Freestanding radiant heater buying guide
You want heat on a chair, a desk, or a covered patio, and amazon.co.uk calls all of it a freestanding radiant heater. A halogen dish, a carbon tower, a bar fire, a mica panel and a patio head are not the same buy. Choose by the hour you will sit there, the watts you will leave on, and whether the listing is indoor or outdoor. The [freestanding radiant heater comparison](/hub/portable-heaters/freestanding-radiant-heater) scores eight listings from 19 October 2026. Peter F. used those listings and the public UK sources below. There is no lab test. A qualifying purchase can earn a commission at no extra cost to you.
You want heat on a chair, a desk, or a covered patio, and amazon.co.uk calls all of it a freestanding radiant heater. A halogen dish, a carbon tower, a bar fire, a mica panel and a patio head are not the same buy.
You want heat on a chair, a desk, or a covered patio, and amazon.co.uk calls all of it a freestanding radiant heater. A halogen dish, a carbon tower, a bar fire, a mica panel and a patio head are not the same buy. Choose by the hour you will sit there, the watts you will leave on, and whether the listing is indoor or outdoor. The freestanding radiant heater comparison scores eight listings from 19 October 2026. Peter F. used those listings and the public UK sources below. There is no lab test. A qualifying purchase can earn a commission at no extra cost to you.
Our top picks
| Badge | Product | Element | Output | Thermostat | Note | Price | Offer |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Best overall | Dimplex Dimplex ECR20TIE oil-free radiator | Oil-free column | 2,000 W | Yes | 9.2 | about £75.99 | View offer |
| Best value | Warmlite Warmlite WL42013 carbon tower | Carbon fibre | 500 W or 1,000 W | Not stated | 8.8 | about £56.46 | View offer |
| Alternative | Warmlite Warmlite WL42005 three-bar halogen | Halogen | 400 W, 800 W or 1,200 W | Not stated | 8.2 | about £21.45 | View offer |
On this page
What freestanding radiant includes
Match the heater to the hour of use
Wattage and what an hour costs
Controls, plug and weather
What to ignore on the listing
Common questions
Will a freestanding radiant heater heat the whole room?
How many watts do I need if I only sit in one chair?
Is a mica panel the same as a halogen heater?
Why do two figures appear for the Yeominster output?
Can I use an indoor tower on the patio?
What does Lot 20 change about the bill?
Related pages
Sources
Public UK sources for plugs, efficiency rules, running cost and heater safety. Listing prices, stars and review counts are from amazon.co.uk on 19 October 2026.
- Electrical Equipment (Safety) Regulations 2016, regulation 35 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
- Regulation (EU) 2015/1188 on legislation.gov.uk (retrieved 19 October 2026)
- GOV.UK — Placing energy-related products on the UK market (retrieved 19 October 2026)
- Ofgem — Energy price cap, 1 October to 31 December 2026 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
- Electrical Safety First — Portable heaters (retrieved 19 October 2026)
- Electrical Safety First — Patio heaters (retrieved 19 October 2026)
- Centre for Sustainable Energy — Room heaters (retrieved 19 October 2026)
- Devon and Somerset Fire and Rescue — Heaters (retrieved 19 October 2026)


