Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Cordless drill for brick

Updated: 22 October 2026

You need a few plug holes in an ordinary brick wall, and the drill in the cupboard only spins. A cordless drill for brick, in this comparison, means a combi with a stated hammer and a carbide masonry bit. A drill-driver will not make those holes properly. An SDS rotary hammer is outside the [Brushless cordless drill comparison](/hub/drilling-and-accessories/brushless-cordless-drill). Listings from 19 October 2026 and Homebuilding’s drilling advice were used. Nobody drilled a test wall, and no joule figure was invented. Prices move. A qualifying purchase can earn a commission at no extra cost to you.

You need a few plug holes in an ordinary brick wall, and the drill in the cupboard only spins. A cordless drill for brick, in this comparison, means a combi with a stated hammer and a carbide masonry bit.

Our top picks

On this page

What ordinary brick needs

Ordinary brick and block can be a combi job. The hammer is a ratchet that pulses the bit. An SDS tool uses a piston, and it is the machine for engineering brick, a concrete lintel, and holes a combi will not advance. BS EN 62841-2-1 does not cover rotary hammers. You need a hammer the listing states, and a tungsten-carbide masonry bit. A bit in the box is not a hammer. The BETENST kit includes masonry bits and still does not state a hammer mode. Leaning on a drill-driver can polish a shiny dimple. Use the higher gear if the drill has two, and keep a light feed. Clutch numbers for screws stay on the how to use page.

The hole and the plug

Match the bit to the plug packet, not to a screw from a jar. Homebuilding’s example is a typical 6 mm plug, a 6 mm masonry bit and about a 4–5 mm screw. The packet wins when it prints a different diameter. Drill a little deeper than the plug is long, and clear the dust, or the plug sits proud or spins. Writers disagree on the millimetre where a combi should give way to an SDS tool, from about 8 mm to about 10 mm and higher. This page does not pick one millimetre as a law. If the bit stalls, stop. Do not lean harder. Kit and voltage still sit on the buying guide.

Which drills in this set state a hammer

Hammer is stated on five listings. The LEEIKOO at about £32.20 names screw, drill and hammer, 45 Nm, a 10 mm chuck and two 2.0 Ah batteries. One UK review says it drilled a wall with ease. That is not a capacity for engineering brick. KELNOW at about £45.99 names hammer drill and 60 Nm, and the amp-hour is not in the table. The Ginour at about £55.99 names impact drilling for masonry, 50 Nm, and UK reviews mention brick beside 4.4 from 2,216 reviews. The WORX WX355.1 at about £89.00 names impact drill, 55 Nm and a 13 mm chuck. The WORX Nitro at about £208.15 names Active Hammer Technology and is bare. UK reviews praise it on brick and also describe early failures. Who should skip that price is on the best brushless cordless drill page. Hammer is unclear on both Bosch GSB 18V-65 rows. It is not stated on the LEEIKOO at about £25.23, the BETENST at about £25.99, or the CEEIGOO, whose warm tip says there is no hammer mode.

When you stop

Stop for engineering brick, a concrete lintel, or many large holes. Those jobs want an SDS rotary hammer, which this comparison does not sell. Stop when you do not know the route of cables or pipes. If the bit has stopped, stop with it. If the drill is work equipment, the Control of Vibration at Work Regulations 2005 set an action value of 2.5 m/s² A(8) and a limit of 5 m/s² A(8). None of these listings states a vibration magnitude. KickBack Control on a Bosch listing does not fill in a missing hammer line. A stated hammer on an about £32.20 kit is permission to try ordinary brick, not a promise about concrete.

Common questions

Can a drill-driver make a plug hole in brick?
No. The bit can polish the face. The LEEIKOO at about £25.23 and the BETENST at about £25.99 do not state a hammer, and the BETENST’s masonry bits do not change that.
What does hammer mode need besides the switch?
A carbide bit of the diameter on the plug packet, and ordinary brick or block. Use the higher gear and light pressure. If you are leaning hard, the bit is blunt or the wall is beyond a combi. The clutch is for screws.
What size masonry bit matches a common plug?
Homebuilding’s example is a 6 mm plug, a 6 mm masonry bit and about a 4–5 mm screw. Follow the packet if it differs. Drill slightly deeper than the plug and clear the dust.
Which listings in this set state a hammer, and which do not?
Stated: LEEIKOO about £32.20, KELNOW about £45.99, Ginour about £55.99, WORX WX355.1 about £89.00, and the bare WORX Nitro about £208.15. Unclear: both Bosch GSB rows. Not stated: LEEIKOO about £25.23, BETENST about £25.99, and CEEIGOO about £36.99.
When do you stop and move to an SDS tool?
Stop for engineering brick, a concrete lintel, or many large holes. Do not treat 8 mm or 10 mm as a cutoff. These combis were not measured in joules. If the bit stalls, stop. BS EN 62841-2-1 does not cover an SDS tool.
Does a UK review that drilled brick add a hammer mode the listing denies?
No. A CEEIGOO review describes a brick hole, and the warm tip still says there is no hammer mode. One LEEIKOO review of a wall supports that hammer kit only.
Is there a vibration figure you can use for a full day at work?
No. None of these listings states a vibration magnitude. The action value is 2.5 m/s² A(8) and the limit is 5 m/s² A(8), and you cannot calculate either from these pages.

Related pages

Sources

Public UK sources from the research digest, last checked on 19 October 2026. Shelf prices and star lines are the amazon.co.uk figures in the display file.

  1. Which?: how to buy the best cordless drill (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  2. BSI: BS EN 62841-2-1 hand-held drills and impact drills (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  3. GOV.UK: Electrical Equipment (Safety) Regulations 2016 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  4. HSE: hand-arm vibration responsibilities (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  5. Control of Vibration at Work Regulations 2005 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  6. HSE: PUWER overview (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  7. NFCC: lithium-ion batteries (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  8. London Fire Brigade: batteries and chargers (retrieved 19 October 2026)