Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

FFP3 mask comparison 2026

The best FFP3 masks, compared.

Top pick: Spanner In The Works FFP3 moulded 20-pack Best value: Spanner In The Works FFP3 10-pack – Lowest price per mask among the other EN149 packs with one count and at least 10 United Kingdom reviews, at about £11.95. Updated 21 October 2026.

An FFP3 mask is a disposable particle-filtering half mask to EN 149, not a surgical mask and not a reusable half facepiece with separate filters. You are usually buying it on amazon.co.uk for fine dust from sanding, cutting or insulation. A workplace uses the same class when a assessment needs assigned protection factor 20. That factor holds only when the model seals on your face. A beard, a gap at the nose, or an ear-loop strap removes the assumption. A title that only says FFP3 is not treated as EN 149 unless that standard is printed. What to check before you pay is set out in the [FFP3 mask buying guide](/hub/medical-protection/ffp3-mask/sub/ffp3-mask-buying-guide).

An FFP3 mask is a disposable particle-filtering half mask to EN 149, not a surgical mask and not a reusable half facepiece with separate filters.

36 products checked · 64 hrs invested · +21,400 readers

10 of 10: Best FFP3 masks compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 10
Best overall
Spanner In The Works FFP3 moulded 20-pack
Apex JADA FFP3 EN149 10-pack
Spanner In The Works FFP3 moulded 10-pack
Spanner In The Works FFP3 20-pack
7-layer FFP3 disposable mask
Spanner In The Works FFP3 valved 10-pack
3M Aura 9332+ FFP3 valved 10-pack
Apex JADA FFP3 10-pack
Best value
Spanner In The Works FFP3 10-pack
3M Aura 9332+ FFP3 valved 5-pack
4.6/10
6.1/10
4.5/10
8.1/10
6.0/10
6.6/10
7.4/10
4.7/10
6.6/10
3.4/10
∼ £27
∼ £18
∼ £17
∼ £22
∼ £20
∼ £13
∼ £58
∼ £10
∼ £12
∼ £51
5.0(9)
4.8(11)
4.6(7)
4.5(135)
4.5(112)
4.3(143)
4.2(1,975)
4.2(19)
4.1(13)
3.9(32)
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best FFP3 masks in detail

Spanner In The Works FFP3 moulded 20-pack

Rank 1

Spanner In The Works FFP3 moulded 20-pack

∼£27

Our view

The Spanner moulded box of 20 at about £26.95 is titled for sanding, construction and DIY, at about £1.35 a mask. The amazon.co.uk line is 5.0 from 9 reviews, and the two captured UK texts say only that it is good as advertised and very good for the purpose. Those lines do not name a job, a seal or a strap. EN 149, a valve, a layer count and a harness are absent from the listing. The title does say disposable and moulded, and the box weight is listed as 420 g. A five-star average from nine ratings, with no fault written down, is a thin record beside the packs that have over a hundred reviews. Buy it when the moulded shape is what you want and you accept that the notes do not show how it fitted a face.

Pros

  • Moulded shape stated, box of 20
  • About £1.35 a mask at about £26.95
  • Disposable stated in the title

Cons

  • 5.0 from 9 reviews, with almost no written detail
  • No EN 149, valve or harness on the listing
  • The captured texts name no job and no fault

Best for: You want a moulded 20-count and you will judge the fit when it arrives.

Less suitable: You are choosing from the star line alone, or you need a standard and a harness printed first.

Specifications

Model
Spanner In The Works FFP3 moulded 20-pack
Brand
Spanner In The Works
Price
∼£27
Customer rating
5.0/5(9)
Pack size
20
Reuse
Disposable
Shape
Moulded
Price per mask
£1.35

Common questions

How many masks are in the box?

The title says a box of 20 moulded disposable FFP3 masks.

Does the listing state a valve or an EN number?

No. A valve, a layer count and an EN number are not stated on the listing.

How many review texts are saved?

The rating line says 5.0 from 9 ratings. Two short positive reviews are saved, and they name no job and no fault.

Apex JADA FFP3 EN149 10-pack

Rank 2

Apex JADA FFP3 EN149 10-pack

∼£18

Our view

The Apex JADA ten-pack at about £17.99 prints EN149 in the title, and the detailed UK review describes a seal that filtered dust in a recycling-centre hall. The amazon.co.uk line is 4.8 from 11 reviews, and the page was first listed on 6 November 2025, so the star line is a small sample. That reviewer also says a lighter flame did not go out while the mask was worn, which is one anecdote rather than a fit test, and they call the mask a little tight and warm. The title lists construction, sanding, spray painting, cleaning, mould, fine dusts, and asbestos particles, and those words are title uses rather than a hazard rating. A valve, a harness and a layer count are not stated. At about £1.80 a mask it sits above the Spanner EN149 packs that have far more reviews. The asbestos wording is a use line, not evidence this mask is rated for asbestos work.

Pros

  • EN149 in the title, pack of 10 at about £17.99
  • A UK review describes dust filtration in a recycling hall
  • 4.8 from 11 reviews

Cons

  • Only 11 reviews, listed from 6 November 2025
  • Tight and warm in the detailed review
  • Valve, harness and layers are not stated
  • Asbestos and chemical cleaning appear as uses, not as a rating

Best for: You want EN149 printed on a ten-pack and you will judge the fit on your own face.

Less suitable: Asbestos, spray, or any job that needs a stated harness and a larger review sample.

Specifications

Model
Apex JADA FFP3 EN149 10-pack
Brand
Apex Business Supplies
Price
∼£18
Customer rating
4.8/5(11)
Standard
EN149
Pack size
10
Price per mask
£1.80

Common questions

What standard does the title cite?

EN149, pack of 10, FFP3 dust mask. A valve is not stated.

Does the title mention asbestos?

Yes. The title lists asbestos particles among uses. That is title wording only. The listing has no HSE task assessment, and it is not evidence the mask is rated for asbestos work.

Does the listing state a valve?

No. A valve is not stated, and neither is a harness or a layer count.

Spanner In The Works FFP3 moulded 10-pack

Rank 3

Spanner In The Works FFP3 moulded 10-pack

∼£17

Our view

The Spanner moulded box of 10 at about £16.95 is titled for sanding, construction and DIY, and the UK notes describe a dust seal while sanding paint off a door. The amazon.co.uk line is 4.6 from only 7 reviews, and the listing first appeared on 24 April 2026. One reviewer says a valve cuts condensation and another describes heavy-duty four-point straps, but neither the valve nor the harness is in the title, and EN 149 is not printed. One buyer found it a little uncomfortable and still reported a good seal. Seven reviews are not a basis for ranking the seal above the 1,975 notes on the Aura ten-pack. At about £1.70 a mask you are paying for a moulded cup the title names, and you would confirm any valve on the mask in your hand.

Pros

  • Moulded cup stated, box of 10 at about £16.95
  • A UK review cites sanding paint off a door
  • Reviewers describe a dust seal

Cons

  • Only 7 reviews, first listed on 24 April 2026
  • Valve and four-point straps are in reviews, not the title
  • EN 149 is not printed

Best for: You want a moulded cup under £17 for ten and you will confirm any valve on the mask you receive.

Less suitable: You need the valve and EN 149 printed before you pay.

Specifications

Model
Spanner In The Works FFP3 moulded 10-pack
Brand
Spanner In The Works
Price
∼£17
Customer rating
4.6/5(7)
Pack size
10
Valve
Review only
Reuse
Disposable
Shape
Moulded
Price per mask
£1.70

Common questions

What shape is the mask?

The title says moulded disposable face masks, box of 10.

Does the title state a valve?

No. One UK review says a valve reduces condensation. Treat that as a review, not as a printed specification.

Which standard is in the product details?

None. The title says FFP3, and the product details do not cite EN 149.

Spanner In The Works FFP3 20-pack

Rank 4

Spanner In The Works FFP3 20-pack

∼£22

Our view

The Spanner In The Works 20-pack at about £21.95 is the box United Kingdom reviewers use for fine dust, including bagging hay, where one buyer says particles collect in the mask rather than reaching them. Across 4.5 from 135 amazon.co.uk reviews, more than one person says the nose mould stops glasses steaming, and several mention handing out the individually wrapped masks. The title prints UK certified EN149, seven layers, and disposable, and it does not state a valve. One reviewer could not get a secure seal, so air bypassed the material, and another notes condensation inside during use. One comment praises heat-welded ear loops, which the title itself does not name as the harness. At about £1.10 a mask it is the top pick in this set when you check the seal on your own face before the dust starts.

Pros

  • 4.5 from 135 United Kingdom reviews
  • EN149 named in the title, pack of 20, individually wrapped
  • Reviewers cite hay dust and glasses that stayed clear
  • About £1.10 a mask at £21.95

Cons

  • At least one reviewer could not get a seal
  • Condensation builds up inside
  • Harness is not in the title; one review describes ear loops

Best for: You want a wrapped 20-pack with EN149 on the title for dusty jobs, and you will check the seal on your face.

Less suitable: You need a valve printed on the listing, or a head harness stated before you order.

Specifications

Model
Spanner In The Works FFP3 20-pack
Brand
Spanner In The Works
Price
∼£22
Customer rating
4.5/5(135)
Standard
EN149
Pack size
20
Reuse
Disposable
Price per mask
£1.10
Layers
7
Wrapped
Yes

Common questions

How many masks are in the pack?

The title says a pack of 20, individually wrapped, seven-layer FFP3 masks.

Does the listing state a valve?

No. A valve is not stated in the title or the product details.

What standard does the title cite?

The title says UK certified EN149. It also says the masks are disposable.

7-layer FFP3 disposable mask

Rank 5

7-layer FFP3 disposable mask

∼£20

Our view

This seven-layer listing at about £19.99 prints EN 149:2001+A1:2009 and a claim of more than 99% filtration, and UK reviewers describe wearing a fresh mask through a day of urban pollution until it looked soiled. The star line is 4.5 from 112 reviews. Comfort and an easy breath are repeated, and one review says the seal worked for a husband with a larger face. Pack size is not stated, so about £19.99 does not become a price per mask. The product-information ASIN is B0G2HHLSJ6 while the page URL is B0FFF9WSWN. Those two codes are not treated as one variant. A valve is not stated, and reviewers describe ear loops, including twisting them for a closer fit. One review calls the mask poorly made and suffocating, and a smaller face is described as slightly loose at the sides.

Pros

  • EN 149:2001+A1:2009 and a claim of more than 99% filtration
  • 4.5 from 112 United Kingdom reviews
  • A reviewer describes a seal that held on a larger face

Cons

  • Pack count is missing, so about £19.99 has no per-mask figure
  • Page URL ASIN is B0FFF9WSWN, not B0G2HHLSJ6
  • Ear loops, and a loose side seal on a smaller face

Best for: You can confirm the pack count on the live page and you want the full EN 149 string in the title.

Less suitable: You need a stated pack size, a valve, or a head harness before you order.

Specifications

Model
7-layer FFP3 disposable mask
Brand
–
Price
∼£20
Customer rating
4.5/5(112)
Standard
EN 149:2001+A1:2009
Reuse
Disposable
Layers
7
Filtration
>99%

Common questions

Which ASIN is on the product page URL?

The product-information ASIN is B0G2HHLSJ6. The page URL is amazon.co.uk/dp/B0FFF9WSWN. They are not merged into one variant here.

What filtration figure does the title claim?

The title claims more than 99% filtration efficiency, 7 layers, and EN 149:2001+A1:2009. Pack size is not stated.

Does the title state a valve?

No. A valve is not stated. Reviews mention ear loops, which the title does not specify.

Spanner In The Works FFP3 valved 10-pack

Rank 6

Spanner In The Works FFP3 valved 10-pack

∼£13

Our view

The Spanner valved ten-pack at about £12.95 is the box UK reviewers use when an electric saw throws sawdust and they want a valve named on the title. Across 4.3 from 143 reviews, people mention a mask that stays put for some faces and is easy to breathe through, and several short reviews call the price fair. The title also says six layers, disposable, and individually wrapped. The product details never print EN 149. Ear-loop elastic is the repeated complaint: one review title says the straps break as soon as the mask goes on, and others call the fit too big so the filter rests on the face. The package weight prints as 11 g, which is not a usable mass for ten masks. It suits occasional sawing if you check the seal yourself, and the missing standard is the reason it sits behind the EN149 packs.

Pros

  • Valve named in the title, pack of 10, individually wrapped
  • 4.3 from 143 United Kingdom reviews
  • Reviewers cite sawdust from an electric saw

Cons

  • EN 149 is not printed
  • Flimsy ear loops that can snap as the mask goes on
  • The 11 g package weight is not credible

Best for: You want a valve on the title at about £1.30 a mask and you will check the seal on your face.

Less suitable: You need EN 149 printed on the page, or headbands instead of ear loops.

Specifications

Model
Spanner In The Works FFP3 valved 10-pack
Brand
Spanner In The Works
Price
∼£13
Customer rating
4.3/5(143)
Pack size
10
Valve
Yes
Reuse
Disposable
Price per mask
£1.30
Layers
6
Wrapped
Yes

Common questions

Does this mask have a valve?

Yes. The title says ventilated and with valve, six layers, pack of 10, individually wrapped.

Which standard is printed in the product details?

None. The title says FFP3, and the product details do not cite EN 149.

What pack weight is printed?

The listing prints package dimensions 29.9 x 26.3 x 4.9 cm and 11 g. The 11 g figure is unusually low for ten masks and is not used as a weight.

3M Aura 9332+ FFP3 valved 10-pack

Rank 7

3M Aura 9332+ FFP3 valved 10-pack

∼£58

Our view

The 3M Aura 9332+ ten-pack at about £58.03 is the listing that prints EN 149:2001+A1:2009 FFP3 NR D, a Cool Flow valve, and red headbands, with 4.2 from 1,975 amazon.co.uk reviews. Buyers describe easy breathing through the filter when the size suits the face, and some say the straps are long enough to hold the mask. The same UK notes call the elastic very tight and prone to breaking as the mask goes on, and many describe the fit as small or far too small so the seal fails. The bullets say NR while a later attribute says reusable, and the model field says 9332 while the title says 9332+. Several reviewers doubt the masks are genuine 3M, which these notes do not verify. At about £5.80 a mask it is the dear end of the set, and the NR mark still means a single shift if you follow the bullet rather than the reusable line.

Pros

  • EN 149:2001+A1:2009 FFP3 NR D and a Cool Flow valve on the listing
  • 4.2 from 1,975 reviews
  • Headbands stated, colour-coded red for FFP3
  • Bullets cite particles up to 20 times the workplace exposure limit

Cons

  • Elastic breaks, and the fit is often called too small
  • NR and reusable both appear on the listing
  • About £5.80 a mask, and some buyers question authenticity

Best for: You want the printed EN 149 line and a valve, and the three-panel size suits your face.

Less suitable: Larger faces, or a budget that stays under a couple of pounds a mask.

Specifications

Model
3M Aura 9332+ FFP3 valved 10-pack
Brand
3M
Price
∼£58
Customer rating
4.2/5(1,975)
Standard
EN 149 NR D
Pack size
10
Valve
Cool Flow
Harness
Headbands
Reuse
NR; reusable
Shape
3-panel
Price per mask
£5.80
Filtration
20x WEL

Common questions

Is this the valved 3M Aura?

Yes. The title says 9332+, FFP3, valved, pack of 10, and the bullets name the Cool Flow valve.

What reuse mark is printed in the bullets?

The bullets say EN 149:2001+A1:2009 FFP3 NR D and CE 0086. A separate attribute says reusable. Both are on the listing. Follow the NR bullet for a single shift.

What harness does the listing describe?

Colour-coded headbands, red for FFP3, plus an adjustable nose clip and a sculpted nose panel.

Apex JADA FFP3 10-pack

Rank 8

Apex JADA FFP3 10-pack

∼£10

Our view

The Apex JADA ten-pack at about £9.99 is the lowest shelf price in this set, with a title claim of more than 99% filtration and the words UK certified, and with no EN number on the listing. The line is 4.2 from 19 United Kingdom reviews. Short reviews call it comfortable, say it kept dust out, and one buyer recommends it for spray paint and says their glasses did not fog. A particle mask is not a rating for spray-paint vapour. A valve, a layer count and wrapping are not stated, and a listing question about adjustable ear loops is not a specification. The product-information ASIN is B0FV2WTRHQ while the page URL is B0FV2VYCQH, and the title says packaging may vary. One review title says they are not face masks as such, and another says good mask, poor order, without explaining the order fault. At about £1.00 a mask the price is low, and the missing EN number is why that price stays behind the EN149 packs.

Pros

  • About £9.99 for a titled pack of 10
  • A claim of more than 99% filtration on the title
  • Reviewers mention dust and spray paint

Cons

  • No EN number, only the words UK certified
  • URL ASIN B0FV2VYCQH does not match B0FV2WTRHQ
  • One review disputes that the item is a face mask

Best for: You are comparing the lowest pack price and you will check what arrives against the title.

Less suitable: You need an EN 149 number on the page, or a stated harness.

Specifications

Model
Apex JADA FFP3 10-pack
Brand
Apex Business Supplies
Price
∼£10
Customer rating
4.2/5(19)
Standard
UK certified
Pack size
10
Reuse
Disposable
Price per mask
£1.00
Filtration
>99%

Common questions

Which ASIN is on the product page URL?

The product-information ASIN is B0FV2WTRHQ. The page URL is amazon.co.uk/dp/B0FV2VYCQH. They are not merged into one variant here.

What does the title claim on filtration?

More than 99% filtration efficiency, UK certified, pack of 10, disposable. An EN number is not in the product details.

Does the listing state a valve?

No. A valve is not stated, and a layer count is not stated either.

Spanner In The Works FFP3 10-pack

Rank 9

Spanner In The Works FFP3 10-pack

∼£12

Our view

The Spanner ten-pack at about £11.95 is the lower shelf price among the listings here that print EN149 and a pack of 10, and UK reviewers say it stops them breathing in a lot of dust. The line is 4.1 from 13 reviews, and the page was first listed on 24 April 2026, so that average is a short sample. The title says seven layers and individually wrapped, and one reviewer says the nose clip holds a seal and the cup keeps its shape when damp. A valve is not stated. Straps are the recurring fault: one buyer calls them flimsy, and another had the strap come off two masks while pulling them over the face. Reviewers also call the mask large and more suitable for a larger face. It is the best value here when you try the elastic before a dusty job and you treat 13 reviews as a thinner record than the 135 on the 20-pack.

Pros

  • About £11.95 for 10, about £1.20 a mask
  • EN149 and individually wrapped on the title
  • A reviewer says the nose clip held a seal

Cons

  • Elastic came off two masks in one review
  • Described as large for a smaller face
  • 13 reviews, first listed on 24 April 2026

Best for: You want the lower EN149 ten-pack price in this comparison and you will test the straps before a dusty job.

Less suitable: A smaller face, or a decision you want backed by more than 13 reviews.

Specifications

Model
Spanner In The Works FFP3 10-pack
Brand
Spanner In The Works
Price
∼£12
Customer rating
4.1/5(13)
Standard
EN149
Pack size
10
Price per mask
£1.20
Layers
7
Wrapped
Yes

Common questions

Are these masks individually wrapped?

Yes. The listing title says the pack of 10 is individually wrapped.

Does the listing state a valve?

No. The listing does not state whether a valve is fitted.

What standard does the title cite?

The title says UK certified EN149 and FFP3, in a pack of 10 with 7 layers.

3M Aura 9332+ FFP3 valved 5-pack

Rank 10

3M Aura 9332+ FFP3 valved 5-pack

∼£51

Our view

The 3M Aura 9332+ five-pack at about £50.79 is titled as valved FFP3, which is about £10.16 a mask and the highest price per mask in this set. The star line is 3.9 from 32 reviews, and the captured texts are from France, Italy, Germany and Spain, not the United Kingdom. This listing does not print an EN 149 sentence, so the ten-pack’s FFP3 NR D line stays on that other ASIN. An Italian review says one mask arrived when five were expected. A German review praises fit and breathing, and a French review mentions comfort, including a claim about chemical smells that this listing does not rate as vapour protection. Harness, layers and a reuse mark are not stated. Count the masks in the parcel, and compare this about £50.79 line with the about £58.03 ten-pack that does print the standard, before you treat the names as the same offer.

Pros

  • Title names Aura 9332+ and says valved
  • Pack of 5 stated
  • Listed since 3 February 2019

Cons

  • About £50.79 for five, about £10.16 a mask
  • No EN 149 line on this ASIN
  • Saved reviews are not from the United Kingdom
  • One review reports a short shipment

Best for: You specifically want a five-pack of the named Aura model and you will count what arrives.

Less suitable: You need United Kingdom review text, the EN 149 line on this ASIN, or a lower price per mask.

Specifications

Model
3M Aura 9332+ FFP3 valved 5-pack
Brand
3M
Price
∼£51
Customer rating
3.9/5(32)
Pack size
5
Valve
Yes
Price per mask
£10.16

Common questions

How many masks are in this pack?

The title says 9332+, FFP3, valved, 5 per pack. The item model number is 9332PRO5.

Are the saved reviews from the United Kingdom?

No. The captured reviews are from France, Italy, Germany and Spain. The rating line is 3.9 from 32. They are not used as British shopper opinion.

Does this listing repeat the ten-pack EN 149 string?

No. Standard, NR and D are not printed on this ASIN. Do not copy the ten-pack line onto this five-pack.

How we compared

Scores use the ten amazon.co.uk listings kept in this comparison, the prices and star lines on those pages, and the review notes for the same ASINs. Shelf date 20 October 2026. This is not a laboratory test or a face-fit test. A title that says FFP3 is not scored as EN 149 unless EN149 or EN 149 is printed on that listing. Weights sum to 100. The highest score is the top pick. Best value is the lowest price per mask among the other EN149 packs with one count and at least 10 United Kingdom reviews.

1

Amazon evidence

30%

Stars are the amazon.co.uk rating divided by 5, then multiplied by 20. A review-count band is added on top, and the block is capped at 30. If the saved review texts are not from the United Kingdom, the count bonus is 0. The 3M five-pack is in that position: 3.9 from 32, with the saved texts from outside the UK.

2

Listing fit

35%

EN 149 printed on the listing, one pack count, FFP3 in the title, a valve or a harness stated on the listing, individual wrapping, and a layer count or a filtration percentage. UK certified with no EN number scores as a phrase. A product-information ASIN that differs from the page URL costs points. NR and reusable in the same listing also cost points.

3

Review outcome

20%

United Kingdom notes that name a dust job and a seal score higher when the sample is large and a recurring fault stays visible. Under 10 reviews, or texts that name no job, stay low. Seven reviews cannot outrank a sample of hundreds. No United Kingdom review text scores at the bottom of this block.

4

Value

15%

Price per mask is used only when the pack count is one number. Under about £1.25 with EN 149 on the listing scores at the top of this block. The lowest shelf price does not win when the EN number is missing. An unknown pack count cannot be turned into a per-mask price. Above £5 with the standard printed scores low.

Independent review
Last updated: 21 October 2026
9 sources checked

FFP3 mask buying guide

Read the printed class and the standard before the layer count. A valve, a head harness and the letters NR change the job the mask can do. A title that says FFP3 is not EN 149 unless that standard is on the same listing.

What is an FFP3 mask?

An FFP3 mask is a disposable particle-filtering half mask to EN 149. It is not a surgical mask, and it is not a reusable half facepiece that takes separate filters. On amazon.co.uk the usual reason to buy one is fine dust from sanding, cutting, insulation and similar DIY. A workplace uses the same class when a COSHH assessment needs assigned protection factor 20. HSE assigns FFP1, FFP2 and FFP3 the factors 4, 10 and 20, and that 20 only holds when the model seals on your face.

Best for

  • A dusty DIY afternoon where you will check the seal on your own face
  • A workplace that can fit-test a head-harness model marked to EN 149

Not ideal for

  • Solvent vapour, oxygen-deficient air, or asbestos beyond the narrow non-licensed case
  • A choice made from a five-star line of nine reviews with no job named

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Judging the mask by the layer count

    Seven layers, or a claim of more than 99%, does not replace FFP3 to EN 149. Inward leakage is a separate test from filter efficiency. UK certified with no EN number is a phrase.

  2. 2

    Wearing ear loops as workplace protection

    HSE says ear-loop respirators, even with clips, are not recommended as tight-fitting RPE for most people. Prefer a head harness you can fit-test. A daily seal check is not that fit test, and facial hair on the seal rules the mask out.

  3. 3

    Treating reusable, asbestos or spray paint as a rating

    If the bullets say NR, an Amazon line that says reusable is not the EN mark. A particle mask does not filter gases or vapours. A title that lists asbestos is not an assessment. em6 covers only some short non-licensed tasks.

What to weigh up

Printed class and standard

High

The listing has to show the class and the standard, not a layer slogan. An FFP3 mask should be marked FFP3 to EN 149. BSI’s public summary puts FFP3 filter efficiency at 99%, and inward leakage is a separate test, so a claim of more than 99% is not that standard. The words UK certified, with no EN number, score as a phrase. In this set the Spanner 20-pack at about £21.95 and the Spanner 10-pack at about £11.95 both print EN149. The Apex ten-pack at about £17.99 also prints EN149.

Harness, fit and the valve

High

HSE does not recommend ear-loop respirators, even with a clip, as tight-fitting respiratory protective equipment. Prefer headbands when the mask is a workplace control you can fit-test. Only the 3M Aura ten-pack states colour-coded headbands, red for FFP3, and reviewers still call that mask small, with elastic that can break as it goes on. Several Spanner notes describe ear loops or straps that come off, and the title often does not name the harness at all.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

Dusty DIY afternoon

You want a wrapped pack for sanding, cutting or hay dust, and you will check the seal on your own face. The Spanner In The Works 20-pack is the top pick: EN149 is on the title, the price is about £21.95, and the line is 4.5 from 135 reviews. A valve is not stated, and at least one reviewer could not get a seal.

Lower EN149 ten-pack

You want EN149 printed and a lower pack price than the 20-count. The Spanner 10-pack is the best value here, at about £11.95, about £1.20 a mask. The line is 4.1 from 13 reviews, first listed on 24 April 2026, and reviewers say the straps can come off. Try the elastic before a dusty job.

Printed standard and a valve

You want EN 149, a valve and headbands named on the listing, and the three-panel size has to suit your face. The 3M Aura 9332+ ten-pack prints FFP3 NR D and a Cool Flow valve, at about £58.03, with 4.2 from 1,975 reviews. The bullets say NR while another line says reusable. Many reviewers call the fit small.

Common questions about FFP3 masks

Which FFP3 mask is the top pick?
The top pick is the Spanner In The Works 20-pack at about £21.95. It scores 81, the highest in this set, with EN149 on the title and 4.5 from 135 amazon.co.uk reviews. Reviewers mention hay dust and glasses that stayed clear. At least one person could not get a seal. A valve is not stated. Best value is the Spanner 10-pack at about £11.95, also with EN149 on the title, from only 13 reviews. Neither title states a head harness.
How much does an FFP3 mask cost?
On these amazon.co.uk listings the shelf price runs from about £9.99 to about £58.03. Ten-packs of own-brand masks sit at about £9.99, £11.95 and £12.95. Mid-price boxes run from about £16.95 to £26.95. The 3M Aura 9332+ is about £58.03 for ten and about £50.79 for five. One seven-layer listing is about £19.99 with no pack count, so it has no per-mask price. These figures were on the pages on 20 October 2026 and can move.
What should be printed on an FFP3 mask?
Look for FFP3 and EN 149 on the same listing, plus NR or R. A layer count, or a claim of more than 99% filtration, does not replace that standard. UK certified with no EN number is a phrase, not the standard. HSE gives FFP3 an assigned protection factor of 20 only when the fit is good. The mask filters particles, not gases, vapours or a lack of oxygen. GOV.UK allows UKCA or CE marking for PPE in Great Britain.
Do I need a valve on an FFP3 mask?
A valve can make the mask cooler for you. It usually does not filter the air you breathe out, so leave it off when other people need protection from that air. The valve is printed on the 3M Aura packs and on the Spanner valved ten-pack at about £12.95. Several other titles do not state a valve. One moulded box mentions a valve only in a review, which is not a specification. The two Spanner EN149 packs that lead this comparison do not state a valve.
Are ear loops enough on an FFP3 mask?
HSE says ear-loop respirators, even with clips, are not recommended as tight-fitting respiratory protective equipment for most people. Prefer headbands when the mask is a workplace control and you can fit-test that model. Only the 3M Aura ten-pack states colour-coded headbands. Several Spanner reviews describe ear loops or straps that come off, and the title often omits the harness. A daily seal check is not a fit test, and facial hair on the seal rules that mask out.
Is an FFP3 mask the same as an FFP2 mask?
No. HSE assigns FFP2 an assigned protection factor of 10 and FFP3 a factor of 20, and both figures assume a good fit. Most power-tool wood cutting and sanding is an HSE example for APF 20, with extraction first. FFP2 can be the right class only where the assessment needs APF 10. How the lower class is sold on amazon.co.uk is a separate comparison, FFP2 masks. A title that only says FFP3 is not scored here as EN 149 unless that standard is printed on the same listing.
Can I use one of these for asbestos or spray paint?
Not on the strength of a title. FFP masks filter particles. They are not a control for solvent vapour or for oxygen-deficient air. HSE sheet em6 limits EN 149 FFP3 to some short non-licensed asbestos tasks. Licensed work, a long high-rate job, or a mask nobody has fit-tested is a reason to stop and get a competent person. One Apex title lists asbestos and spray painting as uses. That wording is not a rating, and no mask here was tested against asbestos or vapour.
Why is a five-star box not the top pick?
The Spanner moulded 20-pack shows 5.0 from 9 reviews, and the two saved texts name no job, seal or fault. A sample under 10 reviews does not outrank 135 United Kingdom reviews on a pack that prints EN149. The 3M five-pack is 3.9 from 32 reviews, and the saved texts are from France, Italy, Germany and Spain, so they are not British shopper opinion. The ten-pack’s EN 149 line is not copied onto that five-pack.

Our verdict

The top pick is the Spanner In The Works 20-pack at about £21.95. It scores 81, the highest here, with EN149 on the title, a pack of 20 at about £1.10 a mask, and 4.5 from 135 United Kingdom reviews. Reviewers cite hay dust and glasses that stayed clear. At least one person could not get a seal. Best value is the Spanner 10-pack at about £11.95, a different ASIN, the next EN149 pack with one count and at least 10 UK reviews. Skip the 20-pack if you need a valve or a head harness printed before you order. Skip the 10-pack if you want a larger review sample than 13.

Best overall
Spanner In The Works FFP3 moulded 20-pack

Spanner In The Works FFP3 moulded 20-pack

View offer
Best value
Spanner In The Works FFP3 10-pack

Spanner In The Works FFP3 10-pack

Lowest price per mask among the other EN149 packs with one count and at least 10 United Kingdom reviews, at about £11.95.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - Editor
Editor
Respiratory protectionamazon.co.uk listingsUK safety guidance

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: 21 October 2026
9 sources checked

Guides to FFP3 masks

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources named below. amazon.co.uk prices, stars and review counts on these ten listings were read on 20 October 2026. Page updated 21 October 2026.

  1. HSE disposable dust masks (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  2. HSE HSG53, Respiratory protective equipment at work (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  3. HSE COSHH essentials R3 (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  4. HSE cutting and sanding wood (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  5. HSE fit testing basics (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  6. HSE INDG479, guidance on respiratory protective equipment fit testing (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  7. HSE safety bulletin on ear-loop respirators (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  8. HSE asbestos essentials em6 (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  9. GOV.UK PPE marking, UKCA and CE (retrieved 20 October 2026)

Expert source (DIY & tools): Charlie White (Charlie DIYte) (external profile) – public expert commentary used as a research source, not as a contributor to our pages.

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk (tag pcuk26-21). If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are taken from those listings. We did not run a lab test or a face-fit test.