Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Best solar electric fence energiser

Updated: October 2026

You want one solar unit from this amazon.co.uk set, and the star rows do not agree. The best solar electric fence energiser here is a conditional pick: a clean horse tape with no socket nearby, not a sheep fence. On 19 October 2026 the only large UK sample is My Animal Command’s MAC3ML, 4.4 from 433 reviews, at about £139.99, stating 0.25 J output. The full rows sit on the [solar electric fence energiser comparison](/hub/fencing-and-wire/solar-electric-fence-energiser). Peter F. checked those listings that day. A qualifying purchase can earn us a commission at no extra cost to you.

You want one solar unit from this amazon.co.uk set, and the star rows do not agree. The best solar electric fence energiser here is a conditional pick: a clean horse tape with no socket nearby, not a sheep fence.

Our top picks

Trsaow Trsaow 1.2 J bullet

Best overall

Trsaow Trsaow 1.2 J bullet
5.2/10about £109.99
Mekturm Mekturm 0.2 J

Best value

Mekturm Mekturm 0.2 J
5.8/10about £105.99
On this page

Best for a clean horse paddock in this set

For a short, clear horse tape, the unit the UK reviews describe is My Animal Command. It prints 0.25 J output and 0.55 J stored, a 6 W panel, a UK plug, a 50 cm earth rod and a basic tester. Electric Fence Online’s horse guide still starts nearer 1 J, so 0.25 J sits below that starting point once grass leans on the wire. A top pick here is the deepest UK sample plus a labelled output, not the strongest pulse on the market. Trsaow’s SUNDWL prints 1.2 J at about £109.99 and 5.0 from two reviews, and the file never says whether 1.2 J is stored or output. Two reviews are not 433. If the animal is a sheep, stop.

Who should not buy it

One verified review on the same listing says the sheep walked through and that 0.25 J was not enough. Wool insulates. Electric Fence Online puts sheep nearer 3–5 J, and Compel’s starting point for sheep in wool is 4 J and up. The solar electric fence energiser for sheep page is that argument. Horses can stay in the same week sheep do not. A weedy line fails the same way. Joining a second 0.25 J unit to one fence is not the repair. Voltimum’s summary is one energiser on a fence. If the joules are simply too low, use the solar electric fence energiser buying guide. The notes also record failures around a year. The earth and the first charge are on the how to set up a solar electric fence energiser page.
Trsaow Trsaow 1.2 J bullet

Testsieger

Trsaow Trsaow 1.2 J bullet
5.2/10about £109.99

The other five, and what their reviews can support

Mekturm’s J-SF001 at about £105.99 states 0.2 J and 8 kV and has 4.0 from five reviews. One report says a 16.2 hh horse stopped escaping. Another says the unit was returned after a month because the ponies got out. Panel watts and an earth rod are not stated. Five reviews can support a split story. They cannot support a best-in-set claim. About £105.99 is the lowest price among units that print a joule, which is the best value point, not a quality win. JKLESA prints 0.25 J and 0.2 J on the same listing, at 3.2 from ten reviews, including a missing earth pin. Trsaow’s 3 W unit has a review that the battery held no charge from the mains. ATMOREA does not state joules, and its written reviews are labelled United States. A low price with no joules is not best value.

When the better unit is not on this list

Electric Fence Online’s 2026 solar round-up and Horse & Hound’s guide are not tests of these six ASINs. Hotline’s Fire Drake, listed at £410, offers 0.25 J or 0.50 J output with a 12 W panel. That is more panel than the 3 W and 6 W lids here, and the output stays in the same low band if you choose 0.25 J. A 12 W panel is the right conversation when a 6 W lid keeps going flat. It is the wrong conversation when the animal needs 3 J. If the job is sheep, heavy grass or a long cattle line, the better unit is a mains energiser near a socket or a 12 V energiser on a leisure battery. This set does not contain that unit. A garden or poultry net matches Compel’s under-1 J band only when the listing states the joules. ATMOREA does not.

Common questions

Which of these six has the most UK reviews?
My Animal Command, at 4.4 from 433 amazon.co.uk reviews. The next figures in this set are ATMOREA at 3.4 from 24, with the written reviews labelled United States, then JKLESA at 3.2 from 10, Mekturm at 4.0 from 5, Trsaow’s 0.2 J unit at 3.8 from 3, and Trsaow’s 1.2 J bullet at 5.0 from 2. A large sample is not the same thing as a high output.
Is the 5.0-star unit the better buy?
Not on this evidence. Trsaow’s SUNDWL has two positive reviews and a 1.2 J bullet that does not say stored or output. An earth rod is not listed. Two reviews cannot outweigh 433 reviews on a unit that prints both output and stored energy, even though that unit is only 0.25 J at the output. Gallagher’s S120li, outside this set, uses 1.2 J as a stored-energy label.
Is the £51 unit the best value?
ATMOREA is the lowest price, at about £51.36, and the listing does not state joules. The battery line says batteries included: No while the title names a 10000 mAh battery. The written reviews in the file are labelled United States. A low price without the energy figure is a cheap unknown, not a value pick you can compare with a printed 0.2 J.
Who should skip every 0.2 J unit?
Skip them for sheep in wool, for cattle with grass on the wires, and for a horse fence that is long or weedy. UK guides put those jobs at about 1 J and up for horses, 2–4 J for cattle in grass, and about 3–5 J for sheep. A 0.2 J or 0.25 J output is the garden, poultry, and short clean-tape end of the scale.
What fails often enough to mention?
On My Animal Command, a sheep walk-through and failures around a year with replacements. On JKLESA, dead units, switch-offs and a missing earth pin inside ten reviews. On Mekturm, a return after a month when the ponies got out. On Trsaow’s 0.2 J unit, a battery that would not take a mains charge. The two-review 1.2 J listing has no fault in those two reviews, and the sample is still two.

Related pages

Sources

Public UK sources and the amazon.co.uk listings for B0B494JWMW, B0G3X682PZ, B0GTPYTLV1, B0FCFJY8G5, B0FHGN2TZY and B0FDKDSG7H. Prices stored 19 October 2026.

  1. BSI, BS EN IEC 60335-2-76:2021+A11:2021, electric fence energizers (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  2. Voltimum UK, installation requirements for electric fencing (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  3. GOV.UK, public rights of way: landowner responsibilities (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  4. GOV.UK, the Countryside Code: advice for land managers (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  5. AHDB, components of an electric fence (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  6. Compel, electric fence energiser joule bands (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  7. Electric Fence Online, sheep energiser buyer’s guide (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  8. Farmcare UK, 12 V energisers and a winter mains boost (retrieved 19 October 2026)