Best fatwood
You want one fatwood pack for a log burner you light most evenings, and perhaps a second pack that will actually fit in a coat pocket. Best only means something once that split is clear. Star ratings on amazon.co.uk mix countries, and the cheapest sticker in this set contradicts its own weight. This page names a conditional top pick for regular lighting, the close bulk alternative, the least painful pocket tin, and the listing to skip. Full criteria, including Ready to Burn, stay on the [fatwood buying guide](/hub/fireplaces-and-stoves/fatwood/sub/fatwood-buying-guide). The rows are on the [fatwood comparison](/hub/fireplaces-and-stoves/fatwood). Prices are the amazon.co.uk figures in our files on 19 October 2026. A qualifying purchase can earn us a commission.
You want one fatwood pack for a log burner you light most evenings, and perhaps a second pack that will actually fit in a coat pocket. Best only means something once that split is clear.
You want one fatwood pack for a log burner you light most evenings, and perhaps a second pack that will actually fit in a coat pocket. Best only means something once that split is clear. Star ratings on amazon.co.uk mix countries, and the cheapest sticker in this set contradicts its own weight. This page names a conditional top pick for regular lighting, the close bulk alternative, the least painful pocket tin, and the listing to skip. Full criteria, including Ready to Burn, stay on the fatwood buying guide. The rows are on the fatwood comparison. Prices are the amazon.co.uk figures in our files on 19 October 2026. A qualifying purchase can earn us a commission.
Our top picks
| Badge | Product | Saved reviews | Stick size | Pack | Note | Price | Offer |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Best overall | BIUDECO BIUDECO fatwood sticks in a tin | One UK spare note | Not stated | Pocket tin | 4.7 | about £11.48 | View offer |
| Best value | Billy Buckskin Billy Buckskin 10 lb fatwood sticks | United States texts | About 203 mm long, 7.6–31.8 mm thick | 10 lb box | 7.9 | about £29.18 | View offer |
Pure Garden Pure Garden 10 lb fatwood sticks | Two short UK texts | Not stated | 10 lb box | 8.5 | about £28.64 | View offer |
On this page
Best for regular stove lighting
When Billy Buckskin is the one to pick
Best pocket pack in this set
The pack to skip
Common questions
Are Billy Buckskin's reviews from the UK?
Why not the £4.59 pack?
Is a specialist bundle better than these tins?
Can the best fatwood go on an open fire in a smoke control area?
Who should skip fatwood?
Related pages
Sources
Public UK sources used for this comparison. amazon.co.uk prices, stars and review counts were taken from the listings on 19 October 2026.
- GOV.UK, smoke control area rules (retrieved 19 October 2026)
- Air Quality (Domestic Solid Fuels Standards) (England) Regulations 2020 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
- GOV.UK, selling wood for domestic use in England (retrieved 19 October 2026)
- Ready to Burn (retrieved 19 October 2026)
- HETAS, how to light a fire (retrieved 19 October 2026)
- HETAS, carbon monoxide (retrieved 19 October 2026)
- Paul Kirtley, fatwood (retrieved 19 October 2026)
- Woodland Ways, fat wood (retrieved 19 October 2026)


