Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

WPC decking for a balcony you can lift

Updated: October 2026

You might mean a slab outside the kitchen door, or a platform two floors up. WPC decking for a balcony is a click cover only on the first. An upper floor is a consent and guarding question before it is a tile question. The [WPC decking comparison](/hub/fencing-and-wire/wpc-decking) ranks the six listings. This page is one site: a solid slab you may cover and later lift. Products Compared used amazon.co.uk pages from 15 October 2026. We did not test a balcony. A qualifying purchase through our links can earn a commission at no extra cost to you.

You might mean a slab outside the kitchen door, or a platform two floors up. WPC decking for a balcony is a click cover only on the first. An upper floor is a consent and guarding question before it is a tile question.

Our top picks

VOUNOT VOUNOT WPC tiles, 11 wood

Best overall

VOUNOT VOUNOT WPC tiles, 11 wood
5.6/10about £32.99
VOUNOT VOUNOT WPC tiles, 11 grey

Alternative

VOUNOT VOUNOT WPC tiles, 11 grey
5.5/10about £32.99
VOUNOT VOUNOT WPC tiles, 16 brown

Preis-Tipp

VOUNOT VOUNOT WPC tiles, 16 brown
4.9/10about £42.99
On this page

A slab you can lift

On a solid slab you may cover and later lift, click tiles are the decking. The VOUNOT packs are named for a balcony or patio and they click without glue or screws, so they can come up again. A 30 cm tile is 0.09 square metres. Eleven tiles are about 0.99 square metres, a threshold rather than a terrace. Sixteen brown tiles are about 1.44 square metres if you count them, and that page also says 1.0 square metre. They need a flat surface. A review says they undo unless it is. Do not cover the outlet. Thickness is 2.2 cm on the wood pack and not stated on the grey pack. If the flags rock, stop.

When balcony means permission

In England, balconies and raised platforms often need planning permission. A Juliet balcony with no platform is the usual exception. The 30 cm garden-deck figure is for houses, and it is not a permit for an upper floor, nor the rule in Scotland or Northern Ireland. Ask before you treat a loose cover as exempt. Those national deck heights are on the WPC decking buying guide. Flats are the gap the adverts skip. GOV.WALES says householder decking limits apply to houses, not flats. Listed buildings and Article 4 directions change the answer. Neighbours’ privacy is one reason a new platform is looked at. Loose tiles on a ground-floor slab are not automatically exempt. If you are upstairs, stop until the lease and the elevation have been checked.
VOUNOT VOUNOT WPC tiles, 11 wood

Testsieger

VOUNOT VOUNOT WPC tiles, 11 wood
5.6/10about £32.99

The lease, the drain and the rail

Planning permission is not the only gate. The Leasehold Advisory Service explains that written landlord consent can still be required when the lease says so, even if the tiles only lie on top. The lease, not the tile, decides what you may change. One City of London housing pack refuses decking on balconies. That is one landlord’s list, not the law of England. A surface you add can become your repair if it blocks drainage or damages the waterproof membrane. Leave the outlet visible. If you cannot see where the water goes, do not cover the slab. Approved Document K, for dwellings in England, says you guard a fall of more than 600 mm, with 1100 mm at an external balcony for a single-family dwelling. Tiles do not add that rail. Do not state that English document as Scottish planning law. A product title that contains the word balcony is not an approval for an upper floor.

What to buy for that slab

If the slab is flat, draining, and yours to cover without a fixing, the eleven-tile packs at about £32.99 are the fit. The wood pack states WPC and 2.2 cm. The grey pack does not state thickness. The brown sixteen-pack covers more only if you count tiles and ignore the 1.0 square metre line. The best WPC decking page sets the top pick and the best value. Sixteen tiles for a threshold wastes the pack. Leave the platforms. The spa deck states two sizes. The campsite deck claims vehicles with no figure. The floating deck names Acacia. Buy the wood pack when the slab passes the checks. Buy nothing if you are upstairs, the lease is unread, or the outlet would disappear.

Cover the slab, or stop upstairs

If the balcony is a flat ground-floor slab you can lift, the wood eleven-pack is the fit. If you are upstairs, the lease is unread, or someone could fall, buy nothing yet. A title that says balcony is not consent, and tiles do not add a rail.

Common questions

Can click tiles go on a balcony slab?
Yes, if the slab is firm, flat, clean and draining, and you are allowed to cover it without screws. The VOUNOT listings name balconies and say the tiles click without glue. Eleven tiles are about 0.99 square metres. A review says they undo unless the surface is properly flat. Keep the outlet clear. Do not treat a rocking slab as a mallet problem.
What if the balcony is upstairs rather than a patio outside a house?
Then it is a consent and guarding question, not a tile question. In England, balconies and raised platforms usually need planning permission. A Juliet balcony with no platform is the common exception. Householder decking limits do not apply to flats. A product title that says balcony is not that permission.
Do I need planning permission for tiles that are not fixed down?
Loose tiles on an existing ground-floor slab are not the same project as a new upper-floor platform, and they are not automatically exempt. Balconies usually need permission in England. Flats sit outside householder decking rights. Listed buildings and Article 4 directions change the answer. Ask before you cover a structure that is part of the building.
Does my lease still matter if I am not screwing into the slab?
Yes. The Leasehold Advisory Service notes that landlord consent can be required when the lease says so, even if the tiles only lie on top. One City of London housing pack refuses balcony decking. That pack is not national law. Your lease is the document that applies to you.
How high should balcony guarding be, and does a tile change that?
In England, Approved Document K says you guard a dwelling where people can fall more than 600 mm. External balcony guarding for a single-family dwelling is 1100 mm from finished floor level. Tiles do not add that rail. Wales uses the same guarding idea in building control. If someone could fall, stop.
Which pack in this set fits a small flat slab, and which should I leave?
The wood eleven-pack, at about £32.99, states WPC and 2.2 cm for about 0.99 square metres. Grey is the same price without a stated thickness. Leave the three platforms, and leave the tiles entirely if the balcony is an upper floor, the drain would be covered, or the lease has not been read.

Related pages

Sources

Public UK sources for planning, guarding and the WPC decking standard. Listing prices and stars are from amazon.co.uk on 15 October 2026.

  1. Planning Portal — decking planning permission (England) (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  2. GOV.UK — permitted development rights for householders: technical guidance (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  3. GOV.WALES — planning permission for decking (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  4. mygov.scot — add decking to your house (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  5. Approved Document K — protection from falling, collision and impact (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  6. Dorset Council — when a deck is inside the Building Regulations (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  7. BSI BS EN 15534-4:2014 — WPC decking profiles and tiles (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  8. TDCA — what to know about composite WPC decking (retrieved 15 October 2026)