Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Metabo 18 V angle grinder buying guide

Updated: 22 October 2026

You already know you want a Metabo cordless angle grinder, and the name still reads like a parts code. A 7, a 9, the letters BL and a 125 change the tool, while the pound figure on amazon.co.uk often leaves the battery out. This Metabo 18 V angle grinder buying guide puts those tokens in one order, then points each of them at a listing in the [Metabo cordless angle grinder comparison](/hub/tools/metabo-cordless-angle-grinder). Shelf prices are the figures from 19 October 2026. We did not lab-test these tools. A qualifying purchase can earn a commission at no extra cost to you.

You already know you want a Metabo cordless angle grinder, and the name still reads like a parts code.

Our top picks

Metabo W 18 L BL 9-125

Best overall

Metabo W 18 L BL 9-125
5.5/10about £74.95
Metabo CC 18 LTX BL MetaLoc

Best value

Metabo CC 18 LTX BL MetaLoc
9.3/10about £42.97
Metabo W 18 7-125

Rank 3

Metabo W 18 7-125
9.0/10about £68.99
On this page

What the model name is telling you

On Metabo’s 2023 range sheet, 7 is about 700 W, 9 is about 900 W, and the flat-head’s 15 is the 1,500 W class. BL means brushless. Quick means a quick-locking nut. The trailing 125 is the disc in millimetres. The W 18 7-125, order 602371850, is £68.99 and does not say brushless. Order 602374850 is the cardboard brushless body at £74.95, with one review and no text. Order 602374840 is the metaBOX body at £125.45, with no star line. On the flat-head, “as powerful as a 1,500 watt mains-powered tool” is a class label, not a measured battery input. Models outside this seven-row set get no price here.

125 mm, 76 mm, or a flat head

Maker sheets give the 125 mm tools an M14 spindle. A disc marked slower than the tool is the wrong disc. The CC MetaLoc, order 600349840, is £42.97, and review text says 76 mm, with M5 on the maker sheet. A 125 mm disc does not belong on it. Order 600349850 at £142.27 does not state a diameter. The WVBF reaches 43° on a 125 mm disc. Corner welds are on the flat-head page. Guard and nut are on the how to use a cordless angle grinder page.
Metabo W 18 L BL 9-125

Testsieger

Metabo W 18 L BL 9-125
5.5/10about £74.95

The price is usually the bare tool

Six of these seven titles exclude the battery. The £142.27 CC is not stated, so read that listing on the day. A metaBOX is a case, and the £125.45 brushless body is still bare. Metabo’s LiHD page gives no minutes: 4.0 Ah at 72 Wh and 580 g, 5.5 Ah at 99 Wh, 8.0 Ah at 144 Wh, and 10.0 Ah at 180 Wh. Reviewers of the 7-125 say about 2 Ah runs out very quickly. Read the body-only page before you treat £68.99 as ready to cut.

Where the seven listings sit

If you own the packs and want light 125 mm work, open the W 18 7-125 at £68.99. If the listing must say brushless, the cardboard 9-125 at £74.95 has one review, and the metaBOX at £125.45 has a display score of 0. A tight gap is the £42.97 CC. A corner the standard head misses is the flat-head at £245.77, still without a pack. A 5.0 from one review is weaker than 4.6 from 158. A score of 0 means the star line was missing.

Common questions

What does the 7, 9 or 15 in the name mean?
On Metabo’s 2023 range sheet those numbers are watt classes of about 700 W, 900 W and 1,500 W. On the flat-head, “as powerful as a 1,500 watt mains-powered tool” is the maker’s comparison. It is not a measured battery input.
Does BL mean brushless, and is the W 18 7-125 brushless?
BL on the W 18 L BL 9-125 means the listing says brushless. The W 18 7-125 bullets do not say it, and reviewers of that £68.99 listing report brushes. Compare order 602374850 at £74.95 with order 602374840 at £125.45 if the motor has to be brushless.
Is 125 the disc size in millimetres?
On these names, 125 is a 125 mm disc. Review text on the £42.97 MetaLoc says 76 mm, with an M5 spindle on the maker sheet. The 125 mm sheets give M14. The £142.27 CC does not state a diameter, so do not borrow 76 mm for it.
Do I need a battery as well as the tool?
You do, unless you already own an 18 V CAS pack and a matching charger. Six listings are marked battery No. The £142.27 CC is not stated, so read that page on the day. A metaBOX does not replace the pack. Metabo points at 4.0 Ah as a compact pack and 5.5 Ah for the hardest jobs, with no minutes published.
What is the difference between the two W 18 L BL 9-125 order numbers?
Order 602374850 is £74.95 in cardboard, with 5.0 from one review and no text. Order 602374840 is £125.45 in a metaBOX, with no star line. Both are 125 mm at 10,000 rpm and exclude the pack. Only the cardboard row prints the safety-shutdown sentence.
When is the 76 mm CC the wrong tool?
It is the wrong tool when the cut needs a 125 mm disc. The £42.97 MetaLoc is a 640 g compact at 20,000 rpm for narrow gaps, and one reviewer says it is not a full-size grinder. Open bar stays on the 125 mm rows.
Which pack size do people actually name for grinding?
Reviewers of the W 18 7-125 say a pack around 2 Ah runs out very quickly, and they name about 4 Ah to 5.5 Ah. Metabo’s LiHD roles sit in that range, then 8.0 Ah and 10.0 Ah for longer runs. No source here publishes grinding minutes. Do not paste that complaint onto a listing that has no reviews.

Related pages

Sources

Public UK sources from the research digest, used for this page in October 2026. Prices, stars and review counts are from the seven amazon.co.uk listings captured on 19 October 2026. PUWER and the HSE noise figures apply as stated. This is not a laboratory test.

  1. Metabo UK, cordless angle grinders (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  2. Metabo, 18 V angle grinder range sheet (2023) (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  3. Metabo UK, LiHD battery solutions (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  4. HSE, Noise regulations (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  5. legislation.gov.uk, Control of Vibration at Work Regulations 2005 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  6. HSE, HSG17 Safety in the use of abrasive wheels (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  7. GOV.UK, Supply of Machinery (Safety) Regulations 2008 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  8. Rothenberger UK, CAS battery platform (retrieved 19 October 2026)