Home driver on stands
You work on a hard floor and the car is already on axle stands. You want a one-piece board with a stated kilogram capacity and a size you can read in centimetres. The DAYUAN 97971 is the top pick for that job.
The best mechanic creepers, compared.
Top pick: BOOMSTART 40 inch folding car creeper, model BS013-BL Best value: BOOMSTART BS013 folding creeper – Best value after the top pick: about £43.21 with 4.3 from 74 reviews on a stated seat, ahead of a clearer but dearer Draper line with 7 reviews. Updated October 2026.
A mechanic creeper is a low wheeled board you lie on so you can move under a vehicle that is already held by axle stands or a lift. It is not a jack, and it does not hold the car. You judge one by a stated capacity you fit inside, a bed near a metre long, castors that stay tight, and a hinge that locks if it folds. The [mechanic creeper buying guide](/hub/car-parts/mechanic-creeper/sub/mechanic-creeper-buying-guide) sets that order: the job, then capacity, then length. Stools, kneelers and ramps are a different product, and they are not mechanic creepers. On amazon.co.uk the usual shapes are a moulded board, a folding steel two-in-one that also becomes a seat, or a tall topside platform for an engine bay.
A mechanic creeper is a low wheeled board you lie on so you can move under a vehicle that is already held by axle stands or a lift. It is not a jack, and it does not hold the car.
Swipe for more
1-2 of 9Personal buying guide
Question 1 of 2
Where will you work?
BS013-BL uses the same 2-in-1 bullet text as BS013, with a PU leather pad, a stated 150 kg capacity, six swivel castors, and a 40 inch claim, listed at about £39.99 and 6.39 kg. Amazon.co.uk shows 5.0 from 2 reviews. One reviewer, 6 ft 2 in, said the length suited their upper body and that the raised head section was a bonus, and they had just assembled it. That review also said there were no assembly instructions. Two ratings cannot outrank Hilka’s 4.2 from 143 or BS013’s 4.3 from 74. The listing says you can turn it from creeper to seat in seconds with no extra tools. The reviews do not show whether the lock still holds after months of use. Treat it as a colour variant of BS013, not as a separate design.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You already want this BS013 shape and this listing’s kilogram line, and you will not read two stars as a test.
Less suitable: You are choosing by star average alone.
Specifications
Common questions
How is BS013-BL different from BS013?
The listing uses the same 2-in-1, 150 kg, six-castor, 40 inch description, with model BS013-BL and a PU leather pad. It is a separate ASIN with its own price and only two ratings.
Does conversion need tools?
The listing says you can turn it from creeper to seat in seconds with no extra tools. One review says there were no assembly instructions.
Who mentioned their height?
One reviewer, 6 ft 2 in, said the length was right for their upper body and that the raised head section was a bonus. They had just assembled it.
The TCE TRHM1909-36UK is a pin-lock 2-in-1 at about £35.99 and 5.7 kg, with six swivel castors and an oil-resistant surface claimed. The listing says you unlock and lock a pin to change from board to seat. It does not state a weight capacity or a bed length. The package is 55 × 43 × 10.5 cm, which is the carton, not the open board. Amazon.co.uk shows 5.0 from 2 reviews. One said it works for under-car work. The other said the folded shape saves storage space. Neither described a fault, and neither gives you a kilogram figure to stay inside. A 5.0 from two ratings is not a reason to place it above Hilka’s 4.2 from 143 or FreeTec’s 4.0 from 221. Until a capacity is printed, this is a storage claim rather than a rated board.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You want a low-priced pin-lock seat and you will not treat two stars as a capacity test.
Less suitable: You need a printed kilogram rating before you lie on the board.
Specifications
Common questions
How do you change it from board to seat?
The listing says you unlock and lock a pin. It does not state a weight capacity.
What did the two reviewers say?
One said it works for under-car work. The other said the dual-purpose design saves storage space when it is folded. Neither described a fault.
How much does it weigh?
The listing states an item weight of 5.7 kg and a package size of 55 x 43 x 10.5 cm. Model number TRHM1909-36UK. Price about £35.99.
The DAYUAN 97971 is a moulded board the listing sizes at 100 × 48 × 12 cm, rated at 120 kg, with six castors and two side trays, at about £35.95 on the 19 October 2026 amazon.co.uk snapshot. It is 4.5 from 31 reviews, and reviewers describe assembly as very easy. That mix of a kilogram capacity, a centimetre size you can use, and more than a handful of ratings is why it is the top pick in this set. The item weight is 5.2 kg. One reviewer wrote that the headrest could be bigger, which matters if your head sits past the pad. It does not fold and it does not become a seat, so fold-flat storage is a different job. The 120 kg figure was not load-tested here, and the board does not hold the car.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You slide under a car that is already on stands, and you want trays on a one-piece board about 12 cm high.
Less suitable: You need a seat, or you need the board to fold flat for storage.
Specifications
Common questions
What weight does the DAYUAN listing allow?
The listing states a maximum weight capacity of 120 kg. It also states a size of 100 cm long, 48 cm wide and 12 cm high.
Does this creeper include tool storage?
Yes. The listing describes two side trays and a carrying handle, plus six castor wheels.
Is the headrest large?
The listing says the headrest is padded. One reviewer wrote that the headrest could be bigger.
The Draper 81908 is a one-piece PVC board the maker sizes at 1010 × 475 × 130 mm, with six multi-directional castors, a moulded back, a foam headrest, and a stated maximum of 120 kg. On amazon.co.uk it is 4.4 from 7 reviews at about £51.49. One review says under-vehicle access is much easier. Draper’s own page states a 12-month warranty. Amazon’s item weight of 11 kg conflicts with a 4.71 kg ship weight elsewhere, so the listing does not settle how heavy it is to carry. It does not fold and it does not become a seat. Draper’s sheet says do not stand on it, skate on it, or put it under tyres. Seven ratings are a thin sample next to Hilka’s 143, which is why the clearer millimetre line does not outrank the DAYUAN’s larger review count at a lower price.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You want a millimetre size and a maker sheet, and you do not need a seat.
Less suitable: You are choosing on review volume, or you need the board to fold away.
Specifications
Common questions
What is the Draper 81908 made of?
The listing says one-piece PVC with six multi-directional castors, a moulded back, and a foam headrest. Maximum carrying weight is 120 kg. Size is 1010 x 475 x 130 mm.
Does it fold or become a seat?
No. The listing describes a one-piece board. Included components are given as the mechanic creeper.
How many reviews are on the listing?
The star line is 4.4 from 7 reviews. One review on the listing says under-vehicle access is much easier. Item weight on the listing is 11 kg.
The BOOMSTART BS013 is a folding 2-in-1 the listing calls a 40 inch board and a seat, with six 360-degree wheels, at about £43.21 and 6.46 kg. On amazon.co.uk it is 4.3 from 74 reviews, the largest sample in the BOOMSTART family. This listing prints a capacity of 330 lb, not kilograms. The blue and red listings of the same specification print 150 kg, and Wonkee Donkee pairs about 150 kg with 330 lb, so 330 lb is not 330 kg. UK reviews mention a seat that was not mounted properly, a ripped headrest, useless instructions, and a head section that does not lock. You check that lock before you sit up. It carries the best-value mark because about £43.21 comes with 74 ratings on a stated seat conversion, after the DAYUAN already holds the top pick for a one-piece board. The three colour ASINs are one design; this is the one with the review count.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You want a seat and fold-flat storage, and you will check that the head section locks before you load it.
Less suitable: You want a one-piece deck with no hinge, or you will rank a 5.0 from two ratings above this review count.
Specifications
Common questions
Does the BOOMSTART BS013 convert to a seat?
Yes. The listing says it works as a rolling board and as a seat, and that it folds. Reviews disagree about whether the head section locks when you sit up.
What capacity is printed?
This listing says the frame can bear up to 330 lb. It does not print a kilogram figure. The BS013-BL listing of the same family states 150 kg.
What do reviewers complain about?
UK reviews mention a seat that was not mounted properly, a ripped headrest, useless instructions, and a head section that does not lock.
The Hilka 82645000 is a foldaway padded board at about £39.99 and 6.49 kg, on amazon.co.uk since 2012, with 4.2 from 143 reviews. That is the second-largest review count in this set, after FreeTec. Reviews praise folding it flat for storage under cars, vans, and caravans. The specification line of 1 × 1 × 1 cm is not a bed size, and the listing prints no capacity and no seat mode. Those reviews include a board that cracked on first use, castors that failed after about two weeks, a weld that let go after two weeks of van use, and a hinge that opened onto a shin. Other reviewers call it solid, and thin padding comes up as well. You are buying a long record of a folder, not a rated one-piece deck, and not Hilka’s separate 2-in-1 seat, which is not in this set.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You want fold-flat storage and you will inspect the hinge and the welds, knowing the capacity line is blank.
Less suitable: You need a stated kilogram rating, or you need the board to become a seat.
Specifications
Common questions
Does the Hilka fold away?
Yes. The listing says it packs away, and many reviews describe folding it for storage. It does not claim a seat mode. One reviewer said it unfolded onto their shin and added a strap.
What is the stated size and capacity?
The specification line of 1 x 1 x 1 cm is not a usable size, so length and capacity are not stated on this listing. Item weight is 6.49 kg. The rating is 4.2 from 143 reviews.
What failures show up in reviews?
Reviews include a board that cracked on first use, castors that failed after about two weeks, and a weld that let go after two weeks of van use. Other reviewers call it solid.
The FreeTec FK0167 is the lowest price in this set at about £31.72, a folding 2-in-1 the title rates at 330 lb, with six castors, a steel frame, and an item weight of 6.5 kg. Amazon.co.uk shows 4.0 from 221 reviews, the largest review count here. That pound figure is not 330 kg. Wonkee Donkee pairs about 150 kg with 330 lb. The listing also prints 30 × 10 × 20 cm, which conflicts with the 40 inch claim, so that centimetre line is not the bed. UK reviews include missing parts for the seat conversion, wheels that come undone, a seat that does not sit level, unclear instructions, and at least one unit that arrived damaged. Some reviewers still call assembly easy. You get the long review record and the low shelf price, and you also get the hinge faults that show up in that record.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You want the lowest shelf price and you will check that the conversion parts and the wheel nuts are actually in the box.
Less suitable: You need a kilogram capacity and a size line that agrees with itself.
Specifications
Common questions
What capacity does FreeTec print?
The title states 330 lb. It does not print kilograms. The listing also says 40 inches, six castors, and a steel frame. The 30 x 10 x 20 cm specification line conflicts with that length claim.
Can every unit convert to a seat?
The listing says it converts from a board to a seat. One UK review said the parts needed for that change were missing. Another said only washers were missing.
What else do UK reviews repeat?
Wheels that come undone, a seat that does not sit level, unclear instructions, and at least one unit that arrived damaged. The star line is 4.0 from 221 reviews, so praise and these faults both appear.
BS013-RD repeats the BS013-BL bullets: powder-coated steel stated to 150 kg, six swivel castors, a 40 inch platform, and a PU pad, at about £41.21 and 6.3 kg. The star line is 1.0 from 1 review. That review says the creeper arrived damaged, and Amazon marks it as written in Germany, so there is no UK review text on the listing. The specification matches the blue listing. The price and the star line do not. A single damaged-arrival note is not a durability test, and it is also not a reason to treat the red board as a different design from BS013. You are looking at a colour variant with almost no user record, priced above the blue ASIN’s about £39.99.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You specifically want this colour and you accept a single review.
Less suitable: You want a review record you can read as UK experience.
Specifications
Common questions
What does the only review say?
The only review says the creeper arrived damaged. Amazon marks that review as written in Germany. There is no UK review text on the listing.
What capacity does the listing claim?
The bullets state a powder-coated steel frame up to 150 kg, six swivel castors, and a 40 inch platform. The star line is 1.0 from 1 review.
Is this the same design as BS013-BL?
The bullet text matches BS013-BL. The model number is BS013-RD, the price is about £41.21, and the item weight is 6.3 kg. Treat it as a variant, not as a separate design.
The Techigher listing is a topside engine-bay platform, not an under-car board. It states three heights from 125 cm to 175 cm, a 180 kg capacity, a 5 cm pad, and four swivel castors with two locking brakes, at about £97.99. The item weight is 26.12 kg and the stated size is 105.5 × 52.7 × 22 cm, so you roll it up to a high bay rather than under a sill. There is no customer-review line on the amazon.co.uk listing, so the height steps and the locks are untested on the listing. A carbon-steel frame is claimed. Auto Express reviewed a different topside, the Sealey SCRT01, at around £240 on 13 February 2025; that product is outside this set and is only a price landmark. At this money with no ratings, you are buying a stated height range. It does not replace a board about 12 cm high.
Pros
Cons
Best for: The job is leaning into a tall engine bay, and you accept an unreviewed listing.
Less suitable: You need to lie under the car on a board about 12 cm high.
Specifications
Common questions
Is this an under-car creeper?
No. The listing describes a high-top engine creeper with three height levels from 125 cm to 175 cm. That is a topside platform for an engine bay.
What capacity and wheels does the listing state?
The listing states a 180 kg capacity, a carbon-steel build, a 5 cm pad, and four swivel castors with two locking brakes. There is no customer-review line on the listing.
How heavy is it?
The listing states an item weight of 26.12 kg and product dimensions of 105.5 x 52.7 x 22 cm.
Nine amazon.co.uk mechanic creeper listings were scored for this page on 19 October 2026. Stars, review counts and shelf prices are the listing lines. There was no laboratory load test. A score is not a claim that one board is the best mechanic creeper in the UK. The three weights below sum to 100. The highest total is the top pick, once. The highest value-part score that is not the top pick is best value, once.
Amazon evidence
40%Star rating scaled by review count. A 5.0 from two ratings stays low. No review line scores 0. A review marked as written outside the UK does not count as British opinion. Repeated lock, weld, missing-part or castor complaints come off this block.
Published limits
35%A capacity in kilograms you can compare, a bed size you can use, castors the listing actually counts, and a head support or seat claim that matches the type. A pound-only capacity, a blank capacity, a centimetre line that conflicts with the title, or a topside platform scored as a 12 cm board, costs points.
Value
25%Shelf price in GBP against a stated capacity and a real review line. The lowest price does not win when the size lines contradict each other.
Home drivers on a hard floor who will use stands are the core buyer of a board around £32 to £52. Mobile workers in the Hilka and BOOMSTART reviews care about folding and about welds. Only tall-engine-bay work fits the unreviewed topside listing. The mistakes that waste the money are buying a stool or a kneeler, treating the three BOOMSTART ASINs as different designs, reading 330 lb as 330 kg, and trusting 5.0 from two ratings over 4.2 from 143.
A mechanic creeper is a low wheeled board you lie on so you can move under a vehicle that is already held by axle stands or a lift. Stools, kneelers and ramps are a different product, and they are not in this set. On amazon.co.uk the usual shapes are a moulded board, a folding steel two-in-one that also becomes a seat, or a tall topside platform for an engine bay.

Those products are not in this set. A mechanic creeper here is a lying board, a folding seat, or a tall topside platform. A kneeler does not replace a board about 12 cm high.
FreeTec and the black BOOMSTART listing print 330 lb. The blue and red listings of the same BOOMSTART family state 150 kg. Wonkee Donkee pairs about 150 kg with 330 lb. The three BOOMSTART ASINs are one specification, not three designs.
HSE says never work under a vehicle held only on jacks. Use axle stands on hard, level ground, and stay inside the stand’s rating. A 5.0 from two ratings does not change that. Stop and use a garage when stands, level ground, or a current stand inspection are missing.
Rated capacity is the figure you have to fit inside. In this set DAYUAN and Draper state 120 kg. The blue and red BOOMSTART listings state 150 kg. Techigher states 180 kg. FreeTec and the black BOOMSTART listing print 330 lb, not kilograms. TCE and Hilka print no capacity. Wonkee Donkee’s retail range is about 80 to 150 kg, and that guide pairs about 150 kg with 330 lb, so 330 lb is not 330 kg. None of these figures was load-tested for this page, and none is a British Standard.
Length and height decide whether you and the board fit under the sill. DAYUAN states 100 × 48 × 12 cm. Draper states 1010 × 475 × 130 mm. Wonkee Donkee’s guide band is about 70 to 130 mm high and about 915 mm to 1.3 m long. Folding listings that say 40 inch mean head to hips, not a full length to the feet. Ignore Hilka’s 1 × 1 × 1 cm line and FreeTec’s conflicting 30 × 10 × 20 cm line. Your chest adds height, and no listing here measures sill clearance.
Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.
You work on a hard floor and the car is already on axle stands. You want a one-piece board with a stated kilogram capacity and a size you can read in centimetres. The DAYUAN 97971 is the top pick for that job.
You want the board to become a seat and to fold for storage, and you will check that the head section locks. Mobile workers in the Hilka and BOOMSTART reviews care about that hinge and about welds. BS013 is the best value because it carries the family’s review count.
The job is leaning into a high engine bay, not lying under the sill. The Techigher listing states 125–175 cm and 180 kg, weighs 26.12 kg, and has no review line. It does not replace a board about 12 cm high.
The DAYUAN 97971 leads this set at about £35.95, with a stated 120 kg, 100 × 48 × 12 cm, six castors and 4.5 from 31 reviews. That is the top pick for a one-piece board under a car that is already on stands. The BOOMSTART BS013 is the best value at about £43.21: 4.3 from 74 reviews on a folding seat, after the DAYUAN already holds the top pick. Its capacity is printed as 330 lb, and UK reviews say the head section does not always lock. The Draper 81908 ties BS013 on the total because the millimetre line is clearer, then loses the value block at about £51.49 with only 7 reviews. None of this is a load test, and none of these boards holds the car.

BOOMSTART BS013 folding creeper
Best value after the top pick: about £43.21 with 4.3 from 74 reviews on a stated seat, ahead of a clearer but dearer Draper line with 7 reviews.
Editorial

Kevin B. is the editor for Cars & motoring at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.
Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.
Public UK sources and the amazon.co.uk listing lines used for this comparison. Snapshot 19 October 2026.
This page contains affiliate links. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Scores use amazon.co.uk listings and public UK sources. They are not a laboratory test.