Security buyer
You need a threat-led panel and a certificate checked against the employer's risk assessment. FiveFire has the broadest review base among the stab-claim listings here, but its 24J wording is not a KR certificate.
The best stab protection vests, compared.
Top pick: SafeGuard CoolMAX PRO covert vest Best value: FiveFire concealed steel vest – It offers the broadest review base among the stab-claim listings at £47.99, with clear limits around certification, side cover and conflicting specifications. Updated 15.10.2026.
A stab protection vest for UK security work should be a torso panel tested against a named threat, not simply a waistcoat carrying a protection slogan. This comparison maps 12 amazon.co.uk listings: seven use stab, cut or bullet wording, while five are rugby or snow-sports protectors. A typical listing does not state a KR certificate, so we compare what the pages can support — stated coverage, construction, fit, price and genuine rating counts — without awarding a Home Office protection level. The sports products remain in the table because they appeared in the captured set, but they are clearly marked as unsuitable for knife risk. Start with the threat, ask for the test document and check that the protective panel is actually included. If you arrived here looking for surface protection rather than body armour, use our [wallpaper protection comparison](/hub/hearing-protection/wallpaper-protection). A stab protection vest is a torso garment containing a panel intended and tested for a defined edged-weapon threat. In the UK framework cited for this comparison, the Home Office Standard distinguishes knife resistance from spike and ballistic protection. Uses 24 joules at the E1 test and uses 33 joules, with a higher E2 overtest.
A stab protection vest for UK security work should be a torso panel tested against a named threat, not simply a waistcoat carrying a protection slogan.
Swipe for more
1-2 of 12Personal buying guide
Question 1 of 2
What threat are you buying for?
SafeGuard Clothing lists the CoolMAX PRO at £325, and the title says Level IIIA plus Stab Level 1, in black, as a covert vest. The rating line is 5.0 from 2, and the only UK review text calls it comfortable, light and a good fit that did not show through clothes, for door work. No weight, size or certificate number is in the captured details. The details block ASIN is B09NM3TCRQ, not the URL ASIN B09NM6H827. Side protection is not stated. Two ratings cannot show whether that door-work fit repeats, so the level names stay title claims.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A buyer who already wants this covert title and will confirm the certificate and the ASIN before paying £325.
Less suitable: Anyone who needs a published weight, a matching details ASIN, or more than one UK review.
Specifications
The men’s Salomon FLEXCELL PRO costs £97.95, weighs 700 g in the details, closes with a zip, and the included-components line says Black S. The sport line says ski, snowboarding and hiking, while the bullets repeat a children’s running-vest description that does not match the title. Eleven review texts, all headed as reviewed in Germany, sit behind 4.8 from 24 ratings. They call it stable and flat under a jacket, including when carving or bending, and one says the sides can be tightened. A reviewer describes size S as fitting teenagers around 168 cm as well as some adults. Another had not fallen and would not judge the protection. The details ASIN is B0F2TKZLBT, and no knife standard is named on this capture.
Pros
Cons
Best for: Skiing or snowboarding in the listed Black S, if you already know this is a sports pad and you are using German fit notes.
Less suitable: Stab protection, a buyer who reads the running-vest bullets as the product, or anyone who wants a UK review.
Specifications
Size M of the Canterbury Pro Protection vest costs £39.95, weighs 230 g, and scores 4.8 from 20 ratings. The listing names shoulders, chest and biceps, in foam and elastic with mesh, an underarm gusset and an adjustable strap, and it pulls on. Two captured UK texts are short and positive, one calling it the best kit out there, and neither states a fault. Those two lines are a thin slice of the 20 ratings, so a failure pattern is not visible. VapoDri is a quick-dry claim on the listing, and neither a World Rugby mark nor a knife test is shown. Unlike the size S listing, this capture does not say the vest is machine washable.
Pros
Cons
Best for: Rugby in size M, if you want biceps pads as well as chest and shoulder cover.
Less suitable: Stab protection, or a buyer who wants a wash instruction and a larger set of written reviews.
Specifications
Canterbury’s women’s Pro Protection vest costs £42.99, weighs 197 g, and scores 4.7 from 40 ratings. UK reviewers call it light and comfortable, including across an 80-minute match, and more than one says to size down for a snug fit. The listing covers shoulders, chest and biceps, with hook-and-loop, an adjustable strap, mesh and an underarm gusset. One UK reviewer found the length a little short, and a size 42 felt like a standard S. A buyer who wanted it for airsoft asked for more chest pad than this rugby layer has. The details ASIN is B09XJ6RJFM, not the URL, and no knife test is named.
Pros
Cons
Best for: Women’s rugby, if you size down for a snug chest-and-shoulder layer and check the length.
Less suitable: Stab protection, airsoft buyers who want a thicker chest pad, or anyone unsettled by the mismatched details ASIN.
Specifications
The Vielrosse vest is listed at £29.98 with a title that adds anti-cut gloves and storage pockets to a front-and-back concealed claim. The amazon.co.uk line is 4.7 from 3 ratings, and only two review texts were captured. The UK review says the fit was good, light under clothing and discreet, and it mentions security work. The other text, from Germany, calls it a bit immobile. No colour, size, weight, material or closure appears in the details, and no standard is named. The gloves are cut-resistant only by the title, which is not a stab level.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A low-priced concealed vest with gloves, if you accept a three-rating sample and an empty spec table.
Less suitable: Anyone who needs a stated weight, a material, or more than one UK review before security work.
Specifications
At 167 g and £36.84, the Canterbury Pro Protection vest in size S is a foam and elastic rugby layer for chest and shoulders, with 4.6 stars from 171 amazon.co.uk ratings. Reviewers wear it under a jersey and often call the shoulder padding soft enough for hits without much bulk. One buyer used it when returning to play after a collarbone break and called it robust, and others say it was still fine after a few washes. The care line says machine wash, and the listing adds an underarm gusset and a zip. It does not name a knife test. One UK review says it tore after a single wear, and a reviewer who wanted side pads will not find them here. It is the top pick in this comparison on review volume, weight and price, as sports padding rather than a stab vest.
Pros
Cons
Best for: Rugby training in size S, if you want a light chest-and-shoulder pad under a jersey.
Less suitable: Security work or stab protection, or a player who needs side pads.
Specifications
Across 118 amazon.co.uk ratings at 4.3, the FiveFire concealed vest is listed at £47.99 and claims 24 joules from five 0.7 mm steel layers, with a 10 x 12 inch panel and a waist of 31–52 inches. Some reviewers call it light enough under a hoodie and quiet, a few door staff describe it as reassurance after an incident, and a few say a blade they tried did not go through, which is not a Home Office test. Others report weight, heat and trouble bending or sitting, and the listing disagrees with itself: 3.5 kg and steel in the bullets, 2.57 kg and high-strength fibre in the details. The bullets say the steel disc is not in the pocket, and that the vest does not stop bullets. Reviewers also note no side or neck cover. One report mentions mould on arrival, and one undetailed line says the wearer was still stabbed. It is the best value here if you want a stab-claim vest with this wide a review base, and the 24 joule line is still not a named test-house result.
Pros
Cons
Best for: Concealed wear on door shifts if you accept a seller’s 24 joule claim, no side panels, and a disc that is not in the pocket.
Less suitable: Anyone who needs side or neck cover, a test-house name on the listing, or protection against bullets, which the listing says it does not offer.
Specifications
Salomon lists the FLEXCELL PRO W at £67.99 as a women’s vest for ski, snowboard, hiking and outdoor use, with snowboarding on the sport line, a pull-on closure and a details weight of 700 g. The included-components line says Black XS, and the details material is PVC. The bullets describe a children’s running vest, which does not match that title. All nine captured review texts are headed as reviewed in Germany, behind a 4.3 from 14 ratings, so this file has no UK shopper text. Those reviews call it comfortable and usable under a ski jacket, and one says the pad comes out for hand washing, with side bands that adjust the size. No knife test is named, and the details ASIN is B0F2TL1RT1 rather than B0F2TL87NT.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A women’s snowboard or ski layer in the listed Black XS, if you set aside the children’s running-vest bullets.
Less suitable: Stab protection, a UK fit report, or anyone who needs the bullets to describe the same product as the title.
Specifications
The soft concealed vest in size L costs £89 and sits at 3.8 from 4 ratings, with three UK review texts in the capture. One reviewer wore it for 8 to 13 hours on shift and called it comfortable under a shirt, and another called it light and cool in the sun. A third UK review says it is not fit for purpose, without naming a defect. The bullets put the weight at 0.6 kg and name an MT800 inner fabric, while the details say 500 g. The title’s Level 4 is not a KR code in this capture, and no test house is named. Side coverage is not stated, so the comfort notes do not describe protection around the ribs.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A long shift under a shirt if you want a soft concealed layer and can live with four ratings.
Less suitable: Anyone who reads Level 4 as a UK stab grade, or who needs side cover and a larger review sample.
Specifications
At £25.99, this security-titled Vervevum vest repeats a 24J claim for a manganese-steel layer, Oxford cloth and a metal-cotton liner, with the details at 1.93 kg and 50 x 50 x 2 cm. The part number differs from the other Vervevum listing, and the details ASIN matches this URL. Bullets name hook-and-loop at the shoulders and waist, and they name the chest, back and key side areas. No KR level or test house is in the capture. The review block is empty, so the lower price has no shift report and no complaint pattern behind it. Patrol and daily-wear lines on the listing are seller text only.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A price check on the cheapest 24J steel-layer wording in this set, without reading an empty review block as reassurance.
Less suitable: Door or patrol work where you need wearer reports or a named certificate.
Specifications
The Vervevum listing at £27.49 claims a 24J manganese-steel layer over the chest, back and key side areas, in a black vest the details list at 1.93 kg and 50 x 50 x 2 cm. Hook-and-loop at the shoulders and waist is the only fit detail in the bullets, and the capture does not describe the vest as covert. The details block does not repeat the steel claim, and no test house or KR level is named. There is no review text and no star rating in the capture, so fit, heat and wear time are unreported. Breathable lining and mesh are seller sentences, not wearer reports. The 24J figure stays an unverified listing claim.
Pros
Cons
Best for: Comparing a cheap 24J steel-layer claim on paper, if you will ask for a certificate the listing does not name.
Less suitable: Anyone who wants owner reports, a named stab standard, or a vest described as covert.
Specifications
The Xdyyjrasa vest at £27.89 is size Large in the details, at 1.93 kg and 50 x 50 x 2 cm, with bullets that claim 24J from a manganese-steel layer over the chest, back and key side areas. Hook-and-loop at the shoulders and waist is the stated adjustment, and the included-components line says one anti-stab suit. The details material line says Acrylic, so that line and the steel bullets do not agree. No test house or KR level is named. No review text was captured, which means heat, noise and real fit are unknown. The date first available is 2 September 2026, and this capture still has no reviews.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A size Large 24J claim you can inspect in person, after you resolve the Acrylic line.
Less suitable: Anyone who needs the material lines to agree, or a vest with owner reviews.
Specifications
We mapped 12 captured amazon.co.uk listings against their stated threat, evidence, coverage, fit, price and UK rating data. This is a listing comparison supported by public UK guidance, not a laboratory safety test, and no product received a KR level unless a certificate was shown.
Threat relevance
30%We separated knife, spike, slash, ballistic and sports-impact wording because one claim does not establish performance against another threat.
Standard and evidence
25%A named certificate or test-house reference carries more weight than an unexplained 24J or Level 4 seller claim.
Coverage and construction
20%We compared the stated panel area, side coverage, included parts and conflicts between bullet points and technical details.
Ratings and practical reports
15%Real amazon.co.uk star and count data informed confidence, while small samples and non-UK review text were treated cautiously.
Price and value
10%Shelf price was considered only after relevance and evidence; a cheap listing is not good value if it does not document the required threat.
Choose the threat before the product. A knife, spike, slash, handgun, rifle, rugby collision and skiing fall are different hazards, so one label cannot stand in for another. In this captured set, specification conflicts and small review samples matter as much as price. No listing shows a KR certificate, and the sports listings must remain outside any knife-protection shortlist.
A stab protection vest is a torso garment containing a panel intended and tested for a defined edged-weapon threat. In the UK framework cited for this comparison, the Home Office Body Armour Standard distinguishes knife resistance from spike and ballistic protection. KR1 uses 24 joules at the E1 test and KR2 uses 33 joules, with a higher E2 overtest.

KR1 includes a defined test method and documentation. A seller's energy figure alone is not that certificate.
Rugby and snow-sports protectors address sports impacts. They do not become stab armour because they cover the torso.
Check the in-box list and panel location. FiveFire's listing says the steel disc for its pocket is not included.
Name the hazard before comparing products: knife, spike, slash, ballistic impact or sports impact. UK Home Office knife levels are KR1 and KR2, while spike and ballistic threats use different classifications. A listing that says 24J, Level 4 or Level IIIA has not necessarily documented the knife performance you need. Ask for a certificate that identifies the exact vest and panel, the test level and the issuing test source. Confirm that the item delivered matches that identity.
Check which body areas the panel actually covers and what arrives in the box. Front and back do not imply protection at the sides, neck or arms. A pocket may be empty, and a steel-layer bullet point may conflict with the technical material line. Compare dimensions, weight and adjustment, then check whether the vest can be worn for the intended shift without riding up or restricting breathing and bending. Covert wear under a shirt differs from an overt carrier.
Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.
You need a threat-led panel and a certificate checked against the employer's risk assessment. FiveFire has the broadest review base among the stab-claim listings here, but its 24J wording is not a KR certificate.
You want to inspect the lowest-priced steel-layer wording without treating price as proof. The £25.99 Vervevum entry is the cheapest of the similar 24J claims, but it has no captured reviews or named test house.
You need light sports padding for chest and shoulders, not knife armour. The Canterbury size S listing has 171 ratings and weighs 167 g, but it must not be bought for security work.
The captured set does not prove a KR1 or KR2 level for any listing. Canterbury's size S rugby vest is the top pick on review volume, weight and price, but only as sports padding; it is not a stab vest. FiveFire is the best-value stab-claim listing because it combines a £47.99 price with 118 ratings, although its weight and material details conflict and its 24J statement is not a named test-house result. For workplace use, verify the certificate and employer risk assessment before buying.

FiveFire concealed steel vest
It offers the broadest review base among the stab-claim listings at £47.99, with clear limits around certification, side cover and conflicting specifications.
Editorial

Products Compared publishes British-English buying guides based on amazon.co.uk listings and public UK sources. We do not run a lab and we do not invent test scores.
Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.
Public UK guidance and standards sources used for this comparison; last accessed 15 October 2026.
Expert source (DIY & tools): Charlie White (Charlie DIYte) (external profile) – public expert commentary used as a research source, not as a contributor to our pages.
This article contains affiliate links. If you buy through one of these links, we may earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. Rankings are based on the captured listing data and named public sources; we did not conduct a laboratory safety test.