Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Portable sauna in a flat

Updated: 21 October 2026

You rent a flat with a spare room, a carpet and a single wall socket, and there is no garden for a cabin. A portable sauna in a flat comes down to moisture: whether this room can clear steam, whether the floor can be protected, and whether the cloth will dry before you need the space again. The Products Compared editorial team checked the amazon.co.uk listings in this sauna house set on 20 October 2026, using those pages plus public UK guidance, and we did not lab-test the tents. A qualifying purchase can earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. The [sauna house comparison](/hub/steam-baths/sauna-house) sets the models side by side.

You rent a flat with a spare room, a carpet and a single wall socket, and there is no garden for a cabin.

Our top picks

On this page

Moisture is the limit, not planning permission

A rented flat is not a detached outbuilding, so Planning Portal Class E does not tell you whether a fabric tent may stand indoors, and it will not dry a steam tent. Approved Document F, Volume 1, sets extract ventilation for kitchens, bathrooms and sanitary accommodation. A spare bedroom is not given a steam-tent extract rate. Water is the limit that remains. Telos points portable steam saunas toward a bathroom or utility room with an extractor, not a carpeted bedroom, and says the room stays humid for about an hour. If you only have the spare room, open a window and keep the door to the rest of the flat shut for that hour. A landlord can still refuse the tent. BS 7671 Section 703, as Elec-Mate describes it, zones a sauna room or a cabin, not a cloth tent by a bed.

Carpet, mats and a room that can dry

The Runitude pop-up is listed at 145 × 80 × 80 cm and £114.59, and the seller says carpet is acceptable with two mats. A bestexercise.co.uk review describes one person in a space about 80 cm square, a fleece mat on carpet, and airing for about half an hour. A waterproof sheet under the mats is your extra if you are unsure. One Runitude review found the mats and tent taking about 24 hours in an unheated garage. In a flat, leave the cloth open in the spare room rather than bagging it damp.

What actually fits and stores

Pop-ups match a spare room you also use. Runitude is 145 × 80 × 80 cm. CHILLZ is listed at 85 × 85 × 145 cm. The ThermoLab pop-up prints a packed size only, and the assembled size is not stated, so do not assume it matches the 145 cm tents. MQFORU, BioGlow and the ThermoLab 6 ft frame are all near two metres on the long side. A frame that tall takes the corner all week if you cannot fold it away. On one socket, a 1,000–1,600 W generator is about 4–7 A if it is the only load. Plug it into the wall, not a coiled reel. SereneLife B0BQ3SNQ2V shows no printed UK plug, so do not assume a BS 1363 13 A plug is in the box. WILLOWYBE, at 180 × 180 × 200 cm, is an outdoor stove shell and does not belong in a lounge.

When the infrared room is the flatter option

CONLONS is the listing with heat type infrared and no tank in the specification, so you are not boiling a pot into the room. Only a package size is printed, unlike Runitude at 145 × 80 × 80 cm, and stated power is not given. Until the wattage appears, you cannot apply the 4–7 A rule of thumb, which matters on a single socket. Choose CONLONS when the flat cannot take moisture and you accept a missing power figure. Choose Runitude or CHILLZ when you can ventilate, protect the floor and dry the cloth, and you want a printed wattage. The wider contrast is on the steam sauna tent versus infrared page.

Common questions

Can you use a steam sauna tent in a rented flat?
You can use a steam sauna tent in a rented flat only if you can ventilate, protect the floor and dry the cloth. The tent wets the fabric, and Telos describes about an hour of humidity, preferring a bathroom or utility room with an extractor to a carpeted bedroom. Your tenancy can still forbid it.
Which floor does the Runitude listing accept?
The Runitude seller text says carpet is acceptable with two mats. It does not answer a wooden or laminate floor. A separate review used a fleece mat on carpet and aired the tent for about half an hour, at a price that is not this listing’s £114.59. If water marking matters, a sheet under the mats is your precaution, not a promise the listing makes for boards.
How tall are the framed tents if the spare room is the only store?
MQFORU is listed at 91.44 × 91.44 × 195.58 cm, BioGlow at 81.28 × 81.28 × 177.8 cm, and the ThermoLab 6 ft frame at 180 × 80 × 80 cm. Those long sides are the problem if you cannot leave the tent up. Runitude and CHILLZ sit around 145 cm and fold. If you need the floor back the same day, those tall frames fit less well.
Does a steam tent need sauna wiring zones?
No. BS 7671 Section 703 zones apply to a sauna room or a cabin, not to this fabric tent in a bedroom. Plug the stated generator into a wall socket, not a coiled reel. A 1,000–1,600 W unit is about 4–7 A when it is the only load. SereneLife B0BQ3SNQ2V prints no UK plug, so do not assume a BS 1363 plug is supplied.
Is the dry CONLONS room easier in a flat that cannot take moisture?
It is easier on moisture, because CONLONS lists no tank and the heat type is infrared. It is harder to size and to check on one socket: only the package dimensions are printed, and the wattage is not stated, so the 4–7 A guide cannot be used yet. Choose it when the room cannot take steam and you accept that gap.

Related pages

Sources

Sources taken from the research digest. Listings were checked in October 2026.

  1. Which? — How to buy the best home sauna (retrieved 21.10.2026)
  2. Planning Portal — Outbuildings, planning permission (retrieved 21.10.2026)
  3. LABC — Does my new outbuilding need building regulations approval? (retrieved 21.10.2026)
  4. LABC Front Door — Building regulations for an outbuilding (retrieved 21.10.2026)
  5. Elec-Mate — BS 7671 Section 703, special locations (retrieved 21.10.2026)
  6. Collingwood Surgery (NHS) — Pregnancy, sauna or jacuzzi (retrieved 21.10.2026)
  7. saunaexpert360.co.uk — Portable sauna for home use (retrieved 21.10.2026)
  8. amazon.co.uk — Runitude listing in this set (retrieved 21.10.2026)