FFP3 mask buying guide
A box on amazon.co.uk promises seven layers or more than 99 percent filtration. An FFP3 mask buying guide is the check before you pay: which marks belong on the mask, which harness the Health and Safety Executive accepts at work, and which hazards this class does not cover. The [FFP3 mask](/hub/medical-protection/ffp3-mask) comparison holds the rows and prices, from £9.99 to £58.03. Peter F., editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk, used those listings plus HSE and GOV.UK guidance, and did not lab-test any mask. A qualifying purchase can earn a commission at no extra cost to you.
A box on amazon.co.uk promises seven layers or more than 99 percent filtration.
A box on amazon.co.uk promises seven layers or more than 99 percent filtration. An FFP3 mask buying guide is the check before you pay: which marks belong on the mask, which harness the Health and Safety Executive accepts at work, and which hazards this class does not cover. The FFP3 mask comparison holds the rows and prices, from £9.99 to £58.03. Peter F., editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk, used those listings plus HSE and GOV.UK guidance, and did not lab-test any mask. A qualifying purchase can earn a commission at no extra cost to you.
Our top picks
| Badge | Product | Standard | Harness | Valve | Note | Price | Offer |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Best overall | Spanner In The Works Spanner In The Works FFP3 20-pack | EN149 in the title | Not in the title | Not stated | 8.1 | about £21.95 | View offer |
| Alternative | 3M 3M Aura 9332+ FFP3 valved 10-pack | EN 149:2001+A1:2009 FFP3 NR D | Headbands, red for FFP3 | Cool Flow | 7.4 | about £58.03 | View offer |
| Best value | Spanner In The Works Spanner In The Works FFP3 10-pack | EN149 in the title | n/a | Not stated | 6.6 | about £11.95 | View offer |
On this page
What to read on the mask
Harness, face and the job
How the listings in this comparison score
A short checklist
Common questions
Is a seven-layer mask the same as FFP3?
What do NR and D mean?
Does a CE or UKCA mark mean the mask fits my face?
Why does one 3M listing say both NR and Reusable?
Will an FFP3 mask stop paint fumes?
Related pages
Sources
Public UK sources named below. amazon.co.uk prices, stars and review counts on these ten listings were read on 20 October 2026. Page updated 21 October 2026.
- HSE disposable dust masks (retrieved 20 October 2026)
- HSE HSG53, Respiratory protective equipment at work (retrieved 20 October 2026)
- HSE COSHH essentials R3 (retrieved 20 October 2026)
- HSE cutting and sanding wood (retrieved 20 October 2026)
- HSE fit testing basics (retrieved 20 October 2026)
- HSE INDG479, guidance on respiratory protective equipment fit testing (retrieved 20 October 2026)
- HSE safety bulletin on ear-loop respirators (retrieved 20 October 2026)
- HSE asbestos essentials em6 (retrieved 20 October 2026)
- GOV.UK PPE marking, UKCA and CE (retrieved 20 October 2026)


