Slow release fertiliser buying guide: first checks
You are standing over a peat-free hanging basket in April, and amazon.co.uk is offering Growmore, coated granules and an ericaceous jar under the same shop phrase. A slow release fertiliser buying guide is the order of checks before you pay: the technology, the plant group, a label you can read, and a pack that matches the job. Stars and the cheapest kilo do not decide that. The [slow release fertiliser comparison](/hub/fertiliser-soil-and-bark-mulch/slow-release-fertiliser) holds the seven prices. What follows is how to read those jars, not a ranking. A purchase through our links may earn a commission. This is not a laboratory test.
You are standing over a peat-free hanging basket in April, and amazon.co.uk is offering Growmore, coated granules and an ericaceous jar under the same shop phrase.
You are standing over a peat-free hanging basket in April, and amazon.co.uk is offering Growmore, coated granules and an ericaceous jar under the same shop phrase. A slow release fertiliser buying guide is the order of checks before you pay: the technology, the plant group, a label you can read, and a pack that matches the job. Stars and the cheapest kilo do not decide that. The slow release fertiliser comparison holds the seven prices. What follows is how to read those jars, not a ranking. A purchase through our links may earn a commission. This is not a laboratory test.
Our top picks
| Badge | Product | Release claim | Named plants | NPK on listing | Note | Price | Offer |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Best overall | Westland Westland Ericaceous Plant Food Granules, 900 g | 3 months | Acid-loving plants | Not stated | 9.0 | about £6.00 | View offer |
Westland Westland Boost Slow Release Plant Food 2 kg | 6 months | Plants | Not stated | 9.0 | about £11.64 | View offer | |
| Best value | Doff Doff Multipurpose Controlled Release Fertiliser 1 kg | Not stated as months | Multipurpose | 10:5:11 | 8.8 | about £8.38 | View offer |
On this page
What slow release means on a UK shelf
Match the jar to the plant
Read the bag, then pick a pack
What this page will not choose for you
Common questions
Is slow-release the same as controlled-release?
Is Growmore a slow-release fertiliser?
Do I need an ericaceous jar or all-purpose?
What NPK should I look for on the bag?
What pack size do I need for a few pots?
Are organic pellets in this comparison?
Can I use garden granules on a lawn?
Related pages
Sources
Public UK and maker sources used for this page in October 2026. Prices, stars and review counts are from the seven amazon.co.uk listings. A maker-page NPK is not the amazon card. There is no laboratory test and no Which? winner among these jars.
- RHS, fertilisers (retrieved October 2026)
- RHS, fertiliser labels explained (retrieved October 2026)
- Fertilisers Regulations 1991 (retrieved October 2026)
- GOV.UK, rules to prevent water pollution (retrieved October 2026)
- Gardeners' World, which fertiliser to use (retrieved October 2026)
- Love The Garden, plant feeding application (retrieved October 2026)
- Westland Boost granules (retrieved October 2026)
- Which?, controlled-release fertilisers (retrieved October 2026)


