review says the tiles come undone unless the surface is properly flat, and the listing does not specify a base layer. Thickness is not stated, unlike the wood pack at the same price, which gives 2.2 cm. The unit-count line says 1.0 square metre, which is close to 0.99 square metres if you multiply eleven tiles by 0.09. Water resistance is a bullet, not a test, and there is no load figure.
Pros
Eleven 30 x 30 cm grey WPC tiles at £32.99
Click-fit, and the listing says they can be taken apart and cut
Same shelf price as the wood pack if grey is the colour you want
A raised grid base is claimed for drainage
Cons
Thickness is not stated
The 3.9 from 17 reviews is shared, not a separate sample
A review says the tiles undo unless the surface is properly flat
No stated load
Best for: You want grey click tiles for a small flat slab and you can accept a missing thickness.
Less suitable: You need a stated thickness, a framed deck, or an independent review file.
The VOUNOT brown set is sixteen 30 x 30 cm WPC tiles at £42.99, with a listed weight of 16 kg. They click together without glue, screws or tools, and the listing says they can be cut. Sixteen tiles cover about 1.44 square metres, which is about £2.69 a tile against about £3.00 for an eleven-tile pack. The same page also says 1.0 square metre, so the area line and the tile count do not agree. amazon.co.uk shows 3.9 from 17 reviews, shared with the grey and wood listings, and a review says the tiles undo unless the surface is properly flat. Thickness is not stated, and there is no load figure. It is the best value in this set only if you count tiles and ignore the square-metre line.
Pros
Sixteen tiles at £42.99, about £2.69 each if you buy the count
About 1.44 square metres from the tile count, more cover than eleven tiles
Click-fit WPC, and the listing says the tiles can be cut
A lower price per tile than the £32.99 eleven-tile packs
Cons
The page also says 1.0 square metre, which fights the sixteen-tile count
Thickness is not stated
The 3.9 from 17 reviews is shared, not a separate sample
A review says the tiles undo unless the surface is properly flat
Best for: You want more than about one square metre of brown click tiles and you will count pieces rather than trust the area line.
Less suitable: You need the listing to agree with itself, a stated thickness, or boards on a frame.
The generic campsite platform is listed at £255.99 as a modular WPC panel on a metal frame, with legs the bullets set from 0 to 10 cm. The title says an adjustable height of 4 inches, which is not the same span as 0 to 10 cm. The 84 x 84 cm size appears in the model string only, and the file has no Customer Reviews line. A bullet says the deck can take the weight of vehicles and gives no kilogram figure. The listing asks whether several panels link and does not give a connector count. There is no joist chart, and a tool-free claim is not a measured load. Treat the page as incomplete before you design a campsite floor from it.
Pros
Adjustable legs are claimed, with a bullet range of 0 to 10 cm
The bullets describe a modular build without tools
WPC panels and a metal frame are named
The bullets name a campsite, lawn, patio or temporary event
Cons
No star rating in the file
The size is only in the model string, and the title height fights the leg range
A vehicle sentence has no kilogram figure
The connector count is asked and not answered
Best for: You are comparing seller wording for a small temporary platform and you will not size a floor from this page.
Less suitable: You need one agreed size, a review sample, or a proved vehicle load.
The JCSRYD listing is a raised composite spa deck at £329.99, with feet the bullets set from 17 to 23 cm and a stated load of 300 kg per square metre. The highlight says 33 x 33 in, while the specification table says 10 x 10 x 10 mm and a weight of 50 g, so the page gives two sizes. There is no Customer Reviews line in the file, and there is no test certificate for the load sentence. The bullets say snap-lock assembly without tools, a 2.5 cm board thickness, and feet for concrete, stone, gravel, wood decks or soil. A hot tub needs a structure designed for the filled weight, which this sentence does not provide. You cannot design a surround from a page that does not agree with itself.
Pros
Feet are claimed from 17 to 23 cm
The bullets state a load of 300 kg per square metre
Snap-lock assembly and a 2.5 cm thickness appear in the bullets
The listing names a hot tub, pool or outdoor shower surround
Cons
The highlight and the specification table disagree on size and on the 50 g weight
No star rating in the file, and no certificate for the load
The box contents are not itemised
Two sizes means you cannot order from the page alone
Best for: You are checking a spa-deck advert and you will not order until one size remains on the page.
Less suitable: A hot tub, a balcony slab, or any job that needs one agreed platform size.
The listing says the feet adjust individually from 17 to 23 cm and names concrete, stone, gravel, wood decks and soil. It does not define completely uneven ground.
What load does the listing state?
The bullets state up to 300 kg per square metre, and they mention hot tubs, furniture and planters. There is no test certificate in the file.
How big is one platform?
The highlight says 33 x 33 in. The specification table says 10 x 10 x 10 mm and a weight of 50 g. Both lines are in the listing and they do not match.
How we compared
We scored six amazon.co.uk WPC decking listings saved on 15 October 2026. The editorial score runs from 0 to 100: Amazon stars, review count, listing facts, a read of the review sample, and shelf price, then deductions for a thin or missing review line, a shared parent rating, two sizes on one page, or a material line that names a timber species. It is not a laboratory test of slip, load or BS EN 15534. The five weights below sum to 100. Deductions sit outside those weights.
1
Amazon stars
40%
Nearest integer of (Amazon stars ÷ 5) × 40. Fewer than five reviews caps the star points. No Customer Reviews line scores 0.
2
Review count
15%
A larger amazon.co.uk count scores higher. Under five reviews scores 0 on this part. The three VOUNOT colours share one parent rating of 17.
3
Listing facts
27%
Material, plan size and thickness, and how the tiles or platform fit. The working sheet scored this out of 25. The published weight is 27 so the five parts sum to 100.
4
Review sample
10%
A shared parent rating with one concrete complaint, or one review that states a concrete problem. No review text scores 0.
5
Shelf price
8%
The cheapest shelf price in the set scores full marks. A price more than £100 above that scores low. The working sheet used 8 points.
Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
8 sources checked
WPC decking buying guide
Separate a click tile from a framed board and from a platform before you compare a price. The checks follow the six listings: job, material, coverage, consent, then the evidence on the page. The [WPC decking buying guide](/hub/fencing-and-wire/wpc-decking/sub/wpc-decking-buying-guide) sets those checks out on their own. This page ranks the products. A seller's anti-slip line and a load sentence are not tests.
What is WPC decking?
WPC decking is a wood-plastic composite walking surface. In UK shops it appears as composite deck boards, as interlocking tiles, and as small modular platforms. People choose it for a patio, a ground-floor balcony slab or a low garden deck when they want a timber look without annual staining. A 30 cm click tile is not a joist-framed board. Edge strips and pedestal feet alone are accessories. Plastic-only tiles and engineered wood are not this category.
Best for
Renters and flat owners with a solid balcony or patio slab
A small flat area you want to click down and lift again
Householders who will buy boards, clips and joists for a low framed deck
Not ideal for
A hot tub on a new platform without a structure designed for the filled weight
A deck tied to the house, or a fall someone could take
A listing that gives two sizes, or a material line that names a timber species
Mistakes to avoid
1
One pack for a whole patio
Eleven 30 cm tiles are about 0.99 m². Sixteen are 1.44 m². One 16-tile page also says 1.0 square metre. Measure the slab and count pieces. Do not trust the lifestyle photo.
2
Tiles on a base that rocks
A review on the VOUNOT pages says the tiles undo unless the surface is properly flat. The listings do not specify a base layer. A click tile is not a joist-framed board.
3
A load sentence treated as a test
None of these listings publishes a wet slip figure or a BS EN 15534 pass. A 300 kg per square metre line, or a vehicle sentence with no kilogram figure, is seller wording. A hot tub needs a structure designed for the filled weight.
What to weigh up
Job, material and coverage
High
Start with the job, because a tile, a board and a platform are not the same purchase. Tiles sit on a flat existing base. Boards need a subframe and that board's joist chart, often about 300 mm centres in UK retail guides. Platforms are a complete small module with feet. Renters and flat owners with a solid balcony or patio slab, who want a click surface they can lift, are the tile buyers. Householders building a low framed deck must buy boards, clips and joists.
Consent and listing evidence
High
Stars, review counts and prices on this page come from the amazon.co.uk listing saved on 15 October 2026. No BS EN 15534 report and no TDCA approval number appears on these listings. Two sizes on one page means you cannot design from that page. BS EN 15534-4:2014 covers external WPC profiles and tiles. Part 5 is cladding, so a board is not a rainscreen approval. Anti-slip wording, a 300 kg per square metre sentence, and a vehicle claim have not been tested here.
Which option suits you?
Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.
🏠
Balcony or patio slab
You want a wood-colour click cover for about one square metre of flat slab, and you can lift the tiles again. This pack states 2.2 cm. The 3.9 from 17 reviews is shared with the other VOUNOT colours, and a review says the tiles undo unless the surface is properly flat.
You want more than about one square metre of brown click tiles and you will count pieces rather than the area line. Sixteen tiles are about 1.44 m² at about £42.99. The same page also says 1.0 square metre. Thickness is not stated.
You want grey click tiles for a small flat slab and you can accept a missing thickness. The grey pack is about £32.99, the same shelf price as the wood set, which does state 2.2 cm.
The top pick is the VOUNOT wood pack: eleven interlocking WPC tiles at 30 × 30 × 2.2 cm, about £32.99. It is the only tile pack here that states both WPC and a thickness, at the lowest shelf price. amazon.co.uk shows 3.9 from 17 reviews, shared with the grey and brown VOUNOT pages, so that is one parent rating. A review says the tiles undo unless the surface is properly flat. There is no wet slip figure.
How much does WPC decking cost on amazon.co.uk?
On 15 October 2026 the WPC tile packs in this comparison were about £32.99 for eleven VOUNOT tiles and about £42.99 for sixteen brown tiles. The modular platforms were about £255.99, £329.99 and £361.01. Those are different products. A merchant's composite board is context only: add joists and clips before you compare a board price with a tile pack. Supplier ranges of about £37 to £92 per square metre are their own guides, not these listings.
What should I check before I buy WPC decking?
Check the job first. Tiles sit on a flat base. Boards need a subframe and a joist chart. Platforms are a small module with feet. Then check a wood-plastic claim, the tile count against the area line, and whether the page gives one size. A 30 cm square is 0.09 m². Eleven tiles are about 0.99 m² and sixteen are 1.44 m². No listing in this set shows a BS EN 15534 report.
Are click tiles the same as composite deck boards?
No. A 30 cm click tile is a loose cover for a small flat slab. Extruded composite boards sit on a treated timber or metal frame, and you buy clips and joists as well as the boards. UK retail guides often cite about 300 mm joist centres, and that chart belongs to the board you buy. Do not copy timber joist spacing onto composite boards, and do not close the expansion gap.
Do I need planning permission for a garden deck?
In England a garden deck over 0.3 m, and any balcony, sits outside the usual householder permitted-development rights for decking. Those rights also limit the garden area and the principal elevation. Wales has its own decking page, including a side-to-highway limit. Scotland allows a floor of 0.5 m and 2.5 m overall with a rail. Northern Ireland is separate, so do not copy the English 30 cm figure. Flats, listed buildings and Article 4 directions change the answer.
Has the anti-slip or load claim been tested?
No. None of these listings publishes a wet pendulum value, a fire class or a BS EN 15534 pass. A wet PTV of 36 or more is the low-slip threshold the Timber Decking and Cladding Association cites from the Health and Safety Executive. An anti-slip line, a maintenance-free line, 300 kg per square metre, or a sentence about vehicles is seller wording. A hot tub needs a structure designed for the filled weight.
When should I call a professional?
Call a professional if the deck is tied to the house, if someone could fall, if a hot tub will sit on it, or if the house is listed or in a protected landscape. Stop if the listing gives two sizes. A fall over 600 mm at a dwelling deck brings Approved Document K guarding in, including 1100 mm at an external balcony. A failing fence is a different job: see when a garden fence needs a professional.
Our verdict
Across these six amazon.co.uk listings, the top pick is the VOUNOT wood set of eleven tiles, 30 × 30 × 2.2 cm, at about £32.99. It is the only tile pack here that states both WPC and a thickness, at the lowest shelf price. The 3.9 from 17 reviews is one parent rating shared with the grey and brown pages, and a review says the tiles undo unless the surface is properly flat. The best value is the VOUNOT brown set of sixteen tiles at about £42.99, about £2.69 a tile, only if you count the tiles and ignore the 1.0 square metre line on the same page. The three platforms cost about £255.99 to £361.01 and contradict themselves on size, height or material, so they are not a floor you can design from.
WPC deckingGarden decks and patiosamazon.co.uk listings
Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.
Updated: October 2026
8 sources checked
Guides to WPC decking
Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.
This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are the UK listing lines. We did not run a lab test.