Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Best framing nailer for your first-fix setup

Updated: October 2026

The best framing nailer in this five-model comparison depends on what you already own and whether the job needs a stated 90 mm capacity. A shed builder with a suitable compressor faces a different decision from a self-builder moving across a roof, while a DeWalt XR user may value a two-tool kit that would be wasteful for everyone else. This guide matches each amazon.co.uk listing to a buyer and makes the reasons to skip it equally clear. You can check every current specification and price in the main [framing nailer comparison](/hub/staplers-and-nail-guns/framing-nailer).

The best framing nailer in this five-model comparison depends on what you already own and whether the job needs a stated 90 mm capacity.

Our top picks

On this page

There is no single best framing nailer

Three questions separate these tools more usefully than a simple star ranking. First, does the gun state the nail length your work requires, particularly if that length is 90 mm? Second, can you supply its air, fuel or battery system where the work will happen? Third, is the review record deep enough to support the confidence you are placing in the average rating? Fastener compatibility is the harder limit. The meite states 50–83 mm, whereas the Tacwise states 50–90 mm. No price saving or rating can make the meite suitable when a drawing calls for a 90 mm fixing. If you are still deciding what nail stock you need, start with the framing nailer buying guide before choosing a model.

If you already run a compressor

The Tacwise KDH90V is the best-value choice in this set for a compressor owner who needs a broad first-fix range. It states 50–90 mm 34° paper-strip nails, a 2.8–3.7 mm diameter, sequential or contact-trip firing and a depth control adjuster. The £199.02 package includes air-tool oil and a blow-mould case, though not the compressor or nails. Its 130 reviews also give the 4.6-star average more context than any other listing here. The meite SN3483F is the top pick where value means the lowest initial tool price and the job remains inside 50–83 mm. At £149.00, it offers sequential and contact firing and accepts 34° D-head paper-collated nails with a 2.8–3.3 mm shank. The operating pressure and a case are not stated, the compressor is separate, and nine reviews are too few to treat 4.8 stars as settled evidence. Save £50.02 with the meite if 83 mm genuinely covers the job and you can confirm compressor compatibility. Spend more on the Tacwise if you need its stated 90 mm reach, pressure range, depth adjustment and deeper review record. For the underlying trade-offs, see gas versus air framing nailers.

If you cannot run a hose

The fischer FGW 90F is the most accessible hose-free option in this set at £290.00. Its listing claims 90 joules, up to three fixings per second and more than 8,000 fixings per charge. The set names a 7.2 V 2.5 Ah battery, UK charger and XL-BOXX, while fischer’s UK page adds a 34° magazine and a 3.8 kg weight with battery. That makes it a practical candidate for moving between rooms, scaffold or a roof. Choose the fischer when the hose is the main obstacle and you accept buying fuel cells. Skip it if you specifically want a battery-only drive system: a fuel cell is not named in the included list, and one review says an expected gas bottle was missing. The Amazon bullets also omit nail length, angle and firing mode, so confirm the exact fastener specification before ordering. The DeWalt DCK246P2T-GB is not a fair bare-gun comparison. Its £724.00 price covers a DCN930 framing nailer and a DCN660 16-gauge finish nailer, plus a TSTAK case and charger. The title, bullets and components name two 5.0 Ah packs, but the technical line says batteries are not included. Choose it only if you want both first- and second-fix tools and will resolve that contradiction with the seller.

Who should skip each listing

There is also a sixth skip decision: leave all five if your work is actually skirting, architrave or fine trim. That is second-fix work for a finish or brad nailer, not a reason to use construction nails. Likewise, do not infer that a familiar Paslode model is included; the IM350+ is a useful UK reference but is not one of the five ASINs on this page.

Common questions

Who should buy the Tacwise instead of the meite?
Buy the Tacwise when your work may require a stated 90 mm nail, you want a 70–120 psi pressure specification, or you value 130 reviews over the meite’s nine. The meite stops at 83 mm and does not state operating pressure. The Tacwise costs £50.02 more but also includes a case and depth control.
Is the fischer the choice if you cannot run a hose?
It is the lowest-priced hose-free listing in this set and includes a battery, UK charger and XL-BOXX. However, it remains a gas tool, so you need compatible fuel cells, and one is not named in the box. Confirm its nail specification and do not apply the Paslode temperature range to the fischer.
Who is the HiKOKI kit for?
It is for someone who values fuel-free cordless operation, wants stated capacity up to 90 mm ring-shank nails and is comfortable with HiKOKI 18 V. Its dry-fire lockout is useful. The counterweight is a £514.95 price, only six reviews, a 3.2-star average and unclear charger information.
Why is the DeWalt price a poor bare-gun comparison?
The £724.00 listing combines the DCN930 framing nailer with the DCN660 16-gauge finish nailer. You are buying two tools, a case and a charger rather than one framing gun. The listing also contradicts itself over battery inclusion, so confirm the precise package before judging its value against a pneumatic gun.
Should you buy a Paslode from this page?
No Paslode ASIN is included in this five-product comparison. The IM350+ appears only as a familiar UK gas-tool reference. If you are considering one, compare its current UK listing, fastener system, fuel costs and service support separately rather than transferring specifications or reviews from the tools covered here.

Related pages

Sources

Public UK sources on nail-gun safety, noise, vibration, and work equipment, plus manufacturer pages used as reference. Prices, stars, and review counts are from the amazon.co.uk listings kept on 16 October 2026. Prices move.

  1. HSE, nail guns in woodworking (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  2. HSE, PUWER overview (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  3. Control of Noise at Work Regulations 2005, regulation 4 (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  4. HSE, hand-arm vibration regulations (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  5. Paslode IM350+ framing nailer (reference specification, not one of these ASINs) (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  6. fischer UK, FGW 90F gas framing nailer (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  7. Screwfix, nail gun buying guide (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  8. amazon.co.uk listings B00D3IUPOC, B0D2KVW3VB, B0DYDZYWFP, B0F4XCD5F3, B09YVF7HMG (retrieved 16 October 2026)