Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Cordless or corded mulching mower

Updated: October 2026

The socket is on the house wall and the lawn starts beyond the patio. You are deciding whether a 10 m lead is a nuisance or a dead battery is worse. The two corded listings here are 1600 W. The cordless listings are 20 V, 24 V or 40 V, and amp-hours, minutes and square metres do not convert into one ranking. Peter F. used the amazon.co.uk rows in the [mulch mower comparison](/hub/lawn-and-garden-equipment/mulch-mower) from files dated 19 October 2026. He did not measure runtime, and he did not turn 40 V into watts. A qualifying purchase can earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. If you have not chosen a width yet, the [buying guide](/hub/lawn-and-garden-equipment/mulch-mower/sub/mulch-mower-buying-guide) comes first.

The socket is on the house wall and the lawn starts beyond the patio. You are deciding whether a 10 m lead is a nuisance or a dead battery is worse. The two corded listings here are 1600 W.

Our top picks

Greenworks Greenworks G40LM41

Best overall

Greenworks Greenworks G40LM41
8.8/10about £269.16
Hyundai Hyundai HYM3800E

Alternative

Hyundai Hyundai HYM3800E
8.4/10about £158.31
Forte Forte MEB1637E

Best value

Forte Forte MEB1637E
8.2/10about £79.99
On this page

What the lead actually constrains

Both corded mowers ship with a 10 m cable and a 1600 W motor. The Forte MEB1637E is about £79.99, with a 37 cm cut, a mulch plug, a 40 litre box, a rear roller and six heights from 20 to 70 mm. The listing line is 4.1 from 33 reviews. The Hyundai HYM3800E is about £158.31, with a 38 cm cut, the same lead and motor, a rear roller, a 40 litre box, a mulch plug, and a stated area of about 225 m². The star line is 4.2 from 3,914 reviews. Weight is 12.5 kg in one bullet and 13.8 kg in a field. If the lawn is about 15 m from the socket, the supplied cable does not reach without another outdoor lead. Pick the Hyundai for 3,914 reviews. Pick the Forte when about £79.99 is the budget and you accept 33 reviews.

The reel, the RCD and the roller

Electrical Safety First expects a fused UK 3-pin plug, an outdoor extension with a thermal cut-out, the reel fully unwound, and an RCD. The roller is why these two stay in the conversation if stripes matter. How you fit the plug on the day is on the how to mulch page.
Greenworks Greenworks G40LM41

Testsieger

Greenworks Greenworks G40LM41
8.8/10about £269.16

What the pack actually constrains

Amp-hours are the size of the battery. Minutes and square metres are separate claims. The Litheli is about £109.99, 20 V with 5.0 Ah stated, mulch or a 35 litre box, and 4.3 from 684 reviews. A charger is not named, and one saved review received a dead battery. The Swift 32 cm is 40 V and 2 Ah, with up to 200 m² stated. The WORX WG737E uses two 20 V 4.0 Ah packs to run as 40 V, with up to 550 m² stated. The Greenworks 40 V uses two 2 Ah packs, with up to 500 m² stated. The Hyundai HY20CLM33 at about £125.99 names a battery and charger and does not state amp-hours. If a pack will not charge on day one, the Consumer Rights Act 2015 gives a short-term right to reject, within 30 days.

When the lead, when the pack

Choose corded when the socket is inside the 10 m cable, you will use an outdoor reel and an RCD, and you would rather not manage packs. If you also want a rear roller, the Forte and the Hyundai HYM3800E are the only listings here that state one. Choose cordless when a gate, a border or a far corner past 10 m is why the lawn gets missed. Then buy a pack whose amp-hours are printed. Skip the Hyundai cordless if an unstated amp-hour is a gap you will not accept. Treat every square-metre bullet as the maker’s claim.

Common questions

Is corded stronger than cordless for mulching?
Not on a shared unit you can read off these listings. The corded pair is 1600 W for as long as the lead and the RCD allow. The cordless rows are 20 V, 24 V or 40 V, and a higher voltage is not a watt figure we will invent. A 1600 W lead does not rescue a wet lawn, and a large pack does not either.
How long is the cable on the corded mowers here?
Both state 10 m: the Forte at about £79.99 and the Hyundai HYM3800E at about £158.31. If the far edge is about 15 m from the socket, you need a further outdoor lead, fully unwound, rated for the load, with an RCD. A domestic indoor reel is the wrong stand-in. Coil heat on a 1600 W load is the failure Electrical Safety First is trying to prevent.
What is an amp-hour, in buying terms?
Amp-hours are how much charge the pack is stated to hold, not how many minutes you will mow or how many square metres you will finish. In this set, 5.0 Ah on the Litheli, 2.0 Ah on the Swift 32 cm, 4.0 Ah on each WORX pack and 2 Ah on each Greenworks 40 V pack are the figures you can compare. A listing that omits amp-hours cannot be ranked on pack size.
Which cordless listing does not state amp-hours?
The Hyundai HY20CLM33 at about £125.99. The title names a battery and charger, and a field says 40 minutes, but amp-hours are absent. The Litheli states 5.0 Ah and does not name a charger. Those are different gaps. If you need both a named charger and a printed amp-hour, read the Swift, WORX and Greenworks rows.
Can I use any extension reel?
Use an outdoor reel with a thermal cut-out, unwind it fully, and protect the supply with an RCD, on a fused UK 3-pin plug. That is the Electrical Safety First line for lawnmowers. A partly coiled reel under a 1600 W motor is the setup that overheats. Keep connectors off wet paving. This applies to the corded Forte and Hyundai, not as a way to stretch a cordless mower.
Do I still mulch in the wet with a cordless mower?
Leave wet grass, whichever mower you own. Wet clippings clump and block the deck. Corded mowers have the extra reason to stay inside, which Electrical Safety First states directly. A cordless mower removes the lead and still leaves a poor cut.

Related pages

Sources

Public UK sources and the amazon.co.uk listings for this set. Prices from 19 October 2026. Retrieved 22 October 2026.

  1. RHS: how to mow a lawn (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  2. RHS: lawn mowing (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  3. Warwickshire County Council: mulch mowing, height (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  4. Warwickshire County Council: mulch mowing, deck and plug (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  5. Noise Emission in the Environment by Equipment for use Outdoors Regulations 2001, Schedule 3 (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  6. GOV.UK: Supply of Machinery (Safety) Regulations 2008 (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  7. Electrical Safety First: lawnmowers (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  8. Consumer Rights Act 2015, section 22 (retrieved 22.10.2026)