Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Direct Wi-Fi thermometer or a base station

Updated: October 2026

You are about to buy four small sensors and assume each one joins the router. On amazon.co.uk that is true of some thermometers and false of others, and the false ones stay silent if the base is missing. A direct Wi-Fi sensor is a client. A base-station sensor is not, and it will not replace a base you hoped to skip. This page only sorts that architecture. The rows themselves are on the [Wi-Fi thermometer comparison](/hub/climate-measuring/wifi-thermometer). Prices are the amazon.co.uk figures on 15 October 2026. Products Compared editorial team used those listings, not a lab. A qualifying purchase can earn a commission at no extra cost to you.

You are about to buy four small sensors and assume each one joins the router. On amazon.co.uk that is true of some thermometers and false of others, and the false ones stay silent if the base is missing.

Our top picks

Govee Govee H5179

Best overall

Govee Govee H5179
8.6/10about £23.99
X-Sense X-Sense STH55

Alternative

X-Sense X-Sense STH55
7.3/10about £46.95
QXMH QXMH TH02 Pro

Best value

QXMH QXMH TH02 Pro
6.8/10about £15.99
On this page

One client per sensor, or one client for the set

Direct, in this set, means the sensor joins 2.4 GHz itself. That is the H5179 at about £23.99, the two-pack at about £42.99, the H5103 at about £34.99, the ZenithCove at about £10.99, and the QXMH at about £15.99. The two-pack is two clients, not a gateway. The UbiBot at about £165.99 is direct as well and adds Ethernet. It is not a base for the other sensors. None of the 23 reviews in its file is marked United Kingdom. A base or a gateway is one Wi-Fi client and several sensors behind it. The STH55 at about £46.95 includes four sensors and a base. The sensors are not standalone clients. The ATHZ31 at about £42.49 says it cannot be used alone. Reviews describe three sensors and a base, while the attribute table counts one item. The H5151 at about £37.98 is three sensors plus a gateway. Bluetooth without that gateway is a local link, not a remote reading.

One room against several rooms

If you are watching one room and you want a screen with no extra box, use a direct sensor. The job we name for that is the H5179, with an LCD and 4.4 from 1,130 reviews, the first 50 of them marked United Kingdom. The H5103 is the e-ink face at about £34.99. If several rooms should share one Wi-Fi client, buy a kit that includes the base or the gateway. The STH55 states ±0.2°C and ±2% RH, the tightest accuracy sentence here. The H5151 states ±0.3°C and does not state a humidity accuracy. A UK review says extra sensors for its up-to-10 line were not on sale in the UK then.
Govee Govee H5179

Testsieger

Govee Govee H5179
8.6/10about £23.99

The base still joins 2.4 GHz

The base is the Wi-Fi client, so it does not avoid a fussy join. Where this set states a band, it is 2.4 GHz only, and Govee's UK page for the H5179 says 5 GHz is not supported. A separate H5151 manual states 2.4 GHz. The amazon.co.uk row in this set does not. You still split the router names before you blame the hardware. The 500 m claim is sensor-to-base in the open, on the STH55 and the AEGISLINK. It is not a path to the router or through a steel shed. One AEGISLINK review says the plug was too wide. One X-Sense review describes a USB supply that tripped the house. Unplug a failed adapter.

Which to buy, with one condition

If the bullet says the sensor cannot be used alone, do not buy the sensor by itself. Ethernet is a third path: the UbiBot is one logger at about £165.99, for a web console. The one-room write-up is the best Wi-Fi thermometer page. The decision order is the Wi-Fi thermometer buying guide. Whether the garden can hear any of this is the Wi-Fi thermometer for a greenhouse page.

Common questions

What is the difference between a direct sensor and a base station?
A direct sensor is a Wi-Fi client. You add one per room, and there is no hub in the H5179, H5103, ZenithCove, QXMH, or UbiBot box. A base-station sensor talks to the base, and the base joins the router. The STH55 and the ATHZ31 work that way. The H5151 uses a gateway for the same job. Unplugging the base or the gateway stops the remote readings. Unplugging nothing on a direct sensor still leaves that one room online.
Can I buy extra sensors and skip the base?
Not when the bullet says the sensor cannot be used alone. The ATHZ31 says that in plain text. An X-Sense sensor from another pack that needs an SBS50 is not the STH55 kit, and it is not a bare Wi-Fi client. H5151 sensors without the gateway may pair by Bluetooth locally, which is not remote monitoring. Extra sensors for the up-to-10 line were not on sale in the UK in one review.
Is the H5151 gateway the same idea as the X-Sense base?
Yes, as architecture: one mains-side Wi-Fi client, several sensors behind it. The STH55 box includes four sensors and states ±0.2°C and ±2% RH. The H5151 box includes three sensors, states ±0.3°C, and does not state humidity accuracy. The apps differ, and a Govee gateway will not host an X-Sense sensor. Count the sensors in the box you are actually buying.
Does each H5179 use its own Wi-Fi slot?
Yes. The single and each gauge in the two-pack join 2.4 GHz on their own. Two rooms mean two clients. That is the opposite of the H5151, where the gateway is the only Wi-Fi client and the sensors are not. The two-pack's 1,130 reviews are the single-unit file copied across, so do not treat the pack as a larger sample. Its alert bullet says Bluetooth settings only.
Which one keeps working if I only have Bluetooth nearby?
The direct Govee sensors can still be read and, in the reviews, configured when the phone is in Bluetooth range, with remote history only once Wi-Fi is up. The H5151 can pair locally without the gateway, according to Govee's UK page, and you then lose the away-from-home view. A base-station sensor with no base does not become a Bluetooth thermometer you can trust. If the bullet says it cannot be used alone, believe the bullet.

Related pages

Sources

Public UK sources used for this comparison. Listing prices are the figures in this category's files on 15 October 2026.

  1. Radio Equipment Regulations 2017, GOV.UK (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  2. Ofcom, rules on using radio equipment (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  3. Electrical Equipment (Safety) Regulations 2016, GOV.UK (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  4. NHS, sudden infant death syndrome (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  5. The Lullaby Trust, room temperature (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  6. GOV.UK, damp and mould health risks (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  7. ICO, smart products (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  8. NCSC, smart devices at home (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  9. Govee UK, Wi-Fi thermo-hygrometer (retrieved 16 October 2026)