Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

ABUS Diskus buying guide

Updated: October 2026

You have a round ABUS lock in mind and a hasp already on a shed, a side gate or a van door, and the two may never meet. An ABUS Diskus buying guide starts with the gap in millimetres, then the weather, then the attack you are trying to slow. The house security number is last. Shelf prices stay on the [ABUS disc padlock comparison](/hub/door-and-window-security/abus-disc-padlock). We used the ABUS UK catalogue and those listings, and we did not run a lab test. A qualifying purchase through an amazon.co.uk link can earn a commission at no extra cost to you.

You have a round ABUS lock in mind and a hasp already on a shed, a side gate or a van door, and the two may never meet.

Our top picks

ABUS ABUS Diskus 20/70

Best overall

ABUS ABUS Diskus 20/70
7.0/10about £49.65
ABUS ABUS Diskus 24IB/70

Best value

ABUS ABUS Diskus 24IB/70
6.7/10about £36.00
ABUS ABUS Diskus 24IB/50

Rank 3

ABUS ABUS Diskus 24IB/50
6.4/10about £26.68
On this page

Start with the gap, not the badge

The lock fails if the shackle will not pass the staple. On the 2023 ABUS catalogue, the 24IB/50 is about 8 mm by 13 mm with a 6.5 mm shackle, the 24IB/60 about 13 mm by 16.5 mm with an 8 mm shackle, and the 70 mm bodies about 17 mm by 20 mm with a 10 mm shackle. A staple that needs 17 mm of height will not accept the 50 mm lock. Hasp 140 is for bodies of about 60–80 mm. Measuring is on the how to fit an ABUS disc padlock page.

Four series, four jobs

Weather comes first, because a lock that seizes in salt air is a lock you force. The UK catalogue marks the 24IB marine Yes and Diskus 20 marine No. Stated level 7 is the 50 mm and 60 mm 24IB. Stated level 8 is the 70 mm 24IB and the 26. The top pick, the Diskus 20, is stated level 9, with the ABUS-Plus cylinder in the bullet. The fork is on the 24IB or 26 page. Keyed alike is not stated.
ABUS ABUS Diskus 20/70

Testsieger

ABUS ABUS Diskus 20/70
7.0/10about £49.65

The 50 mm is a different lock

A 24IB/50 is not a shrunken 70 mm. The shackle is 6.5 mm and the vertical gap is about 8 mm. B0001MQR0Y is about £26.68 and shows 4.3 from 715 ratings. B0012IOCIK is about £27.37 and shows 4.4 from 459. The 715 line also appears on the 24IB/60 and the best value 24IB/70. Treat that 715 as one pool. B0012IOCIK also prints 25.4 by 10 by 13.3 cm, which conflicts with a bullet of about 51 by 50 by 25.5 mm. Use the bullet. Do not buy either 50 mm for a staple that needs 17 mm of height.

What the number 8 does not mean

ABUS Home Security runs from 1 to 10. BS EN 12320:2012 grades padlocks from 1 to 6. A stated level 8 does not become CEN grade 3, and level 9 on the 20/70 does not become CEN grade 6. None of these listings states EN 12320 or Sold Secure. The 20/70 lock-type line says combination, while the bullet describes a key cylinder. Which job takes which listing is on the best ABUS Diskus padlock page.

Common questions

Do I start with the security number or the hasp?
Start with the staple or the chain. Measure the height of the opening you need, the width, and the hole the shackle must enter. Then choose the series for weather and for the attack you are slowing. The ABUS 1–10 number describes the house scale on the sheet. It does not tell you whether an 8 mm opening will close on your hasp. A level 9 lock with the wrong gap is a return.
Is the 50 mm 24IB only a smaller 70 mm?
No. The 50 mm uses a 6.5 mm shackle and about 8 mm by 13 mm of clearance. The 70 mm class uses a 10 mm shackle and about 17 mm by 20 mm. The 50 mm and 60 mm 24IB are stated level 7. The 70 mm 24IB is stated level 8. Hasp 140 is described for bodies of about 60–80 mm, so the 50 mm sits outside that note even though the photo is the same round shape.
Which line is for salt air?
The 24IB. The 2023 UK catalogue marks that line marine Yes, with a stainless body, inners and shackle. Diskus 20 is for outdoor use and is marine No, even at stated level 9. The 26 highlight talks about a stainless body and a special-steel shackle, while the attribute block on the same page says hardened steel and zinc. If a stainless shackle is the point, stay on the 24IB and then choose 50, 60 or 70 mm from the gap.
Does level 9 mean CEN grade 6?
No. Home Security 9 and EN 12320 grade 6 are different systems. Sold Secure Diamond is the mark that maps to CEN 6 in the 2025 Sold Secure catalogue, and that mark is not printed on the 20/70 listing in this set. Do not convert 7, 8 or 9 into a CEN grade when you talk to an insurer. Ask what the policy actually names.
Will hasp 140 take a 50 mm disc?
ABUS describes hasp 140 for Diskus bodies of about 60–80 mm. The 24IB/50 is outside that range. A 60 mm or 70 mm body is the size that note is written for. If your staple is already a short eye of about 8 mm, the 50 mm can be the lock, and hasp 140 is the wrong shield to buy for it. Measure first, then match the hasp to the body you kept.
Are these listings keyed alike?
Keyed alike is not stated on these seven ASINs. Each listing is its own key unless the page you are buying says otherwise, and these pages do not. The sheets call the family key-retaining, which means the key stays in the plug while the shackle is open. That is a different fact from having one key that opens the shed, the gate and the garage.

Related pages

Sources

ABUS UK sheets and the 2023 padlock catalogue, Sold Secure’s 2025 catalogue, ProtectUK, and the amazon.co.uk listings for these seven ASINs. Prices stored 19 October 2026.

  1. ABUS UK padlock catalogue 2023 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  2. ABUS UK Diskus 220/70 product sheet (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  3. ABUS UK Diskus 24IB/70 product sheet (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  4. ABUS UK Diskus 20/70 product sheet (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  5. ABUS UK Diskus 26 series (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  6. ABUS UK hasp 140 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  7. Sold Secure Approved Product Catalogue 2025 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  8. ProtectUK: shed and garage door hasps (retrieved 19 October 2026)