Hygrometer buying guide
You are on amazon.co.uk with a dozen small screens that all show a percentage. A hygrometer buying guide for this set is a refusal list. Keep a listing when it prints both a humidity span and a tolerance you can live with, and leave a listing that hides the tolerance or prints two limits that cannot both be the range. The Products Compared editorial team checked the twelve listings dated 15 October 2026. There was no laboratory test. If you buy through our Amazon links, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. The rows are on the [hygrometer comparison](/hub/climate-measuring/hygrometer).
You are on amazon.co.uk with a dozen small screens that all show a percentage. A hygrometer buying guide for this set is a refusal list.
You are on amazon.co.uk with a dozen small screens that all show a percentage. A hygrometer buying guide for this set is a refusal list. Keep a listing when it prints both a humidity span and a tolerance you can live with, and leave a listing that hides the tolerance or prints two limits that cannot both be the range. The Products Compared editorial team checked the twelve listings dated 15 October 2026. There was no laboratory test. If you buy through our Amazon links, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. The rows are on the hygrometer comparison.
Our top picks
| Badge | Product | Humidity span | RH tolerance | Cell | Note | Price | Offer |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Best overall | TempPro TempPro TP49 (3-pack) | 10% to 99% RH | Not stated | 3 AAA included | 7.9 | about £12.61 | View offer |
TempPro TempPro TP157 | Not stated | ±2% to 3% RH | 1 AAA included | 8.6 | about £5.29 | View offer | |
| Alternative | Thlevel Thlevel TBM-40 (6-pack) | 20% to 90% RH | ±5% RH at 25 °C | LR44 named in bullets | 8.0 | about £14.99 | View offer |
On this page
What a hygrometer listing has to tell you
What ±5 % RH actually allows
Refuse a listing that fights itself
Cells, packs, and what you are not buying
Common questions
What should I check on a hygrometer listing before I buy?
Is ±5 % RH accurate enough for a UK home?
Why do two meters in the same room disagree?
What if the bullets and the attributes disagree on temperature?
Does a hygrometer need a mains plug?
Which batteries are a swallowing hazard, and should I refuse a blank tolerance?
Related pages
Sources
Public UK sources used for this comparison. Listing prices, stars, and review counts are the amazon.co.uk lines from 15 October 2026.
- Centre for Sustainable Energy — condensation, damp and mould (retrieved 15 October 2026)
- East Herts Council — damp and mould (retrieved 15 October 2026)
- GOV.UK — health risks of damp and mould (retrieved 15 October 2026)
- Met Office — humidity (retrieved 15 October 2026)
- Property Care Association — control of dampness in buildings, January 2023 (retrieved 15 October 2026)
- Approved Document F, volume 1, dwellings (retrieved 15 October 2026)
- Consumer Rights Act 2015, section 9 (retrieved 15 October 2026)
- Yorkshire Housing — temperature and humidity sensor FAQs (retrieved 15 October 2026)


