USB socket back box depth
You have a 25 mm back box behind a double socket, the new plate’s bullet says minimum 25 mm, and the module still will not sit flush. USB socket back box depth is that gap between a printed minimum and a box that already holds a ring. This page stays on depth and cable bulk. It does not rank finishes or watts. The four British General plates, and which one to buy once the box is deep enough, are in the [USB socket comparison](/hub/sockets-and-extension-leads/usb-socket). Updated 16 October 2026 from those listings and public UK fitting guides. We did not measure a box in a lab.
You have a 25 mm back box behind a double socket, the new plate’s bullet says minimum 25 mm, and the module still will not sit flush.
You have a 25 mm back box behind a double socket, the new plate’s bullet says minimum 25 mm, and the module still will not sit flush. USB socket back box depth is that gap between a printed minimum and a box that already holds a ring. This page stays on depth and cable bulk. It does not rank finishes or watts. The four British General plates, and which one to buy once the box is deep enough, are in the USB socket comparison. Updated 16 October 2026 from those listings and public UK fitting guides. We did not measure a box in a lab.
Our top picks
| Badge | Product | Stated box depth | Edge | USB ports | Note | Price | Offer |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Best overall | British General BG 15 W square, A+A+C | Not stated | Square | 2 USB-A + 1 USB-C | 9.4 | about £15.99 | View offer |
| Best value | British General BG 15 W round, A+A+C | Not stated | Round | 2 USB-A + 1 USB-C | 9.3 | about £12.99 | View offer |
| Alternative | British General BG 30 W round, A+C+C | 25 mm minimum | Round | 1 USB-A + 2 USB-C | 8.7 | about £20 | View offer |
On this page
What 25 mm on the listing means
A box that already holds a ring
What these four plates actually state
When the box will not close
Common questions
Will a USB socket fit a 25 mm box?
Why does the listing say 25 mm if other guides say 35 mm?
Two of these plates do not state a depth. What then?
The plate will not sit flat. Should I tighten it harder?
Is a dot-and-dab or dry-lining wall different from a solid wall?
Can a spacer or a deeper box solve it?
Related pages
Sources
Public UK sources on BS 1363, Part P, bathrooms, and back-box depth. amazon.co.uk listings for B0D2F4MZXK, B0D2DVZY8H, B0D2DX8RN9, and B0DN255MB4 checked 16 October 2026. Prices move.
- BSI Knowledge, changes to the BS 1363 series (retrieved 16 October 2026)
- GOV.UK, replacements and repairs to your home (retrieved 16 October 2026)
- Welsh Government, building regulations: electrics (retrieved 16 October 2026)
- IET, Part P frequently asked questions (retrieved 16 October 2026)
- IET, Part P in Scotland and Northern Ireland (retrieved 16 October 2026)
- Electrical Safety First, bathrooms (retrieved 16 October 2026)
- BG Electrical, USB charging socket example (retrieved 16 October 2026)
- BuildWiz, USB socket (retrieved 16 October 2026)
- Communities NI, electrical safety standards for private tenancies 2024 (retrieved 16 October 2026)


