Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. Our editors compare products independently. Some links go to shops, and we may earn a commission. More info
Top pick: Keter Store It Out Nova – 4.4 from 15,025 amazon.co.uk ratings, 880 litres, and a named fit for two 120 litre bins, with the 61 cm depth and the absent padlock kept in view. Best value: Olsen & Smith 775 L shed (80 ratings) – Lowest captured price at about £109.98, with a combination padlock claimed, and with thin panels plus conflicting sizes kept in view. Updated October 2026.
A plastic tool shed here is a rigid resin or polypropylene outdoor store with a floor, walls, doors, and a lid. You use it to hide wheelie bins, spades, and a small mower on a patio, not as a workshop. Quality shows up as wall stiffness, a lid that meets the rim, a lock that arrives in the box, and a floor that stays square on a level base. Tarpaulins, fabric tents, and indoor cabinets are a different product.
This set is the bin-store size only: about 110–140 cm wide, about 70–75 cm deep, about 110–114 cm high, and 775–880 litres. The [plastic tool shed buying guide](/hub/tool-accessories/tool-shed-plastic/sub/tool-shed-plastic-buying-guide) sets out what to measure and which listing claims to distrust.
It is not a workshop, and it is not a tarpaulin, a fabric tent, an indoor cabinet, or a wire rack. A higher litre number does not mean a stiffer panel.
A plastic tool shed here is a rigid resin or polypropylene outdoor store with a floor, walls, doors, and a lid. You use it to hide wheelie bins, spades, and a small mower on a patio, not as a workshop.
A plastic tool shed here is a rigid resin or polypropylene outdoor store with a floor, walls, doors, and a lid. You use it to hide wheelie bins, spades, and a small mower on a patio, not as a workshop. Quality shows up as wall stiffness, a lid that meets the rim, a lock that arrives in the box, and a floor that stays square on a level base. Tarpaulins, fabric tents, and indoor cabinets are a different product.
This set is the bin-store size only: about 110–140 cm wide, about 70–75 cm deep, about 110–114 cm high, and 775–880 litres. The [plastic tool shed buying guide](/hub/tool-accessories/tool-shed-plastic/sub/tool-shed-plastic-buying-guide) sets out what to measure and which listing claims to distrust.
It is not a workshop, and it is not a tarpaulin, a fabric tent, an indoor cabinet, or a wire rack. A higher litre number does not mean a stiffer panel.
A plastic tool shed here is a rigid resin or polypropylene outdoor store with a floor, walls, doors, and a lid. You use it to hide wheelie bins, spades, and a small mower on a patio, not as a workshop. Quality shows up as wall stiffness, a lid that meets the rim, a lock that arrives in the box, and a floor that stays square on a level base. Tarpaulins, fabric tents, and indoor cabinets are a different product. This set is the bin-store size only: about 110–140 cm wide, about 70–75 cm deep, about 110–114 cm high, and 775–880 litres.
The Keter Store It Out Nova provides 880 litres of storage in a 132 × 71.5 × 113.5 cm resin body, with twin doors and a lift-up lid for access. Its 122 × 61 × 108.8 cm internal dimensions make the listing's claim of space for two 120 litre bins plausible, but they rule out deeper 240 litre council bins and most adult bikes. A 4.4-star average from 15,025 amazon.co.uk ratings gives it the strongest public review record in this comparison. UK reviewers often report assembly taking about an hour, although awkward stages are easier with a second person. The heavy-duty floor and shelf supports add flexibility, but shelves and a padlock are not listed as included. It is water resistant rather than guaranteed waterproof, and isolated reviews mention a lid gap or cracked base, so a level base and realistic weather expectations still matter.
Pros
Strongest amazon.co.uk rating and review volume in this set
880 L capacity with twin-door and top-lid access
Heavy-duty floor with supports for optional shelves
Five-year warranty stated in the title
Cons
Only 61 cm of internal depth
Shelves and padlock are not listed as included
Water-resistant claim does not mean fully waterproof
Best for: Patio storage for two measured 120 L bins, garden hand tools and a small mower where a long UK review record matters.
Less suitable: A 240 L council bin, an adult bike, expensive tools needing high security or anyone expecting a walk-in shed.
The bullets call it lockable. No padlock is listed under included parts. Shelves are explicitly not included.
Which bins does the listing name?
The bullets name two 120 litre wheelie bins. Internal size is 122 × 61 × 108.8 cm. A UK review says a large bike still does not fit with the front wheel off.
Is assembly tool-free?
Assembly is required. UK reviews describe screws, often about an hour, and several people managed alone. A second person is what the awkward steps need.
The Duramax StoreAway provides a claimed 850 litres in a 130 × 74 × 110 cm resin body with doors, a lifting roof and a sloped threshold. Its title names two 120 litre bins, but the internal dimensions are not stated and one UK reviewer says a 240 litre bin did not fit. A 4.1-star average from 2,685 amazon.co.uk ratings gives it a substantial review record, though it trails the Keter on both rating and volume. The floor and threshold are useful for garden storage, while the listing also makes a water-drain claim. Reviewers repeatedly note that rain can collect in the rear channel, so water resistant should not be read as completely watertight. At the captured £147.37 it is the dearest product here, and no lock is stated as included, which weakens its value case despite the practical access.
Pros
850 L claimed capacity
Substantial amazon.co.uk review record
Heavy-duty floor and sloped threshold
Doors and lifting roof provide broad access
Cons
Highest captured price in this comparison
Rear channel can collect rain according to UK reviews
No included lock stated
Internal dimensions are not given
Best for: General garden storage and two measured 120 L bins where broad access and a floor matter.
Less suitable: A 240 L bin, buyers seeking the best value or storage that must remain completely dry.
A lock is not in the bullets or in an included-parts line. UK reviews mention a bolt and a foot locking bar.
Which bins does the title name?
The title names two 120 litre bins, at 130 × 74 × 110 cm. One UK review says a 240 litre bin did not fit.
What water claim is on the listing?
The attribute says water resistant. The bullets mention an easy water drain and a sloped threshold. UK reviews often say rain collects in the channel under the back panel.
The 775 litre Olsen & Smith polypropylene store combines twin doors with a gas-assisted lid in a 116 × 71 × 112.5 cm external footprint. Its listing claims room for two 180 litre slimline bins and says a padlock is included, although one UK review reports that the lock was missing. The 3.6-star average from 354 amazon.co.uk ratings is based on more feedback than the cheaper Olsen listing, but recurring comments still describe flexible walls and awkward assembly. Water claims are inconsistent because the bullets say waterproof while the attribute field says water resistant, and several reviewers report rain getting inside. At 17.3 kg empty, it needs a level base and sensible anchoring in an exposed garden. It can be a practical low-cost store for light items, but the evidence does not support treating it as a secure or fully weatherproof tool locker.
Pros
775 L claimed capacity in a compact footprint
Gas-assisted lid and twin-door access
Padlock claimed in the listing
More ratings than the other Olsen listing
Cons
3.6-star average and recurring flexible-panel complaints
Conflicting waterproof and water-resistant claims
A UK review reports a missing padlock
Best for: Light garden equipment or measured slimline bins where price matters more than panel stiffness.
Less suitable: Valuable power tools, heavy loads, exposed locations or buyers who need verified waterproof storage.
The bullets say a 4-digit combination padlock is included. The attribute lock type is Padlock. One UK review says the padlock was missing from the pack.
What does the listing say about water?
The bullets say waterproof. The water-resistance attribute says water resistant. Several UK reviews report rain inside, including at the base.
Do two bins fit, according to the listing?
The bullets name two 180 litre slimline bins. One UK review says two bins of the size that buyer owned did not fit, and the box was used for tools instead.
This Olsen & Smith store offers a claimed 775 litres at £109.98, the lowest captured price in this four-product comparison. Twin doors and a gas-assisted lid make access practical, while the listing says a four-digit combination padlock is supplied. The claimed fit is for two 180 litre slimline bins, not standard 240 litre council bins, and one UK reviewer returned it because their wheelie bin did not fit. Its 3.6-star average comes from only 80 amazon.co.uk ratings, so the evidence base is much thinner than the Keter's. Review feedback across the Olsen boxes repeatedly mentions thin or flexible panels, making a level base and light contents sensible. The listing also prints two conflicting size lines, so you should verify the current dimensions and measure the item you plan to store before ordering.
Pros
Lowest captured price in the comparison
Gas-assisted lid and twin-door access
Combination padlock claimed in the listing
775 L claimed capacity
Cons
Only 3.6 stars from 80 ratings
Conflicting dimensions appear in the same listing
Reviews across the range report thin, flexible panels
Best for: Budget storage for light garden kit or two measured 180 L slimline bins on a flat, sheltered base.
Less suitable: Unmeasured council bins, heavy equipment, exposed windy sites or valuable tools that require robust security.
The bullets say a 4-digit combination padlock is supplied. The included-components attribute only says Storage Box. UK reviews mostly say a padlock arrived.
Will it take two wheelie bins?
The bullets name two 180 litre slimline bins, not a 240 litre council bin. One UK review says a wheelie bin did not fit and the box was returned.
Why do the dimensions disagree?
The bullets print 116 × 71 × 112.5 cm. The item-dimensions line prints 70.9 × 115.8 × 109 cm. Both are in the same listing.
How we compared
Shelf prices, stars, and review counts are the amazon.co.uk figures stored for these four listings, with a live check of the Keter Nova on 16 October 2026. The score on each card is that star rating times 20. It is not a lab test and not a British Standard. The top pick is the highest score, which is also the largest review count. The best value is the lowest captured price. The weights below are the order of importance when a listing was read. They are not a second score on top of the stars.
1
Capacity and internal size
25%
A rigid store only, then litres and the internal size against the thing you will actually store. A 61 cm depth will not take an adult bike lengthways.
2
Named bin size
20%
The bullet has to name 120 litres or 180 litre slimline bins. Two bins, with no litre figure, is not a fit claim. A 240 litre council bin needs its own measurement.
3
Access and lock
20%
Twin doors plus a lid is the pattern in this set. A combination padlock in the Olsen bullets is not a security rating. Lockable does not mean a padlock is in the box.
4
Base, weight, and floor
15%
These boxes weigh about 17–22 kg empty. Which? says a light plastic shed needs a level base and anchoring in wind. Ground stakes are not in the included parts here.
5
Review record
12%
Stars and the amazon.co.uk count come last, after size and the bin claim. A higher litre number does not mean a stiffer panel. Thin-side comments on the Olsen boxes stay in view.
6
Price in this set
8%
A lower shelf price ranks higher inside this basket only. The captured range is about £109.98 to about £147.37. That is not a claim that the price is the cheapest in the UK.
Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
8 sources checked
Plastic tool shed buying guide
Start with a rigid store, then the internal size, then the bin the listing actually names. A star rating does not tell you those three. The four listings below are amazon.co.uk pages, with the prices and review counts stored for this comparison. A live check of the Keter Nova on 16 October 2026 had already moved off the captured £137.99. Tarpaulins and fabric tents are covers, not this product.
What is a plastic tool shed?
A plastic tool shed in this comparison is a rigid resin or polypropylene outdoor store with a floor, walls, doors, and usually a lift-up lid. You use it to hide wheelie bins, spades, and a small mower on a patio. It is not a workshop, and it is not a tarpaulin, a fabric tent, an indoor cabinet, or a wire rack. Quality shows up as wall stiffness, a lid that meets the rim, a lock that arrives, and a floor that stays square on a level base. A higher litre number does not mean a stiffer panel.
Best for
Two measured 120 litre bins, spades, and a small mower on a level patio
A damp garden where you will not repaint timber
Not ideal for
A 240 litre council bin, an adult bike, or expensive tools
A walk-in workshop, or petrol and gas cylinders
Mistakes to avoid
1
Buying a tent because the title says shed
A tarpaulin, a fabric tent, an indoor cabinet, and a wire rack are a different product. This comparison is a rigid resin or polypropylene store with a floor, walls, and doors.
2
Trusting two bins without measuring
Keter and Duramax name two 120 litre bins. Olsen names two 180 litre slimline bins. Many councils use 240 litre bins. One Duramax reviewer says a 240 litre bin did not fit.
3
Reading the weight field as a floor rating
The Keter attribute that says 880 kilograms matches the litre claim. The Duramax line that says 41 pounds matches the item weight, not a tested load. Build on a level base, not on a slope.
What to weigh up
Size and the named bin
High
Keep a rigid store, then match the internal size to the object. The Keter bullets give 122 × 61 × 108.8 cm. A 61 cm depth will not take an adult bike lengthways. External size in this set sits around 110–140 cm wide, 70–75 cm deep, and 110–114 cm high, at 775–880 litres. A higher litre number does not mean a stiffer panel.
The bin claim has to name a litre figure. Keter and Duramax name two 120 litre bins. Both Olsen listings name two 180 litre slimline bins.
Lock, base, and the review pattern
High
Twin doors plus a lid is the access pattern. The Olsen bullets claim a 4-digit combination padlock. Lockable on the Keter is not the same as a padlock in the included parts, and shelves are stated as not included. One UK review on the other Olsen says the padlock was missing. Duramax does not state a lock in the box. Which? calls plastic sheds hard to secure. A padlock is a deterrent, not a safe. Do not store petrol or gas cylinders in these boxes.
Which option suits you?
Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.
🏡
Patio bins and hand tools
You are hiding two measured 120 litre bins, spades, and a small mower on slabs. The Keter Nova is the top pick: 880 litres and the longest amazon.co.uk record. Its 61 cm internal depth will not take a 240 litre council bin or an adult bike lengthways.
You will not repaint a wooden shed, and you want a rigid plastic store rather than a cover. The Keter still leads on review volume. Skip this set if the tools are expensive. Which? calls plastic sheds hard to secure.
You want the lowest captured price for light garden kit, or for two measured 180 litre slimline bins, on a flat sheltered base. The Olsen & Smith at about £109.98 is the best value. Reviews across the Olsen boxes mention thin, flexible panels.
Which plastic tool shed is the top pick in this set?
The top pick is the Keter Store It Out Nova, an 880 litre resin store with twin doors and a lift-up lid, at about £137.99 on the captured listing. amazon.co.uk shows 4.4 from 15,025 ratings, the strongest record in this set. Internal size is 122 × 61 × 108.8 cm, so two 120 litre bins are plausible. A 240 litre council bin and an adult bike lengthways are not. Shelves and a padlock are not listed as included. A live check on 16 October 2026 had moved off £137.99.
How much does a plastic tool shed cost on amazon.co.uk?
In this set the Olsen & Smith 775 litre boxes are about £109.98, with 80 ratings, and about £119.99, with 354 ratings. The Keter Nova was £137.99 on the captured listing. A live check of that listing on 16 October 2026 showed about £148.62. The Duramax StoreAway is about £147.37. Walk-in 8×6 plastic sheds are a different band. A ShedBuilder guide puts that size around £500–£1,200. That figure is their guide, not a price index, and those sheds are not scored in this table.
Will two wheelie bins fit in one of these plastic stores?
Only if the litre figure on the listing matches the bin you own, and you measure it. Keter and Duramax name two 120 litre bins. Both Olsen listings name two 180 litre slimline bins. Many councils use 240 litre bins. One Duramax reviewer says a 240 litre bin did not fit, and one Olsen reviewer returned a box because their wheelie bin did not fit. The wheelie bin store guide compares those claims with a 240 litre council bin. Do not treat the words two bins as a promise.
Do you need planning permission for a plastic tool shed in England?
These boxes are about 1.1 m high, so location matters more than height. For houses in England, Class E on the Planning Portal expects nothing forward of the principal elevation, a single storey, and outbuildings on no more than half the curtilage excluding the original house. Within 2 m of a boundary the building is limited to 2.5 m. Flats and listed curtilage sit outside that class. Scotland uses a different boundary figure. Ask the council if the house is listed, you are in a flat, or you rent.
Are these plastic tool sheds waterproof?
None of these listings states an IP rating, so a water line is the seller's wording. Keter says water resistant. One Olsen listing says waterproof. The other prints waterproof in the bullets and water resistant in the attribute, and several reviewers report rain inside. Duramax says water resistant and mentions a drain. UK reviews often say rain collects in the rear channel. Which? says a light plastic shed needs a level base and anchoring in wind. Do not read any of these lines as waterproof in all weather.
Does a padlock make a plastic tool shed secure?
A padlock is a deterrent, not a safe. Which? calls plastic sheds hard to secure. Lockable on the Keter is not a padlock in the box, and shelves are not listed as included. The cheaper Olsen claims a 4-digit combination padlock. The other Olsen claims a padlock, and one UK review says it was missing. Duramax does not state a lock in the box. Do not store petrol or gas cylinders in these boxes.
What base should a plastic tool shed stand on?
These boxes weigh about 17–22 kg empty: Keter 21.6 kg, Duramax 18.6 kg, and the Olsen boxes 17.8 kg and 17.3 kg. Which? says a light plastic shed needs a level base and anchoring in wind. Included parts here do not show ground stakes. Do not build on a slope, and do not read the Amazon weight field as a tested floor load. The Keter line of 880 kilograms tracks the litre claim. The Duramax line of 41 pounds is the same mismatch.
When should you choose an indoor tool cabinet instead?
Choose an indoor cabinet when the tools live in the house or a garage, not on the patio. This comparison is a resin or polypropylene store for bins, spades, and a small mower. The tool cabinet comparison covers a cabinet rather than an outdoor box. Anyone storing expensive tools, or wanting a walk-in workshop, is outside this set. If a padlock is missing or a base arrives cracked, the Consumer Rights Act 2015 still expects satisfactory quality, fitness for purpose, and goods as described.
Our verdict
The top pick is the Keter Store It Out Nova, an 880 litre resin store at about £137.99 on the captured listing, with 4.4 from 15,025 amazon.co.uk ratings. Twin doors and a lift-up lid suit two measured 120 litre bins. The 61 cm internal depth, the missing padlock, and the water-resistant wording stay in the judgement. The best value is the Olsen & Smith 775 litre box at about £109.98, with a combination padlock claimed and 3.6 from 80 ratings. Thin panels and two conflicting size lines stay in the judgement. A walk-in workshop, a 240 litre council bin, and petrol storage sit outside this set.
Best overall
Keter Store It Out Nova
4.4 from 15,025 amazon.co.uk ratings, 880 litres, and a named fit for two 120 litre bins, with the 61 cm depth and the absent padlock kept in view.
Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.
Updated: October 2026
8 sources checked
Guides to plastic tool sheds
Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.
Public UK sources for planning, bases, security, and consumer rights. amazon.co.uk listings used as captured, with a live check of the Keter Nova on 16 October 2026. Prices move.
This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars, and review counts come from those listings. We did not run a lab test. The score on each card is the star rating times 20, and it ranks a listing inside this set only.