Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

115mm angle grinder buying guide

Updated: 22 October 2026

You are looking at a row of corded 115 mm grinders on amazon.co.uk, and the titles all read like 750 W. This 115mm angle grinder buying guide puts the checks in the order that changes the basket: disc class, the UK plug, whether a disc is actually in the carton, then the switch you have to live with. Wattage sits last, because every tool in this comparison is between 650 W and 900 W and between £18.05 and £44.00. Stars, prices and the twelve rows are on the [115 mm angle grinder comparison](/hub/tools/angle-grinder-115mm). Peter F. used these amazon.co.uk listings and public UK sources. There was no lab test. A qualifying purchase can earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Updated 22 October 2026.

You are looking at a row of corded 115 mm grinders on amazon.co.uk, and the titles all read like 750 W.

Our top picks

DEWINNER DEWINNER 850 W

Best value

DEWINNER DEWINNER 850 W
7.4/10about £29.74
Einhell Einhell TC-AG 115/750

Alternative

Einhell Einhell TC-AG 115/750
7.0/10about £32.50
On this page

What to lock first

Lock the disc class before the brand name. A 115 mm angle grinder is the compact class UK merchants still sell as a 4½-inch tool. Screwfix publishes a cutting depth of about 30 mm for that diameter. That figure is their buying-guide rule of thumb, and we did not measure a cut. A seized bolt, a rust patch or a shallow score in a tile is why you stay on 115 mm. If another 10 mm of disc might change the job, read 115 mm or 125 mm before you add a tool to the basket. All twelve listings here are corded. A job away from a 13 A socket belongs in a different comparison. Toolstation describes 115 mm as the light, precise size and a weak match for heavy duty. The Bosch UniversalGrind 750-115 is £44.00. The DEKOPRO 750 W is £18.05. Those shelf prices say what the listing costs. They say nothing about how many hours the motor lasts. Read voltage, disc in the box, and the switch note before you sort by watts.

Discs, guards and the empty carton

A first grinder is often bought because a job is waiting this weekend. In this set the cartons without a usable cutting disc are both KATSU listings, the Draper Storm Force 56457, and the Einhell TC-AG 115/750. The Einhell bullets say the cutting wheel is sold separately. If you already own 115 mm discs marked at or above 11,000 rpm, that empty box keeps the £32.50 price honest. If the shed has no discs, the Einhell price is only the body. Kits that name discs are easier to start with. The DEWINNER 850 W title and bullets agree on six: three grinding, two cutting and one flap. The DCA ASM18-115 lists six discs plus a cutting guard and a grinding guard, at £29.99. The Bosch carton lists three cutting discs. Dong Cheng includes one flap disc and a hard case, so a cutting job still needs a separate wheel. Treat every kit disc as a starter. Fit the cutting guard for a cut and the grinding guard for a face grind. The sequence is on how to use a 115 mm angle grinder.

Plug, voltage and the switch

UK mains are 230 V, and the plug you want on the cable is a BS 1363 13 A plug. Electrical Safety First treats a sound plug and cable as part of using a DIY grinder, and it tells you to unplug before you change a wheel. The Draper bullets claim a 2 m cable with a BS plug, on a table that says 240 V. The DEWINNER table states 240 V and 850 W. The Einhell and the KATSU 720 W state 230 V. Several DEKOPRO lines print 220 V AC. Confirm the plate and the plug on arrival. One UK review of the DEKOPRO 800 W says the plug has no earth wire. Return a tool in that condition. Use an RCD if you are on an extension. The switch is the complaint that repeats in the cheap band. C P CHANTPOWER reviews describe a stiff slide. Einhell reviews call the push-forward switch awkward. One DEKOPRO 800 W review says the on button stuck on at first use. A lock-on slide keeps the disc turning after your hand leaves the body. If you cannot turn it off while wearing gloves, that body fails the job even when the wattage looks generous. Restart protection is a listing claim. We did not trip a breaker to test it.

Wattage without a lab

Screwfix places occasional household grinding in a band of about 500–900 W. Every corded body here sits in that band or on its top edge. The Draper is 650 W, the lowest in the set. The KATSU 101676 is 720 W at 10,000 rpm, the slowest no-load speed here. The rest cluster between 750 W and 900 W titles. Read the number as a hint about occasional DIY. It does not rank the twelve tools. The Einhell title says 750 W and the wattage field says 720 W. The C P CHANTPOWER table says 11,000 rpm and the bullets say 12,000 rpm. The Bosch listing does not state wattage, voltage or rpm, even though the name is UniversalGrind 750-115. Match a replacement disc to the speed printed on the tool you unpack. Where the listing prints two speeds, follow the higher figure on the plate. Variable speed is claimed on the DEKOPRO 800 W, and no rpm range is given. Fixed speed between 10,000 and 12,000 rpm is the normal pattern. A tool around £20 can cut an occasional bolt when the guard stays on and you already own a rated 115 mm disc. The same price is a poor start when UK reviews include smoke after five minutes, a spindle lock that will not engage, or a switch that stays on.

Common questions

What wattage do I need for a first 115 mm grinder?
For occasional DIY, a corded body in the 650–900 W band matches the household range Screwfix describes, and every tool in this comparison sits there. The figure is a duty hint. A stated 230 V or 240 V plate, a guard you leave on, and a disc marked at or above the tool's no-load speed change the buy more than 50 extra watts. The Bosch name includes 750, and the listing still does not state wattage or rpm. Confirm the plate on the tool you receive.
Does a cheap amazon.co.uk grinder come with discs?
Some cartons do and some do not. In this set the DEWINNER, DCA, C P CHANTPOWER and Bosch list discs. Both KATSU models, the Draper and the Einhell do not include a cutting disc you can use on day one. Dong Cheng includes one flap disc, so a cut still needs a separate wheel. Kit discs are starters. Budget a proper 115 mm disc when the job is steel or tile, even if the title says a set is included.
Do I need variable speed?
A first 115 mm grinder in this set does not need variable speed. Almost every listing is a fixed speed between 10,000 and 12,000 rpm. The DEKOPRO 800 W claims an adjustable speed and does not give a range, and UK reviews include a switch that stuck on. Choose variable speed when a manual names the range and you have a reason to slow the disc. Otherwise match the disc's marked rpm to the plate on the tool.
Corded or cordless for a garage?
This comparison is corded only, from £18.05 to £44.00. A garage with a 13 A socket is the setting these listings assume. Wider UK shelves put cordless 18 V bodies from about £80 without a battery, and well above that for brushless names. Those cordless tools are not in this table. If the job has no socket, leave this shortlist. If it has a socket, a corded 115 mm tool removes runtime as a limit.
What plug should it have in the UK?
Fit a BS 1363 three-pin plug on a sound cable, on a tool marked 230 V or 240 V. Electrical Safety First treats that as basic for a DIY grinder, and you unplug before every disc change. The Draper bullets claim a BS plug on 240 V. One DEKOPRO 800 W review describes a plug with no earth wire. If the listing omits the plug, check it on arrival and return the tool when the earth is missing.
When is 125 mm the better buy?
Choose 125 mm when you need the extra depth. Screwfix puts that size at about 38 mm of cut, against about 30 mm for 115 mm. The spindle is often the same M14 thread, which is why a larger disc can start to seat. The guard is there to stop an oversize wheel. If your existing discs are already 125 mm, buy the 125 mm tool. The size choice is on the versus page, after you have locked the class.
Is a £20 tool enough for occasional bolts?
It can be, when you already own a 115 mm disc rated for the tool's speed and you leave the guard on. The KATSU 720 W at £22.99 and the Draper at £22.98 sit in that band, and both omit the disc. UK reviews include a KATSU that smoked after five minutes and a Draper that stopped after a few slabs. Occasional bolts are the job those prices can cover. Daily cutting wants a clearer review line and discs you chose yourself.

Related pages

Sources

Public UK sources from the research digest, used for this page in October 2026. Prices, stars and review counts are from the twelve amazon.co.uk listings in this comparison. HSE silica limits, HAVS figures and PUWER apply at work. They are not a certificate for a domestic grinder, and they are not a personal exposure limit for a weekend cut.

  1. HSE, HSG17 Safety in the use of abrasive wheels (retrieved October 2026)
  2. HSE, PUWER L22 (retrieved October 2026)
  3. Screwfix, Angle grinder buying guide (retrieved October 2026)
  4. Toolstation, Angle grinder buying guide (retrieved October 2026)
  5. Electrical Safety First, Angle grinders (retrieved October 2026)
  6. HSE, Grinder vibration and noise bulletin (retrieved October 2026)
  7. HSE, INDG463 Control of exposure to silica dust (retrieved October 2026)
  8. Norton Abrasives UK, Why an angle grinder is essential (retrieved October 2026)