Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Work dungarees compared

The best work dungarees, compared.

Top pick: Portwest TX52 hi-vis bib and brace – Highest comparison score in this set, at about £39.98, with 4.5 from 135 reviews. The title is hi-vis, and the listing states no class. Best value: Portwest C875 Burnley bib and brace – Navy 65/35 polycotton and a 60°C wash printed on the page, at about £18.99, with 4.4 from 175 reviews. Updated 16 October 2026.

Work dungarees are bib and brace overalls: full-length legs, a front bib, and shoulder straps, with your arms left free. A boiler suit is a sleeved one-piece, and it is not this page. They mix hi-vis titles with ordinary polycotton and thin denim, so the table shows what each listing states rather than what a title implies. Judge a pair by the stated cloth, the wash label, straps that stay fastened, a leg length you can check, and a named EN ISO 20471 class if vehicles are part of the job. Use the [work dungarees buying guide](/hub/occupational-safety/work-dungarees/sub/work-dungarees-buying-guide) for the question order before you match a model to a job. If you need your arms covered, or you lie under a vehicle, this category is the wrong one. UK buyers use a bib to keep paint, oil, or dirt off their clothes and to carry tools. Being seen by traffic is a separate job, and it applies only when the label names the standard.

Work dungarees are bib and brace overalls: full-length legs, a front bib, and shoulder straps, with your arms left free. A boiler suit is a sleeved one-piece, and it is not this page.

Portwest TX52 hi-vis bib and brace

Best overall

Portwest TX52 hi-vis bib and brace
9.1/10∼ £40

32 products checked · 58 hrs invested · +18,600 readers

9 of 9: Best work dungarees compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 9
Best overall
Portwest TX52 hi-vis bib and brace
Best value
Portwest C875 Burnley bib and brace
Portwest TX12 Texo bib and brace, second URL
Portwest TX12 Texo bib and brace
Mazalat bib and brace
Runcati denim dungarees
Portwest PW344 hi-vis bib and brace
Dickies Everyday bib and brace
MANYMANY denim work bib
9.1/10
9.0/10
8.8/10
8.8/10
8.4/10
8.2/10
8.0/10
7.6/10
5.4/10
∼ £40
∼ £19
∼ £25
∼ £25
∼ £28
∼ £40
∼ £42
∼ £42
∼ £12
4.5(135)
4.4(175)
4.3(2,050)
4.3(2,048)
4.1(6,205)
4.0(247)
3.9(61)
3.7(159)
2.6(26)
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best work dungarees in detail

Portwest TX52 hi-vis bib and brace

Rank 1

Portwest TX52 hi-vis bib and brace

∼£40

Our view

The Portwest TX52 is the top pick in this set on the comparison score, at about £39.98, with an Amazon UK rating of 4.5 from 135 reviews. Reviewers use it for truck tyre fitting, driving, and digging, and some say they can be seen from a long way off, including one who says a mile away. The title says hi-vis contrast bib and brace, and the capture states no class and no EN ISO 20471 or RIS-3279-TOM line. Plastic shoulder clips slip and need tying or a safety pin, and one clip snapped after a few weeks. Waterproofing is unstated: some reviews say the cloth is not waterproof, and one says a pair held up in heavy rain. One buyer reports failed crotch seams and failed seams on the reflective patches, on both a yellow pair and an orange pair.

Pros

  • Highest comparison score in this set, with 4.5 from 135 reviews
  • Reviewers report being seen, including at a distance
  • Used for tyre fitting, driving, and digging
  • One review says the pair held up in heavy rain

Cons

  • No class and no EN ISO 20471 line in the capture
  • Plastic clips slip, and one snapped after a few weeks
  • Waterproofing is disputed and is not stated on the listing
  • Seam failures reported on both a yellow pair and an orange pair

Best for: Yard and driving work when your induction does not name a class and you will check the clips on the first day.

Less suitable: Railway orange kit, a named EN ISO 20471 class, or anyone who needs the clips to stay fastened without a pin.

Specifications

Model
Portwest TX52 hi-vis bib and brace
Brand
Portwest
Price
∼£40
Customer rating
4.5/5(135)
High visibility
Title only

Common questions

Is the TX52 a certified hi-vis class?

The title says hi-vis contrast bib and brace. The capture does not state a class, EN ISO 20471, or RIS-3279-TOM. Do not read the title as a class.

Is it waterproof?

The listing does not say. The page asks the question and does not answer it. UK reviews disagree: some say they are not waterproof, and one says a pair held up in heavy rain.

What do reviews say about the straps?

Several UK reviewers say the plastic clips slip, need tying or a safety pin, or snap. That is a review theme, not a specification of the buckle.

Portwest C875 Burnley bib and brace

Rank 2

Portwest C875 Burnley bib and brace

∼£19

Our view

The Portwest C875 Burnley is the best value in this set when you want a navy bib with the cloth printed on the page, at about £18.99 and a listed weight of 700 g. The Amazon UK rating is 4.4 from 175 reviews, and the product-details ASIN matches this URL. Reviewers use it for site work, workshops, gardening, angling, and the shed, and several call the sizing true. The bullets state 65 percent polyester and 35 percent cotton, five pockets including a rule pocket, an elasticated back, a 60°C wash, and a UPF 40+ claim to block 98 percent of UV. That sun claim is separate from an EN ISO 20471 class, and one review says the pair is not waterproof. Legs run very long, including for people around 6 ft, and one reviewer says a brace buckle eventually broke.

Pros

  • about £18.99 with the cloth and the wash printed on the listing
  • 4.4 from 175 reviews, and the details ASIN matches this URL
  • Five pockets, an elasticated back, and a 60°C wash
  • Used for site, workshop, garden, and shed work

Cons

  • No hi-vis class, and the UPF 40+ line is a sun claim
  • Legs very long, including for people around 6 ft
  • Not described as waterproof, and one review says it is not
  • One brace buckle eventually broke

Best for: Shed, garden, and general site wear in navy when nobody has asked you to be seen by traffic.

Less suitable: A hi-vis induction, kneeling that needs a certified pad, or a short leg you will not turn up.

Specifications

Model
Portwest C875 Burnley bib and brace
Brand
Portwest
Price
∼£19
Customer rating
4.4/5(175)
Stated standard
UPF 40+ only
Pockets
5
Fabric
65/35 polycotton
Elastic back
Yes
Colour
Navy
Wash
60°C, tumble low

Common questions

Is the C875 made of cotton?

The bullets say Kingsmill cloth at 65% polyester and 35% cotton. It is not stated as 100% cotton. The listing says it is machine washable.

How do you wash it?

Maximum 60°C on a normal cycle. Do not bleach. Tumble dry low, or drip line dry. Iron at a maximum of 150°C. Do not dry clean.

Is it high-visibility PPE?

No class is stated. The bullets claim UPF 40+ and that the fabric blocks 98 percent of UV. That is a sun claim, not EN ISO 20471. One review says the pair is not waterproof, and the listing does not claim that it is.

Portwest TX12 Texo bib and brace, second URL

Rank 3

Portwest TX12 Texo bib and brace, second URL

∼£25

Our view

This second Portwest TX12 URL is listed at about £25.31, with an Amazon UK rating of 4.3 from 2,050 reviews and a different photograph from the other TX12 capture. Both pages name TX12 and both use product-details ASIN B0F493BD26, and the review text in the file is the same set. Treat 2,050 as this URL's star line, rather than as a separate group of wearers. The title again states knee-pad pockets and contrast, with no class, no colour, and no named pad. Reviewers call the pockets handy and say the elastic back helps when bending. The same complaints travel with the text: buckles that undo, long legs, and pads that will not stay in the slot.

Pros

  • Same TX12 title and knee-pad pockets, at about £25.31
  • Amazon UK rating of 4.3 from 2,050 reviews on this URL
  • Reviewers who bought again for gardening and mechanics
  • Elastic back described as helpful when bending

Cons

  • Review text matches the other TX12 capture
  • Colour is still unstated, and the photograph differs
  • Product-details ASIN is B0F493BD26, not this URL
  • Buckles, long legs, and loose pads are in the same reviews

Best for: Someone comparing the two TX12 photographs who will still read the label for colour and class.

Less suitable: Anyone counting these 2,050 reviews as extra evidence on top of the other TX12 URL.

Specifications

Model
Portwest TX12 Texo bib and brace, second URL
Brand
Portwest
Price
∼£25
Customer rating
4.3/5(2,050)
High visibility
Title only
Knee-pad pockets
Yes

Common questions

How is this TX12 different from the other TX12 URL?

This URL is about £25.31 with 2,050 reviews and a different image. The other capture is about £25.30 with 2,048 reviews. Both name TX12, both use product-details ASIN B0F493BD26, and neither states a colour.

Does the listing state a hi-vis class?

No. Contrast is in the title. There is no EN ISO 20471 line and no class number.

Are the knee-pad pockets certified?

The title states the pockets. It does not name a pad or EN 14404. Reviews mention pads that help, pads that will not stay, and a pocket that sat too low until it was altered.

Portwest TX12 Texo bib and brace

Rank 4

Portwest TX12 Texo bib and brace

∼£25

Our view

The Portwest TX12 at about £25.30 puts knee-pad pockets in the title, and UK reviewers wear it for gardening, farm work, plumbing, and mechanics. The Amazon UK rating is 4.3 from 2,048 reviews. Colour, fibre blend, and any EN standard are absent from the capture, and the product-details ASIN is B0F493BD26 rather than this URL. Reviewers praise the number of pockets and an elastic back when they bend, including people who sized up for movement or a thermal layer. Shoulder straps slip through the plastic buckles, the phone pocket is too small for a modern phone, and shorter wearers find the legs long. One knee-pad slot sat on the lower leg until it was altered, and a second URL in this set carries almost the same review text.

Pros

  • Knee-pad pockets in the title at about £25.30
  • Amazon UK rating of 4.3 from 2,048 reviews
  • Pockets and an elastic back praised for bending work
  • Used by plumbers, mechanics, and farm workers in the reviews

Cons

  • Straps slip through the plastic buckles
  • Colour, fabric blend, and standards are absent from the capture
  • Phone pocket too small for a modern phone
  • Pads do not stay put for every reviewer

Best for: Garden, farm, and trade work where you want knee-pad pockets and you will test the buckles before you trust them.

Less suitable: A stated hi-vis class, a named EN 14404 pad, or a short inside leg you cannot turn up.

Specifications

Model
Portwest TX12 Texo bib and brace
Brand
Portwest
Price
∼£25
Customer rating
4.3/5(2,048)
High visibility
Title only
Knee-pad pockets
Yes

Common questions

Does this TX12 include knee pads?

The title says knee-pad pockets. It does not say that pads are included, and it does not name EN 14404. Reviewers describe the pockets as useful, and one says the pads do not stay put.

What colour and fabric does this URL state?

Neither colour nor a fibre blend is in the capture. The product-details ASIN is B0F493BD26, which is not the URL ASIN. Price on this URL is about £25.30.

What do the reviews say about the straps?

A repeated UK complaint is that the straps slip through the plastic buckles. Reviewers tie a knot or have them sewn. The listing itself does not describe the buckle.

Mazalat bib and brace

Rank 5

Mazalat bib and brace

∼£28

Our view

Painters use the Mazalat bib when they want their arms free for a brush, and gardeners use the same cut in warmer weather, at a captured price of about £27.99. The Amazon UK rating is 4.1 from 6,205 reviews, while the product-details ASIN is B076B736PW rather than this URL, so that figure is not a verdict on one colour. The listing states no fibre blend and no safety standard, and one reviewer described medium-weight polycotton, which remains a review rather than a specification. Legs are a repeated complaint from about 5 ft 9 in to 6 ft, and one buyer paid £14 to have them shortened. Pocket comments split between a phone pocket and a count of one back pocket plus a small side pocket. Buckles are called fiddly, one broke almost immediately, and one wearer split the crotch on the first day.

Pros

  • Arms stay free, which painters in the reviews preferred to a full coverall
  • Amazon UK rating of 4.1 from 6,205 reviews at about £27.99
  • Some UK reviewers report a true size and robust cloth
  • A phone pocket and a wallet pocket appear in some reviews

Cons

  • Legs long enough that one buyer paid £14 to shorten them
  • Buckles called fiddly, and one broke almost immediately
  • Pocket count is inconsistent across reviews
  • No safety standard, and the product-details ASIN is not this URL

Best for: Painting, gardening, and warm-weather jobs where you want your arms free and you can check the leg length before you rely on the pockets.

Less suitable: A site that names a hi-vis class, or anyone who needs a stated cloth blend and a certified knee pad.

Specifications

Model
Mazalat bib and brace
Brand
Mazalat
Price
∼£28
Customer rating
4.1/5(6,205)

Common questions

Does this listing state a safety standard?

No. The capture has no EN ISO 20471, RIS-3279-TOM, or EN 14404 line. The title calls it a protective coverall and a bib and brace, without naming a standard.

What size and colour is this ASIN?

The title says S–3XL and lots of colours. The size and colour of this URL are not stated. The product-details ASIN in the capture is B076B736PW, which is not the URL ASIN.

Does the listing say how long the legs are?

No inside leg is stated. In the UK reviews, long legs are a repeated complaint, including one buyer who paid £14 to have them shortened.

Runcati denim dungarees

Rank 6

Runcati denim dungarees

∼£40

Our view

The Runcati denim dungarees are listed at about £39.99 as work trousers and as summer streetwear, with adjustable straps in the title and no safety standard. The Amazon UK rating is 4.0 from 247 reviews. The reviews copied into this capture come from Belgium, Spain, Germany, Italy, and France, so you are reading a European sample on a UK URL. Those texts describe garden and light field work, and one reviewer praises metal buttons and a stated fit at XL for 182 cm and 80 kg. The same reviews often say the size chart misses, the colour is darker than the photographs, and the cloth is thin. One review says the fly and the zip described on the page were missing from the garment.

Pros

  • Adjustable straps are stated in the title
  • Some reviewers found the cut roomier than fashion jeans
  • Pockets that hold small tools in the captured reviews
  • Metal buttons praised on one review

Cons

  • Reviews in the capture are not from the United Kingdom
  • Size and colour often fail to match the chart and the photographs
  • Cloth called thin, and one review reports no fly
  • No safety standard and no wash temperature

Best for: Light garden or casual wear if you can return a size that misses the chart.

Less suitable: Site PPE, kneeling work, or anyone who needs United Kingdom reviews in this file.

Specifications

Model
Runcati denim dungarees
Brand
Runcati
Price
∼£40
Customer rating
4.0/5(247)
Straps
Adjustable
Fabric
Denim

Common questions

Are these only work dungarees?

The title says work trousers and also summer streetwear and casual. They are denim dungarees with adjustable straps. No safety standard is stated.

Are the straps adjustable?

Yes. Adjustable straps are in the title. The listing does not describe the buckle.

Where are the reviews from?

The star line is 4.0 from 247 reviews. The reviews copied into the capture are from Belgium, Spain, Germany, Italy, and France, not from the United Kingdom.

Portwest PW344 hi-vis bib and brace

Rank 7

Portwest PW344 hi-vis bib and brace

∼£42

Our view

This Portwest PW344 URL is a yellow and black medium bib at about £42.40, and the bullets name EN ISO 20471 and RIS-3279-TOM after 50 washes, 15 pockets, and a free kneepad set. The Amazon UK rating is 3.9 from 61 reviews. The bullets give no class number, and this colour is yellow and black, so the RIS line on the page is not a fluorescent orange rail certificate. The cloth is stated as 65 percent polyester and 35 percent cotton with a Texpel SOS finish, a 40°C maximum wash, and no tumble drying. UK reviews mention a sound fit for some wearers, then adjusters that slip, elastic that loses stretch after one wash, and an inner-leg seam that opened after about two weeks for a truck driver. The free pads are not tied to EN 14404 in this capture, and the leg length in the bullets runs from 31 inches to 33 inches.

Pros

  • Only kept listing that states EN ISO 20471 and RIS-3279-TOM
  • 15 pockets, top-loading knee pockets, and a free kneepad set in the bullets
  • 65 percent polyester and 35 percent cotton, with a 40°C wash limit
  • This URL states yellow and black, and medium, so the colour is on the page

Cons

  • Class number is missing from the Amazon capture
  • Yellow and black is the wrong colour when the rule is fluorescent orange
  • 3.9 from 61 reviews, with early seam and elastic failures
  • EN 14404 is not named for the included pads

Best for: A buyer who wants the standards named on the Amazon page and will confirm the class and the colour on the sewn label.

Less suitable: An orange-only rail induction, or anyone treating the Texpel stain finish as waterproof.

Specifications

Model
Portwest PW344 hi-vis bib and brace
Brand
Portwest
Price
∼£42
Customer rating
3.9/5(61)
High visibility
Yes
Stated standard
EN ISO 20471, RIS
Knee-pad pockets
Yes
Pockets
15
Straps
Adjustable
Fabric
65/35 polycotton
Elastic back
Yes
Colour
Yellow/black
Wash
40°C, no tumble

Common questions

What standard does this PW344 listing name?

The bullets say certified to EN ISO 20471 and RIS 3279-TOM after 50 washes. They do not give a class number. This ASIN is yellow/black, medium.

Are knee pads included?

The bullets say a free kneepad set and top-loading knee-pad pockets. They do not name the pad model, and they do not mention EN 14404.

How does the listing say to wash it?

Maximum 40°C, no bleach, no tumble drying, iron at a maximum of 150°C, and no dry cleaning. The cloth is stated as 65% polyester and 35% cotton with a Texpel SOS finish.

Dickies Everyday bib and brace

Rank 8

Dickies Everyday bib and brace

∼£42

Our view

The Dickies Everyday bib, model DK0A867N, is sold as a pack of one at about £41.99, and reviewers use it for garden mud, renovation, and farm work. The Amazon UK rating is 3.7 from 159 reviews, and the product-details ASIN is B0D8W2G5HG rather than this URL. The listing states no fabric blend and no safety standard. One reviewer describes a knee-pad opening about 2 inches wide that was hard to load. Many UK reviews say the back elastic frays, ladders, or comes out on the first wear or the first wash, and plastic clips are reported not to lock. A farmer who wears a bib every day asked for another pair, beside comments that the cloth is thinner than an older Dickies bib and that one pair ripped after about two months.

Pros

  • Generous fit with room for a layer, in the reviews that praise it
  • Some buyers say it is true to size, including people on a second pair
  • Pockets praised when the cloth holds up
  • A daily farm wearer asked for another pair

Cons

  • Back elastic frays on the first wear or the first wash in many reviews
  • Plastic clips reported not to lock
  • 3.7 from 159 reviews at about £41.99, with no stated fabric
  • Knee-pad opening described as about 2 inches wide and hard to load

Best for: A spare bib for garden and renovation if you inspect the back elastic before the first shift.

Less suitable: Daily professional wear, or anyone treating the Dickies name as proof the elastic will last.

Specifications

Model
Dickies Everyday bib and brace
Brand
Dickies
Price
∼£42
Customer rating
3.7/5(159)

Common questions

Does the Dickies listing state a safety standard?

No. There is no EN ISO 20471, RIS-3279-TOM, or EN 14404 line. The title is Everyday bib and brace, pack of 1, model DK0A867N.

What do reviews say about the back elastic?

Many UK reviews say the elastic at the back frays, ladders, or comes out on the first wear or the first wash. Some also say the plastic clips do not lock. The listing itself does not describe the elastic.

Are knee pads included?

The listing does not say. One reviewer describes a knee-pad opening about 2 inches wide that was hard to load. That is a review, not a stated specification.

MANYMANY denim work bib

Rank 9

MANYMANY denim work bib

∼£12

Our view

The MANYMANY denim bib is the lowest price in this set at about £12.37, titled as a loose cargo work bib with adjustable straps. The Amazon UK rating is 2.6 from 26 reviews, and ten of those reviews are in the capture. Most say the pair is far smaller than the UK size ordered, including one note that an XL fitted a women's size 8 and was still tight. A buyer who went up two sizes found the opposite problem: too baggy and too long. Reviewers call the cloth paper-thin, one says the studs fell off as the parcel was opened, and the photographs are disputed over a missing hammer loop and missing belt loops. One reviewer called the fabric decent and still called the sizing very small, and the listing states no safety standard and no fabric weight.

Pros

  • Lowest captured price in the set, at about £12.37
  • Adjustable straps and multiple pockets are in the title
  • One reviewer called the fabric decent

Cons

  • 2.6 from 26 reviews, with ten UK reviews in the capture
  • Sizing far from the UK size ordered, in both directions
  • Cloth called paper-thin, and studs fell off on opening
  • Photographs do not match the garment some buyers received

Best for: A very cheap trial only if you can return the pair the day it arrives.

Less suitable: Any real work shift, a site rule, or a buyer who needs the photographs and the size chart to match.

Specifications

Model
MANYMANY denim work bib
Brand
MANYMANY
Price
∼£12
Customer rating
2.6/5(26)
Pockets
Multiple
Straps
Adjustable
Fabric
Denim

Common questions

What fabric does the listing state?

Denim, in the title, described as a loose-fit cargo work bib with adjustable straps and multiple pockets. No fabric weight and no safety standard are stated.

How do the UK reviews describe the size?

The rating is 2.6 from 26 reviews, and ten reviews are in the capture. Most say the pair is much smaller than the UK size ordered, or that it does not match the photographs. One buyer who went up two sizes found it too baggy and too long.

Did reviewers find faults on arrival?

Yes. One says studs fell off as the parcel was opened. Others call the cloth paper-thin and say the hammer loop or belt loops in the photographs were not on the garment received.

How we compared

We compared nine bib-and-brace listings on amazon.co.uk and scored what each page states, together with the review text in the capture. Visibility and a named standard come first when vehicles are part of the job, then cloth and wash, length and straps, knees, the review base, and price. We did not run a lab, and we did not treat a hi-vis title as a class.

1

Visibility and stated standard

25%

If vehicles or plant are part of the job, the label needs EN ISO 20471 and a class. A hi-vis title, or tape on a dark bib, is not that class. RIS-3279-TOM asks for fluorescent orange and at least class 2.

2

Cloth, pockets and wash

20%

A stated blend and a wash temperature beat a stuffed title. A stain finish is not waterproof. No listing kept here states EN 343.

3

Length and straps

20%

Legs in this review set are often long, and plastic buckles slip on more than one brand. Hemming can move a knee pocket off the knee, so the length is tried with your boots.

4

Knee protection

15%

EN 14404 type 2 certifies a pad and a garment together. A pocket, or a free pad the listing does not tie to that standard, is not the certificate.

5

Amazon UK reviews

12%

Star rating and review count come from the amazon.co.uk listing for that URL. A European review sample on a UK page is not read as British customer opinion.

6

Price

8%

Price is last. An honest navy bib is a better shed buy than a hi-vis title with no class. The bands below describe this capture, not a market census.

Independent review
Last updated: 16 October 2026
8 sources checked

Work dungarees buying guide

Decide the cut, then whether anyone has to see you, then the cloth, the knees, and the leg length. Price comes after those checks. The rows on this page are nine amazon.co.uk listings. They are not every bib on the site.

What are work dungarees?

Work dungarees are bib and brace overalls. You get full-length legs, a front bib, and shoulder straps, and your arms stay free. A boiler suit is a sleeved one-piece. If you need your arms covered, or you lie under a vehicle, this category is the wrong one. UK buyers use a bib to keep paint, oil, or dirt off their clothes and to carry tools. Being seen by traffic is a separate job, and it applies only when the label names the standard.

Best for

  • Yard and driving work when the induction does not name a class
  • Shed, garden, and workshop wear in navy polycotton
  • A buyer who will match a named EN ISO 20471 line to the sewn label

Not ideal for

  • A sleeved boiler suit, including work under a vehicle
  • Flame, arc, chemical, or chainsaw hazards
  • Anyone who needs class 3 from the bib alone

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Reading hi-vis as a class

    Reflective tape and a hi-vis title are not EN ISO 20471. In this set the TX52 and both TX12 URLs put contrast in the title and state no class. Only the PW344 bullets name EN ISO 20471 and RIS-3279-TOM, and they still omit the class number.

  2. 2

    Buying yellow for an orange rail rule

    RIS-3279-TOM asks for fluorescent orange and at least class 2. The PW344 ASIN on this page is yellow and black. Yellow can be valid EN ISO 20471 on a road and still be the wrong colour for the line. Portwest’s datasheet limits the rail line to orange at class 2.

  3. 3

    Treating a pocket or a stain finish as a certificate

    A knee pocket, or a free pad the listing does not tie to EN 14404, is not type 2 protection. A stain finish such as Texpel, and a review that mentions rain, is not waterproof. No listing kept here states EN 343.

What to weigh up

Visibility, colour and the named standard

High

Buy visibility only when vehicles or plant are part of the job. You need EN ISO 20471 and a class on the label. Reflective tape on a dark bib is not a class, and the words hi-vis in a title are not one either. Class 2 is at least 0.50 m² of fluorescent cloth and 0.13 m² of retroreflective material. Class 3 is higher, at 0.80 m² and 0.20 m². UK explainers of those design rules say a bib and brace does not meet class 3 on its own. Colour is a separate check.

Cloth, knees, length and straps

High

A stated blend and a wash temperature beat a stuffed title. The C875 states 65 percent polyester and 35 percent cotton, five pockets, an elasticated back, a 60°C wash, and a UPF 40+ claim. That sun claim is not a hi-vis class, and one review says the pair is not waterproof. The PW344 states the same 65/35 blend, a Texpel stain finish, a 40°C maximum, and no tumble drying. Texpel is not waterproof, and no listing kept here states EN 343.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

Yard and driving, class not named

You want a hi-vis bib for tyre fitting, driving, or digging, and the induction does not name a class. The Portwest TX52 leads this set on comparison score at about £39.98. Check the plastic clips on the first day, and do not read the title as EN ISO 20471.

Shed and garden in navy

Nobody has asked you to be seen by traffic. The Portwest C875 is the best value when you want 65/35 polycotton, five pockets, and a 60°C wash printed on the page, at about £18.99. The UPF 40+ line is a sun claim, not a hi-vis class.

Induction names a standard

The site names EN ISO 20471 or RIS-3279-TOM. The Portwest PW344 is the only kept listing that states both, at about £42.40, with no class number. This ASIN is yellow and black, so confirm the colour on the sewn label before you treat it as orange rail kit.

Common questions about work dungarees

Which work dungarees are the top pick here?
The Portwest TX52 is the top pick on the comparison score, at about £39.98, with an Amazon UK rating of 4.5 from 135 reviews. Reviewers use it for tyre fitting, driving, and digging, and some say they can be seen from a distance. The title says hi-vis contrast. The listing states no class and no EN ISO 20471 line. Choose it when the induction does not name a class, and check the plastic clips on the first day.
Which pair is the best value?
The Portwest C875 Burnley is the best value when you want a navy bib with the cloth printed on the page. It is about £18.99, with an Amazon UK rating of 4.4 from 175 reviews. The bullets state 65 percent polyester and 35 percent cotton, five pockets, an elasticated back, and a 60°C wash. The UPF 40+ line is a sun claim, not an EN ISO 20471 class.
How much do work dungarees cost?
Shelf prices in this amazon.co.uk set run from about £12.37 to about £42.40. Under £20 sits the C875 at about £18.99 and the MANYMANY denim at about £12.37, which has 2.6 from 26 reviews. About £25 to £28 covers both TX12 URLs and the Mazalat. About £40 covers the TX52, the Runcati, the Dickies Everyday, and the PW344. A higher price in this set is not a higher class. These figures are the captured listings, not a market census.
What should you check before you buy work dungarees?
Confirm the cut is a bib and brace, not a zip-front boiler suit. If vehicles or plant are part of the job, you need EN ISO 20471 and a class on the label, plus the colour the induction names. If you kneel, EN 14404 type 2 certifies a pad and a garment together. Prefer a stated cloth blend and a wash temperature. Try the legs and straps with your boots. Long legs and slipping plastic buckles appear in this set.
Does a hi-vis title mean the bib meets EN ISO 20471?
No. The words hi-vis, and reflective tape on a dark bib, are not a class. In this set only the Portwest PW344 bullets name EN ISO 20471 and RIS-3279-TOM, and they do not give a class number. That ASIN is yellow and black. Yellow can be valid on a road and still be wrong where the rule is fluorescent orange. The TX52 and both TX12 URLs put contrast in the title and state no class.
Can a bib and brace meet hi-vis class 3 on its own?
UK explainers of the EN ISO 20471 design rules say a bib and brace does not meet class 3 on its own. Class 2 needs at least 0.50 m² of fluorescent cloth and 0.13 m² of retroreflective material. Class 3 is higher, at 0.80 m² and 0.20 m². If the induction asks for class 3, the bib will not close that gap. A work vest is a different garment, and it still has to name its own class.
Who has to pay for hi-vis dungarees at work?
When being seen is the control in the risk assessment, hi-vis is PPE. The Personal Protective Equipment at Work Regulations 1992, extended in 2022 to limb (b) workers, require the employer to provide that PPE free. Ordinary dungarees that only keep dirt off your clothes are workwear, not that duty. Do not charge workers for PPE the assessment requires. Flame, arc, chemical, and chainsaw hazards sit outside this comparison.
Are knee-pad pockets certified knee protection?
No. EN 14404 type 2 certifies a pad and a garment together. A pocket in the title, or a free pad the listing does not tie to that standard, is not the certificate. The TX12 title states knee-pad pockets and does not name a pad or EN 14404. The PW344 bullets include a kneepad set and still do not name EN 14404 in this Amazon capture. Turning up a long leg can also move the pocket off the knee.

Our verdict

Work dungarees in this set are bib and brace overalls, not boiler suits, and a hi-vis title is not a class. The Portwest TX52 is the top pick on comparison score for yard and driving work when the induction does not name a class. The Portwest C875 is the best value when you want navy polycotton and a wash temperature printed on the page. If the induction names EN ISO 20471 or RIS-3279-TOM, read the PW344 label for class and colour before you buy on the bullet text alone.

Best overall
Portwest TX52 hi-vis bib and brace

Portwest TX52 hi-vis bib and brace

Highest comparison score in this set, at about £39.98, with 4.5 from 135 reviews. The title is hi-vis, and the listing states no class.

View offer
Best value
Portwest C875 Burnley bib and brace

Portwest C875 Burnley bib and brace

Navy 65/35 polycotton and a 60°C wash printed on the page, at about £18.99, with 4.4 from 175 reviews.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - Editor
Editor
Work dungareesHigh-visibility clothingUK PPE rules

Products Compared publishes British-English buying guides based on amazon.co.uk listings and public UK sources. We do not run a lab and we do not invent test scores.

Updated: 16 October 2026
8 sources checked

Guides to work dungarees

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources and the manufacturer datasheet named in the research digest. Prices and stars are from the amazon.co.uk listings used for this comparison. Last checked on 15 October 2026.

  1. HSE: PPE overview (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  2. HSE: PPE regulations 2022 (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  3. HSE: high-visibility clothing factsheet (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  4. HSE: PPE maintenance (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  5. GOV.UK: PPE marking, UKCA and CE (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  6. 3M UK Scotchlite: ISO 20471 class areas (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  7. SATRA: RIS-3279-TOM (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  8. Portwest PW344 datasheet (retrieved 15 October 2026)

Expert source (DIY & tools): Charlie White (Charlie DIYte) (external profile) – public expert commentary used as a research source, not as a contributor to our pages.

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, star ratings and review counts come from the listings and the public sources named below. We did not run a lab test.