SDS drill buying guide
You are comparing six amazon.co.uk SDS drills from £47.17 to £84.99, and the numbers that jump out are watts, a chuck size and the stars. The hole in brick or a concrete lintel depends on quieter figures: impact energy in joules, a concrete diameter the listing actually prints, and a weight you can hold. This SDS drill buying guide sets that order for the six tools on our [hammer drill SDS plus comparison](/hub/drilling-and-accessories/hammer-drill-sds-plus). Products Compared read those listings on 22 October 2026. We did not run a lab test. A qualifying purchase can earn a commission at no extra cost to you.
You are comparing six amazon.co.uk SDS drills from £47.17 to £84.99, and the numbers that jump out are watts, a chuck size and the stars.
You are comparing six amazon.co.uk SDS drills from £47.17 to £84.99, and the numbers that jump out are watts, a chuck size and the stars. The hole in brick or a concrete lintel depends on quieter figures: impact energy in joules, a concrete diameter the listing actually prints, and a weight you can hold. This SDS drill buying guide sets that order for the six tools on our hammer drill SDS plus comparison. Products Compared read those listings on 22 October 2026. We did not run a lab test. A qualifying purchase can earn a commission at no extra cost to you.
Our top picks
| Badge | Product | Impact energy | Concrete capacity | Weight | Note | Price | Offer |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Best overall | Bosch Bosch PBH 2100 RE | Not stated | Not stated | 2.2 kg | 9.2 | about £59.94 | View offer |
| Alternative | Enventor Enventor Z1C-HW01-3288EP | 6 J | 32 mm | 7.87 kg | 8.2 | about £84.99 | View offer |
| Best value | DongCheng DongCheng DZC05-26B | 2.8 J | Not stated | 2.9 kg | 8.3 | about £47.17 | View offer |
On this page
What you are buying
Joules, then the hole in concrete
Weight, modes and the clutch
What to ignore on the Amazon table
A shortlist you can take to the comparison
Common questions
How many joules do I need for brick and for concrete?
Is SDS-Max worth it in a house?
Why does the chuck size say 13 mm or 1 inch?
Do I need a safety clutch?
What if the listing never prints a concrete capacity?
Related pages
Sources
Public UK sources from the research digest, retrieved for the page dated 22 October 2026. Shelf prices, stars and review counts are the amazon.co.uk figures in the display file.
- HSE: Control of Vibration at Work Regulations (retrieved 22 October 2026)
- HSE: advice to employers on hand-arm vibration (retrieved 22 October 2026)
- HSE: CN3 drilling and cutting concrete and masonry (retrieved 22 October 2026)
- HSE: electrical equipment at work (retrieved 22 October 2026)
- GOV.UK: Electrical Equipment (Safety) Regulations 2016 (retrieved 22 October 2026)
- Bosch DIY UK: PBH 2100 RE (retrieved 22 October 2026)
- SDS Drill: corded SDS-Plus models (retrieved 22 October 2026)


