Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Matter vs HomeKit Wi-Fi smart plug

Updated: 23 October 2026

The box says it works with Apple, and you still have to choose. Matter vs HomeKit Wi-Fi smart plug is not a brand contest in this set: it is Matter over Wi-Fi multipacks against the one native HomeKit Wi-Fi outdoor block we kept. The [HomeKit socket comparison](/hub/sockets-and-extension-leads/homekit-socket) holds the prices from 20 October 2026. We read those listings and Apple’s Matter notes. We did not lab-test multi-admin sharing. A purchase through our links can earn a commission at no extra cost to you.

The box says it works with Apple, and you still have to choose.

Our top picks

On this page

Two Apple paths, not two brands

Matter over Wi-Fi here means the meross MSS315 packs and the Amazon Basics Matter plug, added in the Home app through a Matter controller. The meross listings name iOS or iPadOS 16.1 or later, 2.4 GHz, and a hub such as Apple TV 4K or HomePod mini. The four-pack and two-pack carry meter history in the meross app. The single has energy in the title only. Amazon Basics has no energy line. Those rows still require a Matter hub. Native HomeKit Wi-Fi in this set is the meross outdoor twin at about £39.99. It pairs with a HomeKit code, not a Matter QR, and energy is not stated. It is the only outdoor row, so a Matter win is an indoor and sharing claim, not a garden claim. Thread is a different radio. None of the eight rows is Thread. Eve Energy sits outside this table. Lightwave still needs its own hub. THIRDREALITY is Zigbee plus a separate bridge. BG names Siri without HomeKit.

Sharing the same plug with Alexa or Google Home

The usual reason to prefer Matter is multi-admin. A Matter plug can often stay in Apple Home and also appear in Alexa or Google Home. Apple’s notes say you add a previously paired accessory from another app via More options: turn on pairing mode, copy the short-lived code, and enter it in the other app. Each platform still needs its own controller. Do not promise that every schedule or energy graph appears in both. The taps are on the HomeKit socket set-up page. Native HomeKit Wi-Fi does not give you that share path. If the household is Apple-only and the job is garden lights, the outdoor row wins. If you want four indoor lamps in Apple Home and Alexa, the Matter multipack is the cleaner choice.
meross Meross MSS315 mini, 4-pack

Testsieger

meross Meross MSS315 mini, 4-pack
8.8/10about £42.49

Energy history is the part Matter does not hand to Apple

Buyers often expect Matter to mean full energy graphs inside the Home app. The meross two-pack and four-pack put live use and history in the meross app, from an internal meter. The same listing also says you do not need a third-party app for the Matter path. You may see live power in Apple Home while history stays in meross. The single has energy monitoring in the title only. Amazon Basics has no energy line. A report about one Thread meter plug showing history in Home is not a fact about these rows. Do not choose Matter solely for Home-app graphs. Choose it for indoor multipacks, a Matter QR path, and optional sharing. Choose the native HomeKit outdoor block when the housing matches the garden, knowing energy is not stated. Lightwave’s per-load monitoring sits in its own hub and is outside this fork.

Which path for which job

Pick Matter over Wi-Fi for several indoor Type G plugs when you have a home hub, 2.4 GHz, and you may want Alexa or Google later. The four-pack is the strongest Matter multipack here. The Amazon Basics plug is the cheap trial with thinner specs. iOS 18 may allow a local add without a hub. Remote control still needs one, and the listings still say a hub is required. Pick native HomeKit Wi-Fi for the IP44 twin block, covers closed, with the short lead many reviews mention and the pump ban. Do not treat that row as Matter. A local-control claim on the meross Matter line does not extend to Amazon Basics or the outdoor plug. Named winners are on the best HomeKit socket page.

Common questions

When does the Matter four-pack beat the native HomeKit outdoor plug for an indoor lamp?
When the lamp is indoors, you want several plugs or energy history in the meross app, and you may share with Alexa or Google Home. The outdoor block wins weather housing, not living-room density. It is native HomeKit Wi-Fi, not Matter.
Can one Matter plug stay in Apple Home and also appear in Alexa or Google Home?
Often yes, via Matter multi-admin and a fresh pairing code from the platform that already has it. Each ecosystem still needs its own controller for remote control. Feature parity is not guaranteed. Schedules and energy graphs may stay in one app.
Where is the energy history for the MSS315: Home app or meross app?
The two-pack and four-pack listings put historical data in the meross app, from an internal meter. Live power may appear in Apple Home. Do not expect full Home graphs from Matter alone. The single listing has energy monitoring in the title only.
Does the Amazon Basics Matter plug monitor energy?
Not on this listing. There is no energy-monitoring bullet on that page. Treat it as a switch, not as a meter, until a later listing prints one. The meross multipacks are the rows that state an internal meter.
Does Matter over Wi-Fi still need 2.4 GHz and a hub?
Yes for these rows: 2.4 GHz only, and the listings say a Matter hub is required. A combined 2.4/5 GHz name is a common reason the scan fails. iOS 18 may allow a local add without a hub. Remote control and automations still need one.
Is Thread the same thing as Matter, and does any kept row use Thread?
Thread is a radio transport some Matter devices use. No kept row here is Thread. Eve Energy is outside the table. A HomePod mini can be a Thread border router, but that does not make these Wi-Fi plugs Thread.
Is the Lightwave socket a Matter product because the title says HomeKit?
No. It is a Lightwave faceplate with HomeKit named in the title, not a Matter Wi-Fi multipack. Voice or app control needs a Lightwave L2 Link Plus. A HomePod does not replace that hub.
If I only own Apple devices, is there a reason to avoid Matter?
Not automatically. Matter still gives you indoor multipacks and a common add path, on 2.4 GHz with a hub for remote control. Avoid it when the job is the outdoor IP44 block or a Lightwave faceplate. Those are different paths in this set.

Related pages

Sources

Sources taken from the research digest. Listings were scored on 20 October 2026. This page did not run a lab test.

  1. Apple Support — Set up accessories in the Home app (retrieved 20.10.2026)
  2. Apple Support — Matter accessories (retrieved 20.10.2026)
  3. CSA — Matter specification overview (retrieved 20.10.2026)
  4. Electrical Safety First — Part P (retrieved 20.10.2026)
  5. Electrical Equipment (Safety) Regulations 2016 (retrieved 20.10.2026)
  6. Good Housekeeping UK — smart plug guide (retrieved 20.10.2026)
  7. HomeKit Directory — Matter, Thread and HomeKit (retrieved 20.10.2026)