Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Circular saw with guide rail: what is actually in the box

Updated: 21 October 2026

You have five amazon.co.uk tabs open and every title says circular saw with guide rail. One box holds a fence that follows a timber edge, one a short plastic rail, and one a three-piece track. Shelf prices in our file run from £36.99 to £116.00, yet a missing battery or an EU plug changes what you pay before the first cut. This page is the reasoning behind the [circular saw with guide rail comparison](/hub/power-saws/circular-saw-with-guide-rail). The Products Compared editorial team read those listings and public UK sources on 20 October 2026. Prices move. This is not a lab test.

You have five amazon.co.uk tabs open and every title says circular saw with guide rail. One box holds a fence that follows a timber edge, one a short plastic rail, and one a three-piece track.

Our top picks

Evolution Evolution R185CCSX track kit

Best overall

Evolution Evolution R185CCSX track kit
8.5/10about £116.00
DEKOPRO DEKOPRO 165 mm

Best value

DEKOPRO DEKOPRO 165 mm
7.3/10about £36.99
On this page

Three guides under one name

A rip fence rides the timber edge. A rail is a separate bar you clamp down, and the shoe sits on it or runs in a groove. BuildWiz separates a universal rail from a brand groove such as Bosch FSN, Festool, DeWalt or Makita. A conventional saw will not run in a groove it does not have. Both DEKOPRO listings, £36.99 and £39.99, describe one straight rail. That follows an edge, not a pencil line across a sheet. The Bosch at £109.99 lists a two-piece guide that UK reviews call plastic and about 70 cm. BlueMars at £67.99 lists three 40 cm rails and two clamps. Only the Evolution at £116.00 lists a three-piece track of 1,020 mm. Sheet length is on the plywood guide.

What each box contains

The Evolution, ASIN B07HJDTMQC, is the only stated track: 1,600 W, 230 V, 0–64 mm deep, bevel 0–45°, a 185 mm 16-tooth TCT blade, a dust-port adapter and a 1,020 mm three-piece track. It names ST1400 and ST2800 tracks sold separately, and it does not name Festool fit. Clamps are absent from the box list. The features line says Brake, and one review says there is no electric brake. The Bosch, ASIN B0BX4MDY91, is 18 V, with 53 mm on the title and bevel only as “Bevel capability”. The blade diameter is not stated. BlueMars, ASIN B0D8KKD33Q, lists a 125 mm TCT blade, a diamond blade, three 40 cm rails and two clamps. Three sections add to 1,200 mm before joints, which is arithmetic, not an assembled length. Two reviews of the 185 mm say the blade was missing. That is those orders, not a rate. A conditional pick is on the best circular saw with guide rail page.

Plug, voltage and a bare 18 V tool

UK mains are 230 V, and a domestic plug is BS 1363 with a BS 1362 fuse. Regulation 35 of the Electrical Equipment (Safety) Regulations 2016 expects that plug, or a compliant conversion plug, on equipment supplied in Great Britain. A loose travel adapter is a different object. The Evolution track bullet says EU plug. Treat a BS 1363 plug as unconfirmed until you see one in the box. Both DEKOPRO files print 220 V and a 2 m VDE-certified cord. VDE is a cable mark, not a BS 1363 plug, and a part number ending in -UK is not a plug type either. BlueMars does not state a plug. One UK review says a 3-pin fused plug was fitted, which is that buyer’s box. The Bosch title says without battery, so add a pack and a charger to the £109.99 bare tool before you set it beside the £116.00 Evolution.

Which kit matches the cut

For fence timber, door linings or PVC from a straight edge, the DEKOPRO 165 mm at £36.99 is the lower spend. If you own compatible 18 V packs and the cut is about 70 cm, the Bosch is the cordless option. The Evolution is the only multi-piece track in a box here, if you budget clamps and accept more than one pass on a full sheet. A sink or hob cut-out you cannot scrap is not established on any of the five. That centre cut is on the track saw versus plunge saw page. Amazon.co.uk links use the tag pcuk26-21.

Common questions

Is a guide rail the same as a rip fence?
A rip fence follows the timber edge, so the cut stays parallel to that edge. A guide rail is a separate bar you clamp to the board. Both DEKOPRO kits describe one straight rail, which behaves as a fence. Bosch and BlueMars are short rails, and a BlueMars review says the saw clips under the rail rather than running in a brand groove.
Will the Evolution kit plug into a UK socket?
The product bullet says EU plug. A UK socket takes a BS 1363 plug with a BS 1362 fuse. Until you see a BS 1363 plug in the box, treat the fit as unconfirmed. A loose EU-to-UK adapter is not a compliant conversion plug.
Does the Bosch price include a battery?
The UniversalCirc 18V-53 title says without battery, and a charger is not stated. The £109.99 price in this file is the bare tool. Reviewers’ own rule of thumb is about 4 Ah, and one report describes overheating after about ten cuts of 150 × 30 mm on a 2.5 Ah pack.
Why do the BlueMars depth figures disagree?
The title says 42 mm and a bullet says 0–45 mm. Keep both figures rather than using only the larger one. Reviews include a worktop the buyer could not finish and MDF that burned. If the material is thicker than the lower of those two numbers, this kit is the wrong depth.
Can I put these saws on a Festool rail?
The files for these five ASINs do not show Festool, Makita or DeWalt rail fit. The Evolution listing names only Evolution ST1400 and ST2800 tracks, sold separately. A “universal fit” line on another shop’s page is not evidence for this ASIN.

Related pages

Sources

Public UK sources first, then the amazon.co.uk listings compared on this page. The stored prices are the figures already in this set.

  1. HSE: Wood dust (retrieved October 2026)
  2. HSE: PUWER (retrieved October 2026)
  3. Control of Noise at Work Regulations 2005, regulation 4 (retrieved October 2026)
  4. Electrical Equipment (Safety) Regulations 2016, regulation 35 (retrieved October 2026)
  5. BSI: BS EN 62841-2-5:2014 (retrieved October 2026)
  6. HSE: WD0 wood dust (retrieved October 2026)
  7. BuildWiz: circular saw guide rail (retrieved October 2026)
  8. B&Q: plunge saws (retrieved October 2026)