Shed, fence, and a compressor
You already run air, and the rails may need 90 mm. The Tacwise KDH90V states 50–90 mm, 70–120 psi, and 4.6 from 130 reviews at £199.02. Use the meite only when the job stays inside the stated 50–83 mm.
The best framing nailers, compared.
Top pick: meite SN3483F 34° air framing nailer Best value: Tacwise KDH90V 34° air framing nailer – About £199.02, a stated 50–90 mm range, and 4.6 from 130 reviews. You still need a compressor that holds 70–120 psi. Updated October 2026.
A framing nailer drives collated nails, usually 50–90 mm, into studs, joists, roof battens, fencing, and shed frames. On amazon.co.uk the choice is a pneumatic 34° strip gun, a gas gun that uses a fuel cell, or an 18 V cordless kit. A brad, finish, pin, coil, or picture-frame nailer is the wrong tool for that work. On the five listings kept, the useful checks are a stated nail length, a 34° paper-collated magazine if that is the stock you can buy, a sequential fire mode, and a power source you can run. Where the hose is the limit, the [gas or air framing nailer](/hub/staplers-and-nail-guns/framing-nailer/sub/framing-nailer-gas-vs-air) page is that one decision. Scores here are the amazon.co.uk star line times 20. If the job needs 90 mm, do not choose a gun whose listing stops at 83 mm. A 21° nail does not belong in a 34° magazine.
A framing nailer drives collated nails, usually 50–90 mm, into studs, joists, roof battens, fencing, and shed frames.
Swipe for more
1-2 of 5Personal buying guide
Question 1 of 2
Can a compressor hose follow the work?
The meite SN3483F drives 34° paper-collated nails from 50 to 83 mm, so it covers plenty of shed and fencing work but stops short of a stated 90 mm capacity. Its selectable sequential and contact modes give you a controlled one-nail option as well as faster firing, although HSE guidance makes sequential fire the sensible default for large construction nails. At £149.00, it is the lowest-priced listing in this five-tool comparison and includes protective glasses and hex keys. A compressor is still required and the listing does not state its operating-pressure requirement, which makes it harder to check compatibility before buying. The 4.8-star rating is encouraging, but it comes from only nine amazon.co.uk reviews and should be treated as a thin sample. This is the top pick for a compressor owner whose work fits the stated 50–83 mm range, not for a job specified around 90 mm nails.
Pros
Cons
Best for: Compressor owners doing sheds, fencing, or other first-fix work within the stated 50–83 mm range
Less suitable: Jobs that specify 90 mm nails, or buyers without a suitable compressor
Specifications
Common questions
What nails does the listing say this gun takes?
34° D-head paper-collated framing nails from 50 mm to 83 mm, with a shank of 2.8 mm to 3.3 mm. Screw, ring, and smooth shank are named. 90 mm is not in the stated range.
Does the box include a compressor or a case?
No compressor is listed. Included items are the nailer, protective glasses, three hex wrenches, and a manual. A case is not stated.
Which firing modes does the listing name?
A selectable trigger for single-sequential fire and contact fire. A depth adjuster is not stated.
The DeWalt DCK246P2T is a two-tool 18 V XR package rather than a bare framing nailer, pairing the DCN930 first-fix gun with the DCN660 16-gauge finish nailer. That combination covers structural framing and later trim work without a compressor, and the listing names a depth wheel, belt hook, TSTAK case, charger, and two 5.0 Ah batteries. However, the technical line says batteries are not included, directly contradicting the title, bullets, and components list, so the box contents should be confirmed before ordering. The framing gun takes paper-tape nails optimised for DNPT and DNW, but the Amazon listing does not state a nail-length range. At £724.00, the price only makes sense if you genuinely need both tools, and its 4.8-star average rests on just seven reviews. It is a strong platform package for an existing DeWalt XR user moving through first and second fix, but poor value if you only need one framing gun.
Pros
Cons
Best for: DeWalt XR users who need both a first-fix framing nailer and a 16-gauge finish nailer
Less suitable: Buyers seeking a bare framing gun or a lower-cost route into first-fix nailing
Specifications
Common questions
Is this only a framing nailer?
No. The kit includes the 18 V XR framing nailer DCN930 and the 18 V 16-gauge finish nailer DCN660, plus a TSTAK case and a charger.
Are the batteries included?
The title, bullets, and included-components line name two 5.0 Ah batteries. The technical details line “Batteries included?” says No. Both lines are on the listing.
Which framing nails does the listing name?
Most paper-tape nails, optimised for DNPT and DNW. A length in millimetres is not stated. The finish nailer is angled 16-gauge, optimised for DNBA.
The Tacwise KDH90V covers the full stated 50–90 mm first-fix range and runs at 70–120 psi, making it easier to match to a compressor than an air gun with no pressure figure. Sequential or contact-trip firing and a depth control adjuster give you useful control across framing, fencing, and shed work. The blow-mould case and air-tool oil are included, although the compressor and nails are not. At £199.02, it costs £50.02 more than the meite but adds a stated 90 mm capacity and a much deeper amazon.co.uk review record. Its 4.6-star rating is based on 130 reviews, while the listing itself conflicts on weight by stating 3.8 kg in the bullets and 8 kg on the item-weight line. It is the best-value choice here when you already have suitable air and need a broad nail range, but it is a poor fit for mobile work where a hose cannot follow.
Pros
Cons
Best for: Compressor owners who need stated support for 50–90 mm 34° paper-strip nails
Less suitable: Roof, scaffold, or room-to-room work where a hose is impractical
Specifications
Common questions
What nails and air pressure does the listing state?
34° paper-collated strip nails, 50–90 mm long and 2.8–3.7 mm in diameter. Operating pressure is 70–120 psi. The compressor is not included.
What comes in the box?
The KDH90V, air-tool oil, an operator’s manual, and a blow-mould carry case. Nails are not listed as included.
Which firing modes are named?
Sequential or contact trip (bump), plus a depth control adjuster. A dry-fire lockout is not stated.
The fischer FGW 90F removes the compressor and hose from first-fix work, which is useful when you move between rooms, a roof, or scaffold. The listing claims 90 joules, up to three fixings per second, and more than 8,000 fixings per charge, while the set includes a 7.2 V 2.5 Ah battery, UK charger, and XL-BOXX. Adjustable nail depth is stated, but the amazon.co.uk bullets do not specify nail length, collation angle, or firing mode, so those details need confirming before purchase. A fuel cell is not named in the included components and one review reports that an expected gas bottle was missing. At £290.00 with 4.5 stars from 28 reviews, it sits between the pneumatic guns and the two premium battery kits in this comparison. It suits mobile first-fix work where a hose is the main obstacle, provided you accept ongoing fuel-cell use and verify the exact fastener specification.
Pros
Cons
Best for: Mobile first-fix work where running a compressor hose is impractical
Less suitable: Buyers who want a fuel-free battery tool or need every fastener detail confirmed on the Amazon listing
Specifications
Common questions
Does this listing need a compressor?
No. The listing describes a gas cordless framing nailer. A compressor is not in the included components.
Is a battery and a fuel cell in the box?
The included list names a 7.2 V 2.5 Ah Li-ion battery and a UK charger. A fuel cell is not named. One review says an expected gas bottle was missing.
What nail length does the amazon listing state?
The amazon bullets do not state nail length, angle, or head. They do state 90 joule setting energy and adjustable depth.
The HiKOKI NR1890DCA uses an 18 V air-spring drive to fire ring-shank nails up to a stated 90 mm without a compressor or gas cell. Its dry-fire lockout stops the tool when only a few nails remain and uses the LED to flag the condition, a practical protection that is not stated on the other listings. The technical details say two lithium-ion batteries are included, although their capacity and a charger are not stated. At £514.95, this is a substantial step up from the gas and air options, and the review evidence is limited to six amazon.co.uk ratings averaging 3.2 stars. The listing also conflicts on weight, giving 3.8 kg for the body and 9 kg on the item-weight line. It makes most sense for someone committed to HiKOKI 18 V cordless work who values hose-free operation, but the low rating and sparse review sample argue for checking the exact kit contents and returns position first.
Pros
Cons
Best for: Existing HiKOKI 18 V users who need a hose-free first-fix tool with dry-fire protection
Less suitable: Occasional users, price-sensitive buyers, or anyone wanting a well-established review record
Specifications
Common questions
What nails does the listing claim?
Ring shank nails up to 90 mm. The included-components line calls it a 90 mm clipped-head framing nailer. Minimum length and collation angle are not stated.
Are batteries and a charger included?
The technical details say two lithium-ion batteries are included. Amp-hours are not stated. A charger is not named in the included components.
Does the listing mention a dry-fire lockout?
Yes. It says an electrical lockout stops firing when a few nails remain and the LED flashes. A compressor and a gas cell are not required in the bullets.
On 16 October 2026 the score for each of the five amazon.co.uk listings is the star line times 20. A 4.8 becomes 96 and a 3.2 becomes 64. Price is not inside that score. The top pick is the meite because it ties the DeWalt on 4.8 and has nine reviews against seven. The best-value badge is the Tacwise, which states 50–90 mm and has 130 reviews at £199.02. No laboratory test, and no check of a nail in timber in our hands.
Amazon star line
70%The published score is the star average times 20. 4.8 is 96, 4.6 is 92, 4.5 is 90, and 3.2 is 64. A thin review count stays visible beside the stars. It is not subtracted from the score.
Review count, for the tie only
20%The meite and the DeWalt kit both score 96. The top pick is the meite because the review line is nine, against seven on the DeWalt kit. That count does not create a second score.
Best value, not deducted
10%The Tacwise takes the best-value badge because the listing states 50–90 mm, sequential or contact fire, and 4.6 from 130 reviews at £199.02. The lower meite price does not override a range that stops at 83 mm. Shelf price is not part of the star score.
A framing nailer is a first-fix tool, not a finish, brad, pin, or picture-frame gun. The five listings here split into 34° air, gas, and 18 V. Match the stated nail length to the job, then the power source to what you can actually run. Prices below are the amazon.co.uk figures kept on 16 October 2026. They will move.
A framing nailer drives collated nails, usually 50–90 mm, into studs, joists, roof battens, fencing, and shed frames. UK first-fix strip nails are commonly 50, 63, 75, and 90 mm, paper-collated around 34° with a clipped head or a D-head. If the job needs 90 mm, do not choose a gun whose listing stops at 83 mm. A 21° nail does not belong in a 34° magazine.

Those guns are for trim, mouldings, or light fixings. They do not drive 50–90 mm first-fix nails. A coil nailer is a different magazine again. Match the tool to framing, fencing, or shed framing before you compare prices.
The meite listing states 50–83 mm. A fence rail or stud specified at 90 mm is outside that text. The Tacwise is the pneumatic listing in this set that states 50–90 mm. Do not fill the gap from a different model.
£724.00 is the DCN930 framing nailer plus the DCN660 16-gauge finish nailer, a TSTAK case, and a charger. The battery line on the same listing disagrees with the bullets. If you only need one framing gun, you are paying for a second tool.
Nail length and angle decide whether the gun can do the job. UK first-fix strip nails are commonly 50, 63, 75, and 90 mm, usually paper-collated around 34° with a clipped head or a D-head. The meite states 50–83 mm and a shank of 2.8–3.3 mm, so 90 mm is outside that listing. The Tacwise states 50–90 mm and a shank of 2.8–3.7 mm. The HiKOKI states ring shank up to 90 mm, with no minimum and no angle. Its included line says clipped head. The fischer amazon bullets state neither length nor angle.
The power source has to be one you can run on the day. A pneumatic gun needs a compressor that holds the stated pressure through a hose. The Tacwise states 70–120 psi. The meite states none, so the match is not on that listing. Neither box includes the compressor or the nails. A gas gun drops the hose and adds a fuel cell. The fischer set includes a 7.2 V 2.5 Ah battery, a UK charger, and an XL-BOXX. It does not name a fuel cell, and one review said an expected gas bottle was missing.
Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.
You already run air, and the rails may need 90 mm. The Tacwise KDH90V states 50–90 mm, 70–120 psi, and 4.6 from 130 reviews at £199.02. Use the meite only when the job stays inside the stated 50–83 mm.
A self-builder who cannot run a hose is in the gas conversation. The fischer FGW 90F set is £290.00 with 4.5 from 28 reviews. The amazon bullets do not state nail length, and a fuel cell is not in the included list.
A DeWalt XR user who needs first fix and a 16-gauge finish nailer is looking at the DCK246P2T at £724.00, 4.8 from seven reviews, with a battery-inclusion clash on the listing. The HiKOKI is the single framing gun, at 3.2 from six reviews. Treat either sample as thin.
The top pick is Tacwise KDH90V 34° air framing nailer, with the highest score in this comparison (9.2 out of 10, from 130 amazon.co.uk reviews). The best value is the Tacwise KDH90V at about £199.02, with a stated 50–90 mm range, 70–120 psi, a case and oil in the box, and 4.6 from 130 reviews. The listing conflicts on weight, 3.8 kg and 8 kg. Gas and battery remove the hose: the fischer set is about £290.00, the HiKOKI kit about £514.95, and the DeWalt twin kit about £724.00. None of those three is a bare pneumatic gun, and the cordless review samples are six and seven.

Tacwise KDH90V 34° air framing nailer
About £199.02, a stated 50–90 mm range, and 4.6 from 130 reviews. You still need a compressor that holds 70–120 psi.
Editorial

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.
Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.
Public UK sources on nail-gun safety, noise, vibration, and work equipment, plus manufacturer pages used as reference. Prices, stars, and review counts are from the amazon.co.uk listings kept on 16 October 2026. Prices move.
This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Scores are the published star line times 20. They are not a laboratory test.