Flux core welder buying guide
You are standing in a garage with a 13 A socket, a rusty gate bracket, and a listing that says 200 A. That number is the easiest thing on the page and the least useful if the machine trips, overheats, or arrives without the parts the title implied. A flux core welder buying guide for the UK starts with the supply you can actually use, then the duty cycle at a stated current, then the wire and the box. The [flux core wire welder comparison](/hub/soldering-and-welding/flux-core-wire-welder) holds the five amazon.co.uk listings we kept, from £69.99 to £279.99. This page is the criteria behind that table, checked on 16 October 2026. We did not weld with the machines. A qualifying purchase can earn a commission at no extra cost to you.
You are standing in a garage with a 13 A socket, a rusty gate bracket, and a listing that says 200 A.
You are standing in a garage with a 13 A socket, a rusty gate bracket, and a listing that says 200 A. That number is the easiest thing on the page and the least useful if the machine trips, overheats, or arrives without the parts the title implied. A flux core welder buying guide for the UK starts with the supply you can actually use, then the duty cycle at a stated current, then the wire and the box. The flux core wire welder comparison holds the five amazon.co.uk listings we kept, from £69.99 to £279.99. This page is the criteria behind that table, checked on 16 October 2026. We did not weld with the machines. A qualifying purchase can earn a commission at no extra cost to you.
Our top picks
| Badge | Product | Supply stated | Duty cycle | Wire included | Note | Price | Offer |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Best overall | SSimder SSimder MIG-250 combo | 240 V; input current not stated | Not stated | Flux-cored spool not named | 7.6 | about £279.99 | View offer |
HITBOX HITBOX HBM200 | 240 V; effective 140 A | 60%-140A at 40 °C | 0.5 kg of 0.8 mm | 9.1 | about £99.99 | View offer | |
| Best value | SSimder SSimder MIG-140 | 240 V; 140 A; plug not stated | Not stated | 1 lb E71T-GS | 8.9 | about £79.99 | View offer |
On this page
What a UK flux core welder has to match
Duty cycle at a stated current
Process, wire and what is in the box
Thickness as a rule of thumb
Common questions
What should you check before buying a gasless MIG welder in the UK?
Does 200 A mean the machine welds at 200 A from a 13 A socket?
Why does duty cycle matter more than the headline amp?
What wire size do these kits actually include?
Is lift TIG included when the title says 3-in-1?
How do you treat a 110 V listing on amazon.co.uk?
Related pages
Sources
Public UK sources and the amazon.co.uk listings in this set, last checked on 17 October 2026.
- HSE, mild steel welding fume (retrieved 17 October 2026)
- HSE, welding controls (retrieved 17 October 2026)
- HSE WL3, welding fume (retrieved 17 October 2026)
- BS EN ISO 16321-2:2021, eye and face protection for welding (retrieved 17 October 2026)
- Basic Welding, what duty cycle means (retrieved 17 October 2026)
- Sealey MIG140i instructions (retrieved 17 October 2026)
- TWI, flux-cored arc welding FAQ (retrieved 17 October 2026)
- GOV.UK MOT inspection manual, appendix A (retrieved 17 October 2026)


