Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. Our editors compare products independently. Some links go to shops, and we may earn a commission. More info
Top pick: ThermoLab AuraCore pop-up – Highest saved average in this set, 4.6 from 400 ratings, with a named washable mat, remote and infrared LED, at about £148.95. Best value: Runitude 2.0 pop-up – About £114.59 with 500 ratings, agreeing 2.6 litre and 1000 W figures, and two stated floor mats for a sit-in tent. Updated October 2026.
A portable steam sauna is a one-person fabric tent with a separate electric steamer you fill with water, plus a folding chair. You buy one when you want a wet session in a flat or a spare room and you do not want a plumber or a wooden cabin. It is not an infrared blanket, a dry tent, or a wall stove. If you want dry cabin heat, start with the [infrared cabin comparison](/hub/steam-baths/infrared-cabin).
On the listings kept here, check a 230 V plate with a BS 1363 plug, a tank and wattage the bullets do not contradict, a mat under the tent, and reviews that still mention heat after the first week. UK mains are nominally 230 V. A pin adapter does not change voltage. Steam condenses, so air the tent before you fold it.
This page compares six amazon.co.uk listings saved in October 2026, from about £79.99 to about £199.99. Which? puts a typical spend for this format at £80–£200. Scores weigh electrical clarity, review evidence, size, floor protection, specification consistency and price. They are not a laboratory test.
A portable steam sauna is a one-person fabric tent with a separate electric steamer you fill with water, plus a folding chair.
A portable steam sauna is a one-person fabric tent with a separate electric steamer you fill with water, plus a folding chair. You buy one when you want a wet session in a flat or a spare room and you do not want a plumber or a wooden cabin. It is not an infrared blanket, a dry tent, or a wall stove. If you want dry cabin heat, start with the [infrared cabin comparison](/hub/steam-baths/infrared-cabin).
On the listings kept here, check a 230 V plate with a BS 1363 plug, a tank and wattage the bullets do not contradict, a mat under the tent, and reviews that still mention heat after the first week. UK mains are nominally 230 V. A pin adapter does not change voltage. Steam condenses, so air the tent before you fold it.
This page compares six amazon.co.uk listings saved in October 2026, from about £79.99 to about £199.99. Which? puts a typical spend for this format at £80–£200. Scores weigh electrical clarity, review evidence, size, floor protection, specification consistency and price. They are not a laboratory test.
A portable steam sauna is a one-person fabric tent with a separate electric steamer you fill with water, plus a folding chair. You buy one when you want a wet session in a flat or a spare room and you do not want a plumber or a wooden cabin. It is not an infrared blanket, a dry tent, or a wall stove. If you want dry cabin heat, start with the infrared cabin comparison.
ThermoLab's AuraCore pop-up combines a 2.6-litre, 1000 W steam generator with an infrared LED, chair, remote and washable felt mat. Its saved 4.6-star average from 400 ratings is the strongest blend of rating and review volume in this six-product shortlist. Reviewers frequently like the heat and quick setup, while the claimed three-year warranty adds reassurance if its terms apply to the UK purchase. It remains a steam tent that needs water and drying; the LED does not turn it into a dry infrared cabin. The Amazon dimensions of 73 x 28.5 x 42 cm appear to describe the packed product rather than usable standing space. Several reviewers find the supplied chair low, and zip complaints also recur. Voltage and plug type are absent from the Amazon table, so verify them before ordering. Subject to that electrical check and a suitable seated fit, this is our top pick.
Pros
Highest saved average: 4.6 stars from 400 ratings
Chair, remote and washable felt mat are named
Three-year warranty claimed in the listing
Pop-up frame and additional infrared LED
Cons
Standing size is not in the technical table
Voltage and plug are not stated on Amazon
Chair and zip complaints in reviews
About £148.95 in the saved listing
Best for: Buyers who want a reviewed pop-up steam tent with a washable mat and an additional infrared LED.
Less suitable: Tall users who need verified standing dimensions, or buyers who want voltage and plug details printed on Amazon.
The 6 ft ThermoLab lists a 180 x 80 x 80 cm tent, providing substantially more room to stand or stretch than a 145 cm sit-in model. Its 3-litre, 1200 W generator is paired with a chair, remote, washable felt mat, infrared light and separate oil pot. The saved 4.5-star average is positive, though it rests on only 48 ratings. At £199.99 it is the most expensive tent in this shortlist, so the extra headroom needs to matter to justify the premium. The stated 180 cm height may still be restrictive for someone taller once the frame and floor are considered. Reviews include steam production stopping, a unit failing and a missing infrared remote, although one stitching fault was reportedly replaced. Amazon does not show voltage or plug type. This is the more spacious ThermoLab option, but it is not the stronger value for seated use.
Pros
180 cm shell allows more room to stand or stretch
1200 W and 3-litre specifications agree
Chair, remote, washable mat and oil pot are named
4.5-star saved average
Cons
About £199.99, the highest saved price
Only 48 ratings
Voltage and plug are not stated
Steam-stopped and missing-remote notes in reviews
Best for: Shoppers who value standing room and want a steam tent with an LED, washable mat and separate oil pot.
Less suitable: Budget buyers, very tall users, or anyone seeking a product backed by hundreds of ratings.
The CHILLZ Gen 3 packages a tent, chair, protective mat, remote, towel and carry bag for a saved £109. Its title states a 3-litre, 1200 W steamer, which is a practical capacity for this product type. However, a bullet gives 2.6 litres and includes implausible kilowatt figures, so the listing is not internally reliable. The 4.5-star average looks encouraging, but it comes from only 15 ratings and should carry less weight than an average based on hundreds of buyers. One review also reports that the lid cracked after five uses. The oil instruction is usefully explicit: add it only at the stated endpoint, never in the generator. With no voltage or UK plug specification shown, confirm both before buying rather than treating the accessories as sufficient evidence.
Pros
Saved price of about £109 sits near the lower end of the shortlist
Chair, protective mat, remote, towel and carry bag are named
Instructions clearly keep oil out of the generator
4.5-star average in the saved listing
Cons
Only 15 ratings underpin the average
Title and bullets disagree on tank size and contain power typos
One reviewer reports a cracked lid after five uses
Voltage and UK plug type are not stated
Best for: Buyers who want a low-priced kit with the chair, floor mat, remote and carry bag named in the box.
Less suitable: Shoppers who require consistent technical specifications or a large body of long-term reviews.
Runitude's 145 x 80 x 80 cm tent is a compact sit-in design rather than a standing sauna. At the saved £114.59, it pairs a 2.6-litre, 1000 W touchscreen generator with 500 ratings, giving it one of the stronger evidence bases in the shortlist. It is also the only kept listing that explicitly names both an inner foot mat and an outer fleece mat and says the setup can be used on carpet. Those layers reduce mess but do not remove the need to air the damp tent after use. The supplied chair attracts repeated comfort complaints, especially from taller reviewers, and folding the spring frame away can take practice. Amazon's table does not state the voltage or plug, so those details still need checking. For a small room where seated use is acceptable, its price, coherent core specifications and floor kit make it the best-value option in this comparison.
Pros
Competitive saved price of about £114.59 with 500 ratings
Inner foot mat and outer fleece mat are both stated
1000 W and 2.6-litre specifications agree
Pop-up frame avoids a long pole assembly
Cons
Chair is a repeated complaint
Voltage and plug are not on the Amazon table
Folding it away is described as difficult
VOC claim is not backed by a report in the listing
Best for: Flat dwellers who want a sit-in pop-up tent with two stated floor layers and a substantial review base.
Less suitable: Tall users who want standing room, or anyone unwilling to replace the supplied chair if it proves uncomfortable.
The bullets name an inner foot mat and an outer fleece floor mat, and they say the tent is for carpet. Reviews still mention drying the tent afterwards.
How tall is the tent on the listing?
The technical table says 145 x 80 x 80 cm and 7.92 kg. Reviews from taller people describe it as a tight sit-in, and one person at 6 ft 2 in returned it.
Is the VOC test in the listing?
The bullets say there is third-party testing for no VOC emissions. The saved page does not include the report, so that claim was not inspected.
At £79.99 in the saved listing, this SereneLife tent combines a stated 4-litre, 1600 W steamer with a shell roughly 180 cm high. Its 2,691 ratings provide a much broader review base than the other products in this shortlist. That apparent value is outweighed by a serious UK compatibility issue: Amazon's technical field states 120 V, while UK mains are nominally 230 V. A pin adapter does not convert voltage, and the listing does not identify a BS 1363 plug. The page also mixes infrared wording into a steam product, while UK reviewers describe steam rather than infrared heat. Reports of a dead heater, a cracked lid and temperatures below expectations add further caution. Only consider it if the seller confirms in writing that the supplied unit is a 220–240 V UK model; on the saved evidence, it is not a default UK recommendation.
Pros
Lowest saved price in the shortlist at about £79.99
Far more ratings than the other shortlisted tents
4-litre tank stated in the title
Shell is listed at roughly 180 cm high
Cons
Amazon voltage field says 120 V, not the UK nominal 230 V
Infrared wording conflicts with the steam title and UK reviews
Reviews report a dead heater, a cracked lid and weak heat
UK plug type is not stated
Best for: Shoppers comparing low-cost steam tents who can obtain written confirmation of a genuine 220–240 V UK version before ordering.
Less suitable: Anyone planning to connect the listed 120 V appliance to a standard UK socket with only a travel adapter.
MQFORU lists a 195 x 90 x 90 cm shell, making this the tallest stated tent in the saved shortlist. The £129.99 kit includes a 3-litre, 1200 W steamer, chair, remote, absorbent mat and even a foot massager. A pole frame takes more assembly than a pop-up design, but it gives taller users a clearer route to standing headroom. The main concern is durability: UK reviews include steamers that stopped after a few sessions or weeks, as well as missing parts. One buyer also needed an extension lead because the supplied cable was short, which is not a substitute for planning a safe wall-socket position. The Amazon data does not state voltage or plug type. It is a plausible space-led choice, but the early faults make it weaker than its generous parts list suggests.
Pros
Tallest stated shell in the shortlist at about 195 cm
Chair, remote, mat and foot massager are listed
3-litre, 1200 W steamer specification
15 control levels stated in the bullets
Cons
UK reviews include dead steamers and missing parts
Voltage is not stated
One UK buyer needed an extension lead
Heat called only ok by one UK reviewer
Best for: Taller shoppers who prioritise listed headroom and want a pole-frame kit with a broad accessory bundle.
Less suitable: Buyers who prioritise proven durability, compact storage, or clearly stated UK electrical details.
The title says 195 x 90 x 90 cm. The table prints 91.44 x 91.44 x 195.58 cm. UK reviews do not give a measured interior height.
What is in the box?
The bullet lists the tent, steamer, folding chair, remote, sweat mat, two cloths, a steam basket, two silicone tubes, a foot massager and a manual.
Do UK reviews mention early faults?
Yes. UK reviews include a unit that stopped after a few weeks, a steamer that failed after two sessions, and missing parts.
How we compared
For this comparison we scored six amazon.co.uk portable steam sauna listings saved in October 2026. A portable steam sauna here is a fabric tent plus a water steamer, not an infrared blanket, a dry tent, or a wall stove. The editorial score is 0–100. It is not a laboratory result and not a conversion of the Amazon star average. Prices and ratings are those saved from amazon.co.uk and may change.
1
UK electrical suitability
30%
Points for a stated supply that suits UK mains, nominally 230 V, and a clear plug. A listing that prints 120 V is deducted heavily. A smaller deduction applies when voltage or plug type is not stated.
2
Amazon rating and reviews
25%
The amazon.co.uk star average and the number of ratings behind it. A 4.5 from 15 ratings does not weigh like a 4.2 from 500. Early failures reported in UK reviews reduce the score.
3
Format, size and floor
20%
Whether you can tell the sitting height from the packed carton, and whether a floor mat is named. Steam condenses. A mat helps on carpet. It does not replace drying the tent.
4
Steamer specification
15%
Tank, wattage and included parts should agree between the title and the bullets. Conflicting litres, implausible kilowatt figures, or a missing chair or hose cost points.
5
Saved price and value
10%
The saved amazon.co.uk price against the stated kit and the review evidence. The best value is not automatically the cheapest listing.
Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
8 sources checked
Portable steam sauna buying guide
Buy a tent plus a water steamer, then check the supply, the size you will sit in, and the floor. UK mains are nominally 230 V, and a pin adapter does not convert a 120 V plate. Which? puts this format at about £80–£200. The six saved amazon.co.uk prices sit in that band. A mat helps with drips. You still have to air the tent before it is folded. None of these scores is a lab heat test or a medical clearance.
What is a portable steam sauna?
A portable steam sauna is a one-person fabric tent fed by a separate electric steamer. You fill the tank with water, keep the boiler outside the tent, and sit on a folding chair while steam enters through a hose. People buy one for a wet session in a flat or a spare room without a plumber or a wooden cabin. Which? describes this format and puts a typical spend at £80–£200.
Best for
A wet session in a flat when you can ventilate the room and dry the tent
Taller users who start from a listed height of about 180 cm or 195 cm
Not ideal for
A 120 V listing you planned to run from a UK socket with a pin adapter
Pregnancy, or a heart condition, without advice from a clinician
Mistakes to avoid
1
Buying a blanket or a dry tent
This comparison is a fabric tent plus a water steamer. An infrared blanket, a dry infrared tent, a bare pot, or a wall stove is a different product. An LED on a ThermoLab tent does not turn the session into dry cabin heat.
2
Running 120 V from a UK socket
The SereneLife listing prints 120 V. UK mains are nominally 230 V. A pin adapter does not convert voltage. Do not plan a converter for a steamer in the 1000–1600 W range. Return a 120 V plate rather than adapting it.
3
Folding the tent wet, or oil in the tank
Steam condenses. A floor mat helps on carpet, and the tent still has to be aired before it goes in the bag. Keep essential oil out of the generator. Use only the cup or outlet the listing names. Do not sit on the steam outlet.
What to weigh up
UK voltage and plug
High
UK electrical suitability is the first cut, and it carries 30 of the 100 points. Domestic mains in Great Britain are nominally 230 V. A plug sold for a UK socket in scope of the regulations needs a BS 1363 plug and a BS 1362 fuse. The public texts are the Electrical Equipment (Safety) Regulations 2016 and the Plugs and Sockets etc. (Safety) Regulations 1994. UKCA is the GB conformity mark. An ETL mention on a title is not that mark.
Size, floor and the steamer
High
Size, floor protection and a steamer specification that agrees with itself decide whether the tent is usable day to day. Runitude’s table is 145 × 80 × 80 cm, a sit-in shape, and the bullets name an inner foot mat and an outer fleece mat for carpet. The 6 ft ThermoLab lists 180 × 80 × 80 cm. MQFORU’s title is about 195 cm high. The smaller ThermoLab table of 73 × 28.5 × 42 cm matches a packed carton. Standing centimetres are not in that table, so they score as missing.
Which option suits you?
Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.
🏠
A wet session in a flat
You want humidity in a spare room or a rented flat, and you can ventilate and dry the tent afterwards. Runitude names an inner foot mat and an outer fleece mat and says the tent is for carpet. It is a sit-in shape at 145 × 80 × 80 cm, at about £114.59 with 4.2 from 500 ratings. Voltage is not on the Amazon table.
You want the shortlist’s strongest blend of star average and review volume, and seated use is acceptable. The ThermoLab AuraCore pop-up is 4.6 from 400 ratings at about £148.95, with a washable felt mat, a remote and an infrared LED. Standing centimetres are not in the table, and voltage is not stated.
You want a stated shell around 180 cm rather than a 145 cm sit-in tent. The ThermoLab AuraCore 6 ft lists 180 × 80 × 80 cm, a 3 litre 1200 W steamer, a washable mat and an oil pot, at about £199.99 with 4.5 from 48 ratings. Someone taller than that stated height may still find the frame tight.
What is the top portable steam sauna in this comparison?
The top pick is the ThermoLab AuraCore pop-up, about £148.95 on the saved amazon.co.uk listing, with 4.6 from 400 ratings. It states a 2.6 litre, 1000 W steamer, a washable felt mat, a chair, a remote and an infrared LED. Standing centimetres and voltage are not in the table, so check both before you order. The LED does not make it a dry cabin. The score compares listings. It is not a laboratory heat test.
How much does a portable steam sauna cost?
Which? puts a typical spend for this format at £80–£200. The six amazon.co.uk listings saved in October 2026 sit in that band, from about £79.99 to about £199.99. Prices move, and a later discount is not the shelf price in this table. The lowest price is not the best value when the listing prints 120 V.
Will a 120 V steam tent run on a UK socket?
No. UK mains are nominally 230 V. The SereneLife listing prints 120 V and does not show a BS 1363 plug. A pin adapter changes the pin shape. It does not convert voltage. Do not plan a converter for a 1000–1600 W steamer. If voltage is missing on the other listings, confirm a 220–240 V UK lead before you buy.
What size tent should you sit in?
Use the size you will sit in, not the packed carton. Runitude’s table is 145 × 80 × 80 cm, a sit-in tent. The ThermoLab 6 ft model lists 180 × 80 × 80 cm. MQFORU lists about 195 cm high. The smaller ThermoLab’s 73 × 28.5 × 42 cm table matches a packed carton, so standing centimetres are missing. Treat those heights as listing figures, not a measured interior.
Is a portable steam sauna the same as an infrared cabin?
No. A portable steam sauna here is a fabric tent fed by a water steamer. You fill a tank, and you dry the fabric afterwards. An infrared cabin is dry panel heat, without a boiler. Both ThermoLab tents add an LED and remain steam tents. A blanket, a dry tent, or a wall stove is a different product. Where a listing states a ceiling, it is about 50°C, not a 90°C traditional sauna.
Can you use a portable steam sauna in pregnancy?
Do not treat these tents as safe in pregnancy or for heart disease. They were not clinically tested. An NHS GP page says you may avoid saunas and steam rooms in pregnancy because of overheating, especially in the first 12 weeks. If you are pregnant or you have a heart condition, ask a clinician. The sauna heat and pregnancy note is the longer caution.
Where do essential oils go in a steam tent?
Keep essential oil out of the steamer tank. CHILLZ says to add oil at the stated end point, not in the generator, because oil can break the steamer and the lid. The ThermoLab 6 ft bullets name a separate oil pot. Keep the boiler outside the tent and under the maximum fill line. A kinked hose stops steam even when the tank is filled correctly.
When should you call an electrician?
Call an electrician for a fixed multi-kilowatt sauna stove, not for one of these plug-in tents. If the plate says 120 V, return it rather than adapting it to a UK socket. If the steamer arrives dead, or parts are missing, take that up with the seller. A short cable is a reason to plan the socket, not to rewire the room. Ask a GP about pregnancy, heart disease, or fainting.
Our verdict
The top pick is the ThermoLab AuraCore pop-up: 4.6 from 400 ratings at about £148.95, with a 2.6 litre, 1000 W steamer, a washable felt mat, a remote and an infrared LED. Standing size and voltage are not on the Amazon table, and reviewers often call the chair low. The best value is the Runitude 2.0 pop-up at about £114.59, with 4.2 from 500 ratings, a coherent 2.6 litre, 1000 W specification, and two stated floor mats. It is a sit-in tent, and the chair is a repeated complaint. The SereneLife tent is the lowest saved price, at about £79.99 with 2,691 ratings, and its listing prints 120 V.
Best overall
ThermoLab AuraCore pop-up
Highest saved average in this set, 4.6 from 400 ratings, with a named washable mat, remote and infrared LED, at about £148.95.
Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.
Updated: October 2026
8 sources checked
Guides to portable steam saunas
Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.
This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Scores compare published listings and review texts. They are not a laboratory test.