Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Video doorbell subscription cost UK: what a year adds

Cost16 October 20267 min read
Indoor video door monitor beside a memory card, with a phone showing a doorstep clip

The shelf price is not the year's cost. Which? puts some app-doorbell cloud plans at about £100 a year. On these kits, the memory card may still be extra.

Top pick: EZVIZ CP5 7 inch Wi-Fi video door phone
Top pick: EZVIZ CP5 7 inch Wi-Fi video door phone
See comparison →

You are comparing two stickers in the same week: a monitor kit near £59 that says there is no monthly fee, and a phone doorbell whose clips sit in a cloud plan. The video doorbell subscription cost UK shoppers argue about is that second number, quietly added to the first. On the kits in this comparison it usually does not belong there.

The shelves below were read on amazon.co.uk on 15 October 2026. They run from £58.99 to £207.99. None of those lines is a year's cloud bill.

The Products Compared editorial team used those listings, Which?'s smart video doorbell buying guide, the EZVIZ CP5 product page, the Information Commissioner's Office home CCTV guide, and Business Companion's note on mixed contracts. We did not run a lab test of retention, and we did not invent a tariff the pages do not print. A qualifying purchase can earn a commission at no extra cost to you.

In short

Which? says cloud storage on a smart video doorbell can cost up to about £100 a year. That ceiling is about app doorbells, not these nine listings. Here the year's known cost is the shelf, plus a memory card when the box does not include one, plus a plan only if an account actually offers a price.

The listing price and the year's fee

The band on 15 October 2026 is nine amazon.co.uk listings, not a census of every doorbell in the UK. The TKMARS was £58.99, one Winnes listing was £59.99 and another was £62.99, and a TMEZON and the V168M4 were £79.99 each. The two-monitor TMEZON was £135.99, the EZVIZ was £161.49, and the ACEBELL and the XPJ were £189.99 and £207.99.

Which?'s buying guide says cloud storage can cost up to about £100 a year, and it does not treat a sub-£50 app doorbell as a serious camera. These nine listings are not that review. The ceiling belongs to app doorbells. It is not a fee printed on the TKMARS, the TMEZON or the CP5.

Two years at that upper figure is about £200, already more than the EZVIZ at £161.49 and the two-monitor TMEZON at £135.99. Three years is about £300, more than the XPJ at £207.99. Those totals are arithmetic on Which?'s ceiling. They are not invoices from these makers.

Shoppers also search for a Ring subscription price and paste it onto the basket. This page does not quote a Ring plan, because these listings are not Ring doorbells. Inside this band, the two-monitor TMEZON is £56 more than the single TMEZON at £79.99, which is a second screen.

Where the card actually sits

A fee of zero does not mean a clip still exists on Thursday. The ACEBELL includes 32 GB, with a stated maximum of 128 GB. The XPJ includes a 32 GB TF card. The TKMARS does not include a card. The K18S does not include a TF card. The CP5 allows a local card up to 512 GB, and the card is not stated as included. A £58.99 or £62.99 box with no card in it is the bell and the screen. It is not a store of recordings.

The included 32 GB is a real difference, and the listings never say how many days of porch clips it holds. "Included" is not a month of evidence. The ACEBELL stops at 128 GB. The CP5's ceiling is 512 GB. A larger card only helps up to the maximum that listing names. This page does not quote a shop price for a spare card.

The Winnes shelves were £59.99 and £62.99. The missing-card note names the K18S, so read the model before you treat both cartons as empty. The TKMARS at £58.99 leaves the card as an extra. With no card fitted, the fee sentence has not saved a video.

The TMEZON listings at £79.99 and £135.99, and the V168M4 at £79.99, have no card size in this note. Open the box contents rather than copying 32 GB or 512 GB onto them.

Optional cloud on the CP5

The EZVIZ CP5 is the listing here that names a cloud option. It was £161.49, with 1,330 amazon.co.uk reviews. The maker's page describes a local card up to 512 GB and optional CloudPlay. Optional is the word to keep. A manufacturer page is not a price for your household, and it does not mean every buyer is billed. This comparison does not state a CloudPlay tariff. Read the fee in the EZVIZ account before you rely on a year. Until that number is on the screen, the known cost is £161.49 plus a card if the carton does not contain one.

You can plan to stay on the card. You cannot plan on a card the listing never says is included. Budget up to the 512 GB ceiling if you want clips in the house, then decide whether the plan is worth a second bill you have actually seen.

The 1,330 reviews are a public record, not a picture test, and they do not price CloudPlay. If you will not create an account, the CP5 is a poor match. The CP5 fits when you will sign in, buy a card if the box is empty, and add CloudPlay only after its price is visible.

What no subscription does not buy

No subscription is a sentence about money. It does not settle privacy, and it does not prove a clip was stored. The Information Commissioner's Office guide to home CCTV is the public starting point for a camera at a UK front door. A fee is not the legal test. You can pay nothing and still film a neighbour's window or the pavement. If the lens takes more than your side of the boundary, you need a reason, a tighter aim, and a way to delete. A card in the hallway does not cancel that duty.

Remote view on the ACEBELL, the XPJ and the EZVIZ still needs an account. The ACEBELL at £189.99 and the XPJ at £207.99 include 32 GB, which is fuller packaging than a £58.99 unit with an empty slot. The account remains if you want the picture while you are out. The higher shelf does not exempt you from the ICO guide.

Business Companion's guide to mixed contracts covers a purchase that joins goods and a digital service. A door station with an app, or a cloud plan you accept after sign-in, can be that kind of purchase. The guide is not a verdict on these nine listings.

A missing card is visible on day one. A plan that appears after sign-in is a second price. Before you drill, note the shelf, the card if the carton has none, and the plan only if an account shows a price. If about £100 is being added to a TKMARS, ask which product that plan belongs to.

Which comparison to open

Open the video door intercom comparison for this £58.99 to £207.99 band, the card notes, and the CP5's optional CloudPlay. Use it to separate a screen you answer at home from a kit that expects an account. The CP5 at £161.49 is the listing to open for local storage up to 512 GB, with CloudPlay left unpriced here.

Open the wireless video door intercom comparison when the other product is a phone doorbell. Keep that set's fees on that page. A search for a Ring subscription price is not a number this set has published. If you will not create an account, the video door phone with no Wi-Fi is the narrower question: a screen in the room, and no phone. Where the listing says the card is missing, storage is still a second purchase.

The video door intercom buying guide lists what to settle before the price, including where clips go. For a year, keep three lines: the shelf, the card, and a plan only when a plan is offered and priced.

Common questions

How much is a cloud plan compared with these kits?
Which? says cloud storage on a smart video doorbell can cost up to about £100 a year. That figure is for app doorbells, not these nine listings. Two years at that ceiling is about £200, past the EZVIZ CP5 at £161.49. Three years is about £300, past the XPJ at £207.99. On 15 October 2026 these amazon.co.uk shelves ran from £58.99 to £207.99. Add a plan only when an account shows a price.
Does no subscription mean the clips are saved?
No. It is a fee claim, not proof a clip is stored. The ACEBELL includes 32 GB, up to 128 GB, and the XPJ includes a 32 GB TF card. The TKMARS has no card, and the K18S has no TF card. The CP5 allows up to 512 GB, and a card is not stated as included. With no card fitted, nothing has been saved. The listings do not say how many days fit on 32 GB.
Is the memory card in the box?
Check the model. The ACEBELL includes 32 GB and the XPJ includes a 32 GB TF card. The TKMARS card is not included, and the K18S TF card is not included. The CP5 allows up to 512 GB, and a card is not stated as included. The Winnes shelves were £59.99 and £62.99. The missing-card note names the K18S, so read the model on the listing. This page quotes no price for a spare card.
Does EZVIZ force CloudPlay?
The CP5 page describes a local card up to 512 GB and optional CloudPlay. A maker page is not a monthly price, and this comparison prints no CloudPlay fee. Remote view still needs an account. Until you open that account, the known cost is the £161.49 shelf, plus a card if the box has none. If a plan appears after sign-in, price it there before you count it in the year.
Are the £59 kits the cheap option once I add a card?
The TKMARS is £58.99 with no card included. The Winnes shelves are £59.99 and £62.99, and the K18S has no TF card. The ACEBELL at £189.99 and the XPJ at £207.99 already include 32 GB. The gap from £58.99 to £189.99 is £131 on the 15 October 2026 prices. Add the card you still have to buy before you call the £59 class cheaper for a year of clips. No card price is quoted here.
Does a local card remove UK data-protection duties?
No. The Information Commissioner's Office home CCTV guide is the starting point, and a fee is not the legal test. A local card does not decide whether you may film past your boundary. Remote view on the ACEBELL, the XPJ and the EZVIZ still needs an account. If the picture leaves your side of the boundary, you still need a reason, a tighter aim, and a way to delete.
Why do ACEBELL and XPJ cost about £190 to £208?
On 15 October 2026 the ACEBELL was £189.99 and the XPJ was £207.99. Both include 32 GB, which the TKMARS and the K18S do not. That is a fuller box, not a published cloud tariff. Remote view still needs an account. The £131 gap from the TKMARS at £58.99 is the difference between those listings. Which?'s figure of about £100 a year is a separate ceiling for app doorbells.
Do 1,330 reviews mean the CP5 is worth £161.49?
They mean 1,330 reviews on that amazon.co.uk listing. A count is not a lab test. It does not price CloudPlay, and it does not prove a card is in the box. The CP5 was £161.49, below the ACEBELL and the XPJ, with storage up to 512 GB and optional CloudPlay. Open it if you will use an account and budget for a card. Skip it if you want a priced plan already in print, or no account at all.
Peter F.
Products Compared

Products Compared publishes British-English buying guides based on amazon.co.uk listings and public UK sources. We do not run a lab and we do not invent test scores.

10 articles written
Updated: 16 October 2026

Related articles