Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Electric sheet metal shears: what to check first

Updated: October 2026

You have a flat piece of mild steel, a duct cheek or a thin van panel, and a search page full of electric sheet metal shears that do not share one capacity sentence. Some bullets say 2.5 mm mild steel, some say 2 mm and stop, and one prints 14GA with no millimetres at all. This guide is the order of checks for the six amazon.co.uk listings in the [electric metal shears comparison](/hub/lawn-and-garden-equipment/electric-metal-shears), priced from about £54.14 to about £75.99. The Products Compared editorial team compared those listings and public UK sources on 22 October 2026. We have not run a lab test. A qualifying purchase can earn a commission at no extra cost to you.

You have a flat piece of mild steel, a duct cheek or a thin van panel, and a search page full of electric sheet metal shears that do not share one capacity sentence.

Our top picks

Bostar Bostar X-039 kit

Best overall

Bostar Bostar X-039 kit
7.4/10about £75.99
TengXcel TengXcel DCS09HL bare

Alternative

TengXcel TengXcel DCS09HL bare
6.6/10about £65.21
On this page

Read the metal, not a single millimetre

Start with the metal you will cut, then the millimetre printed beside that metal. Mild steel, stainless and aluminium do not share one limit. Makita UK’s JS1602, outside this set, states 1.6 mm mild steel, 1.2 mm stainless and 2.5 mm aluminium. Merry Tools B008CNF278 at about £59.99 says up to 2.5 mm mild steel and does not name stainless or aluminium. Treat 2.5 mm as the seller’s mild-steel claim. Bostar B0GH7Z2SRN at about £75.99 is the only split in the set: 1.5 mm iron, 2.0 mm aluminium and 1.2 mm stainless, on 5.0 from three ratings with no review text. The Roadtime bodies say sheet up to 2 mm and do not name the metal. TengXcel at about £65.21 prints a 14GA steel head and no millimetres.

Corded, bare body, or a kit

The next check is whether the printed price includes the power you will use. Only two of these prices are a running tool on the day they arrive. Merry Tools at about £59.99 is a 500 W mains shear with a carry case stated. It is finished only if the lead ends in a BS 1363 13 A plug. The listing says 220–240 V and does not name that plug. Four cordless prices are bare bodies. Roadtime names a DeWalt, Makita or Milwaukee foot at about £54.14 or about £56.99, and TengXcel at about £65.21 names DeWalt 20V MAX and 60V Flex packs. None includes a battery. The tools are Roadtime and TengXcel. Bostar at about £75.99 states two 4.0 Ah batteries, a UK-plug charger and a case. The technical cell says batteries are not required, which conflicts with the title. Which foot is honest is the job of the cordless sheet metal shears page.
Bostar Bostar X-039 kit

Testsieger

Bostar Bostar X-039 kit
7.4/10about £75.99

Straight sheet or a profile

Shears in this set are for a long straight run in flat light-gauge sheet: a duct cheek, a flat cladding face, thin van skin. UK sellers separate that from a nibbler, which punches curves and profiled sheet. Cladding Mate notes that a single-cut shear can bend an edge. None of the six listings says single-cut or double-cut. One UK review of the corded shear says it would not follow corrugated ridge sheet. A 360 degree head is not a reason to buy a shear for a profiled roof. If the line bends tightly or the sheet is corrugated, read electric shears vs nibbler. This page does not pick a winner.

What this set does not tell you

The corded listing does not state a BS 1363 plug. Only the Bostar charger does. A two-pin lead is a UK problem on day one, because a UK socket takes a 13 A plug. None of the six prints decibels or a vibration figure in m/s². HSE action values of 80 dB(A) and 85 dB(A), the 87 dB(A) limit, and 2.5 m/s² and 5 m/s² A(8) are employer duties, not a measurement of these shears. A Makita JS1601/2 was about £318 at tools4trade, which is trade context, not an Amazon price. The Consumer Rights Act 2015 still applies if the goods are not as described.

Common questions

What millimetre do I read if the bullet only says steel?
Read it as an incomplete claim. Merry Tools says up to 2.5 mm mild steel and does not state stainless or aluminium. The Roadtime bullets say metal sheets up to 2 mm and do not name the metal. Bostar is the only row here that splits iron, aluminium and stainless. If your sheet is stainless and the bullet never says stainless, you do not have a number.
Is 14GA the same as a UK millimetre limit?
Not on the TengXcel listing. That page prints a 14GA steel cutting head and no millimetres for mild steel, stainless or aluminium. Gauge is not a figure you can put next to a 1.2 mm stainless claim on another row. Until the seller prints millimetres, treat the thickness as unstated and do not invent a conversion for this ASIN.
Does about £54 buy a tool I can use today?
Only if you already own a pack the seller names. Roadtime WGT337-DW at about £54.14 is a bare body for stated DeWalt 20 V packs, with no battery and no charger. Merry Tools at about £59.99 is a mains tool, if the plug is a UK plug. Bostar at about £75.99 is the cordless price that states batteries and a UK-plug charger.
Which listing actually names stainless?
Bostar X-039, at about £75.99, states 1.2 mm stainless alongside 1.5 mm iron and 2.0 mm aluminium. No other listing in this set prints a stainless millimetre. That split is still a seller claim: the star line is 5.0 from three ratings and there is no review text. Do not borrow the Merry Tools 2.5 mm mild-steel bullet and call it stainless.
Do I need a BS 1363 plug, and which listing states one?
A corded tool on a UK socket needs a BS 1363 13 A plug. Merry Tools states 220–240 V and does not name that plug. Among the cordless rows, only the Bostar charger is described as a UK plug. The bare bodies include no charger. If the listing is silent, the plug is an open question until you see it.

Related pages

Sources

Sources from the research digest, last checked on 22 October 2026. Shelf prices and star lines are from the amazon.co.uk listings in that digest.

  1. HSE, PUWER and machinery introduction (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  2. GOV.UK, Supply of Machinery (Safety) Regulations 2008 (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  3. HSE, noise regulations (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  4. HSE, hand-arm vibration (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  5. Makita UK, JS1602 (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  6. Cladding Mate, nibblers versus shears (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  7. DeWalt, XR 18V / 20V (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  8. tools4trade, Makita JS1601/2 (retrieved 22 October 2026)