USB socket vs plug charger
The phone brick has lived in the bedside socket for two years, and you are deciding whether to replace the plate or buy another charger you can unplug. A USB socket vs plug charger choice is between two objects. One is a fixed UK 13 A double with a charging module behind the face. The other is a plug that occupies one outlet and leaves when the cable standard changes. The wall side is the four British General plates in the [USB socket comparison](/hub/sockets-and-extension-leads/usb-socket). The plug-in charger is not a product row here. Updated 16 October 2026.
The phone brick has lived in the bedside socket for two years, and you are deciding whether to replace the plate or buy another charger you can unplug. A USB socket vs plug charger choice is between two objects.
The phone brick has lived in the bedside socket for two years, and you are deciding whether to replace the plate or buy another charger you can unplug. A USB socket vs plug charger choice is between two objects. One is a fixed UK 13 A double with a charging module behind the face. The other is a plug that occupies one outlet and leaves when the cable standard changes. The wall side is the four British General plates in the USB socket comparison. The plug-in charger is not a product row here. Updated 16 October 2026.
Our top picks
| Badge | Product | USB ports | USB power | BS 1363 on listing | Note | Price | Offer |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Best overall | British General BG 15 W square, A+A+C | 2 USB-A + 1 USB-C | 15 W shared | Not stated | 9.4 | about £15.99 | View offer |
| Best value | British General BG 15 W round, A+A+C | 2 USB-A + 1 USB-C | 15 W shared | Not stated | 9.3 | about £12.99 | View offer |
| Alternative | British General BG 30 W round, A+C+C | 1 USB-A + 2 USB-C | 30 W shared | Yes | 8.7 | about £20 | View offer |
On this page
What each object is
When the wall socket is the better buy
When the plug-in charger is the better buy
A sensible mix
Common questions
Which is better for a bedside phone?
Which is better for a laptop?
What happens when USB changes again?
Does a wall plate free the 13 A sockets?
Is a plug-in charger less safe?
What if the back box is shallow?
Related pages
Sources
Public UK sources on BS 1363, Part P, bathrooms, and back-box depth. amazon.co.uk listings for B0D2F4MZXK, B0D2DVZY8H, B0D2DX8RN9, and B0DN255MB4 checked 16 October 2026. Prices move.
- BSI Knowledge, changes to the BS 1363 series (retrieved 16 October 2026)
- GOV.UK, replacements and repairs to your home (retrieved 16 October 2026)
- Welsh Government, building regulations: electrics (retrieved 16 October 2026)
- IET, Part P frequently asked questions (retrieved 16 October 2026)
- IET, Part P in Scotland and Northern Ireland (retrieved 16 October 2026)
- Electrical Safety First, bathrooms (retrieved 16 October 2026)
- BG Electrical, USB charging socket example (retrieved 16 October 2026)
- BuildWiz, USB socket (retrieved 16 October 2026)
- Communities NI, electrical safety standards for private tenancies 2024 (retrieved 16 October 2026)


