Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Best Gira socket from this amazon.co.uk Schuko set

Updated: 23 October 2026

You already know the wall takes a Schuko plug, and you want the best Gira socket from the six listings we kept on amazon.co.uk. That is a finish, shutter, and data question, not a search for a British 13 A faceplate. Every row is Type F or a System 55 Schuko insert. A rectangular BS 1363 plug will not seat in any of them. Shelf prices on 20 October 2026 run from about £6.99 to about £15.87. This page maps a job to an order number. The scored comparison is the [Gira socket comparison](/hub/sockets-and-extension-leads/gira-socket). A qualifying purchase can earn us a commission at no extra cost to you.

You already know the wall takes a Schuko plug, and you want the best Gira socket from the six listings we kept on amazon.co.uk. That is a finish, shutter, and data question, not a search for a British 13 A faceplate.

Our top picks

Gira Gira 445303 (glossy, shutter)

Best overall

Gira Gira 445303 (glossy, shutter)
9.0/10about £14.00
Gira Gira 044027 insert

Best value

Gira Gira 044027 insert
6.4/10about £6.99
Gira Gira 418827 (matt white)

Alternative

Gira Gira 418827 (matt white)
8.2/10about £12.94
On this page

Who this best list is for

The best Gira socket in this set is the best match for a Schuko System 55 wall you already have. You are choosing glossy white, matt white, satin, charcoal, or a cheap white insert, and whether the listing states a shutter. If your plugs are British, leave this list. Gira’s BS 1363-2 articles, including the 2776 family, are not in this extract. If you still need that fork, use the Gira Schuko vs BS 1363 page before you add anything to the basket.

Top pick when the listing states a shutter

Our top pick is Gira 445303, ASIN B0CFLRVYTY, at about £14.00. It is the only row that prints a shutter, Safety Plus, a 32 mm depth, and conductors from 1.5 mm² to 2.5 mm², with DIN VDE 0620-1 cited. It is 16 A Type F Schuko, pure white glossy. amazon.co.uk showed 5.0 from 43 reviews, written in Germany and the Netherlands. Safety Plus means increased touch protection, not a child-proof claim. Buy it when glossy white matches the frames. The listing does not say a frame is included.

Matt white, glossy white, and anthracite

Glossy white in this set is 445303. Matt white is Gira 418827, ASIN B0C3W27BDQ, at about £12.94, called the successor to 018827. It states 16 A and 230 V and does not state a shutter, a depth, or a frame. It has 4.9 from 128 ratings, and one review says to choose matt or gloss on purpose. Choose it for an insert swap on a matt wall. Charcoal 418828 at about £12.71 has 4.8 from 97 and no shutter line. One Netherlands buyer reported a unit without the child-protection feature they expected.

Best value when you only need the insert

The best value row is Gira 044027, ASIN B000ONPFGM, at about £6.99. It is a white System 55 insert, 16 A and 230 V, and the title says the frame is not included. One rating has no review text. T.N.O. on the listing is not a UK approval. There is no shutter line and no depth. It suits a tired mechanism on a known Schuko circuit when the frames are already fitted. The Gira socket buying guide puts plug system before price. This set does not combine a low price with a stated shutter.

Rows to double-check or skip

Verify Gira 418327, ASIN B0BS4L3K1P, before you pay. The title says a satin Schuko insert with a shutter and 16 A. The same capture prints 15 kg and an electronic controller, with no reviews. At about £15.87 it costs more than 445303 and publishes less fitting data. Treat 15 kg as a listing conflict until the seller confirms the order number. Anyone who needs a UK 13 A outlet should skip the whole table. Forcing a BS 1363 plug into a Schuko shutter can damage the shutter, which is the failure the IET describes when the pins do not match.

Common questions

Which Gira socket here has a shutter on the listing?
Gira 445303 states a shutter and Safety Plus, with DIN VDE 0620-1 cited, plus 32 mm depth and 1.5–2.5 mm² conductors. Gira 418327 mentions a shutter in the title only, and its technical block conflicts with a socket insert, so confirm the part before you rely on it.
What is the best matt white option?
Gira 418827 at about £12.94 is the matt white option, with 4.9 from 128 ratings on amazon.co.uk. The listing states 16 A and 230 V and does not state a shutter, depth, or frame. It suits an insert swap on an existing matt System 55 wall.
What is the best anthracite or charcoal row?
Gira 418828 at about £12.71 is the charcoal row for a normal anthracite replacement. It shows 4.8 from 97 ratings and states 16 A and 230 V. The listing does not mention a shutter, and one Netherlands review described a unit without child protection.
Which insert is cheapest if I already have the frame?
Gira 044027 at about £6.99 is the lowest shelf price in the set, and the title says it is an insert for System 55, not a complete plate. It states 16 A and 230 V. One rating and no shutter line mean you are buying a mechanism, not a documented touch-protection upgrade.
Should I avoid 418327 because of the listing?
Do not buy 418327 on the title alone. The same amazon.co.uk capture that says satin Schuko with a shutter also says 15 kg and electronic controller, and it shows no reviews. At about £15.87 it is dearer than 445303, which does print depth, conductor range, and Safety Plus.
Is 16 A better than 13 A?
No. A 16 A figure on these listings is the Schuko rating printed for that insert. A UK household socket is a different standard, BS 1363, usually 13 A, with a fused plug. Sixteen amps is not permission to treat a Type F outlet as an upgrade for a British ring.

Related pages

Sources

Sources taken from the research digest. Listings were scored on 20 October 2026. This page did not run a lab test.

  1. Gira — System 55 overview (retrieved 20.10.2026)
  2. Gira — System 55 and Standard 55 FAQ (retrieved 20.10.2026)
  3. Gira catalogue — BS 1363-2 13 A (2776 family) (retrieved 20.10.2026)
  4. GOV.UK — Approved Document P 2013 (retrieved 20.10.2026)
  5. IET Wiring Matters — Socket outlet protectors (May 2020) (retrieved 20.10.2026)
  6. VDE — Children and electricity (retrieved 20.10.2026)