Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Wood trellis comparison for fences, screens and pots

The best wood trellises, compared.

Top pick: Gosknor indoor, four sets Best value: kanta 6 ft x 2 ft, two pack – Two larger labelled panels at about £10.49, with the limit that the strips are 5 mm and no use class is printed. Updated October 2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

A wood trellis is a timber lattice or a small stake for a pot. On amazon.co.uk the same search mixes a narrow expanding strip about 1.8 m by 0.3 m, a taller expanding panel, a freestanding screen, and an indoor stake. You judge it by slat thickness, rivets, a size you can measure, and whether any outdoor treatment is actually named. Stretching the diamond one way shortens the other. Fixed to a fence, the top of the trellis counts toward the height of that enclosure. The limits for England, Wales and Scotland are set out on the [wood trellis on a fence](/hub/plant-accessories/trellis-wood/sub/trellis-wood-on-a-fence) page. They are not a weathering test or a load test. The strips on that pack are 5 mm, and no use class is printed. A 30 cm fence strip is not a substitute for an 80 cm screen, and a pot stake is not a garden lattice.

A wood trellis is a timber lattice or a small stake for a pot. On amazon.co.uk the same search mixes a narrow expanding strip about 1.8 m by 0.3 m, a taller expanding panel, a freestanding screen, and an indoor stake.

Gosknor indoor, four sets

Best overall

Gosknor indoor, four sets
6.2/10∼ £20

42 products checked · 64 hrs invested · +18,600 readers

12 of 12: Best wood trellises compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 12
Best overall
Gosknor indoor, four sets
Bamworld two-pack, size not stated
Gardman 07250, 1.8 x 0.3 m
LATERN two-pack, 180 x 30 cm
XIANTIAN pine, 200 x 30 cm
Toyosport two-pack, 190 x 30 cm
RAWILL cedar, two indoor sets
Best value
kanta 6 ft x 2 ft, two pack
tonchean screen, 80 cm, two pack
KANTA three-pack, 1.8 x 0.3 m
Nisorpa screen, 70 cm, two pack
Nisorpa screen, 80 cm, two pack
6.2/10
7.0/10
9.2/10
8.2/10
8.0/10
7.6/10
6.6/10
8.2/10
7.2/10
7.4/10
6.4/10
6.0/10
∼ £20
∼ £12
∼ £7
∼ £15
∼ £14
∼ £20
∼ £20
∼ £10
∼ £60
∼ £14
∼ £60
∼ £60
5.0(1)
4.8(20)
4.4(1,707)
4.4(254)
4.3(199)
4.3(94)
4.3(27)
4.2(378)
4.1(60)
4.0(197)
4.0(11)
3.5(12)
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best wood trellises in detail

Gosknor indoor, four sets

Rank 1

Gosknor indoor, four sets

∼£20

Our view

Gosknor is four indoor wooden trellis sets at £19.99, named for monstera and pothos, with interlocking connectors described on the listing. The rating is 5.0 from one review, and the file has no review text, so there is no praise or complaint to quote. The only dimension line prints 40 mm by 9 mm and 187 g, which cannot describe four extendable pot trellises. Extended height is not stated. The assembly line says no, while the connectors imply you put the sets together. It is an indoor stake, not a garden lattice. Buy it only if the live pictures show a height that fits the pot.

Pros

  • Sold as an indoor pot support
  • Four sets at £19.99
  • Connectors are described

Cons

  • No usable height
  • 40 mm size and 187 g conflict
  • No review text

Best for: Only as a small indoor stake if the live listing shows a height you can use.

Less suitable: A garden lattice, or any buy that trusts the 40 mm line.

Specifications

Model
Gosknor indoor, four sets
Brand
Gosknor
Price
∼£20
Customer rating
5.0/5(1)
Pack
4
Use
Indoor
Timber
Wood
Feet
In the pot
Fixings
Connectors
UK texts
0

Common questions

Is this a garden fence trellis?

No. The title and bullets say indoor pots, including Monstera deliciosa and pothos.

How tall does it extend?

The file does not say. The only dimension line is 40 mm by 9 mm, which conflicts with the product in the title.

What do buyers say?

The rating line is 5.0 from 1 review. The file has no review text, so there is no praise or complaint to quote.

Bamworld two-pack, size not stated

Rank 2

Bamworld two-pack, size not stated

∼£12

Our view

Bamworld is £12.34 with a two-pack title and a rating of 4.8 from 20 reviews. The bullets do not state a size, a thickness, or a species, so the star line is not a measurement you can mark on a fence. The table says 1 item and 28.3495 gram, which is one ounce and not a credible trellis weight. Only three of the review texts in the file are from the United Kingdom. One of those UK texts is a passion-flower replacement. The other texts are from other countries and are not British buyer experience. You would need the live pictures to guess a length, and this page will not invent one.

Pros

  • Low price on the title
  • One UK review names a passion flower
  • 4.8 on the rating line

Cons

  • No dimensions
  • Item count and pack disagree
  • Only 3 UK texts in the file

Best for: Only if you can check the size on the live pictures before you rely on it.

Less suitable: Any gap you need to measure first.

Specifications

Model
Bamworld two-pack, size not stated
Brand
Bamworld
Price
∼£12
Customer rating
4.8/5(20)
Pack
2
Use
Indoor/outdoor
Timber
Wood
UK texts
3

Common questions

How big is the Bamworld trellis?

The file does not say. The bullet repeats the title. Do not assume a 1.8 m or a 30 cm side.

Does 4.8 from 20 reviews mean 20 UK buyers?

No. The file has 3 United Kingdom texts. The other texts are from other countries and are not used as UK experience.

What is 28.3495 gram?

It is the printed unit count, equal to 1 ounce. It is not the weight of the trellis.

Gardman 07250, 1.8 x 0.3 m

Rank 3

Gardman 07250, 1.8 x 0.3 m

Our view

The Gardman 07250 is a narrow expanding strip listed at 1.8 x 0.3 m, tan on the title, with an FSC line on the bullet. On this capture it is £7.14 and 4.4 from 1,707 reviews, and all 50 review texts in the file are from the United Kingdom. UK reviewers use it for clematis and along a fence, which matches a light support rather than a framed bay. They also say the slats split if you drive a screw in without a pilot hole. Thickness is not stated, so the FSC mark is not a use class and not a load rating. It arrives as a riveted panel, with no feet and no fixings listed. One UK review describes the wood as green while the title says tan, so check the colour on the live pictures before you match it to a fence.

Pros

  • 1.8 x 0.3 m stated on the title
  • £7.14 and 1,707 reviews
  • FSC named on the bullet

Cons

  • Thickness not stated
  • Splits if screwed without a pilot hole
  • One UK review describes green, not tan

Best for: A light climber on a fence when you will pre-drill and fix to battens.

Less suitable: A heavy woody climber, a rigid framed bay, or a freestanding screen.

Specifications

Model
Gardman 07250, 1.8 x 0.3 m
Brand
Gardman
Price
∼£7
Customer rating
4.4/5(1,707)
Open size
180 x 30 cm
Pack
1
Use
Garden
Timber
FSC timber
Feet
No
Fixings
Not included
UK texts
50

Common questions

Is the Gardman panel 1.8 m high?

No. The listing size is 1.8 x 0.3 m. On this strip the long side is 1.8 m and the short side is 0.3 m.

Does FSC mean it is pressure-treated?

No. The bullet says FSC certified timber. The listing does not record a use class or a thickness.

Can you screw straight into the slats?

UK reviews say the wood splits unless you pre-drill, and they treat it as a light support.

LATERN two-pack, 180 x 30 cm

Rank 4

LATERN two-pack, 180 x 30 cm

∼£15

Our view

LATERN lists two expanding panels at £14.99, open 180 x 30 cm and folded 43 x 25 cm, with a seller load line of 10 kg. The rating is 4.4 from 254 reviews. Only 22 of the texts in the file are from the United Kingdom. Those UK texts include a buyer who checked the 180 by 30 cm size, and others who found splits, cheap pine, and a flimsy feel. One UK buyer returned split wood held by turned nails. The 10 kg figure is the seller's line, and the file does not record a UK review that hung that weight from the panel. The items table says 1 while the title says two, so count the panels when the parcel arrives. Thickness is not stated, and the anti-corrosion claim is not a use class.

Pros

  • Open and folded sizes both stated
  • Two panels at £14.99 on the title
  • 4.4 from 254 reviews

Cons

  • Item count conflict
  • 10 kg is only a seller claim
  • UK reviews report splits

Best for: A pair of narrow strips when you can check that two panels arrive.

Less suitable: A ground-contact stake, or a buy that depends on the 10 kg line.

Specifications

Model
LATERN two-pack, 180 x 30 cm
Brand
LATERN
Price
∼£15
Customer rating
4.4/5(254)
Open size
180 x 30 cm
Pack
2
Use
Indoor/outdoor
Timber
Solid wood
Feet
No
Fixings
Nails or hooks
UK texts
22

Common questions

Does the box contain two panels?

The title and the size bullet say two pieces, open 180 x 30 cm. The table says number of items 1.

Is the 10 kg figure a test?

No. It is the seller's load line. The file does not record a UK review that hung 10 kg from it.

Do UK buyers report splits?

Yes. UK reviews call it cheap pine that splits, and one buyer returned split wood held by turned nails.

XIANTIAN pine, 200 x 30 cm

Rank 5

XIANTIAN pine, 200 x 30 cm

∼£14

Our view

XIANTIAN is one pine expanding panel at £14.44, 0.7 cm thick, with a folded size of 44 x 23 cm. The listing gives three stretches of the same panel: 200 x 30 cm, 150 x 37 cm, and 100 x 41 cm. It is 4.3 from 199 reviews, and 23 UK texts are in the file. Those reviews use it for a light creeping rose, jasmine, star jasmine, or clematis once it is screwed on. They also say the stick-on hooks fall off, so buyers brought their own screws. Several doubt anything heavier than those light climbers. A bullet that says you can hammer it into the ground is not a use class, and the anti-corrosion line does not name one either.

Pros

  • Thickness and folded size are both stated
  • £14.44 for a 2 m strip
  • UK reviews name the plants it held

Cons

  • Adhesive hooks fail
  • Thinner than some buyers expected
  • Ground-contact bullet has no use class

Best for: One light climber on a wall or fence if you bring your own screws.

Less suitable: Anyone relying on the supplied hooks, or a heavy plant.

Specifications

Model
XIANTIAN pine, 200 x 30 cm
Brand
XIANTIAN
Price
∼£14
Customer rating
4.3/5(199)
Open size
200 x 30 cm
Pack
1
Use
Garden
Thickness
7 mm
Timber
Pine
Feet
No
Fixings
Own screws
UK texts
23

Common questions

Why are three open sizes listed?

They are stretches of one expanding panel: 200 x 30 cm, 150 x 37 cm, and 100 x 41 cm. Folded size is 44 x 23 cm.

Do the sticky hooks hold on a fence?

UK reviews say they do not. Buyers used screws or their own hooks.

What plants do UK reviews name?

A light creeping rose, jasmine, star jasmine, and clematis. Several doubt anything heavier.

Toyosport two-pack, 190 x 30 cm

Rank 6

Toyosport two-pack, 190 x 30 cm

∼£20

Our view

Toyosport is two expanding panels at £19.99, with a stated open size of 30 x 190 x 0.7 cm and carbonised wood. The rating is 4.3 from 94 reviews, and 22 UK texts are in the file. Those texts praise the price, name jasmine, honeysuckle, and clematis, and also include a panel too weak to stay open. One UK review measured the length closer to 1.6 m than 1.8 m, which is one report rather than a check of every panel. Carbonising is a fire treatment on the bullet, not pressure treatment and not Use Class 3 or 4. The 10 kg line is a seller claim. It is the dearest of the narrow two-packs in this set, and the unit count prints 1 for a two-panel title.

Pros

  • Open size includes 0.7 cm thickness
  • Two panels
  • UK reviews name climbers and fence-top use

Cons

  • £19.99 against cheaper strips of a similar size
  • 10 kg is a seller claim
  • One UK length complaint and one weak-flex complaint

Best for: A pair of narrow indoor-or-outdoor strips if this size is actually in the gap.

Less suitable: A budget single topper, or a load that depends on 10 kg.

Specifications

Model
Toyosport two-pack, 190 x 30 cm
Brand
Toyosport
Price
∼£20
Customer rating
4.3/5(94)
Open size
190 x 30 cm
Pack
2
Use
Indoor/outdoor
Thickness
7 mm
Timber
Carbonised wood
Feet
No
Fixings
Nails or hooks
UK texts
22

Common questions

Is carbonised the same as pressure treatment?

No. The bullet says the wood was fire-treated for carbonisation. It does not name Use Class 3 or 4.

Did a UK buyer get the full 190 cm?

One UK review says the length is closer to 1.6 m than 1.8 m. That is one report, not a measurement of every panel.

What did UK buyers grow on it?

One review names jasmine, honeysuckle, and clematis. Others used it along the top of fence panels.

RAWILL cedar, two indoor sets

Rank 7

RAWILL cedar, two indoor sets

∼£20

Our view

RAWILL is two indoor cedar trellis sets at £19.99, listed at 0.39 in thick and sold as a moss-pole alternative for monstera, pothos, philodendron, hoya, and ivy. Assembly is required. The bullet lists 2 bases, 2 extension plates, 2 top covers, and 8 connectors. The rating is 4.3 from 27 reviews. None of the review texts in the file are from the United Kingdom, so this page does not repeat the United States texts as British experience. No height in centimetres is printed. Cedar described as rot-resistant is not a use class, and it does not make the set a garden panel.

Pros

  • Cedar thickness stated
  • Parts list is specific
  • Indoor plants named

Cons

  • No centimetre height
  • No UK review text
  • Not a garden panel

Best for: An indoor pot, if you accept a height that is not printed in centimetres.

Less suitable: Outdoor wind and rain, or a UK-only reading of the stars.

Specifications

Model
RAWILL cedar, two indoor sets
Brand
RAWILL
Price
∼£20
Customer rating
4.3/5(27)
Pack
2
Use
Indoor
Thickness
10 mm
Timber
Cedar
Feet
Pot bases
Fixings
Connectors
UK texts
0

Common questions

Is this for the garden fence?

No. The title says indoor houseplants: monstera, pothos, philodendron, hoya, and ivy.

Are the 27 reviews from the UK?

The texts in the file are from the United States. They are not used as United Kingdom experience.

What is in the box?

The bullet lists 2 bases, 2 extension plates, 2 top covers, and 8 connectors. Assembly is required.

kanta 6 ft x 2 ft, two pack

Rank 8

kanta 6 ft x 2 ft, two pack

∼£10

Our view

The kanta two-pack is £10.49 for two expanding panels titled 6 ft x 2 ft, with 5 mm wooden strips. The rating is 4.2 from 378 reviews, and all 50 texts in the file are from the United Kingdom. That labelled size is larger than a 30 cm fence strip, though the file does not prove that both 6 ft and 2 ft are true at the same stretch. UK reviews call it good value and also thin, and more than one doubts it will last more than a couple of growing seasons outdoors. No treatment class is printed, so the heavy-duty line on the bullet is not Use Class 3. The unit count prints 5.0 while the items line says two panels. Species is not stated.

Pros

  • Two panels for £10.49
  • Larger title size than a 30 cm strip
  • 4.2 from 378 UK-file reviews

Cons

  • 5 mm strips with no treatment class
  • UK reviews doubt outdoor life
  • Unit count prints 5

Best for: More lattice for the money if you accept a thin strip and a short outdoor life.

Less suitable: A fence that needs a rigid framed topper, or anyone who needs a stated use class.

Specifications

Model
kanta 6 ft x 2 ft, two pack
Brand
kanta
Price
∼£10
Customer rating
4.2/5(378)
Open size
183 x 61 cm
Pack
2
Use
Garden
Thickness
5 mm
Timber
Wood
Feet
No
UK texts
50

Common questions

Is this the same shape as a 30 cm fence strip?

No. The title says 6 ft x 2 ft and the strips are 5 mm. It is a larger labelled panel than the 1.8 x 0.3 m strips.

Will it last several seasons outside?

UK reviews disagree. More than one says it may only last a couple of growing seasons outdoors. No use class is printed.

Why does the unit count say 5?

The table prints 5.0 count while the title and the items line say two panels. The listing leaves that conflict in place.

tonchean screen, 80 cm, two pack

Rank 9

tonchean screen, 80 cm, two pack

∼£60

Our view

The tonchean pair is £59.99 for two carbonised screens, 80 cm high and 34 to 160 cm wide, at 5.89 kg. The rating is 4.1 from 60 reviews, with 18 UK texts, more than the other freestanding screens in this set. UK buyers use it as a temporary dog barrier, to keep a dog off a Christmas tree, and as a light visual barrier. They also say it tips in a mild breeze unless you add tent pegs or a weight. More than one UK review says the foot holes are missing or do not line up, so they drilled new holes or turned the feet around. The supplied screwdriver is described as too small. The included-components line says Coupling while the bullet lists a screw kit. It is not a climber you fix to a fence, and UK reviews still call the timber flimsy for £59.99.

Pros

  • Size range is stated
  • 18 UK texts, more than the other screens
  • Some buyers kept it for a light barrier

Cons

  • Blows over unless weighted
  • Foot-hole and screw-kit faults
  • £59.99 for a panel UK reviews call flimsy

Best for: A temporary visual barrier you can peg down.

Less suitable: A windy spot, a pushing dog, or a climber you want fixed to a fence.

Specifications

Model
tonchean screen, 80 cm, two pack
Brand
tonchean
Price
∼£60
Customer rating
4.1/5(60)
Open size
34–160 x 80 cm
Pack
2
Use
Indoor/outdoor
Timber
Carbonised wood
Feet
Yes
Weight
5.89 kg
Fixings
Screw kit
UK texts
18

Common questions

Will it stand up in wind?

UK reviews say it blows over in a mild breeze and needs tent pegs or a weight.

Do the feet fit?

More than one UK review says the holes are missing or do not line up, so they drilled or turned the feet around.

What did UK buyers use it for?

Keeping a dog off a lawn or a Christmas tree, and as a light visual barrier. Not as a fixed fence trellis.

KANTA three-pack, 1.8 x 0.3 m

Rank 10

KANTA three-pack, 1.8 x 0.3 m

∼£14

Our view

The KANTA three-pack is £13.99 for three treated-pine strips, each listed as 1.8 x 0.3 m and able to stretch up to 180 cm. The slats are 5 mm, the rivets are aluminium, and the rating is 4.0 from 197 reviews. Thirty-six of the texts in the file are from the United Kingdom, and they call it cheap fence cover that also feels flimsy. Buyers who nailed it report splits, and several say to drill the fixing holes first. Treated pine is printed, but no BS EN 335 use class is named, so this is not a ground-contact stake. A bullet mentions securing the panel into the ground, yet no feet are listed. It is three light toppers, not a dog barrier.

Pros

  • Three stated 1.8 x 0.3 m panels
  • Aluminium rivets named
  • £13.99

Cons

  • 5 mm and repeatedly called flimsy
  • No use class
  • Splits if you nail without a pilot hole

Best for: Several short runs of light fence-top cover if you pre-drill.

Less suitable: A dog barrier or a heavy climber.

Specifications

Model
KANTA three-pack, 1.8 x 0.3 m
Brand
kanta
Price
∼£14
Customer rating
4.0/5(197)
Open size
180 x 30 cm
Pack
3
Use
Garden
Thickness
5 mm
Timber
Treated pine
Feet
No
Fixings
Buyer supplies
UK texts
36

Common questions

Are the three panels fence toppers?

Each is listed as 1.8 x 0.3 m and can stretch up to 180 cm. That is a narrow strip, not a 6 ft by 6 ft fence panel.

Does treated pine mean Use Class 4?

No. The bullet says treated pine and does not name BS EN 335 or a use class.

Why do UK reviews mention snapping?

Several say the wood is flimsy, splits if you nail it, and can come apart. They tell you to drill the fixing holes.

Nisorpa screen, 70 cm, two pack

Rank 11

Nisorpa screen, 70 cm, two pack

∼£60

Our view

This Nisorpa pair is £59.99 for two freestanding screens, 70 cm high and 34 to 160 cm wide, weighing 5.27 kg. The rating is 4.0 from 11 reviews, with six UK texts in the file. One of those texts describes a temporary dog barrier that worked. Several others report a split on opening, damaged wood, splinters, no instructions, and a build that felt weak for the price. The bullet lists a screw kit and a tool, while the included-components line says no. It is listed among decorative fences, not as a strip you screw along a fence top. Carbonised wood here is not a use class. With only six UK texts, a single good dog-barrier note does not cancel the split and splinter reports.

Pros

  • Stated 70 cm height and adjustable width
  • Freestanding, so it is not a fence strip
  • 5.27 kg is printed

Cons

  • £59.99 with split and splinter reports
  • Only six UK texts
  • Included line says NO

Best for: A short temporary screen if you inspect it before you rely on it.

Less suitable: A climber on a fence, or a dog that pushes.

Specifications

Model
Nisorpa screen, 70 cm, two pack
Brand
Nisorpa
Price
∼£60
Customer rating
4.0/5(11)
Open size
34–160 x 70 cm
Pack
2
Use
Indoor/outdoor
Timber
Carbonised wood
Feet
Yes
Weight
5.27 kg
Fixings
Unclear
UK texts
6

Common questions

Will this hold a clematis on a fence?

It is a freestanding screen, 70 cm high, not a strip you screw along a fence top. UK reviews talk about temporary fencing and dogs.

Do the feet come with screws?

The bullet says a screw kit and a tool. The included-components line says NO.

What went wrong in UK reviews?

Of six UK texts, buyers report a split on opening, damaged wood, splinters, no instructions, and a build that felt weak for the price.

Nisorpa screen, 80 cm, two pack

Rank 12

Nisorpa screen, 80 cm, two pack

∼£60

Our view

This second Nisorpa listing is also £59.99 for two freestanding screens, with a clearer size than the 70 cm pair: open 80 x 160 cm, folded 80 x 34 cm, a 0.7 cm grid, triangle feet, and 5.42 kg. The rating is 3.5 from 12 reviews, the lowest star line in this set. Only three UK texts are in the file. One says the screen is sturdy. Two report poor quality, broken parts, splinters, no instructions, or a useless tool. One Ireland text sits in the file and is not counted as United Kingdom experience. Carbonised wood is not a use class. It is a movable screen you would want to be able to return, not a fixed plant trellis.

Pros

  • Open, folded, and grid sizes are stated
  • Triangle base is named
  • Weight 5.42 kg

Cons

  • 3.5 from 12 reviews
  • Broken parts and splinters in UK texts
  • Same £59.99 band as the other screens

Best for: A movable 80 cm screen only if you can return a damaged one.

Less suitable: A fixed plant trellis, or a buy based on three UK texts.

Specifications

Model
Nisorpa screen, 80 cm, two pack
Brand
Nisorpa
Price
∼£60
Customer rating
3.5/5(12)
Open size
80 x 160 cm
Pack
2
Use
Indoor/outdoor
Thickness
7 mm
Timber
Carbonised wood
Feet
Yes
Weight
5.42 kg
Fixings
Screw kit
UK texts
3

Common questions

How is this different from the 70 cm Nisorpa?

This one states an 80 cm open height, a fold of 80 x 34 cm, a 0.7 cm grid, and a triangle base. The other states 70 cm and 5.27 kg.

What do the UK reviews say?

Three UK texts: one says sturdy, one reports broken parts and splinters, one says no instructions and a bad tool.

Is an Ireland review a UK review?

No. One Ireland text is in the file and is not counted as United Kingdom experience.

How we compared

Twelve wood trellises on amazon.co.uk were scored from the listing facts in this set on 15 October 2026. The editorial score starts from the star line and is reduced when the review count is small, United Kingdom review texts are missing, or the size line conflicts with the title. Price and the stated job decide the best-value pick, not the raw star score. There was no weathering test and no load test. A seller's 10 kg line is not treated as a measured load.

1

Job and form

25%

A narrow fence strip, a taller expanding panel, a freestanding screen and an indoor stake are different jobs. Products are compared inside the job the listing actually describes.

2

Stated size

25%

Both dimensions have to be readable. On a narrow strip, about 1.8 m is the long side and 0.3 m is the short side. A missing size, or a millimetre line that cannot describe the product, lowers the score.

3

Timber and treatment

20%

Pine, slat thickness, rivets, treated, carbonised, cedar and FSC are recorded as printed. None of those words is read as Use Class 3 or Use Class 4 unless the listing names the class.

4

Fixing

15%

UK reviews that report splits without a pilot hole, or hooks that fall off, count against the listing. A screw kit that the included-components line then denies is recorded as a conflict.

5

UK review evidence

15%

The amazon.co.uk star average is the starting point. A larger count of United Kingdom texts adds confidence. A 5.0 from one review, and a file with no United Kingdom text, are damped.

Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Wood trellis buying guide

Name the job first, then read both dimensions, the timber words that are actually printed, and whether the reviews are from the United Kingdom. The notes below follow that order for these twelve listings.

What is a wood trellis?

A wood trellis in this UK set is a timber lattice or a small stake for a climbing plant. Shoppers on amazon.co.uk are choosing a narrow expanding strip about 1.8 m by 0.3 m, a taller expanding panel, a freestanding screen, or an indoor stake. Rank products only inside that job. A 30 cm fence strip is not a substitute for an 80 cm screen, and a pot stake is not a garden lattice. Read both dimensions. On the narrow listings, about 1.8 m is the long side and 0.3 m is the short side.

Best for

  • A light climber on a fence if you pre-drill and keep the combined height inside the limit
  • Two thin panels when you accept a short outdoor life
  • A freestanding screen you can peg down, or a short indoor stake

Not ideal for

  • A mature woody climber that needs a rigid frame
  • Ground contact, or a reading of FSC or carbonised as Use Class 4
  • A gap you must measure when the listing prints no size

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Reading 1.8 x 0.3 m as the height

    On the narrow listings the long side is about 1.8 m and the short side is about 0.3 m. Stretching the diamond one way shortens the other. A 30 cm strip is not a 1.8 m panel.

  2. 2

    Stacking a topper on a fence already at the limit

    The top of the trellis counts toward the height of the enclosure. A 1.8 m fence plus a 30 cm topper is about 2.1 m. Listed curtilage sits outside the permitted-development right.

  3. 3

    Hooks, nails and treatment words

    Stick-on hooks fall off in UK reviews. Slats of 5 mm split if you nail them with no pilot hole. FSC, carbonised and heavy duty are not Use Class 3 or Use Class 4, and a 10 kg line is a seller claim.

What to weigh up

Job first, then both dimensions

High

Choose a 30 cm fence strip, a taller wall panel, a movable screen, or a pot stake before you compare prices. Gardman, the KANTA three-pack, LATERN, XIANTIAN and Toyosport are narrow expanding strips, about 180 to 200 cm by 30 cm when a full opening is stated. The kanta two-pack is the taller labelled panel, titled 6 ft x 2 ft, and both figures at once are not proven. Nisorpa and tonchean are freestanding pairs at about £59.99. Gosknor and RAWILL are indoor stakes. Bamworld has no usable size.

Timber words, the fix, and which reviews count

High

Pine, 5 mm or 7 mm slats, aluminium rivets, treated, carbonised, cedar and FSC are listing words. Use Class 3 is outdoors above ground. Use Class 4 is ground contact. None of these strips prints that class. UK reviews say slats split without a pilot hole. On XIANTIAN the supplied hooks fall off, and buyers screwed the panel on for a light creeping rose, jasmine or clematis. How to tie those stems is in [tying in a climbing rose](/hub/plant-accessories/blog/tying-in-a-climbing-rose).

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

A light climber on a fence

You want a narrow support for clematis, jasmine or sweet peas, and you will pre-drill before you fix it to battens. The Gardman 07250 states 1.8 x 0.3 m, which is a strip, not a 1.8 m high panel. It is about £7.14, with 4.4 from 1,707 reviews. UK reviews call it a light support that splits if you do not pre-drill.

More lattice for the money

You want two larger labelled panels rather than one 30 cm strip. The kanta two-pack is about £10.49, titled 6 ft x 2 ft, with 5 mm strips and 4.2 from 378 reviews. No use class is printed, and UK reviews doubt it will last more than a couple of growing seasons outdoors.

A movable dog or lawn barrier

You want a freestanding screen, not a strip you screw along a fence. The tonchean pair is about £59.99, 80 cm high and 34 to 160 cm wide, with 4.1 from 60 reviews and 18 United Kingdom texts. Those texts say it blows over unless you peg or weight it, and that the foot holes often do not line up.

Common questions about wood trellises

Which wood trellis is the top pick in this set?
The top pick for a light climber on a fence is the Gardman 07250 at about £7.14. The title states 1.8 x 0.3 m, the bullet names FSC timber, and amazon.co.uk shows 4.4 from 1,707 reviews, with 50 United Kingdom texts in the file. UK reviews treat it as a light support and say the slats split if you screw in without a pilot hole. Thickness is not stated. FSC is a sourcing mark, not a use class, and the score is the star line, not a load test.
How much does a wood trellis cost on amazon.co.uk?
On these 12 listings, checked on 15 October 2026, prices run from about £7.14 to about £59.99. The Gardman strip is about £7.14 and the kanta 6 ft x 2 ft two-pack is about £10.49. Bamworld is about £12.34 and has no usable size in the file. Mid-range strips and the indoor sets sit about £14 to £20. The three freestanding screen pairs are each about £59.99. These are shelf prices on that date, not a market-wide average. Framed timber-yard panels are outside this table.
Is a 1.8 x 0.3 m trellis 1.8 m high?
No. On the narrow listings, about 1.8 m is the long side and 0.3 m is the short side. Stretching the diamond one way shortens the other. XIANTIAN prints three stretches of one panel: 200 x 30 cm, 150 x 37 cm and 100 x 41 cm. Do not add a 30 cm strip to a fence that is already at the height limit. A 1.8 m fence plus a 30 cm topper is about 2.1 m.
Does FSC, treated pine or carbonised wood mean Use Class 3?
No. FSC, which Gardman states, is a sourcing mark. Treated pine on the KANTA three-pack does not name BS EN 335 or a use class. Carbonised, on Toyosport and the screen listings, is a fire treatment on the bullet, not pressure treatment. Use Class 3, specified via BS 8417, is outdoors above ground. Use Class 4 is ground contact. Do not bury untreated pine and call it Use Class 4. A heavy-duty line on a bullet is not a load test.
Do fence height rules include a trellis on top?
In England, Class A of the 2015 General Permitted Development Order says a means of enclosure must not exceed 1 metre beside a highway used by vehicles, or 2 metres elsewhere. You must not raise an existing enclosure above its former height or those caps. Measure to the top of the trellis. Wales uses the same 1 metre and 2 metre lines. Scotland allows 2 metres, or 1 metre toward a road. Northern Ireland is not set by those instruments. An open lattice is not excluded from the height.
When should you look at a metal trellis instead?
These wood strips are light supports. UK reviews on the Gardman panel and the KANTA three-pack say the slats split if you nail them without a pilot hole, and several listings are 5 mm or 7 mm thick. A mature woody climber needs a stronger frame than these thin diamonds. A metal trellis comparison covers rigid frames. It does not change the fence-height rules, and an open lattice is still part of the height of the enclosure.
Are the indoor sets garden trellises?
No. Gosknor and RAWILL are indoor pot stakes, named for monstera, pothos and similar houseplants. Gosknor is 5.0 from one review, with no review text in the file, and the only size line is 40 mm by 9 mm, which does not match four extendable sets. RAWILL states cedar about 10 mm thick and lists bases, plates and connectors, but none of the review texts in the file are from the United Kingdom. A 1.8 m garden lattice is the wrong shape for a pot.
When should you call a professional?
Call a professional, or at least the planning authority, if the new top crosses the 1 metre or 2 metre line, the house is listed, you are unsure who owns the fence, or you would be working at height. A mature woody climber needs a stronger frame than these thin diamonds. UK reviews say stick-on hooks fall off fences and that 5 mm slats split without a pilot hole. The Royal Horticultural Society wants the support up before you plant.

Our verdict

In this set of twelve amazon.co.uk listings, the top pick for a light fence strip is the Gardman 07250 at about £7.14. It states 1.8 x 0.3 m, names FSC timber, and shows 4.4 from 1,707 reviews, with 50 United Kingdom texts in the file. UK reviews call it a light support that splits if you do not pre-drill. The best value is the kanta 6 ft x 2 ft two-pack at about £10.49. The strips are 5 mm, no use class is printed, and UK reviews doubt a long outdoor life. A freestanding screen is a different job, at about £59.99, and UK reviews say those panels can blow over.

Best overall
Gosknor indoor, four sets

Gosknor indoor, four sets

View offer
Best value
kanta 6 ft x 2 ft, two pack

kanta 6 ft x 2 ft, two pack

Two larger labelled panels at about £10.49, with the limit that the strips are 5 mm and no use class is printed.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - Editor
Editor
Wood trellisesFence strips and screensamazon.co.uk listings

Products Compared publishes British-English buying guides based on amazon.co.uk listings and public UK sources. We do not run a lab and we do not invent test scores.

Updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Guides to wood trellises

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources checked for this comparison, plus the amazon.co.uk listing facts in the display file on 15 October 2026. Shelf prices and star lines are those UK figures. They can change.

  1. England Class A fences, gates and walls (GPDO 2015) (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  2. Planning Portal: fences, gates and garden walls (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  3. GOV.WALES: planning permission for fences, gates and garden walls (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  4. mygov.scot: building a fence or wall (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  5. RHS: training climbers on planting (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  6. RHS: growing clematis (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  7. W. Burton: diamond trellis, a merchant panel rather than an amazon price (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  8. E H Smith: Use Class 3 treated feather-edge board (retrieved 15 October 2026)

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are from the UK listings checked on 15 October 2026. We did not lab-test these trellises.