Lighter work in XL
You do lighter MIG, TIG, or bench work and you want EN ISO 11611 printed before you pay. The black XL Portwest states Class 1 (A1+A2) and a cold wash, lay flat, medium iron. It is still the lower welding class.
The best welding jackets, compared.
Top pick: Portwest BIZ2 Bizweld, black XL – It prints EN ISO 11611 Class 1 (A1+A2) for lighter XL work, and it is the row that states a cold wash and flat dry. Best value: Portwest BIZ2 Bizweld, black XXL – The same Class 1 cotton is about £22.68 in XXL, against about £28.98 for the XL listing. Updated 16 October 2026.
A welding jacket takes sparks, a short flame contact, and arc radiation on the cloth instead of on your arms and torso. If you weld in a shop, on vehicles, on site, at college, or at home, start with the process and where the sparks land, then with whether the amazon.co.uk listing prints EN ISO 11611 and which class. Only the cotton rows print a class, and both are Class 1, the lower spatter level. A1 and A2 are flame tests, not Class 2. Leather and hybrid coats cost more here and do not print a class, so thickness is not a higher certificate. The [welding jacket buying guide](/hub/occupational-safety/welding-jacket/sub/welding-jacket-buying-guide) sets out that order of checks. Prices and review notes come from the listings. UK buyers are shops, vehicle repairers, site welders, colleges, and people welding at home. It does not replace gloves, eye protection, or fume control. HSE says cover arms and legs, keep gloves and eye protection separate, and control fume with extraction and suitable respiratory protection.
A welding jacket takes sparks, a short flame contact, and arc radiation on the cloth instead of on your arms and torso.
Swipe for more
1-2 of 9Personal buying guide
Question 1 of 2
Which size do you wear over your layers?
The Portwest BIZ2 in black XL is model BIZ2BKRXL, 330 g/m² cotton, listed at 780 g, with concealed studs. It is the top pick in this comparison when you wear XL and need EN ISO 11611 printed on the listing: Class 1 (A1+A2), which is still the lower welding class. amazon.co.uk shows £28.98 and 4.6 from 1,129 reviews, the same star line as the cheaper XXL row of the same style. This listing is the one that says machine wash cold, lay flat to dry, and use a medium iron. Reviewers in the shared UK sample describe light use without a burn, and others describe sparks going through the sleeves. That split is why a Class 1 cotton jacket is a weak match once your own sleeves are already holing. The bullets also print EN ISO 11612 (A1+A2, B1, C1, E2, F1), and those letters do not raise the welding class.
Pros
Cons
Best for: An XL welder doing lighter MIG, TIG, or bench work who wants the welding class printed before they pay.
Less suitable: Heavy spatter, overhead work, or any job where the risk assessment asks for a Class 2 garment.
Specifications
Common questions
How should this XL jacket be washed?
This file says machine wash cold, lay flat to dry, medium iron. The bullets also say to follow the care label so the flame-resistant performance lasts.
What size is ASIN B00J4FRNKC?
Model BIZ2BKRXL. The amazon.co.uk title on 15 October 2026 says black, X large. Item weight on the listing is 780 g.
Are the 1,129 reviews only for the XL?
No. The 50 UK reviews in this file are the same text as the XXL file. Buyers mention small, medium, and XL. Read them as the shared BIZ2 pool.
The Portwest BIZ2 in black XXL is a 330 g/m² cotton jacket listed at 780 g, with concealed studs and three pockets, including a phone pocket. On amazon.co.uk this size is £22.68 and shares a 4.6 rating from 1,129 reviews with the XL listing. The bullets print EN ISO 11611 Class 1 (A1+A2), the lower welding class, plus EN ISO 11612 codes and arc figures of ELIM 8.3 cal/cm² and ATPV 11.2 cal/cm². It is the best value in this set when XXL fits, because the same Class 1 cloth is £28.98 on the XL row. The shared UK reviews include light fabrication with no burn and also holes through the sleeves, and the sample does not give a rate for either. The XXL care line only says machine wash, so the cold wash and flat dry printed on the XL row are not stated here. Class 1 is not a promise that sparks cannot go through.
Pros
Cons
Best for: Light fabrication in XXL, where you want a printed Class 1 cotton jacket and you will follow the care label on the garment.
Less suitable: Overhead or under-car work where sparks already hole cotton sleeves, or a risk assessment that asks for Class 2.
Specifications
Common questions
What welding class does this XXL Portwest listing print?
The bullets say EN ISO 11611 Class 1 (A1+A2), plus EN ISO 11612 (A1+A2, B1, C1, E2, F1). Class 1 is the lower welding class. A1 and A2 are flame tests, not Class 2.
Is the £22.68 price for every size?
This ASIN is model BIZ2BKRXXL, black XXL, at £22.68. The black XL in this comparison is a different ASIN at £28.98. The bullets say the style is sold from XS to 5XL.
Have reviewers reported sparks going through?
The 50 UK reviews in the file are shared with the XL listing. Several describe holes and burns through the sleeves. Others describe light fabrication with no burn. The file does not give a rate.
The YESWELDER coat is a unisex leather jacket at £61.74, the highest price in this basket, with no class and no listed weight. amazon.co.uk shows 4.6 from 994 reviews, and the comparison score is 92, level with the two Portwest rows. Twelve United Kingdom reviews sit in a sample of 50. They include under-car welding where the reviewer says the metal stayed in the jacket, and a working welder who says leather is what stops heavy spatter for them. Those sentences are reviews, and the page still does not print EN ISO 11611. Weight, heat, and a new-leather smell are the complaints that repeat. One reviewer wants an arm pocket, and one calls the Velcro and poppers a nuisance that still held. The details block prints ASIN B09CD8ZCVF, first available on 30 June 2021.
Pros
Cons
Best for: Under-car or heavy-spatter work if you want a widely reviewed leather coat and you will look elsewhere for a printed class.
Less suitable: A warm workshop, a buyer who needs the class on the listing, or a budget under the mid-£20s cotton rows.
Specifications
Common questions
Can this coat be worn by women?
The title and the department line say unisex. The page also asks the question and does not add a size guide.
Does the listing prove it stops sparks?
No standard is printed. UK reviews include under-car welding with metal in the jacket rather than in the wearer, and a working welder who says leather is what stops heavy spatter for them. Those are reviews, not a class.
What do UK reviews complain about?
Weight, heat, and a new-leather smell. One review wants an arm pocket. Velcro and poppers are called a nuisance but secure, in one review. Twelve UK reviews are in the sample of 50.
The QeeLink leather work jacket is listed as unisex at £56.99, with heat and flame resistant in the title and no EN ISO 11611 line. amazon.co.uk shows 4.5 from 649 reviews. UK size comments do not agree: some say true to size with room for overalls, several say to order the next size up for a jumper, and one buyer chose smaller so the sleeves stayed closed. Repeated complaints are a tannery smell, the weight in warm weather, and a fit that feels small over layers. One review says the poppers came off after five or six uses, and another says a pen pocket is too short. There is no leather thickness and no care line. The details block prints ASIN B08MWKCZCR, dated 11 October 2018, so the star line is long and the specification is still thin.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A welder who wants a full leather coat over overalls and will try the size, knowing the page prints no class.
Less suitable: Hot days, a strict size chart, or any job that requires the welding class to be written on the listing.
Specifications
Common questions
Does this leather jacket state a welding standard?
No. The title says heat and flame resistant leather. There is no EN ISO 11611 line and no certificate number.
How do UK reviews describe the size?
They do not agree. Some say true to size with room for overalls. Several say order the next size up for a jumper. One buyer chose smaller so the sleeves stayed closed. The ASIN is not one named size.
What fails in the UK reviews?
Repeated comments are tannery smell, weight in warm weather, and a size that can feel small with layers. One review says the poppers came off after five or six uses. One says a pen pocket is too short.
The LeaSeek jacket at £39.99 is flame-resistant cotton with leather sleeves in the title, and the listing prints no EN ISO 11611 class. amazon.co.uk shows 4.5 from 119 reviews. Five reviews in the file are marked United Kingdom, and two of those five are only a short line. One calls it adequate for MIG and lightweight. A stocky buyer at 5 ft 8 in says they took a large so there was room to lie down or work overhead while welding on a car. There is no fabric weight, no leather thickness, and no care line. The details block prints ASIN B0FKCWWB13, first listed on 29 July 2025. Five UK comments are a thin base beside a 119-review star line, so treat the fit note as one person’s car-welding size, not a chart.
Pros
Cons
Best for: MIG on a vehicle, if you want leather on the sleeves, room to lie down, and you can live without a printed class.
Less suitable: A buyer who needs a stated welding class, a size chart, or more than a handful of UK reviews.
Specifications
Common questions
Is a welding standard printed for this LeaSeek jacket?
No. The title says flame-resistant cotton with leather sleeves. There is no EN number in the file.
Who is the large size mentioned for?
One UK review, from a stocky buyer at 5 ft 8 in, says they took a large for car welding so there was room to lie down or work overhead. The ASIN itself is not labelled as one size.
How many UK reviews are in the file?
Five are marked United Kingdom, against a listing line of 4.5 from 119 reviews. Two of the five are only a short line. One calls it adequate for MIG and lightweight.
The QeeLink model QLCJUK puts split leather sleeves on a cotton body and is listed as unisex at £46.99. amazon.co.uk shows 4.4 from 809 reviews, with nine United Kingdom reviews in a sample of 50. One UK reviewer says an XL stopped the arm burns they had been getting in an older Bizweld jacket. Another says the wrist folds narrow and calls that a minor gripe. The title does not state EN ISO 11611, a cotton weight, or a leather thickness, and the page asks about flame protection without giving a standard number. The details block prints ASIN B0CLK6B8GD, first available on 22 October 2023. A sleeve that helped one welder is still an unlabelled hybrid, so you cannot quote it as Class 1 or Class 2.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A welder whose cotton sleeves have already burned through and who wants leather on the arms without a full leather coat.
Less suitable: Anyone who needs a printed class, a stated leather thickness, or a cuff that stays wide at the wrist.
Specifications
Common questions
What is this jacket made from?
The title says split leather sleeves and a cotton body. There is no fabric weight and no leather thickness.
Does the listing state EN ISO 11611?
No. Flame protection is asked on the page and not answered with a standard number.
What do UK buyers say about the sleeves?
One UK review says an XL stopped the arm burns they had in an older Bizweld jacket. Another says the wrist folds narrow, and calls that a minor gripe. Nine UK reviews are in the sample of 50.
The QeeLink cotton jacket is titled as lightweight and flame resistant, for men and women, at £36.99. amazon.co.uk rates it 4.4 from 464 reviews, and six of the 50 reviews in the file are marked United Kingdom. Those UK notes praise the light weight and the fit. One fabricator says it lasts a couple of months with heat and sparks, and a single review says one afternoon of plasma and MIG left no mark. The page does not print EN ISO 11611, a fabric weight, a pocket count, or a care method, and it asks about machine washing without answering. The product-details block shows ASIN B0FP26DQQH, dated 28 August 2025, which is not this URL. A flame-resistant title leaves you without a welding class to quote to a site or a college.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A buyer who wants a light cotton coat for short, low-spatter jobs and will accept a listing with no printed class.
Less suitable: Anyone who must show EN ISO 11611 on the garment, or who already burns through lightweight cotton.
Specifications
Common questions
Does this QeeLink cotton jacket state a welding class?
No. The title says premium flame resistant cotton and light weight. The file has no EN ISO 11611 or EN ISO 11612 line.
Is it machine washable, and does it have pockets?
The page asks both questions and does not answer them. There is no care line and no pocket count.
What do the UK reviews in the file say?
Six of 50 reviews are marked United Kingdom. They praise the light weight and fit. One fabricator says it lasts a couple of months with heat and sparks. One afternoon of plasma and MIG left no mark, in a single review.
This black QeeLink leather jacket is ASIN B0952VXJR8 at £58.99, a different listing from the £56.99 leather coat. The title says heat and flame resistant, and the page does not print a welding class or a leather thickness. amazon.co.uk shows 4.4 from 277 reviews, with seven United Kingdom reviews in the sample. One of those, dated 23 September 2026, says the buttons on the sleeve and the rear broke after the first day. The product-details ASIN B0H1LHRD1P is dated 13 May 2026, so older reviews on the family line do not prove this child has been on sale since 2022. There is no pocket count and no care instruction. A black leather photograph leaves the class blank, which is the fact you would need before you treat it as certified welding clothing.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A buyer who specifically wants this black leather QeeLink and will inspect the buttons and the label on arrival.
Less suitable: Anyone who needs a printed class, a long UK track record for this child ASIN, or a lower leather price in the same table.
Specifications
Common questions
Is this the same jacket as the £56.99 QeeLink leather?
No. This is ASIN B0952VXJR8, titled as a black leather jacket, at £58.99. The £56.99 jacket is ASIN B08DTM4F3T. Neither page prints a welding class.
What broke in the UK reviews?
One UK review on 23 September 2026 says buttons on the sleeve and the rear broke after the first day. That is one review in a UK sample of seven, against a line of 277 ratings.
Why are there reviews from 2022 if the details ASIN is dated May 2026?
The product-details ASIN B0H1LHRD1P is dated 13 May 2026. The star line and older UK reviews belong to the family. They are not proof this child has been on sale since 2022.
This LeaSeek row is a cotton jacket with leather sleeves at £52.99, a different ASIN from the £39.99 LeaSeek. The title says heat and flame resistant, and the file has no EN ISO 11611 line and no fabric weight. amazon.co.uk shows 4.3 from 31 reviews, the smallest count in this comparison. None of the 13 reviews in the file is marked United Kingdom, so cuff, fit, and smell comments in that sample are not UK reports. The page asks whether the jacket is adjustable and does not answer. The details block prints ASIN B0GL1VB2R3, first available on 2 February 2026. You pay a mid-basket price here for a hybrid whose class is unstated and whose captured reviews are not marked as UK.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A buyer already set on this LeaSeek hybrid who will check the label in person, because the listing does not state a class.
Less suitable: Anyone choosing on UK review text, a printed standard, or a lower hybrid price in this same table.
Specifications
Common questions
Is this the same jacket as the £39.99 LeaSeek?
No. This ASIN is B0GDCXP2Y1 at £52.99, titled cotton with leather sleeves. The £39.99 jacket is ASIN B0FGJG65ZQ. Both lack a printed class.
Are the reviews in the file from the UK?
The listing line is 4.3 from 31 reviews. None of the 13 reviews in the file is marked United Kingdom. Fit, cuffs, and smell comments in the file are from other countries.
Does the page say the collar is adjustable?
It asks whether the jacket is adjustable and does not answer. Non-UK reviews describe adjustable cuffs and a collar. That is not a listing specification.
We compared nine welding jackets on amazon.co.uk, with titles and shelf prices rechecked on 15 October 2026, after a wider look at 32 listings. Scores use the printed class, the build, the size notes, and the review text in those files. We did not run a lab burn test, and a star rating is not a welding certificate.
Process and position
30%TIG, gas welding, low-current MIG, and rutile MMA sit toward Class 1. High-current MIG, basic or cellulose MMA, flux-cored wire, gouging, and cutting sit toward Class 2. Overhead work and welding under a car put more spatter on the sleeve.
Printed welding class
25%We read EN ISO 11611 when the listing prints it. Class 1 is the lower spatter level. Class 2 is the higher level. A1 and A2 are flame tests, not classes, so Class 1 (A1+A2) stays Class 1.
Cotton, leather, or hybrid
20%Flame-resistant cotton is the lighter jacket you can keep on. Leather or leather sleeves are the build when sparks already hole your clothes. Unlabelled leather is not treated as Class 2.
Size, cuffs, and collar
15%The coat has to close over overalls or a jumper. UK leather reviews often say to go up a size. An open cuff leaves the wrist in the spatter.
Shelf price
10%Price is last. In this basket the printed Class 1 cotton is the cheap end, and leather costs more without a higher class on the page.
Choose a welding jacket in this order: the process and the position, the class printed on the listing, then leather, flame-resistant cotton, or a hybrid, then size, and only then price. In this amazon.co.uk basket the printed standard sits on the cheaper cotton jackets. Leather costs more and does not print a class. A flame-resistant title is not Class 1 or Class 2, and A2 is not Class 2.
A welding jacket is a work coat that takes sparks, a short flame contact, and arc radiation on the cloth instead of on your arms and torso. UK buyers are shops, vehicle repairers, site welders, colleges, and people welding at home. It does not replace gloves, eye protection, or fume control. HSE says cover arms and legs, keep gloves and eye protection separate, and control fume with extraction and suitable respiratory protection.

A flame-resistant title is not EN ISO 11611. In this table only the two Portwest cotton jackets print a class, and that class is Class 1. QeeLink, LeaSeek, and YESWELDER do not print Class 1 or Class 2.
A1 and A2 are flame tests, surface and edge. Class 1 (A1+A2) is still the lower welding class. The letters on the EN ISO 11612 line do not raise it either. Arc calories are not a welding class.
Size the jacket over overalls or a jumper. UK leather reviews often say to go up a size, and the collar and cuffs have to close. Retire a sleeve once it has a hole. One Portwest reviewer said hot sparks can go through even when the cloth does not catch fire.
Start with the job, then with the line the listing actually prints. Tranemo’s summary of EN ISO 11611 puts TIG, gas welding, low-current MIG, and rutile MMA toward Class 1, and high-current MIG, basic or cellulose MMA, flux-cored wire, gouging, and cutting toward Class 2. Overhead work and welding under a car put more spatter on the sleeve. Class 1 is the lower level. Class 2 is the higher level. A1 and A2 are flame tests, so Class 1 (A1+A2) has not become Class 2.
Pick the build for the spatter you already make. Flame-resistant cotton, here the Portwest at 330 g/m² and 780 g, is the lighter jacket for lighter work. UK reviews of that cloth include sound light fabrication and also holes through the sleeves, and the sample does not give a rate. Leather or leather sleeves are what you look at when sparks already hole your clothes. Do not call that hide Class 2 unless the page prints Class 2. None of the leather or hybrid listings here do.
Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.
You do lighter MIG, TIG, or bench work and you want EN ISO 11611 printed before you pay. The black XL Portwest states Class 1 (A1+A2) and a cold wash, lay flat, medium iron. It is still the lower welding class.
You wear XXL and you want the same Class 1 cotton for less. The black XXL Portwest is about £22.68, against about £28.98 for the XL row, with the same 4.6 from 1,129 shared reviews. The XXL care line only says machine wash.
Sparks already hole cotton sleeves, or you weld under a car. The YESWELDER leather coat has UK reviews that describe metal caught in the jacket. The page still does not print a class, and it is the highest price here.
The top pick is the Portwest BIZ2 in black XL when you wear XL and want EN ISO 11611 Class 1 printed, with a care line that says wash cold and lay flat. It is still the lower welding class, and shared UK reviews include burn-through as well as light use. The best value is the black XXL of the same style at about £22.68, with the same Class 1 cloth and the same comparison score. Leather coats in this table, including the YESWELDER at that same score, do not print a class. If your risk assessment asks for Class 2, none of these nine listings meets that line.

Portwest BIZ2 Bizweld, black XL
It prints EN ISO 11611 Class 1 (A1+A2) for lighter XL work, and it is the row that states a cold wash and flat dry.

Portwest BIZ2 Bizweld, black XXL
The same Class 1 cotton is about £22.68 in XXL, against about £28.98 for the XL listing.
Editorial

Products Compared publishes British-English buying guides based on amazon.co.uk listings and public UK sources. We do not run a lab and we do not invent test scores.
Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.
Public UK and standards sources below. amazon.co.uk prices and titles rechecked on 15 October 2026.
Expert source (DIY & tools): Charlie White (Charlie DIYte) (external profile) – public expert commentary used as a research source, not as a contributor to our pages.
This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices and star ratings are taken from those listings. We did not run a lab test.