Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Mobile air conditioning units comparison 2026

The best mobile air conditioning units, compared.

Top pick: DUXMM 9000 BTU portable Best value: Air Pro AP-E3 7000 BTU – Lowest price among listings with at least 20 reviews, with coherent weight and wattage and the largest review file. Updated 20 October 2026.

A mobile air conditioning unit for a UK home is a monobloc portable: one cabinet on castors, a compressor in the room, and a hose that must send heat outdoors. You usually buy one for a single hot room, often a bedroom or a rented flat, when a fixed split is too permanent or not allowed. A real unit has a refrigerant circuit, a window kit for the window you have, and a weight and wattage that belong to a compressor. The [mobile air conditioning units buying guide](/hub/cooling/mobile-air-conditioning-units/sub/mobile-air-conditioning-units-buying-guide) sets out BTU, window type and those checks. A porta-split keeps the compressor outside and costs more.

A mobile air conditioning unit for a UK home is a monobloc portable: one cabinet on castors, a compressor in the room, and a hose that must send heat outdoors.

DUXMM 9000 BTU portable

Best overall

DUXMM 9000 BTU portable
2.4/10∼ £436

28 products checked · 62 hrs invested · +21,400 readers

8 of 8: Best mobile air conditioning units compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 8
Best overall
DUXMM 9000 BTU portable
iCAN 9000 BTU 5-in-1
Air Pro AP-E6 9000 BTU
Best value
Air Pro AP-E3 7000 BTU
Air Pro AP-E4 12000 BTU
Air Pro AP0502 9000 BTU
Generic Pac-18000
tedheve 12000 BTU listing
2.4/10
7.0/10
6.4/10
6.7/10
5.4/10
2.8/10
1.5/10
1.2/10
∼ £436
∼ £400
∼ £450
∼ £325
∼ £500
∼ £400
∼ £557
∼ £430
5.0(1)
4.3(20)
3.9(62)
3.8(70)
3.8(20)
–
–
–
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best mobile air conditioning units in detail

DUXMM 9000 BTU portable

Rank 1

DUXMM 9000 BTU portable

∼£436

Our view

The DUXMM listing prints 9,000 BTU on the attribute line and also says 7000/9000 in the title, at £435.98 and 19 kg. The star line is 5.0 from one review, and that text mentions a bedroom in a heatwave, a timer, sleep mode, dehumidification, and an exhaust hose that was easy to install. It states no fault. Included parts are the unit, exhaust hose, drain pipe, remote, and manual, so a window panel is not in the box. The bullets say to rest the unit upright for 24 hours before use, and they claim a drop to 16°C in 8–15 minutes under suitable conditions, which that single review does not measure. Wattage, refrigerant, noise, and room size are not stated. One five-star review is not a track record next to the Air Pro files of 20 to 70 reviews. Consider it only if you already have a window seal and you accept that almost every performance line is unreviewed.

Pros

  • 19 kg cabinet with an exhaust hose, drain pipe, and remote in the included line
  • The only review describes a bedroom setup with a timer and sleep mode
  • Bullets say to stand it upright for 24 hours before first use

Cons

  • 5.0 from one review, with no criticism and no second opinion
  • Title prints 7000/9000 BTU while the attribute says 9,000 BTU
  • No window panel in the included components
  • Wattage, noise, refrigerant, and room size are not stated

Best for: You already own a window seal and you are willing to buy a 19 kg hose unit on a single review.

Less suitable: You want a review file you can compare, or you expected a window panel in the box.

Specifications

Model
DUXMM 9000 BTU portable
Brand
DUXMM
Price
∼£436
Customer rating
5.0/5(1)
Cooling capacity
7,000–9,000 BTU
Weight
19 kg
Window kit
No

Common questions

Does the box include a window kit?

Included components are the unit, exhaust hose, drain pipe, remote, and manual. A window panel is not listed. The bullets say the hose must go outdoors.

When can it be switched on?

The bullets say to rest the unit upright for 24 hours before use so the compressor fluids can settle.

How many reviews are on the listing?

The star line is 5.0 from 1 review. That review mentions a bedroom, a timer, sleep mode, dehumidification, and an easy hose.

iCAN 9000 BTU 5-in-1

Rank 2

iCAN 9000 BTU 5-in-1

∼£400

Our view

The iCAN 9,000 BTU 5-in-1 is listed at £399.99 with 4.3 from 20 reviews, the highest star line in this set among listings with at least 20 reviews. The title and bullets include cooling, heating, dehumidifying, fan, and sleep, and reviewers mention using the heat mode as well as the cool mode. One review describes a nursery falling from about 29–30°C to 22°C, and another a 12 ft by 12 ft lounge from 30°C to 20°C. Those are single reports, not a lab test, the 20 m² claim is still the maker’s figure, and listed noise is 55 dB. Reviewers call it quieter than they expected and still not silent, and they say the hose and the mains lead are short, with instructions that forbid an extension lead. Two people were needed to place it, and weight is not printed. The window kit is described as tool-free for sliding windows at 17–53 inches, while the attribute lines cap width and height at 53 cm. On the review rule for this comparison it is the top pick if you want heat as well as cool and you measure the opening yourself.

Pros

  • 4.3 from 20 reviews, the highest star line here with at least 20 reviews
  • Heat, cool, dry, fan, and sleep are listed, and reviews mention heating
  • 55 dB on the box, and reviewers call it quieter than they expected
  • Window kit and remote are named in the bullets, with Wi-Fi and a 24-hour timer

Cons

  • Only 20 reviews, and weight and wattage are not stated
  • Window size is printed as both 53 cm and 17–53 inches
  • Hose and mains lead are called short, and a review says the instructions forbid an extension lead
  • Two people were needed to lift it

Best for: You want 9,000 BTU with a heat mode and you will measure a sliding window before trusting the kit.

Less suitable: You need a large review file, a printed weight, or a casement opening the bullets do not claim to fit.

Specifications

Model
iCAN 9000 BTU 5-in-1
Brand
iCAN
Price
∼£400
Customer rating
4.3/5(20)
Cooling capacity
9,000 BTU
Stated room size
20 m²
Heating
Yes
Window kit
Yes
Listed noise
55 dB
Refrigerant
R290
Wi-Fi
Yes
Energy class
A

Common questions

Does this iCAN unit heat?

Yes. The title and bullets list cooling, heating, dehumidifying, fan, and sleep. A review also mentions heating.

Will the window kit fit every window?

Bullets say a tool-free kit for most horizontal and vertical sliding windows, quoted as 17–53 inches. The attribute lines say a maximum width and height of 53 cm. Those two ranges are not the same.

Can it run on an extension lead?

A review says the instructions forbid an extension lead and mention fire hazards. Wattage and lead length are not stated on the attribute list. Reviews call the hose and the lead short.

Air Pro AP-E6 9000 BTU

Rank 3

Air Pro AP-E6 9000 BTU

∼£450

Our view

The Air Pro AP-E6 is the 9,000 BTU listing at £449.99, stated for 20 m², with 3.9 from 62 reviews. It draws 1,023 W, weighs 23.5 kg, and the page lists 65 dB, Wi-Fi, a 24-hour timer, and 4-way swing. Reviewers describe heatwave cooling in a living room or bedroom, including one household that used it in an elderly parent’s room after adding a separate window seal. Others found the cooling weaker than the 20 m² claim, and one buyer returned it after a kitchen and then a bedroom dropped only a few degrees. Several reviews say Alexa did not connect, and at least one buyer could not pair the app, so the smart-home line is not settled. The hose is described as short, flimsy, or easy to detach, and sleep mode is still loud enough that some people run the unit only before bed. Heating is not stated. It is the step up from the 7,000 BTU Air Pro when the room is larger and you will use the remote if the app fails.

Pros

  • 9,000 BTU listed for 20 m², with 3.9 from 62 reviews
  • Wi-Fi, remote, and 4-way swing are on the listing
  • 23.5 kg and 1,023 W sit with the other Air Pro cabinets
  • Some buyers cooled a living room or bedroom in a heatwave

Cons

  • Alexa failed for reviewers who tried it, and at least one app would not pair
  • Sleep mode is still described as loud
  • Hose called short, flimsy, or easy to detach
  • No heating line, at £449.99

Best for: You want about 9,000 BTU for one room larger than the 7,000 BTU listing’s 15 m² and you can ignore the app if it will not pair.

Less suitable: You are buying mainly for Alexa, or you need the unit quiet enough to sleep beside.

Specifications

Model
Air Pro AP-E6 9000 BTU
Brand
Air Pro
Price
∼£450
Customer rating
3.9/5(62)
Cooling capacity
9,000 BTU
Stated room size
20 m²
Weight
23.5 kg
Wattage
1,023 W
Window kit
Yes
Listed noise
65 dB
Refrigerant
R290
Wi-Fi
Yes
Energy class
A
Dehumidifier capacity
42 litres

Common questions

Does the AP-E6 work with Alexa?

The bullets say Amazon Alexa and Google Home. Several reviews say Alexa did not connect, and at least one buyer could not pair the app.

Is heating included?

Heating is not stated. Listed modes are air conditioning, dehumidifier, sleep, and two fan modes, plus 4-way swing.

What size room does the listing claim?

The listing says 20 m² and 9,000 BTU. Reviews include both strong cooling and buyers who found that claim too high for their room.

Air Pro AP-E3 7000 BTU

Rank 4

Air Pro AP-E3 7000 BTU

∼£325

Our view

The Air Pro AP-E3 is a 7,000 BTU cabinet listed for 15 m², and the amazon.co.uk line is 3.8 from 70 reviews at £324.99. Reviewers who used it in a heatwave often describe cooling in a medium bedroom, while others say a larger living room or a room with a gaming PC stays too warm. The listing prints 65 dB, 785 W and 20 kg, and the same reviews call the noise noticeable over the television and say the unit tends to stay put once the window is sealed. Bullets mention kits for sliding and hinged windows, but reviewers report the supplied kit failing on casement windows and on inward or outward opening doors, and some received only one kit. One buyer reports a bedroom still at 24°C after an hour with the display toward 18°C, and another unit blew no cold air and arrived with cuts in the power cable. Heating is not stated. In this set it is the best value when you want the lowest price among listings with at least 20 reviews and a smaller closed room, and a poor match if the only opening is a casement you have not sealed another way.

Pros

  • 7,000 BTU listed for 15 m² at £324.99, the lowest price here with at least 20 reviews
  • 70 reviews, the largest file in this set, at 3.8 stars
  • Remote, Wi-Fi, and a window kit are on the listing, with a 24-hour timer
  • 20 kg and 785 W, in the band of the other compressor cabinets

Cons

  • Reviews say the supplied kit often fails on casement and hinged openings
  • 65 dB listed, and reviewers call the noise noticeable over a television
  • No heating line, and the hose is too short for some layouts
  • One report of no cold air and a cut power cable

Best for: You want a 7,000 BTU unit for a smaller closed room and the lowest price in this set among listings with 20 or more reviews.

Less suitable: Your only opening is a casement or a hinged door, or you need a heat mode.

Specifications

Model
Air Pro AP-E3 7000 BTU
Brand
Air Pro
Price
∼£325
Customer rating
3.8/5(70)
Cooling capacity
7,000 BTU
Stated room size
15 m²
Weight
20 kg
Wattage
785 W
Window kit
Yes
Listed noise
65 dB
Refrigerant
R290
Wi-Fi
Yes
Energy class
A
Dehumidifier capacity
36 litres

Common questions

Does the Air Pro AP-E3 include a window kit?

The listing includes a remote and a window kit, and the bullets mention kits for sliding and hinged windows. Reviews say the supplied kit often does not suit casement or hinged openings.

Does it heat as well as cool?

Heating is not stated. The modes in the listing are air conditioning, dehumidifier, sleep, and two fan modes.

How loud is it, and how heavy?

The listing says 65 dB and 20 kg. Reviews call the noise noticeable and say the unit stays in one room once the window is sealed.

Air Pro AP-E4 12000 BTU

Rank 5

Air Pro AP-E4 12000 BTU

∼£500

Our view

The Air Pro AP-E4 is the 12,000 BTU unit at £499.99, stated for 30 m², with 3.8 from 20 reviews. It weighs 26 kg, draws 1,025 W, and lists 65 dB, Wi-Fi, three fan modes, and a window kit with a maximum opening width of 125.5 cm. Reviewers who liked it describe stronger cooling than other mobile units they had used, including heatwave relief in a ground-floor living room and a bedroom. The same file calls it extremely loud, including over a television and in sleep mode, and one review describes a bang when the compressor switches off at the set temperature. More than one review describes water from seals, and one buyer stopped using the unit because of a leak. Another says the panel and remote failed, leaving the app as the only control. Heating is not stated. The extra BTU is the reason to look at it for a hotter single room, though 20 reviews and the leak pattern make it a narrower bet than the cheaper 7,000 BTU Air Pro.

Pros

  • 12,000 BTU listed for 30 m², with a window kit and a stated maximum opening of 125.5 cm
  • Some reviewers report stronger cooling than other mobile units they had used
  • Wi-Fi, remote, and a 24-hour timer are on the listing
  • 26 kg and 1,025 W, consistent with a compressor cabinet

Cons

  • Reviews call it extremely loud, including in sleep mode, with a bang when the compressor stops
  • More than one review describes water leaking from seals
  • Only 20 reviews, at £499.99, and no heating line
  • 26 kg is a two-floor lift, and the hose is still called a little short

Best for: You need the 12,000 BTU step for one hotter room and you can live with 65 dB on the box plus the leak reports in a 20-review file.

Less suitable: You want overnight quiet, or you are choosing on price against the 7,000 BTU Air Pro.

Specifications

Model
Air Pro AP-E4 12000 BTU
Brand
Air Pro
Price
∼£500
Customer rating
3.8/5(20)
Cooling capacity
12,000 BTU
Stated room size
30 m²
Weight
26 kg
Wattage
1,025 W
Window kit
Yes
Listed noise
65 dB
Refrigerant
R290
Wi-Fi
Yes
Energy class
A
Dehumidifier capacity
50 litres

Common questions

Is the AP-E4 quiet enough for a bedroom?

The listing says 65 dB. Reviews call it extremely loud, including in sleep mode, and one describes a bang when the compressor switches off.

Does the listing include heating?

Heating is not stated. Modes are air conditioning, dehumidifier, sleep, and three fan modes.

Do reviews mention water leaks?

Yes. More than one review describes water from seals or leaks, and one buyer stopped using the unit because of it.

Air Pro AP0502 9000 BTU

Rank 6

Air Pro AP0502 9000 BTU

∼£400

Our view

The Air Pro AP0502 is listed at £399.99 as a 9,000 BTU unit with heat and Wi-Fi, stated for 26 m², at 25.5 kg and 1,023 W. Included parts are a hose and an installation kit, and the bullets also name a window slide bar, an adapter, and a remote. Listed noise is 65 dB, the energy class line says A, and the dehumidifier figure is 56 litres. There is no customer-review line, so none of that has a star count behind it. Annual energy is printed as 2,949 kWh per year beside 1,023 W, which is a hard pair of figures to reconcile, and the operating-mode attribute says Cooling while the title and bullets list heat. Refrigerant is not stated. It is the heat-and-cool Air Pro in the set if you accept a buy with no reviews. The iCAN at the same £399.99 has 4.3 from 20 reviews and a stated heat mode, which is the file to read first if you want both functions and some buyer comments.

Pros

  • 9,000 BTU with heat and Wi-Fi listed, at 25.5 kg and 1,023 W
  • Hose and installation kit are in the included components
  • Same £399.99 shelf as the iCAN, with a stated 26 m²

Cons

  • No star line and no review text
  • 2,949 kWh per year is printed beside 1,023 W
  • Operating-mode attribute says Cooling while the bullets list heat
  • 65 dB listed, and refrigerant is not stated

Best for: You want an Air Pro cabinet with a heat mode and you have already compared it with the reviewed iCAN at the same price.

Less suitable: You want buyer comments before you pay £399.99, or you need the 70-review file on the 7,000 BTU Air Pro.

Specifications

Model
Air Pro AP0502 9000 BTU
Brand
Air Pro
Price
∼£400
Cooling capacity
9,000 BTU
Stated room size
26 m²
Weight
25.5 kg
Wattage
1,023 W
Heating
Yes
Window kit
Yes
Listed noise
65 dB
Wi-Fi
Yes
Energy class
A
Dehumidifier capacity
56 litres

Common questions

Does the AP0502 heat?

Yes. The title, bullets, and special features list heating as well as cooling, dry, and fan. The operating-mode attribute says Cooling only.

Is an exhaust hose included?

Yes. Included components are a hose and an installation kit. Bullets also name a window slide bar, an adapter, and a remote.

Is there a star rating?

The listing has no customer-review line. Listed noise is 65 dB and weight is 25.5 kg. Annual energy is printed as 2,949 kWh per year beside 1,023 W.

Generic Pac-18000

Rank 7

Generic Pac-18000

∼£557

Our view

The generic Pac-18000 listing asks £556.99 and puts 18,000 BTU in the title, a stated area of 50 m², and an application line of about 45–55 square with the unit cut off, plus 550 sq ft in the bullets. The cooling-power attribute then says 1650 Kilowatts beside a wattage of 1,650 W, which is not the same claim. There is no customer-review line and no review text. One line says no outdoor unit is required and another says it is compatible with an existing outdoor unit, while the included parts are an exhaust hose and the unit. Class A+++ is printed with SEER 2.6, and those two figures do not sit on the same scale. Listed noise is 55 dB and the refrigerant line is R290, but weight and dimensions are missing. A window kit is mentioned in the bullets and is not on the included-components line. Until the page agrees with itself, you cannot tell which machine would arrive.

Pros

  • Exhaust hose is named in the included components
  • R290 and 1,650 W are printed, which at least look like a compressor portable
  • 55 dB is listed, lower than the 65 dB Air Pro boxes

Cons

  • Cooling power is printed as both 18,000 BTU and 1650 Kilowatts
  • Outdoor-unit lines contradict each other
  • A+++ is printed beside SEER 2.6
  • No star line, no weight, and no window kit on the included line

Best for: You are only using this row to see how a conflicting 18,000 BTU listing reads against the cabinets with reviews.

Less suitable: You need a single agreed capacity, a review file, or a window kit that is actually listed in the box.

Specifications

Model
Generic Pac-18000
Brand
Generic
Price
∼£557
Cooling capacity
18,000 BTU
Stated room size
50 m²
Wattage
1,650 W
Listed noise
55 dB
Refrigerant
R290
Energy class
A+++

Common questions

Is the cooling power 18,000 BTU or 1,650 kW?

The title says 18,000 BTU. The cooling-power attribute says 1650 Kilowatts, and the wattage line says 1,650 watts. Those are not the same claim.

Does it need an outdoor unit?

One line says no outdoor unit is required. Another says it is compatible with an existing outdoor unit. The included parts are an exhaust hose and the unit.

Is there an amazon.co.uk star rating?

The listing has no customer-review line and no review text.

tedheve 12000 BTU listing

Rank 8

tedheve 12000 BTU listing

∼£430

Our view

The tedheve listing is priced at £430 and the title says 12,000 BTU with heating, a stated 25 m², 50 dB, and class A+++. The same page prints 4.5 kg, 75 watts, dimensions of 68 x 28 x 33 cm, and annual energy of 75 Kilowatts. A compressor portable in this set otherwise weighs about 19–26 kg and draws roughly 800–1,650 W, so those figures do not describe the same kind of machine. There is no customer-review line and no review text. The included-components line says a power cord. An exhaust hose and a window kit are not on that line, while the control method says remote and the remote itself is not listed as included. The operating-mode attribute says Cooling even though the title lists heat. Treat the page as a conflict, not as a 12,000 BTU buy, until the weight and the wattage match a refrigerant cabinet.

Pros

  • The title names 12,000 BTU, a stated 25 m², and a 50 dB line
  • A one-year manufacturer warranty is printed
  • The price, £430, sits in the middle of this set

Cons

  • 4.5 kg and 75 W are printed beside a 12,000 BTU title
  • No star line and no review text
  • Included components list a power cord, not a hose or a window kit
  • Heating appears in the title, while the operating-mode attribute says Cooling

Best for: You are checking whether a light, low-watt listing belongs in a portable air-conditioner comparison.

Less suitable: You want a 19–26 kg compressor unit with a hose and a review file.

Specifications

Model
tedheve 12000 BTU listing
Brand
tedheve
Price
∼£430
Cooling capacity
12,000 BTU
Stated room size
25 m²
Weight
4.5 kg
Wattage
75 W
Window kit
No
Listed noise
50 dB
Energy class
A+++
Dehumidifier capacity
10 litres

Common questions

Is this a 12,000 BTU compressor unit?

The title says 12,000 BTU. The same listing says 4.5 kg, 75 watts, and dimensions of 68 x 28 x 33 cm. Those figures are printed as-is and conflict with the other compressor portables in this set.

What is in the box?

The included-components line says a power cord. An exhaust hose, a window kit, and a remote are not on that line. Control method is listed as remote.

Does it have reviews?

The saved listing has no customer-review line and no review text.

How we compared

Headline scores run from 0 to 100 and are not a lab test. Prices and stars are the amazon.co.uk figures on each listing. Four blocks make the score before deductions: stars up to 42 points, but only with at least 20 reviews; review confidence up to 12; spec integrity up to 18; task fit up to 16. Those blocks total 88. The weights below scale them to 100. Price is not inside the headline score, and the best-value badge is awarded separately. Deductions cover a window size printed in both centimetres and inches, reviews that the included kit fails on casement or hinged openings, Alexa or app pairing failures, leak reports, extreme sleep-mode noise, no star line, a single review, and annual energy that cannot sit beside the wattage.

1

Amazon stars

48%

Only listings with at least 20 reviews score this block, as (stars / 5) times 42 on the raw scale. A 5.0 from one review scores 0 here. The iCAN 4.3 from 20 is the strongest qualifying star line in the set.

2

Review confidence

14%

Fifty or more reviews take the top of this block, 20 to 49 reviews a step down, one to 19 reviews a small score, and no star line scores 0. The Air Pro AP-E3 file of 70 reviews is the largest in the set.

3

Spec integrity

20%

About 19–26 kg and about 800–1,650 W, with one BTU figure, is the coherent compressor pattern. A hard contradiction, such as 1,650 kilowatts or 4.5 kg and 75 W beside a 12,000 BTU title, scores 0 on this block.

4

Task fit

18%

Heat stated in the modes, not only in a conflicting attribute, Wi-Fi, and a window kit or installation kit in the box. The iCAN lists heat. The Air Pro AP-E3, AP-E6 and AP-E4 do not.

Independent review
Last updated: 20 October 2026
8 sources checked

Mobile air conditioning units buying guide

Confirm you are looking at a compressor cabinet with a hose, then match the BTU to one closed room and the kit to the window you actually have. The shelf price does not include a seal you may still need to buy.

What is a mobile air conditioning unit?

A mobile air conditioning unit for a UK home is a monobloc portable. One cabinet sits on castors, the compressor stays in the room, and a hose has to send heat outdoors. You usually buy one for a single hot room, often a bedroom or a rented flat, when a fixed split is too permanent or not allowed. The usual UK type is a one-hose monobloc: it exhausts room air and pulls replacement air in through gaps. Dual-hose units are uncommon here. A porta-split keeps the compressor outside and costs more.

Best for

  • Renters who need one room cooler and cannot drill a wall
  • Households cooling a hot bedroom who can accept compressor noise or pre-cool the room

Not ideal for

  • A casement or hinged opening when the only kit in the box is a sash panel
  • Anyone treating a 4.5 kg, 75 W listing as a 12,000 BTU compressor

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    A sash kit on a casement window

    Sash and sliding windows usually take a rigid kit. Casement and tilt-and-turn windows usually need a fabric seal. Air Pro reviews often say the included kit fails on hinged openings, and a short hose pins the unit to one window. An unsealed hose sends the heat back into the room.

  2. 2

    Trusting BTU when the weight looks like a fan

    A plausible cabinet here weighs about 19–26 kg and draws roughly 800–1,650 W. The tedheve page prints 12,000 BTU beside 4.5 kg and 75 W. The generic Pac-18000 title says 18,000 BTU while a cooling-power attribute says 1,650 kilowatts. Those clashes are not a capacity you can buy against.

  3. 3

    Reading Class A as cheap to run

    Single-duct labels use EER, not the split SEER table. Class A there can be an EER of 2.6, which is not Class A on a split scale. A+++ printed beside SEER 2.6 is a mixed listing. One five-star review is not a track record next to files of 20 to 70 reviews.

What to weigh up

Compressor, hose and window

High

Start by confirming a compressor portable with an exhaust hose. Fans, evaporative coolers, hose fittings and splits are other products. A plausible cabinet in this set weighs about 19–26 kg and draws roughly 800–1,650 W. A few kilograms and a few tens of watts is not that machine. The hose must send heat outdoors, and you keep that room’s windows shut while the unit runs. If it travelled on its side, stand it upright for at least 24 hours before switch-on.

Capacity, noise and energy class

High

Match BTU to one closed room, then size up for sun, a loft or a PC. ClimaTrade’s rule of thumb puts 7,000–8,000 BTU at up to 15 m² and 12,000 BTU nearer 25–35 m². Which? is tighter. The stated square metres is the maker’s claim, not a guaranteed result. In this set the Air Pro AP-E3 states 15 m² at 7,000 BTU, the iCAN and the Air Pro AP-E6 state 20 m² at 9,000 BTU, and the Air Pro AP-E4 states 30 m² at 12,000 BTU. Read noise before a bedroom buy.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

Renter who cannot drill

You need one room cooler and you cannot drill a wall. The Air Pro AP-E3 is the lowest price here among listings with at least 20 reviews, stated for 15 m², with a hose and a window kit on the listing. Reviews say that kit often fails on casement windows, so check the opening first.

Hot bedroom

You are buying for a hot bedroom and you can accept compressor noise, or you will pre-cool the room. The iCAN lists 55 dB and a heat mode, with 4.3 from 20 reviews. Reviewers call it quieter than they expected and still not silent. Sleep mode does not move the compressor outside.

Sunny home office

A home office with a PC often finds 7,000 BTU short if the room is sunny. The Air Pro AP-E6 lists 9,000 BTU for a stated 20 m², with 3.9 from 62 reviews, at 23.5 kg and 1,023 W. Several reviews say Alexa did not connect, so plan to use the remote.

Common questions about mobile air conditioning units

Which mobile air conditioning unit is the top pick?
The iCAN 9000 BTU 5-in-1 is the top pick on this page. It is listed at about £399.99 with 4.3 from 20 reviews, the strongest star line here with at least 20 reviews, and the title includes heat as well as cool. Listed noise is 55 dB. The window size is printed as both 53 cm and 17–53 inches, so measure the opening before you trust the kit.
Which mobile air conditioning unit is the best value?
The Air Pro AP-E3 is the best value. At about £324.99 it is the lowest price among listings with at least 20 reviews, with 3.8 from 70 reviews, the largest file in the set. It is a 7,000 BTU cabinet stated for 15 m², at 20 kg and 785 W, with Wi-Fi and a window kit on the listing. Heating is not stated. Reviews say the supplied kit often fails on casement and hinged openings.
How much does a mobile air conditioning unit cost?
On the amazon.co.uk pages compared here, shelf prices run from about £324.99 for the Air Pro AP-E3 to about £556.99 for the generic Pac-18000. The iCAN and the Air Pro AP0502 are both about £399.99. A bestseller-list reading on 19 October 2026 showed some 7,000 BTU cabinets nearer £180–£300, while the AP-E3 page compared here says £324.99.
What should I check before buying a mobile air conditioning unit?
Confirm a compressor portable with an exhaust hose. A plausible cabinet here weighs about 19–26 kg and draws roughly 800–1,650 W. Match BTU to one closed room, then check the window: sash and sliding windows usually take a rigid kit, while a casement usually needs a fabric seal. Read the noise line before a bedroom buy. Class A on a single-duct label uses EER, not the split SEER scale.
Do I need a split air conditioner instead?
A hose-only portable does not itself create a planning application. A split on a flat, a listed building or in a conservation area often does, and opening a refrigerant circuit is a job for a qualified person. If you need the compressor outside the room, start with our split air conditioner comparison. A porta-split keeps the compressor outside and costs more than these one-hose cabinets.
Is a 5.0 from one review enough?
No. The DUXMM listing is 5.0 from one review. On this score method, stars count only when the listing has at least 20 reviews, and a single five-star review scores nothing on that block. The Air Pro files here run from 20 to 70 reviews. The generic Pac-18000, the tedheve page and the Air Pro AP0502 have no star line at all.
Can I use a mobile air conditioning unit in a bedroom?
These boxes print 50–65 dB, and sleep mode does not move the compressor outside. Reviewers call Air Pro units too loud at night, including the 12,000 BTU model in sleep mode. The iCAN is listed at 55 dB, and reviewers call it quieter than they expected and still not silent. Pre-cool the room if you can. A decibel figure on the box is not a measurement made in a bedroom.
Which refrigerant is used in a new mobile unit in Great Britain?
Great Britain bans new movable units that use F-gases above a global warming potential of 150, so current portables state R290 rather than R32. R290 is flammable. Do not pierce the circuit or place the unit beside a flame. If the unit travelled on its side, stand it upright for at least 24 hours before switch-on. One iCAN review says the instructions forbid an extension lead. Vent outdoors and keep the windows shut while it runs.

Our verdict

On these amazon.co.uk listings the iCAN 9000 BTU 5-in-1 is the top pick: the highest score, the strongest star line with at least 20 reviews, and a listed heat mode. The Air Pro AP-E3 is the best value: the lowest price among listings with at least 20 reviews, a coherent 20 kg and 785 W, and the largest review file. A 5.0 from one review does not take either place. Pages that print 18,000 BTU beside 1,650 kilowatts, or 12,000 BTU beside 4.5 kg and 75 W, stay in the table so you can see the clash.

Best overall
DUXMM 9000 BTU portable

DUXMM 9000 BTU portable

View offer
Best value
Air Pro AP-E3 7000 BTU

Air Pro AP-E3 7000 BTU

Lowest price among listings with at least 20 reviews, with coherent weight and wattage and the largest review file.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - Editor
Editor
Home coolingamazon.co.uk listingsUK product rules

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: 20 October 2026
8 sources checked

Guides to mobile air conditioning units

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources used for this page on 20 October 2026. Prices, stars and review counts are the amazon.co.uk figures in this comparison. Stated room sizes and decibel lines were not treated as a lab test.

  1. GOV.UK: bans on F-gas in new products and equipment (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  2. legislation.gov.uk: Regulation 626/2011 Annex II (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  3. GOV.UK: Beat the heat, staying safe in hot weather (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  4. NHS: Heatwave, how to cope in hot weather (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  5. Which?: how to buy an air conditioner (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  6. Ideal Home: portable air conditioner window kits explained (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  7. electriQ: portable air conditioner manual (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  8. amazon.co.uk: Mobile Air Conditioners bestsellers, 19 October 2026 (retrieved 20 October 2026)

Expert source (DIY & tools): Charlie White (Charlie DIYte) (external profile) – public expert commentary used as a research source, not as a contributor to our pages.

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk with the tag pcuk26-21. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are the UK listing lines in this comparison. We did not run a lab test.